| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horror and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale from Harondor
The Hounds of Love by Verhalen Explicit
Sören Sigurdsson and "Mark Lowry" are continuing what they started in Sausalito over the summer. But they have some challenges...
~ Last Night I Dreamt I Went to Summerland Again ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
At the Monument, after Dagor Dagorath, Vanimöré wakes from a dream. Anything is better than doing nothing and...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Mature
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Chapter 60: A Rounding Up. ‘Seems they are looking forward to having you back,’ Gimli smiled, his earth brown...
A Song of Staying by Himring Teen
In the far future, in a galaxy far, far away, a few lines from the Silmarillion still serve as inspiration.

Site Info

Members: 492
Series: 95
Stories: 1786
Chapters: 9124
Word count: 28226936
Authors: 143
Reviews: 16827
Reviewers: 226
Newest Member: kimaracretak
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 11
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
11/15/19 02:19 pm
Thanks, Spiced! Happy Friday to you all!
Spiced Wine
11/15/19 02:10 pm
Happy Friday, everyone!
Fadesintothewest
11/11/19 02:28 am
Thanks so much Spiced!
Spiced Wine
11/08/19 03:53 pm
Have a great Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
11/07/19 09:46 am
I sent an email, Ziggy :)
ziggy
11/07/19 12:10 am
Can I have the Silm Discord link as well please Spiced- intrigued now!
Spiced Wine
11/06/19 01:25 pm
Welcome, Kimaracretak :)
Spiced Wine
11/05/19 10:20 am
I emailed you through ‘contact; here with the Silm Discord link
Spiced Wine
11/05/19 10:17 am
I’m not sure, let me go and ask them!
Fadesintothewest
11/05/19 07:41 am
Good to know Spice. How can we get onto Silm Discord? It would be nice to join. I'm always looking for other Silm related places.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Bluebirds

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 19, 2019 19:22 · For: Sunday

You have the most wonderful gift with Place- you evoke the absoulte sense of a place and in the most warming and evocative way. I loved the glimpses of battle- the shard of glass, the mirro, a tantlising sense of Vanimore somewhere out there, and the fleeting reference to pirates!!Is this going to dovetail with your other works or is this AU of that world? Fascinating and beautifully written.



Author's Response: Thank you so much, Ziggy. This is an AU and sits in its own world; Gil won't be appearing in Paradox (as far as I know at the moment!) but I've loved writing him here. I like his friendship with Claire and might do more with them at some point.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: October 18, 2019 12:00 · For: Sunday

Oh, I remember the 'forgotten' line, yes, and of course I don't mind, it's a shared multiverse. :D

 

I'm sure neither of them will be that difficult to live with, because they alread gel so very well. 



Author's Response: I've really enjoyed writing their bond in this fic; I was slightly surprised by *how* closely they bonded, and it's been really nice to explore.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: October 17, 2019 22:56 · For: Sunday

Oh I CRIED at this, all of it. The terrible dream that was the same as Gil's, I'm sure, and how they comforted each other -- and Van's voice -- Yes, she does dream of the forgotten. 

 

I so, so dread Claire having to go back to London, it's so stifling for her, and you can see it settling on her like a lead weight. Yes, she is soul tired, they both are in different ways, and so I was delighted when her anti-climactic going back to her flat then to work became an invitation to Gil to stay with her. His flat is so cold and lonely and terrible. (It reminded me of his room when he was a child (in my 'verse, I mean) I was so thrilled when she asked him! 



Author's Response: I actually borrowed the line about dreaming of the forgotten from Summerland - I hope you don't mind! And yes, I am absolutely sure they were sharing a dream. And Gil's room broke my heart, but so many young people in London are in that situation, or worse :-( I think he and Claire will enjoy living together, though! And who knows who else might pop up in future XD


Name: Verhalen (Signed) · Date: October 13, 2019 23:38 · For: Chapter 2
I know I commented on A03 but I wanted to give this some love over here too. This was a phenomenal chapter, I really love seeing Claire and Gil develop their friendship and THAT DAMNED MIRROR and the mention of Sören and Gil's plumed helmet and AAAAAAAAA.

Author's Response: Thank you!! :D actually I was surprised when I was typing this up just how much has sneaked in. I wssnt surprised by the mirror, though. That thing is everywhere.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: October 13, 2019 22:09 · For: Chapter 2

Wow -- this was amazing, there was so much in here, but so perfectly blended.

I k now so much how Claire felt, waking knowing she was *free*! Well, i can remember it anyhow. 

 

And it seems Claire is doing the stone speaking, even now? 

 

And the Mirror, that damned mirror, it's everywhere, or pieces of it. The woman weaving -- Míriel? And Van (poor Van) 

 

And Sören, and Gil wearing a plumed helm; of course it weirdly suits him :) 

 

And their growing closeness and feeling that they really should know each other, being so easy with one another; it's beautiful -- and fated. 



Author's Response: Thank you so much!! I've loved writing this, a kind of gradual awakening for Claire, and relief for Gil as well, to finally have that kind of bond with someone. And yes, stone speaking! She does it in Paradox too; it just gets stronger when she takes Van's blood. Good catch with Miriel too - it was just a nod (or at least I think it was, who knows anything with this lot) but I had to include it.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2019 9:27 · For: Friday

ooh-intriguing! Who is Gil? Gil-Galad or someone else? We haven't met him before and he is rather scrumptious. I always love your descritions- vivid, warm, intense.



Author's Response: Aww, thank you! Gil is sort of who you think he is...it's not as straightforward as Maglor surviving the Ages (not that that's really straightforward, it has plenty of complications of its own).


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2019 18:49 · For: Friday

Oh this is lovely :) You can just feel the relief that Claire has quit her job and it’s absolutely perfect that she and Gil are going away for a spontaneous weekend :) 



Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, she tried to make it work by leaving the bar and working for a private firm instead, but it just isn't her. I really like that Gil sees that, I was surprised by how perceptive he is.


You must login () to review.