| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Half-brothers in heart, full brothers in blood by FirstAmazon Mature
My (rather optimistic) view on the complicated relationship between Fëanor & Fingolfin. A romance. Warning: this...
Discovery by Ellynn General Audiences
Hobbit fic. During a trip to the mountains, an ordinary modern day teenager will discover that he is not so ordinary after...
A Red Day by Narya General Audiences
A scouting party returns to Aldburg, wounded and bearing unsettling news. Written for Raiyana for Hurt Comfort Exchange...
A Quiet Moment by astorey_91 Teen
Pallando and my OC Aratacáno share a quiet moment togetherTakes place in my dark!Namo AU
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
He doesn't know by Ellynn General Audiences
A dwarf-maiden is in love with Gimli... but he has absolutely no idea.
Lunatic Idea by Ellynn General Audiences
In 1952, one astrophysicist brings forth a revolutionary idea about the universe. It sounds lunatic – by the words...

Site Info

Members: 512
Series: 97
Stories: 1827
Chapters: 9214
Word count: 28194503
Authors: 145
Reviews: 17082
Reviewers: 229
Newest Member: sea longing
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
06/02/20 04:04 pm
Welcome sea longing and Shieldmaiden
Spiced Wine
05/29/20 02:03 pm
Hello, ElfofArda :) Welcome
Narya
05/29/20 12:53 pm
Welcome, elfofArda :)
Spiced Wine
05/29/20 10:15 am
Happy Friday, everyone, hope you are all safe and well
Spiced Wine
05/28/20 04:54 pm
Welcome Hoggy Greenleaf :)
Spiced Wine
05/24/20 07:31 pm
Yes, it looks lovely, tomorrow, for not going anywhere :D
ziggy
05/24/20 05:43 pm
Happy Bank Holiday to the UK. Unexpectedly good weather! Hope everyone is OK in the lockdown.
Narya
05/22/20 09:53 pm
Happy Friday! :D
Spiced Wine
05/22/20 09:54 am
Happy Friday everyone :)
Narya
05/21/20 08:47 am
*Sorry, that's 23.59 CET!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Summer's Song

Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2020 20:56 · For: Lost, Found, Remade

Also, I am not at all surprised that Claire just wants to spend some time on Torcello and just rest. Apart from Thuringwthil, it;s Vanimórë's blood that is causing her tiredness and fever, and it needs time to 'settle' I suppose. There is time for her to explore Venice :) 


And Torcello just sound like just the ticket for relaxation, for her to rest and her body to assimilate what's happening to it.



Author's Response: Yes, poor thing, there is a lot happening in her body at the moment - and Torcello is wonderfully peaceful, even in high season. There will be some scenes of her and Maglor just exploring, as well as getting to grips with what has happened and how she's changing.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2020 20:46 · For: Lost, Found, Remade

Yes, I could see him showing them to Felix. 



Author's Response: Although of course Felix hasn't grown up thinking of Maglor as a famous character from a book, so the impact would be slightly different! But I could see him sharing a lot of those past histories with Felix, for sure - and of course Berenice and Livia know a version of it, from the frescoes in his house in Pompeii.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2020 20:15 · For: Lost, Found, Remade

She sat on the divan as he retrieved his satchel, the one she had seen him wear so often in St Andrews. He was almost shy as, one at a time, he drew trinkets and treasures from the pockets sewn into its lining and placed them in her hands – coins found in the ruins of Ost-in-Edhil; a bronze casting of a horse that Elros had once played with; a golden cuff set with Swanhaven pearls.

 

I'm so glad he can show these to Claire, I wonder if he's EVER shown them to anyone else? They mean so much to him, those links with his past, things he can touch and yet so, so sorrowful to see and remember. 



Author's Response: Yes, I wonder that too...at the moment the only other possibility I can think of is Felix.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 25, 2019 16:46 · For: The House on Torcello

Another glorious chapter- you have seen this house you describe, not just in your head but it must be real- the details are so intense and perfect, the cushios even, the lace, the record sleeves (made me laugh too that he had a KISS record sleeve0 shurely not?? David Bowie maybe) and then Maglor himself is so present when you write him, just so real- brighter and more glittery-sharp than a man, but very very much alive and in the space. 

Lovely relationship between them and thank you for reminding us of the plot within the text itself- I always appreciate a reminder:)



Author's Response: I have seen it, yes, though only the outside - my husband and I spent part of our honeymoon in Torcello, and we passed this gorgeous house. Glad you like it so far, Ziggy - more to come!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 25, 2019 12:20 · For: Signor Sunshine

I am sitting her ein Devon, reading this and feel like I am in Venice. You are the QUEEN of world-building/scene-setting/images.Whatever you write, I feel so immersed in teh sounds, smells, textures, the weight of the air- I wish I coul dwrite like you. Masterful story telling. The complete fic. Love your work so much.



Author's Response: Awww, you're too kind! Thank you, Ziggy. *blows kiss*


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 25, 2019 8:57 · For: Prologue

Oh Narya- how delicious!! Sauron as a creppy, urbane Aleister-Crowley type antique dealer:) Just adore the way you've written this. Gorgeous details, great atmosphere, all the little hits (Bringer of Gifts indeed!!)



Author's Response: Thank you, Ziggy :D sorry, I've just spotted all your reviews, the notifications went into the junk folder...!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 12, 2019 22:52 · For: The House on Torcello

This was GORGEOUS— the atmosphere, for one thing, the beautiful house in the lagoon, like a haven that Claire runs to, and of course she does, who else is there that would understand? The lovely, timeless stillness of it, and Maglor dropping his glamour — oh wow. And of course the shock that he immediately tries to help, in that lovely room, which seems so jarring to the horror she went through.

But he’s so right, she did something, and to a creature he loathed and thought might have killed her. Of course there’s a lot more to it than her ‘health’, as Thuringwethil did definitely poison her. 

 

The smell of her..old blood and death from under the earth..

 

That is such a brilliant description! ugh, made me shiver. 

 

Maglor as Robin Hood, yes, I would want to crow at that too. 

 

Burt what a bombshell— giving him the Palantir!

 

This was just amazing! 



Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love writing Venice, it feels like its own character, a bit like St Andrews feels to me when I write Paradox.

Thuringwethil did poison her, yes, mentally as well as physically; it's going to take some getting over, but we'll get to that.

I had to end with the Palantir. There was more to that conversation but I've shifted it into the next chapter, it was the perfect note to pause on and I couldn't pass it up.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 30, 2019 20:20 · For: Signor Sunshine

I am reviewing here too :)

 

I absolutely think your Mr Arthur May was brilliant. My god, I could feel him! I would not like him on my trail AT ALL.

 

And your descriptions of Venice are luscious and to die for, but poor Claire feeling the after-effects, unwell and shivery. But Torcello...

 

But outside the city, perhaps...out on the lagoon...she thought of swamps and tamarisks, weedy fields, soft tawny grass that waved in the breeze like a lion's mane. Torcello – the secluded haven of duMaurier and Hemingway and Pinter and Maugham. Would Maglor go there?

 

That is perfect for Maglor, perfect for Claire too, for this time. Somewhere calm, peaceful, shut away from the bustle. 

 

And I love the name Mr Sunshine they have for Maglor! 

 

Thank you so much for posting this :) 



Author's Response: Nooo, Mr. Arthur May is not someone you would want on your trail at all ;) I am so glad you like this. And Claire will be OK, with bit of time, space and TLC. Mr. Sunshine...that came out of nowhere. Thank you!


You must login () to review.