| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

He doesn't know by Ellynn General Audiences
A dwarf-maiden is in love with Gimli... but he has absolutely no idea.
Discovery by Ellynn General Audiences
Hobbit fic. During a trip to the mountains, an ordinary modern day teenager will discover that he is not so ordinary after...
Lunatic Idea by Ellynn General Audiences
In 1952, one astrophysicist brings forth a revolutionary idea about the universe. It sounds lunatic – by the words...
The Soldier sleeps no More by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Aragorn and Faramir are troubled by past memories.
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
Ada by ziggy General Audiences
If he did not speak, then who would remember Maglor, Maedhros as they truly were. And he could not have his children think...
~ A Crown of Ash ~ by Spiced Wine General Audiences
Set directly after A Throne of Shadows, with the Clouds now gutted by fire, events move to the north-west of Scotland. The...

Site Info

Members: 510
Series: 97
Stories: 1825
Chapters: 9209
Word count: 28181363
Authors: 145
Reviews: 17077
Reviewers: 229
Newest Member: elfofArda
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
05/29/20 02:03 pm
Hello, ElfofArda :) Welcome
Narya
05/29/20 12:53 pm
Welcome, elfofArda :)
Spiced Wine
05/29/20 10:15 am
Happy Friday, everyone, hope you are all safe and well
Spiced Wine
05/28/20 04:54 pm
Welcome Hoggy Greenleaf :)
Spiced Wine
05/24/20 07:31 pm
Yes, it looks lovely, tomorrow, for not going anywhere :D
ziggy
05/24/20 05:43 pm
Happy Bank Holiday to the UK. Unexpectedly good weather! Hope everyone is OK in the lockdown.
Narya
05/22/20 09:53 pm
Happy Friday! :D
Spiced Wine
05/22/20 09:54 am
Happy Friday everyone :)
Narya
05/21/20 08:47 am
*Sorry, that's 23.59 CET!
Narya
05/21/20 08:46 am
Author signups for TRSB20 close at 23.59 tomorrow! Don't miss out ;)
Shout Archive



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 24, 2018 19:03 · For: Chapter 1

This is just lovely. The intimacy and comfort of them all together actually discussing something not so serious but with a serious intent is delightful and Caranthir is an absolute joy! His saturnine humour and deadpan humour kills me. Maedhros is beautifully written (how could he not be?) and Finrod, ah, Finrod- this is the best explanation for the Nauglamir ever:) Made me smile and left me delighted.



Author's Response: Thank you ziggy! I love imagining interactions that aren't fraught with angst and misery--their love for each other and joy in companionship instead. You know they had to have these moments, we just never get to see them.

I adore Caranthir. He gets short shrift in canon and fan fic but I think of him as quite brilliant with an edgy, dry sense of humor and forthright demeanor. And you know how I love dear Maedhros.

I'm so thrilled you like my Nauglamir explanation! Dearest Finrod--how can anyone not love Finrod? Thank you so much!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 17, 2018 4:54 · For: Chapter 1
Nelya, this was really nice having these four together.

And for once Findekano wasn't there, so you get to see Finrod interacting with the Feanorions, which was priceless.

I loved how everyone teased Maedhros at the beginning. That Fingon's chambers are more luxurious and appointed than anywhere else in the fortress. I just thought that was so beautiful, shows the absolute love he has for his cousin.

I loved that you included Caranthir too, in this, all commerce and teasing as he was. We could do with more Caranthir.

The idea behind the Nauglamir was pure genius! And I agree with everyone else that Finrod is the last person to need any more enhancement in the looks department.

This was such a treat. I really love happy times with the House of Finwe. Well as happy as they can be with Morgoth a few miles away.

Lovely chapter Nelya. :)

Author's Response: Thank so much Gabriel! I really wanted to focus on Finrod's relationship with the Fëanorions since we know from canon that it was good, at least initially. Maedhros is in a good place currently. Recovered from his rescue, making his fortress at Himring strong and self sufficient and no one is tip toeing around him anymore. And Findekano is still just the heir not the king do can is it when he chooses. I love Caranthir! I love his orderly, business focused mind. Creative in ways quite different from his brothers--ice wine for example. Thrilled you liked my idea that the Nauglamir started as a pity gift to poor facial hair challenged Finrod! Happy times for the house of Finwë make me happy. I love reading them and writing them.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 16, 2018 22:47 · For: Chapter 1
Oh, this is lovely :) I very much enjoyed their conversation, it was funny, with moments of poignancy and memory, and a wonderful rapport.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I needed some happy moments with these characters. That's exactly what I was going for--funny, intimate, but also hinting at the deeper matters that are always below the surface.

I'm so glad you liked it.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 16, 2018 20:06 · For: Chapter 1
Oh! Nelya! I'm in love with this :D

I adore the dynamic between the cousins (you know how much I enjoy writing and reading about that!), and the little bittersweet notes that cut across the easy warmth of the reunion - Finrod remembering the ice, and the awkward comment about the Silmarils. I guess even Finrod isn't perfect, and occasionally forgets when it might be more politic to keep his mouth shut.

And of course the reference to poor dear Nelyo's short hair is heartbreaking :( is this set fairly shortly after the rescue, then? Or in your 'verse does his hair never grow back?

The worldbuilding is beautifully done too - I really like this explanation for the Nauglamir. Fancy anyone thinking Finrod had anything wrong with his physical appearance! I loved Caranthir's teasing, it felt very in character - and Maglor being the sensible, grounding presence in it all.

Beautiful :) made my Monday!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Narya!!

That's exactly what I was striving for--an easy, intimate companionship but an undercurrent of the serious issues that influence their lives. Like you mentioned: Finrod and the ice, the unfortunate comment about jewels vs weapons, Caranthir joking about Curvo willing to kill for that necklace. . .

It's some years after the rescue but Nelyo's been keeping his hair short because he can't be fussed to deal with it. He can't do much with it one handed and he's not keen on asking for help with it. He lets it grow out a bit before Fingon's visits then cuts it shorter again when he leaves. But this encounter with the dwarves is the impetus to go back to a traditional hairstyle. Erestor will be pressed into service.

I'm so glad you liked the Nauglamir explanation. Imagine them thinking the only thing to make Finrod utterly sublime is to add facial hair!

I love Caranthir. I see him as being in a tough position in the family--the other six siblings basically forming units of two around him. My Caranthir has a very dry sense of humor. He's blunt. And quite the accountant and manager.

So glad you enjoyed it-I had promised you a Finrod story a few months ago when we were all wondering why we don't write him more. I've got another one in mind too--we'll see how it goes!



You must login () to review.