| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
~ A Crown of Ash ~ by Spiced Wine General Audiences
Set directly after A Throne of Shadows, with the Clouds now gutted by fire, events move to the north-west of Scotland. The...
Half-brothers in heart, full brothers in blood by FirstAmazon Mature
My (rather optimistic) view on the complicated relationship between Fëanor & Fingolfin. A romance.
A Man of Constant Sorrow by NelyafinweFeanorion General Audiences
Summary:Modern AU where Maglor lives and works in New York City as a bartender and musician. He fills his days with work...
Gentle yearning of the heart by FirstAmazon General Audiences
"Then the waves hunted us like living things filled with malice, and the lightnings smote us; and when we were broken down...
What We May Become by Narya Mature
"Love is begun by time And time qualifies the spark and fire of it..."  - Hamlet, William Shakespeare. * The story...
Sugar And Spice by Narya General Audiences
Modern AU. Elfhild is at the Arda Games in Dol Amroth as Rohan's reserve for the equestrian cross country event - though...

Site Info

Members: 516
Series: 98
Stories: 1841
Chapters: 9301
Word count: 28462775
Authors: 144
Reviews: 17201
Reviewers: 229
Newest Member: Caranor
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 54
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members: CassieHughes

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
09/18/20 04:51 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:14 pm
So if you copy that link and paste it in a browser it takes you to the image, (lovely!) but it doesn’t look like a link from a host site due to the http
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:13 pm
wait a sec
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:08 pm
this tinyMCE WYSWYG option is the rich text
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:07 pm
It depends if you’re using HTML links or rich text — which do you post in on here?
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 04:13 pm
The links don’t actually link or show anything. They just clog the note up with text ????
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 04:06 pm
@Spiced Wine—I tried to add a link to hosting site last night but it didn’t work. I added a link to Narya’s tumblr post in the fic notes but not sure that’s working either
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 09:58 am
@Nelya — did you work it out? I can do it, if you like. You need to upload it to a hosting site and then get the link and post that
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 05:23 am
I've just posted my first story in a year for TRSB with Narya as my art partner! I couldn't figure out how to post the art link here :(
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 05:22 am
Hi everyone! Just logged back in after an extremely long absence. Hope all are well.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Bluebirds

Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: December 14, 2019 19:47 · For: Sunday

Claire's dream...and Gil's. He said he hadn't had it for years -- which of them is it that kind of 'sets' the other dreaming too, do you think? As we know later they also have nightmares at the same time. 



Author's Response: I'm not sure; quite possibly it's mutual. And we know she dreams of Fingolfin after meeting Nicholas...hmm!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: December 14, 2019 19:24 · For: Friday

This was such a wonderful thing to do. You can feel Claire's relief at just getting away, and feeling that freedom! I do love this story, it's so perfect, it's entrancing. 



Author's Response: Thank you so much! It just hit me and I had to write it. It was absolutely the right thing for both of them.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 19, 2019 19:22 · For: Sunday

You have the most wonderful gift with Place- you evoke the absoulte sense of a place and in the most warming and evocative way. I loved the glimpses of battle- the shard of glass, the mirro, a tantlising sense of Vanimore somewhere out there, and the fleeting reference to pirates!!Is this going to dovetail with your other works or is this AU of that world? Fascinating and beautifully written.



Author's Response: Thank you so much, Ziggy. This is an AU and sits in its own world; Gil won't be appearing in Paradox (as far as I know at the moment!) but I've loved writing him here. I like his friendship with Claire and might do more with them at some point.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: October 18, 2019 12:00 · For: Sunday

Oh, I remember the 'forgotten' line, yes, and of course I don't mind, it's a shared multiverse. :D

 

I'm sure neither of them will be that difficult to live with, because they alread gel so very well. 



Author's Response: I've really enjoyed writing their bond in this fic; I was slightly surprised by *how* closely they bonded, and it's been really nice to explore.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: October 17, 2019 22:56 · For: Sunday

Oh I CRIED at this, all of it. The terrible dream that was the same as Gil's, I'm sure, and how they comforted each other -- and Van's voice -- Yes, she does dream of the forgotten. 

 

I so, so dread Claire having to go back to London, it's so stifling for her, and you can see it settling on her like a lead weight. Yes, she is soul tired, they both are in different ways, and so I was delighted when her anti-climactic going back to her flat then to work became an invitation to Gil to stay with her. His flat is so cold and lonely and terrible. (It reminded me of his room when he was a child (in my 'verse, I mean) I was so thrilled when she asked him! 



Author's Response: I actually borrowed the line about dreaming of the forgotten from Summerland - I hope you don't mind! And yes, I am absolutely sure they were sharing a dream. And Gil's room broke my heart, but so many young people in London are in that situation, or worse :-( I think he and Claire will enjoy living together, though! And who knows who else might pop up in future XD


Name: Verhalen (Signed) · Date: October 13, 2019 23:38 · For: Chapter 2
I know I commented on A03 but I wanted to give this some love over here too. This was a phenomenal chapter, I really love seeing Claire and Gil develop their friendship and THAT DAMNED MIRROR and the mention of Sören and Gil's plumed helmet and AAAAAAAAA.

Author's Response: Thank you!! :D actually I was surprised when I was typing this up just how much has sneaked in. I wssnt surprised by the mirror, though. That thing is everywhere.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: October 13, 2019 22:09 · For: Chapter 2

Wow -- this was amazing, there was so much in here, but so perfectly blended.

I k now so much how Claire felt, waking knowing she was *free*! Well, i can remember it anyhow. 

 

And it seems Claire is doing the stone speaking, even now? 

 

And the Mirror, that damned mirror, it's everywhere, or pieces of it. The woman weaving -- Míriel? And Van (poor Van) 

 

And Sören, and Gil wearing a plumed helm; of course it weirdly suits him :) 

 

And their growing closeness and feeling that they really should know each other, being so easy with one another; it's beautiful -- and fated. 



Author's Response: Thank you so much!! I've loved writing this, a kind of gradual awakening for Claire, and relief for Gil as well, to finally have that kind of bond with someone. And yes, stone speaking! She does it in Paradox too; it just gets stronger when she takes Van's blood. Good catch with Miriel too - it was just a nod (or at least I think it was, who knows anything with this lot) but I had to include it.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2019 9:27 · For: Friday

ooh-intriguing! Who is Gil? Gil-Galad or someone else? We haven't met him before and he is rather scrumptious. I always love your descritions- vivid, warm, intense.



Author's Response: Aww, thank you! Gil is sort of who you think he is...it's not as straightforward as Maglor surviving the Ages (not that that's really straightforward, it has plenty of complications of its own).


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2019 18:49 · For: Friday

Oh this is lovely :) You can just feel the relief that Claire has quit her job and it’s absolutely perfect that she and Gil are going away for a spontaneous weekend :) 



Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, she tried to make it work by leaving the bar and working for a private firm instead, but it just isn't her. I really like that Gil sees that, I was surprised by how perceptive he is.


You must login () to review.