| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Do not ask for permission by Kalendeer Explicit
"Do not ask for permission", Curufin's voice whispered in my ear, and I wondered at the game he wanted me to play.
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
The Hounds of Love by Verhalen Explicit
Sören Sigurdsson and "Mark Lowry" are continuing what they started in Sausalito over the summer. But they have some challenges...
~ A Throne of Shadows ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
Set after Last Night I Dreamt I Went to Summerland Again, Vanimöré wishes to reunite Maglor and his son...
~ Last Night I Dreamt I Went to Summerland Again ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
At the Monument, after Dagor Dagorath, Vanimöré wakes from a dream. Anything is better than doing nothing and...
Transmitting by curiouswombat Teen
Returnverse. Legolas' party of elves, a dwarf, and The Key, set off to explore their new lands. Ithilienne, left behind...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...

Site Info

Members: 494
Series: 95
Stories: 1789
Chapters: 9150
Word count: 28360326
Authors: 143
Reviews: 16835
Reviewers: 226
Newest Member: Enyalie
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
12/12/19 10:05 am
Welcome, Enyalie :)
Spiced Wine
12/09/19 09:46 am
Well, I’m not sure, Gabriel, but Fandom Stocking, which I think isn’t running this year (on DW) is similar
Gabriel
12/09/19 12:14 am
Oh, thanks Spiced! That sounds lovely.
Spiced Wine
12/08/19 08:23 pm
Is it where you write little gifts for someone’s ‘stocking’?
Gabriel
12/08/19 12:57 am
Not a problem, Ziggy. And what's a Christmas Stocking exactly? I'd be up for anything really. Anything to keep me writing.:D
ziggy
12/07/19 08:46 pm
I'm thinking there probably aren't enough of us to do the advent Calendar every day, Gabriel- I haven't got capacity to do every other day... maybe a Christmas stocking? Week before Christ
Spiced Wine
12/06/19 10:16 am
Happy Friday :)
Spiced Wine
12/05/19 05:13 pm
Some people do a round robin each December, Astorey. One person will write a chapter, then someone else write the next, and so on
astorey_91
12/05/19 01:38 pm
It’s probably a little bit late to ask this (I’m sorry), but, what is the advent calendar? :) lol A writing event? :)
Naledi
12/04/19 10:16 pm
I completely forgot about the advent calendar! I'm going to have to bow out this year, I'm afraid, because I'm stupidly busy at the moment.
Shout Archive



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: September 27, 2018 2:11 · For: Chapter 3

It’s so good to see Celebrimbor and Curufin being supportive and loving with each other!  I am so glad Curufin got this second chance to mend the bridges.

What an interesting twist with the ring of Barahir!  I can totally see Curufin stirring up Nargorthond in jealousy over Finrod giving his gift away.  It’s interesting that Finrod and Curufin don’t talk in rebirth; have they tried but it only ended in anger?  I can see them both unable to understand the other’s POV.  For Finrod’s eyes Curufin betrayed him and led his people to turn on their king.  But from Curufin’s POV Finrod was the poor king encouraging his people to throw their lives away on a suicide mission.  I hope though that Finrod has healed too, even if Curufin and him can’t get along.

And last chapter: loved that Elrond’s sons didn’t want to sail and were feeling trapped and restless in Valinor after only just arriving!  And, of course, loved the potential of Amros/Amrod/Elrohir/Elladan!  You have me really interested in seeing more of the Fenaorion twins :D



Author's Response:

All that heartbreak, I wanted Celebrimbor resolve his issues with his father on his own. Not because of external or forced circumstances, though similar settings led to their enstrangement. The Ring of Barahir was a tool, i admit that. As for Finrod, let's see what happens down the road. I'm not in general a "poor Finrod" person.

On that thought, have you read in joy and in tradgedy ?

I will recommand this short fic and Curufin&Finrod to my last breath, it's beautiful.

Also thanks for agreeing with be about Elladan/Elrohir. I'm not often happy with how they are portrayed. First I can't imagine them separating forever, not with having grown up with tales of Elros and Gil-galad's death fresh in their father's mind. The Ambarussa is a kindhearded spirit of a different sort.



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2018 4:00 · For: Chapter 1
Oh I love this! I am firmly in the "Erestor is a staunch Fëanorion follower" camp and this fic is truly ultimate Erestor Fëanorion follower material.
But I really am moved by the friendship angle--that they were boys together, that there is someone who truly understands the trauma of Miriel because he lived it with him. Someone who understands the fear Fëanor must have felt at Nerdanel's first pregnancy, who understands what being a father means to Fëanor. Someone who has been around so long he can talk back to Fëanor with near impunity.
And you give us a Fëanor who has found a purpose and is now a force of healing, which is far better for his own healing than eternal isolation in Mandos. And it's mellowed him. He's learned some things. Appreciation for his brothers being one.
I'm so glad you mention healed Maedhros. And that Caranthir is so noted and in apparent harmony with Celegorm and Curufin.
I have been feeling bad because I have let my Feanorion fun bingo card languish but you give me hope and inspiration! Looking forward to more of this fic!

Author's Response:

I'm surprised myself how easy it is to write Erestor as Feanor's best friend. But it's not a stretch to go from Feanorian Follower to 'Family friend'. Erestor is the kind of uncle that was a permanent figure in the kids lives, before and after. So I agree with everything you said about them. Feanor deserves someone like that.

Feanor also deserves to contribute the Noldor's history further than having started a rebellion. He had an impact and I don't think the Valar would've understimated or forgotten that once the war was over.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2018 23:16 · For: Chapter 1

It’s wonderful to hear that things are going well for you :hugs:  Do not worry at all over not having the time to read my story; goodness knows I am seriously behind myself in reading and reviewing all the lovely work you and other authors in our great fandom have been creating!

I always wanted to give Feanor a best friend. Someone who chose him, him alone. Long before his sons came along. For if his sons loved him so much, there are other people who did the same. People who didn't agree with Nerdanel, who stuck around instead of leaving in difficult times.”

I really like this: that there were true friends who stuck by him, loving him and trying to save him from himself until the end.  Of course, sometimes people have to leave a friendship when it grows toxic, but I like that Feanor’s friendship and relationship with Erestor did not become toxic.  There are few things that upset me so much when reading a story as abusiveFeanor.  I love that you showed us that Feanor was a man not only worth following in the beginning, but staying loyal too through Ages of the world.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2018 22:55 · For: Chapter 1

Oh, I loved this!!!  Feanor being the first reborn, and there to greet all the reborn is such a beautiful idea!  I can totally see him feeling like his biggest regret was dying too soon, having accomplished too little.

Feanor/Erestor friendship is amazing!  Feanor needs more friends, and I find that quote about him being surrounded by friends at his end to be interesting too.  We need more stories of Feanor/friendship, so thank you for writing this!

 

And I am just so happy to see how happy the Feanorions are, at last!  They have found their peace, and it is beautiful :)



Author's Response:

Nice to hear from you! I shamefully admit that I had no time to proper review your new story so far, but i hope you are doing well.

My life is looking up, hence why I perhaps need to write this story. I always wanted to give Feanor a best friend. Someone who chose him, him alone. Long before his sons came along. For if his sons loved him so much, there are other people who did the same. People who didn't agree with Nerdanel, who stuck around instead of leaving in difficult times.

And yes, I needed to give Feanor a possebility to contribute the war as well. He started the rebellion, he is allowed to welcome them home and tell them "well done."

If everything goes well, there will be sixteen chapters. One for each card of the bingo book!



You must login () to review.