| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
~ A Crown of Ash ~ by Spiced Wine General Audiences
Set directly after A Throne of Shadows, with the Clouds now gutted by fire, events move to the north-west of Scotland. The...
Half-brothers in heart, full brothers in blood by FirstAmazon Mature
My (rather optimistic) view on the complicated relationship between Fëanor & Fingolfin. A romance.
A Man of Constant Sorrow by NelyafinweFeanorion General Audiences
Summary:Modern AU where Maglor lives and works in New York City as a bartender and musician. He fills his days with work...
Gentle yearning of the heart by FirstAmazon General Audiences
"Then the waves hunted us like living things filled with malice, and the lightnings smote us; and when we were broken down...
What We May Become by Narya Mature
"Love is begun by time And time qualifies the spark and fire of it..."  - Hamlet, William Shakespeare. * The story...
Sugar And Spice by Narya General Audiences
Modern AU. Elfhild is at the Arda Games in Dol Amroth as Rohan's reserve for the equestrian cross country event - though...

Site Info

Members: 516
Series: 98
Stories: 1841
Chapters: 9301
Word count: 28462775
Authors: 144
Reviews: 17201
Reviewers: 229
Newest Member: Caranor
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 54
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 17
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
09/18/20 04:51 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:14 pm
So if you copy that link and paste it in a browser it takes you to the image, (lovely!) but it doesn’t look like a link from a host site due to the http
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:13 pm
wait a sec
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:08 pm
this tinyMCE WYSWYG option is the rich text
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:07 pm
It depends if you’re using HTML links or rich text — which do you post in on here?
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 04:13 pm
The links don’t actually link or show anything. They just clog the note up with text ????
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 04:06 pm
@Spiced Wine—I tried to add a link to hosting site last night but it didn’t work. I added a link to Narya’s tumblr post in the fic notes but not sure that’s working either
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 09:58 am
@Nelya — did you work it out? I can do it, if you like. You need to upload it to a hosting site and then get the link and post that
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 05:23 am
I've just posted my first story in a year for TRSB with Narya as my art partner! I couldn't figure out how to post the art link here :(
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 05:22 am
Hi everyone! Just logged back in after an extremely long absence. Hope all are well.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Summer's Song

Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2020 20:56 · For: Lost, Found, Remade

Also, I am not at all surprised that Claire just wants to spend some time on Torcello and just rest. Apart from Thuringwthil, it;s Vanimórë's blood that is causing her tiredness and fever, and it needs time to 'settle' I suppose. There is time for her to explore Venice :) 


And Torcello just sound like just the ticket for relaxation, for her to rest and her body to assimilate what's happening to it.



Author's Response: Yes, poor thing, there is a lot happening in her body at the moment - and Torcello is wonderfully peaceful, even in high season. There will be some scenes of her and Maglor just exploring, as well as getting to grips with what has happened and how she's changing.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2020 20:46 · For: Lost, Found, Remade

Yes, I could see him showing them to Felix. 



Author's Response: Although of course Felix hasn't grown up thinking of Maglor as a famous character from a book, so the impact would be slightly different! But I could see him sharing a lot of those past histories with Felix, for sure - and of course Berenice and Livia know a version of it, from the frescoes in his house in Pompeii.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2020 20:15 · For: Lost, Found, Remade

She sat on the divan as he retrieved his satchel, the one she had seen him wear so often in St Andrews. He was almost shy as, one at a time, he drew trinkets and treasures from the pockets sewn into its lining and placed them in her hands – coins found in the ruins of Ost-in-Edhil; a bronze casting of a horse that Elros had once played with; a golden cuff set with Swanhaven pearls.

 

I'm so glad he can show these to Claire, I wonder if he's EVER shown them to anyone else? They mean so much to him, those links with his past, things he can touch and yet so, so sorrowful to see and remember. 



Author's Response: Yes, I wonder that too...at the moment the only other possibility I can think of is Felix.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 25, 2019 16:46 · For: The House on Torcello

Another glorious chapter- you have seen this house you describe, not just in your head but it must be real- the details are so intense and perfect, the cushios even, the lace, the record sleeves (made me laugh too that he had a KISS record sleeve0 shurely not?? David Bowie maybe) and then Maglor himself is so present when you write him, just so real- brighter and more glittery-sharp than a man, but very very much alive and in the space. 

Lovely relationship between them and thank you for reminding us of the plot within the text itself- I always appreciate a reminder:)



Author's Response: I have seen it, yes, though only the outside - my husband and I spent part of our honeymoon in Torcello, and we passed this gorgeous house. Glad you like it so far, Ziggy - more to come!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 25, 2019 12:20 · For: Signor Sunshine

I am sitting her ein Devon, reading this and feel like I am in Venice. You are the QUEEN of world-building/scene-setting/images.Whatever you write, I feel so immersed in teh sounds, smells, textures, the weight of the air- I wish I coul dwrite like you. Masterful story telling. The complete fic. Love your work so much.



Author's Response: Awww, you're too kind! Thank you, Ziggy. *blows kiss*


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 25, 2019 8:57 · For: Prologue

Oh Narya- how delicious!! Sauron as a creppy, urbane Aleister-Crowley type antique dealer:) Just adore the way you've written this. Gorgeous details, great atmosphere, all the little hits (Bringer of Gifts indeed!!)



Author's Response: Thank you, Ziggy :D sorry, I've just spotted all your reviews, the notifications went into the junk folder...!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 12, 2019 22:52 · For: The House on Torcello

This was GORGEOUS— the atmosphere, for one thing, the beautiful house in the lagoon, like a haven that Claire runs to, and of course she does, who else is there that would understand? The lovely, timeless stillness of it, and Maglor dropping his glamour — oh wow. And of course the shock that he immediately tries to help, in that lovely room, which seems so jarring to the horror she went through.

But he’s so right, she did something, and to a creature he loathed and thought might have killed her. Of course there’s a lot more to it than her ‘health’, as Thuringwethil did definitely poison her. 

 

The smell of her..old blood and death from under the earth..

 

That is such a brilliant description! ugh, made me shiver. 

 

Maglor as Robin Hood, yes, I would want to crow at that too. 

 

Burt what a bombshell— giving him the Palantir!

 

This was just amazing! 



Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love writing Venice, it feels like its own character, a bit like St Andrews feels to me when I write Paradox.

Thuringwethil did poison her, yes, mentally as well as physically; it's going to take some getting over, but we'll get to that.

I had to end with the Palantir. There was more to that conversation but I've shifted it into the next chapter, it was the perfect note to pause on and I couldn't pass it up.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 30, 2019 20:20 · For: Signor Sunshine

I am reviewing here too :)

 

I absolutely think your Mr Arthur May was brilliant. My god, I could feel him! I would not like him on my trail AT ALL.

 

And your descriptions of Venice are luscious and to die for, but poor Claire feeling the after-effects, unwell and shivery. But Torcello...

 

But outside the city, perhaps...out on the lagoon...she thought of swamps and tamarisks, weedy fields, soft tawny grass that waved in the breeze like a lion's mane. Torcello – the secluded haven of duMaurier and Hemingway and Pinter and Maugham. Would Maglor go there?

 

That is perfect for Maglor, perfect for Claire too, for this time. Somewhere calm, peaceful, shut away from the bustle. 

 

And I love the name Mr Sunshine they have for Maglor! 

 

Thank you so much for posting this :) 



Author's Response: Nooo, Mr. Arthur May is not someone you would want on your trail at all ;) I am so glad you like this. And Claire will be OK, with bit of time, space and TLC. Mr. Sunshine...that came out of nowhere. Thank you!


You must login () to review.