| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Prince and the Dragon by Lumeriel Mature
"The day that Nolofinwë heard the story of the Beast from his nanny's mouth, it was also the first time he heard about his...
A Shadow Over Genesis by Spiced Wine Explicit
  He woke beside Finwë when the Unbegotten opened their eyes to the starlight over Cuiviénen. Brother...
As who loses a star by Lumeriel General Audiences
From the point of view of someone different, someone who was next to the King in his last battle.
The Stricken Anvil by SkyEventide Teen
Morgoth has found Gondolin and is attacking it. The city is falling. Rôg leads the House of the Hammer of Wrath into battle...
Garmonbozia-(Pain and sorrow) by astorey_91 Explicit
A dark!Namo AU, about Namo's treatment of the fëar in his care. **Chapter 5 is and 6 are new**
At the Sign of the Prancing Pony by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A certain inn holds a special place in Aragorn's heart.
Addiction by Bookworm0624 Mature
After suffering serious injuries on a routine patrol young Legolas finds himself struggling with a frightening dependency...

Site Info

Members: 487
Series: 91
Stories: 1767
Chapters: 8993
Word count: 27675253
Authors: 142
Reviews: 16747
Reviewers: 225
Newest Member: Lizzie
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 12
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
08/23/19 09:45 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
08/22/19 06:24 pm
Very good to have you, Lumeriel:)
Lumeriel
08/22/19 06:20 pm
I'm always late for any chat XD Happy to be here!
Spiced Wine
08/21/19 09:45 pm
Welcome, Lizzie :)
Spiced Wine
08/20/19 09:31 pm
It’s lovely :)
ziggy
08/20/19 08:54 pm
Isn't it nice to have so many new writers posting here! Welcome everyone.
Spiced Wine
08/19/19 09:38 pm
Thank you for posting here, Lumeriel :)
Spiced Wine
08/17/19 07:33 pm
Under ‘Browse’ on here, you can search for a few things, like categories, ratings and content
Spiced Wine
08/17/19 07:32 pm
They just have Pen name, title and summary
Spiced Wine
08/17/19 07:32 pm
I’ve looked on SWG which is also e-script but can’t see one on there, either.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Elemental

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 18, 2018 4:44 · For: Sky /3
Oh! Is this the end?

I hope you continue on with it, this is wonderful.

Would love and hope for him to find Elrond.

I enjoyed this. So many parts reminded me of myself.

Very profound look at Maglor's grief upon the shores. Thank you.

Author's Response:

The end of this short piece, yes, but not of the story. Like Something Spicy, this is part of a larger story arc which might or will get additional, if small, pieces. I'm having two more in the works, both with Maglor and Elrond, ;o), and a third one already exists, "This time", although when I wrote that I didn't have the rest in mind yet; it takes place much later. There's also a drabble in my "Approaching Rivendell" series which happens soon after "Elemental"; no. 19, called "Meeting."



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 18, 2018 4:35 · For: Sky /2
That brought a tear to my eyes. That he wanted to share his new lease on life and all its wonders with someone, with people.

Beautiful. :)

Author's Response:

Awww, thank you! :o)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 18, 2018 4:29 · For: Part two: Sky - Freedom
I love the fact that he chooses to see the beauty in everything, as the healing process continues. It will probably never truly be over for Maglor.

That brings me to the point of Elves and how they remember everything. Reliving everything. So something like this, grief, horror etc is probably worse for him because it never truly goes away. In Men it fades over time, but in Elves...

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your review!
Our minds seem to run along very similar paths! I'm very intrigued by what it truly means to live nearly endlessly, and to remember everything, how you really deal with it. I imagine that they develop techniques to cope with the sheer amount of information, like selectively letting certain things slip to the background; but I don't think that would be possible with things like such grief or horror, and would need a special way of dealing with it. I've heard that when you lose someone very close to you (partner, spouse, child, possibly also sibling or parent) you never get over the loss and the grief, you just learn to live with it. I imagine it similarly for Maglor to deal with his past. Looking out for beauty and kindness is one of my own coping mechanisms with depression, and I figured it would work for Maglor as well. And music, of course, but it'll take a bit longer until he fully reclaims that for himself, too.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 18, 2018 4:20 · For: Sea /3
Super good news that he feels again: hunger tiredness and the memories returning. And begins to take care of himself once again. :)

Author's Response:

It's tiresome and exhausting to get there, and pull through with it, isn't it? But it's also a start, and a sign of life.
Thank you! :o)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 18, 2018 4:13 · For: Sea /2
This is exactly what its like. An awakening. And the realisation of just how far you let yourself go.

I used to feel a little ashamed at how far I'd let myself slip and not noticed.

Author's Response:

I used to feel a little ashamed at how far I'd let myself slip and not noticed.
I can totally relate to that, too! *hugs* Thank you for your feedback!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 18, 2018 3:58 · For: Part one: Sea - Memory
Oh! Poor Maglor.

I like how you didn't just write about him wandering up and down the shore in grief and singing about it. I like how he went through a process of grief and shock then sunk into depression etc. The fog that took all his memories. This shows more depth to Maglor that you don't normally see. That death and the manner of it, the grief and despair and the horror, really struck him at his core. It stripped him of all he was and left him a shell of his former self.

Wow! Ysilme! Very deep.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your feedback! *beams*
Maglor's fate always has touched me on a deeply personal level, but on the other hand it simply didn't fit for me that somebody with such a history behind him would merely succumb to grief, or punish himself forever about his deeds. For a time, yes, and as deep and bad as it gets, absolutely. But the really interesting part for me is the time when this stops/is over, and when the mental working trough the mud begins. I've always thought, from own experience and from witnessing this in others, that this is the hardest part, and the one that takes most courage. And courage is something I totally see him having in spades.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 12, 2018 13:58 · For: Sky /3
I thought this was lovely. Very sad and poignant, but at the end it was hopeful for him, and the photos are so beautiful and fit with the story so well :)

Author's Response:

Thank you for your feedback! I'm happy this works for you, also including the images. When we were at that beach during our trip, I suddenly had the idea that this would have been a place where Maglor could have healed, and so the story happened.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 11, 2018 20:08 · For: Sky /3
Fabulous ending - not entirely happy, but hopeful. I love this fic - the style and concept have a very "arthouse" feel about it, like a really beautiful independent film. (Hope that makes sense...)

Author's Response:

OMG, thank you so much for this wonderful, wonderful feedback, you totally made my day! <3 No, wait, my summer, writing-wise... This makes total sense to me, I think this is the nicest thing somebody has ever said about one of my works. *blushes crimson* *does the happy crazy dance* *puts on goofy, happy smile*



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 11, 2018 20:04 · For: Sky /2
People. He missed people. Funny that this should happen now, Maglor thought. During his wanderings, he had sometimes spotted people in the distance, or seen or heard signs of their presence. Without conscious thought he had always avoided them. With a sigh, he unfolded his legs and dug his hands into the sand, watching how the grains trickled back down. What now?

I want to go back.


*sobs*

Author's Response:

Sorry not sorry... *passes hankerchief* He will meet people again, and find Elrond, and more. Promise! ^^



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 11, 2018 20:02 · For: Part two: Sky - Freedom
I really love this. It's so beautiful, and so heartbreaking. The comparison to Maedhros post-Thangorodrim is really interesting.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I'm glad, too, that the "beautiful and heartbreaking" works so well, as I was aiming particularly for that. ;o)
I've read a couple of really good post-Thangorodrim stories focusing on Maedhros, and when this story started to work out in my mind the connection kind of presented itself. Not wanting to downgrade Maedhros's sufferings I've always thought that Maglor's part must have been nearly as horrible, if  of a different nature.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 11, 2018 20:00 · For: Part one: Sea - Memory
Oh this is so sad - and what an intriguing concept.

My vision of post-First Age Maglor marries with yours; clearly he was in a terrible mental state to throw away the Silmaril, but I agree that he would put himself back together over the years. He's too strong, too powerful for it to be any other way.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your feedback!
I had ideas about this already since a long time; there are some drafts of later episodes with "this" (my) Maglor, as well as one finished one, although those are more focused on Elrond. This one took me so very long to finish - over a year. I feel very drawn to your Maglor in The Ways of Paradox, he feels so natural to me - which might not be surprising when you have a similar view of him. I totally agree: too strong, too powerful - which doesn't mean things are easy, no matter when.
(Aso in re: one of your review answers: I haven't read any of your other stories yet, but have bookmarked them; I'll happily read up on them all and find out what you mentioned.)



You must login () to review.