| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

~ The Once and Future Kings ~ by Spiced Wine Explicit
After the destruction of the old universe, Vanimórë, sitting outside ‘Time’ in the ‘Monument’...
Garmonbozia-(Pain and sorrow) by astorey_91 Explicit
How Namo treats the fëar in his care (dark!Namo AU)And how two maiar get caught up in it.
Fragments from Middle-earth by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Ficlets of under 1000 words written for past BTMEM Challenges. They feature mostly Aragorn, Faramir, Halbarad and OCs
Two shores of the lake by Lumeriel Explicit
Once again, the families of Fëanor and Fingolfin live separated by a lake. After being reborn, both families find a way...
The Prince and the Dragon by Lumeriel Mature
"The day that Nolofinwë heard the story of the Beast from his nanny's mouth, it was also the first time he heard about his...
A Shadow Over Genesis by Spiced Wine Explicit
  He woke beside Finwë when the Unbegotten opened their eyes to the starlight over Cuiviénen. Brother...
Angels and crooks by Nuredhel General Audiences
Bard and Thran has gotten used to their new life but they do still have their jobs and my oh my does that make things interesting...

Site Info

Members: 488
Series: 93
Stories: 1772
Chapters: 9016
Word count: 27760247
Authors: 142
Reviews: 16776
Reviewers: 225
Newest Member: Mairen Marshall
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 14
Members: Lumeriel

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
09/14/19 11:07 pm
Welcome, Mairen :)
Spiced Wine
09/13/19 09:18 am
Happy Friday, everyone \o/
Spiced Wine
09/12/19 07:13 pm
Astorey, could you email me using the contact form and I can tell you about how to put pics onto a fic?
Spiced Wine
09/11/19 08:30 pm
Nelya — Sorry, that would be Estiel’s purview; Narya and I can’t do that
Spiced Wine
09/11/19 08:29 pm
Most of the free hosting sites are being closed, but I can host one for you, if you like
Spiced Wine
09/11/19 08:29 pm
Astorey— yes, of course it is. You have to first host the image so you can obtain a code for it.
astorey_91
09/10/19 01:56 pm
If it’s okay to ask, is there a way to add pictures to a fic that is posted?
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/09/19 09:05 pm
I didn't see Azaghâl's name on the list of characters when I was posting my latest fic!
ziggy
09/06/19 10:55 pm
NASH! I called you Narya in a review!! So sorry. (grovel. Will write everything you ask of me in apology. x
Spiced Wine
09/01/19 10:29 am
Oh, that’s good, Ziggy!
Shout Archive



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: September 27, 2018 2:11 · For: Chapter 3

It’s so good to see Celebrimbor and Curufin being supportive and loving with each other!  I am so glad Curufin got this second chance to mend the bridges.

What an interesting twist with the ring of Barahir!  I can totally see Curufin stirring up Nargorthond in jealousy over Finrod giving his gift away.  It’s interesting that Finrod and Curufin don’t talk in rebirth; have they tried but it only ended in anger?  I can see them both unable to understand the other’s POV.  For Finrod’s eyes Curufin betrayed him and led his people to turn on their king.  But from Curufin’s POV Finrod was the poor king encouraging his people to throw their lives away on a suicide mission.  I hope though that Finrod has healed too, even if Curufin and him can’t get along.

And last chapter: loved that Elrond’s sons didn’t want to sail and were feeling trapped and restless in Valinor after only just arriving!  And, of course, loved the potential of Amros/Amrod/Elrohir/Elladan!  You have me really interested in seeing more of the Fenaorion twins :D



Author's Response:

All that heartbreak, I wanted Celebrimbor resolve his issues with his father on his own. Not because of external or forced circumstances, though similar settings led to their enstrangement. The Ring of Barahir was a tool, i admit that. As for Finrod, let's see what happens down the road. I'm not in general a "poor Finrod" person.

On that thought, have you read in joy and in tradgedy ?

I will recommand this short fic and Curufin&Finrod to my last breath, it's beautiful.

Also thanks for agreeing with be about Elladan/Elrohir. I'm not often happy with how they are portrayed. First I can't imagine them separating forever, not with having grown up with tales of Elros and Gil-galad's death fresh in their father's mind. The Ambarussa is a kindhearded spirit of a different sort.



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2018 4:00 · For: Chapter 1
Oh I love this! I am firmly in the "Erestor is a staunch Fëanorion follower" camp and this fic is truly ultimate Erestor Fëanorion follower material.
But I really am moved by the friendship angle--that they were boys together, that there is someone who truly understands the trauma of Miriel because he lived it with him. Someone who understands the fear Fëanor must have felt at Nerdanel's first pregnancy, who understands what being a father means to Fëanor. Someone who has been around so long he can talk back to Fëanor with near impunity.
And you give us a Fëanor who has found a purpose and is now a force of healing, which is far better for his own healing than eternal isolation in Mandos. And it's mellowed him. He's learned some things. Appreciation for his brothers being one.
I'm so glad you mention healed Maedhros. And that Caranthir is so noted and in apparent harmony with Celegorm and Curufin.
I have been feeling bad because I have let my Feanorion fun bingo card languish but you give me hope and inspiration! Looking forward to more of this fic!

Author's Response:

I'm surprised myself how easy it is to write Erestor as Feanor's best friend. But it's not a stretch to go from Feanorian Follower to 'Family friend'. Erestor is the kind of uncle that was a permanent figure in the kids lives, before and after. So I agree with everything you said about them. Feanor deserves someone like that.

Feanor also deserves to contribute the Noldor's history further than having started a rebellion. He had an impact and I don't think the Valar would've understimated or forgotten that once the war was over.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2018 23:16 · For: Chapter 1

It’s wonderful to hear that things are going well for you :hugs:  Do not worry at all over not having the time to read my story; goodness knows I am seriously behind myself in reading and reviewing all the lovely work you and other authors in our great fandom have been creating!

I always wanted to give Feanor a best friend. Someone who chose him, him alone. Long before his sons came along. For if his sons loved him so much, there are other people who did the same. People who didn't agree with Nerdanel, who stuck around instead of leaving in difficult times.”

I really like this: that there were true friends who stuck by him, loving him and trying to save him from himself until the end.  Of course, sometimes people have to leave a friendship when it grows toxic, but I like that Feanor’s friendship and relationship with Erestor did not become toxic.  There are few things that upset me so much when reading a story as abusiveFeanor.  I love that you showed us that Feanor was a man not only worth following in the beginning, but staying loyal too through Ages of the world.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2018 22:55 · For: Chapter 1

Oh, I loved this!!!  Feanor being the first reborn, and there to greet all the reborn is such a beautiful idea!  I can totally see him feeling like his biggest regret was dying too soon, having accomplished too little.

Feanor/Erestor friendship is amazing!  Feanor needs more friends, and I find that quote about him being surrounded by friends at his end to be interesting too.  We need more stories of Feanor/friendship, so thank you for writing this!

 

And I am just so happy to see how happy the Feanorions are, at last!  They have found their peace, and it is beautiful :)



Author's Response:

Nice to hear from you! I shamefully admit that I had no time to proper review your new story so far, but i hope you are doing well.

My life is looking up, hence why I perhaps need to write this story. I always wanted to give Feanor a best friend. Someone who chose him, him alone. Long before his sons came along. For if his sons loved him so much, there are other people who did the same. People who didn't agree with Nerdanel, who stuck around instead of leaving in difficult times.

And yes, I needed to give Feanor a possebility to contribute the war as well. He started the rebellion, he is allowed to welcome them home and tell them "well done."

If everything goes well, there will be sixteen chapters. One for each card of the bingo book!



You must login () to review.