| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Bedtime by Narya General Audiences
Maglor is away on a trip and Maedhros has been left with the children. He isn't sure he's up to the task.
A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1678
Chapters: 8564
Word count: 26086592
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16049
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

Gabriel
09/21/18 11:38 pm
There is also mine as well,(SinS) if anyone's interested in taking a look, which isn't on the list, as I was late in posting. :/
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:34 pm
Oh my goodness Narya! Please take good care of yourself. :)
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 08:08 pm
You’re welcome :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 07:47 pm
Thank you, Spiced! <3
Narya
09/21/18 06:59 pm
Ahh, Spiced, thank you <3 hope everyone has a lovely weekend planned!
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 06:10 pm
Okay it is up
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 06:03 pm
Okay :)
Narya
09/21/18 03:36 pm
Thank you, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 03:17 pm
with SinS online now. Spiced, can you do a news post about the masterlist, or with a link to the AO3 collection? That would be lovely! <3
Ysilme
09/21/18 03:16 pm
Happy Friday to everyone! Narya, I hope you're feeling better soon! Viruses can be rather draining and demand a lot of patience. At least there's lots of lovely reading material
Shout Archive


Reviews For Silver Girl

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 14, 2018 12:17 · For: Chapter 1

Great idea- I love the matter of fact way they all deal with this. As always, lovely writing



Author's Response:

Thank you very much, ziggy!

Glad you like the idea and the way the characters deal with things!



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 09, 2018 7:44 · For: Chapter 1
I really like this, Himring. Your characterisation of Celebrian is lovely - sensitive and tough at the same time - and I enjoyed Celeborn's measured response to the suspicion that his daughter had met Maglor. I particularly liked the idea that there were lots of wandering, ragged, down-on-their-luck Elves at this point in history - I hadn't really thought about that before, but it makes sense.

I'll be thinking about this piece for some time. Thank you for sharing.

Author's Response:

Thank you, Narya! I'm glad you like Celebrian and Celeborn here.

It seemed to make sense to me, that Maglor would not be the only wandering elf, after the War of Wrath and the drowning of Beleriand. They were such major upheavals that surely it took quite some time for things to settle. And some of those displaced elves maybe never did settle down, but in time became members of wandering companies, like Gildor's.

Nellas, in my 'verse, is one of those wandering, ragged elves, until she has a cathartic meeting with Maglor.  



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 08, 2018 8:10 · For: Chapter 1
I think it was such a great idea to have Celebrian and Maglor meet for the first time. Celebrian has, to me always seemed a bit of a background character, you don't read much about her and she has always seemed so far removed from all that happened so long ago and from that side of her family heritage. It's so easy to forget that she is related to Feanor and Fingolfin, so to have these two meet is a re-connection of that link. Which I personally think is wonderful.

The way you described Maglor's appearance and physical health was a little bit of a shock too, I don't know why. It was a much more real representation of how you would expect him to appear after many ages in absolute despair, fending for himself.

A very solemn chapter.

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad you like the idea!

We don't seem to know when Celebrian was born. It could have been very early in the Second Age, or later. She is supposed to have left Ost-in-Edhil with Galadriel for Khazad-dum, in one version of the tale, but we don't know how she old she would have been, then.

I wrote this for someone who is a fan of both Celebrian and Maglor. And then it struck me that a story involving them both did not need to be set at the time she was already married to Elrond, because that wasn't the only link between them, and they could meet a lot earlier.

In my 'verse, Maglor is in an extremely bad state just after he threw the Silmaril in the sea. He recovers, but slowly. In stories set in the Third Age, he is in much better shape and has completely regained his singing voice.



Name: lotrfan (Signed) · Date: July 08, 2018 2:06 · For: Chapter 1
This was lovely. I really like the idea that she made a friend on her own like this and that he stayed because of her. There is a poignancy to him keeping her safe and seeing the loneliness in her.

And that she saw him just as that, a friend, no worries about his backstory or his background,

I'm glad Celeborn figured out that it was likely Maglor and that there was no need to tell Galadriel!

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad you liked both of them, here, and their friendship.

My Maglor eventually falls into a habit of rescuing and protecting the young on his wanderings, partly because he is haunted by the memory of Elrond and Elros. But I think Celebrian may be the first such encounter. She is certainly special.

Good to hear that that Celeborn's reaction works for you!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 07, 2018 22:19 · For: Chapter 1
That’s lovely Himring, very sad, Burt lovely that Maglor would share friendship with Celebrían for a little while, even if she did not know him, and perhaps better so, as she did not judge, just accepted.

Author's Response:

Thank you very much!

I'm glad you liked their friendship.

I think, even if she did not know it was Maglor, it might also make her less disposed to judge, later, when she marries Elrond and realizes how strong his ties to Maglor and Maedhros were.



You must login () to review.