| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Bedtime by Narya General Audiences
Maglor is away on a trip and Maedhros has been left with the children. He isn't sure he's up to the task.
A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1678
Chapters: 8564
Word count: 26086592
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16049
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members:

Shoutbox

Gabriel
09/21/18 11:38 pm
There is also mine as well,(SinS) if anyone's interested in taking a look, which isn't on the list, as I was late in posting. :/
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:34 pm
Oh my goodness Narya! Please take good care of yourself. :)
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 08:08 pm
You’re welcome :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 07:47 pm
Thank you, Spiced! <3
Narya
09/21/18 06:59 pm
Ahh, Spiced, thank you <3 hope everyone has a lovely weekend planned!
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 06:10 pm
Okay it is up
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 06:03 pm
Okay :)
Narya
09/21/18 03:36 pm
Thank you, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 03:17 pm
with SinS online now. Spiced, can you do a news post about the masterlist, or with a link to the AO3 collection? That would be lovely! <3
Ysilme
09/21/18 03:16 pm
Happy Friday to everyone! Narya, I hope you're feeling better soon! Viruses can be rather draining and demand a lot of patience. At least there's lots of lovely reading material
Shout Archive



Name: kasura (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2018 5:17 · For: Chapter 14
Let me repeat myself, what complex worldbuilding you have done so far, with the political unrest and cultural clashing between the Exiles and different elven races in Valinor, the Underground Resistance, and the stifling neo Doriath, where Thingol got even crazier and more sick with his ego boost, and these Sindar, either too brainwashed or too afraid to challenge Thingol, just turn blind to the evils things he did, or enable him to create more evils. I don’t feel so far this arc is tying up loose ends, it’s like tying up some ends, and then unravel more loose ends, more questions, and new challenges. It’s amazing…I am loving your chapters so much :)

Melian’s enslavement by Thingol surprised me lol. I just assume she was sent there by the Valar to corral the Sindar and preach Valinorean values to them. Hmm I guess the Valar don’t really care whether Melian was enslaved by them or enslaved by Poldorea…as long as they got Luthien’s descendants to bring the Silmaril to them and ruled the Men, they don’t care who’s the Enslaver. And do the Valar not care Poldorea still can exert some power despite being dead? Am glad the Silvan found out about the Land, and stopped their sacrifices to the Land.

So now that begs the question of whether the Silvan will fight with their fellow Valinor elves against the Valar. Having their belief smashed by Elured/Elurin telling them the truth, would they now see the Valar as a more sinister force, being in the same cohort as Poldorea, will that be enough to motivate the Silvan to fight against the Valar? I think with more of their own like Legolas of Greenwood losing the fight against sea longing and sailing to Valinor, I can see the Silvan edging towards fighting against these oppressors. But the Sindar, forget it…I don’t see the Sindar lifting their fingers against the Valar. They will sit tight in their neo Doriath, business as usual. At the worst I can see the Sindar trying to sabotage the war against the Valar?

And ENTERS Caranthir!!! He’s one of my fav Feanorions…and he doesn’t disappoint! I love love how he’s grumpy, no nonsense, say it as it is, non-apologetic & absolute devotion to his family and Curufin. The way he deals with Thingol, you go Caranthir!!! And he takes Elured & Elurin under his wings, because these two needs someone like Caranthir to protect and watch out for them. Their relatives are perfectly okay turning blind eyes to Thingol abusing them…but Caranthir steps in to save the twins. Now they have each other – sniffles. Can’t wait for the twins to meet Elrond. Elrond would be so shocked by his uncles got adopted by Caranthir :)

BTW Caranthir’s rebirth is pppppperfect!

Caranthir arriving in Valinor will be so interesting. Everyone has changed…Finarfin, Finrod, Angrod…they all changed so I am eager to see Caranthir interacting with the transformed Arafinwean side of the extended family. I think Caranthir will see them in a different light….looking forward to how Curufin/Caranthir/Finrod tangle is going to be sorted out XD

Author's Response:
"I don’t feel so far this arc is tying up loose ends, it’s like tying up some ends, and then unravel more loose ends, more questions, and new challenges. It’s amazing…I am loving your chapters so much "

Thank you!!!!  I feel you on this too, it does feel like there are even MORE things to explore, rather then was winding up to the end.  To be honest, it's more than a little overwhelming when I think about how long I imagine this story is going to be, but at the same time I am itching to write so many character again and final get a chance to give them some happiness!

"Melian’s enslavement by Thingol surprised me lol."

I am glad it was a surprise!  Honestly, I could see it going either way for these two: Melian the enslaver/enchantress, or Thingol being the one.  Either way, their relationship does not strike me as a happy romance.  As for the Valar not caring about Thingol wielding her Power, I think it's more that they don't seem to care about what happens in Middle-earth in general.  They never did anything about the many Maiar who followed Melkor after they captured Melkor, they just let them run loose around Middle-earth!  I do think they would care about Poldorea tho, I just don't think they know it was him behind Melian's chaining.  They have to have some idea that the two dead Valar are still present in the world, but I think they underestimate them, thinking they a defeated foe -they definitely underestimated Melkor, after all, when they let him loose.

Will the Silvan fight in the war is a good question.  You are right that there are reasons for them to see the Valar as their enemies, but at the same time, are they willing to leave Middle-earth that they love to go to a foreign land and fight alongside their once-oppressors, the Noldor?  Some have reason to go to Valinor like Eol and Bregolas who will seek Maeglin, but what of the others who have no loved ones there?  It's a big question, and one that could potentially swing the war in the Elves' favor if they can band together against a common foe.  But will they be able to let old hurts go, even for their common freedom?  I think it's a question the Teleri will be facing in Valinor too.  

I am so thrilled you liked Caranthir :happy jig:  He always needs more love   I wish there were more stories centered around him.

"Caranthir arriving in Valinor will be so interesting. Everyone has changed…Finarfin, Finrod, Angrod…they all changed so I am eager to see Caranthir interacting with the transformed Arafinwean side of the extended family. I think Caranthir will see them in a different light….looking forward to how Curufin/Caranthir/Finrod tangle is going to be sorted out XD"

You bring up an excellent point about everything having changed!  I, too, wonder how his interactions with the Arafinwean's will be.  There can be no doubt they share a common goal.  But will he be holding grudges against them and vis versa?  I think Caranthir is a guy who can be surprisingly forgiving as long as the person he's got a problem with acknowledges their fault and starts shaping up.  If, for instance Finrod, starts calling him a Kinsalayer and shoving all his own guilt about Alquendie onto Caranthir, Caranthir is not going to take that lying down, but if Finrod is welcoming and sees Caranthir as his family first, then, even with how jealous Caranthir was over Curufin, I think Carnathir could work with Finrod with only the usual about of arguments (Carnathir will still be Caranthir lol).  Aegnor and his meeting will be an interesting one too, seeing as they cannonly butted heads a lot.  They both have hasty tempers and fiery personalities, but Aegnor remembers nothing of their past and both he and Caranthir are people who don't like to gnaw on grudges.  I can see them clashing often because of their personalities, but getting over it quickly as long as the other does.

Thank you so much for the review!  You sparked ideas in my head with this discussion!!!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: September 03, 2018 21:07 · For: Chapter 14
It's all so sad, and even more so when I think about Curufin. Feanor's own son had lost the heart of who Feanor was, thinking that getting vengeance would have made Feanor happier than seeing Curufin learning to live on without him.

That is so so heartbreaking. One of the most gut-wrenching pieces of writing I have ever read, published or no, is Cururfin’s breakdown after the Beren and Lúthien meeting. And later, before the attack on Doriath when he was almost mad, really. Celebrimbor thought he had forgotten who Fëanor was, and you’re right; he had.

One of the things I love, though, is that there is so much story in this, so much to write about, because it;s not going to be a case of reborn = happy-ever-after.

Author's Response:
"That is so so heartbreaking. One of the most gut-wrenching pieces of writing I have ever read, published or no, is Cururfin’s breakdown after the Beren and Lúthien meeting."

I remember weeping when I was writing that scene.  It was such an emotional wringer; Curufin made me love his character absolutely in that moment, and I have wanted nothing but some damn happiness for my baby ever since.  
Curufin really had forgotten who Feanor was, tho.  And I have no doubt Feanor will blame himself for Curufin self-destruction.  Of course swearing the Oath had a large part in Curufin's breaking, but equally did the doubts and guilt Curufin suffering after Melkor's killing of Finwe, and if Feanor had been more himself, he would have seen something was wrong and done everything he could to make Curufin understand the depth of his love.  But that didn't happen, so the doubts were never silenced and continued to grow over the years until they consumed Curufin.

"One of the things I love, though, is that there is so much story in this, so much to write about, because it;s not going to be a case of reborn = happy-ever-after."

Yes, that's so true.  Rebirth will not erase what came before, and wiping their memories is not healing, it's just another form of destruction.  So the dead will be reborn knowing exactly what not only dying felt like, but what if left like to loose the ones they loved.  I wonder if this will become a crippling fear for some of the reborn?  Will they fear to face-off against the Valar because they are afraid of loosing their loved ones again?....hmm, I think that's something to explore...



Name: merwinem (Signed) · Date: September 01, 2018 21:08 · For: Chapter 14
Thank you for this amazing update!

It’s incredibly sad that the twins had this huge family, but were utterly alone at the same time. All their numerous relations were either unable or unwilling to stand up to their abuser. It took a kinslayer to do what was needed to be done. And, as a result, yet another pair of twins from Thingol’s line chooses the Feanorions over their own family. It will be interesting to see what their mother’s perspective on their new relationship with Caranthir will be when she is reborn.

I feel so bad for Elmo, he is such a tragic character. Both of his lives were ruined by the same man, the person who was supposed to be his protector. And Elmo actually cared about the twins, even if he couldn’t do anything to help. I hope we see him again and he finds peace and happiness. I’m not sure where he could go once he escapes Menegroth, other than seeking out Celeborn or Thranduil. However, Celeborn seems to idealize Doriath and might refuse to listen to anything that might tarnish his memories of the place. I think Thranduil is more critical of Doriath, though.

Thingol is horrible. Out of the trio of Thingol, Ingwe and Finwe, Finwe is without a doubt the least bad both as a king and as a father, and that’s saying something. The saddest thing is that Caranthir was right – there had to have been people who knew about Thingol’s crimes and did nothing. And some Elves actually gave their children to Thingol willingly – it’s just awful. So much for the Sindar’s moral superiority…

I loved how you brought the dead Valar into this. It was interesting to get a glimpse of Melian’s perspective - she seems to think that her freedom from Thingol is only temporary, expecting to be overpowered yet again as soon as he is reborn. I guess the only way to break the cycle is to prevent Thingol from accessing the Land’s magic which he uses to enslave Melian. It’s interesting that the Valar didn’t bother hunting her down and collaring her a second time. I assume Manwe didn’t see Thingol as a threat even if he was armed with a Maia’s power.

All of this has me thinking about how/if the reborn Sindar and Silvan Elves will take part in the war against the Valar. For now they don’t have a reason to join the rebellion – the Valar never really harmed them. Actually, the only ones who have a reason to fight against the Valar at this point are some of the Noldor and maybe the Avari whose entire civilization was destroyed by the Valar’s actions. I imagine the Valar would have to do something truly awful to incite the other Elves to rebellion. And I expect that some of the Vanyar will be fighting on the side of the Valar during the war, so there might be more kinslayings to come.

Caranthir’s rebirth was amazing. His total devotion to his family makes me so happy. I hope Caranthir’s arrival in Valinor will be kept a secret. I don’t even want to think about what the Teleri would do to him if they found out that he had returned. And he will have to hide from the Valar as well. Their power is fading though, so hopefully he can slip in unnoticed.

As for the reborn Elves being stronger - Maglor technically never died, so it will be interesting to see if he will get a power boost or not. He has had a few figurative deaths and rebirths, maybe it will be enough.

I’m glad that Breglos is no longer alone. I thought he would be forced into becoming a cog in the machine that is Menegroth, so his life right now is much better than I expected.

This story is amazing – I can’t wait to read what happens next! Thank you so much for these chapters!

Author's Response:

Thank you for the fantastic review!!

And, as a result, yet another pair of twins from Thingol’s line chooses the Feanorions over their own family.

Yes, I really liked the parallels between the two sets of twins, the way they were both abandoned by family, in their own way, and came to see a Feanorion as their savior/true family.  The Feanorions don’t strike me as people who often or easily adopt outsiders to the extent they did Elrond and Elros, but once they do, they adopt them completely, and bonds of eternal loyalty are forged.

 

“It will be interesting to see what their mother’s perspective on their new relationship with Caranthir will be when she is reborn. 

Yeah, I thought about adding her now, but when I started thinking about her character, I couldn’t see her standing by and doing nothing when her own sons were abused.  She would have either been forced into a slave-bond like Elmo, or killed because she tried to escape with her sons.  I think she was the twins’ only real parent after Dior became enthralled with the Silmaril.  We shall indeed see how she handles things when she is reborn! 

 

Thingol is horrible. Out of the trio of Thingol, Ingwe and Finwe, Finwe is without a doubt the least bad both as a king and as a father, and that’s saying something. 

Yeah, Thingol is by far the worst.  I have no sympathy for him, because he brought about his own corruption, but I will say that he grew this evil because of the dark magic in the slave-bonds.  Caranthir was right when he said they were a pervertion and the kind of thing only a Dark Lord would do.  I therorize that the use of magic this evil has a corrosive effect of Thingol’s soul.  So we see that he has grown a lot worse than he was in Eol’s storyline (even tho he was still a major asshole then), and even worse than he was as king of Doriath, and it’s all because he kept using the slave-bonds and corrupting his own soul.  So he really did bring about his own downfall, and has no one but himself and his lust for power and control to blame.

 

 

I loved how you brought the dead Valar into this. It was interesting to get a glimpse of Melian’s perspective - she seems to think that her freedom from Thingol is only temporary, expecting to be overpowered yet again as soon as he is reborn. I guess the only way to break the cycle is to prevent Thingol from accessing the Land’s magic which he uses to enslave Melian. It’s interesting that the Valar didn’t bother hunting her down and collaring her a second time. I assume Manwe didn’t see Thingol as a threat even if he was armed with a Maia’s power.”

Yes, I think you are right on with Manwe not seeing Thingol as a threat –and I think that ties into the Valar always discounting the Teleri kindred and thinking them the lesser of the other Elves.  If it was Feanor who had a Maia’s power at his fingertips, the Valar would have quickly moved against him.  Tho, I guess it could be said too that the Valar don’t see Thingol as threat to them because he has no ambitions against them, nor any drive to wage war against them.  He’s perfectly content ruling as a god-like emperor over Elves.

You are also right that Melian does not believe she is free –and she is right, she is not.  She can still feel the existence of the slave-bond.  For that matter, so can Elmo and Elurín.  They know that if Thingol is ever reborn he will have ultimate power over them again.  But now there are others NOT bound to him that know the truth, and that truth can be spread, and, like we saw, Thingol can be killed like any other Elf.  So I think he’s in for a quick death when he manages rebirth again.  He does have a space of time between rebirth and remembering who he is when his is extremely vulnerable.  So there is hope for his victims!

 

“All of this has me thinking about how/if the reborn Sindar and Silvan Elves will take part in the war against the Valar. For now they don’t have a reason to join the rebellion – the Valar never really harmed them. Actually, the only ones who have a reason to fight against the Valar at this point are some of the Noldor and maybe the Avari whose entire civilization was destroyed by the Valar’s actions. I imagine the Valar would have to do something truly awful to incite the other Elves to rebellion. And I expect that some of the Vanyar will be fighting on the side of the Valar during the war, so there might be more kinslayings to come.”

You are so right to question whether or not these Elves will join in the rebellion against the Valar!  While it would be nice if all the Elves bound together and saw the Valar as their common foe, I don’t think that is going to happen.  For these Elves, the troubles of Valinor is very far away, and, like you said, none of them have been harmed by the Valar…or at least they don’t see themselves as being harmed, tho it was the Valar who released Morgoth and brought so much destruction upon the world.  But it would take a lot for them to leave their homes to go to a forigen land to fight a seemingly impossible war side-by-side with Noldor who they hate and blame for the destruction of their homes on a far more personal level than the Valar (at least the Sindar do, and they are the ones in control.  And at least half of the pop of new Doriath has been born there and fed Sindarin propaganda from the cradle).

 

“I hope Caranthir’s arrival in Valinor will be kept a secret. I don’t even want to think about what the Teleri would do to him if they found out that he had returned. And he will have to hide from the Valar as well. Their power is fading though, so hopefully he can slip in unnoticed.”

Yes, he is going to have to hide –thankfully he has Elurin as a friend, and even if the Valar would be able to see through any disguise Elurin spelled over Caranthir, other Elves won’t.  But Caranthir is going to have to keep off the Valar’s radar.  But you are right that the Valar’s power is fading, so Caranthir has a chance of slipping through the cracks.  The problem is Caranthir’s personality.  He’s not the most patient of people, and he is driven hard by his need for his family.  Is he going to be able to wait until he has more allies?

 

“As for the reborn Elves being stronger - Maglor technically never died, so it will be interesting to see if he will get a power boost or not. He has had a few figurative deaths and rebirths, maybe it will be enough.”

I am glad you pointed out Maglor’s lack of death!  Caranthir doesn’t know Maglor didn’t die.  I don’t think Maglor will be able to reach his full potential without death.  So he will either face-off against the Valar as he is now, or he will die sometime before the war starts in earnest…..oh we shall see what happens!!! (honestly, I haven’t decided yet).

 

“I’m glad that Breglos is no longer alone. I thought he would be forced into becoming a cog in the machine that is Menegroth, so his life right now is much better than I expected.”

I almost replied that I couldn’t bare to do that to him….but then I remembered I’ve done far worse to other characters :evil laughs:

 

This story is amazing – I can’t wait to read what happens next! Thank you so much for these chapters!

Thank you, you motive me to keep at it and not let myself get overwhelmed with how much there still is to go!  Thank you!!!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2018 11:40 · For: Chapter 14
Finally, after all this time, we see a Feanorion being reborn as they always should have been! And it just seems right that everything comes back to the Flame Imperishable, that which the Valar have coveted from the beginning of time, which was the light within the trees and the Silmarils, but also within the children themselves, and the Valar coveted it in them as well, trying to keep the Flame close. The Valar ever hunger for what they have lost: that feeling of fullness and purity they knew when they still dwelt within Eur's presence,, and now the Flame is the closest they can get to that.

It was a MAGNIFICENT rebirth. It brought tears to my eyes and a thrill to my skin. I want to see them all, and Fingolfin and Fingon return like this, a rebirth into a stronger body, their fëa barely contained, all beauty and glory! A part of The Flame Imperishable that the Valar *cannot* hold or cage!

Author's Response:
:grins: I am so happy you liked it so much!  We shall see what Fingolfin, Fingon, ect rebirths look like....they will defiantly be getting stronger bodies -I don't see how the Elves could fight the Valar without them-- but Caranthir's rebirth was completely natural, there was no outside influences, no one formed a body for him, he created his own....we will see if the Elves out of Mandos are able to take the same route after so long as prisoners of Mandos, which has put their healing on delay.  They may not have time to reach the same epiphany that Caranthir did and might have to pursue a different method...but there were other ideas for rebirth floating around (I am thinking of Celebrimbor), so we will see what happens!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2018 11:18 · For: Chapter 14
I am thrilled you like his relationship with the twins, especially Elured. It was painful to write the parallels between Elured and Curufin that Caranthir kept seeing, and then pieces of his other brothers in him as well, but as painful as it was, I think Caranthir needed it, he needed this connection with the living to stave off the loneliness, and Elured needed him, not only to see the demons in his childhood nightmares as human beings too, but as a protector and friend.

Yes, they both needed it, ironical or not, and it was! I also really like how Caranthir has no guilt about his actions, because why would he? He was bound by the Oath but even of not, he would always have stood with his brothers whatever they did. It really irks me that ‘Kinslayer’ is thrown around so readily. At the Fëanorions. The Elves of Alqualondë were equally Kinslayers, any Elf that killed another was, but the term is always, always set upon the Fëanorions.

Author's Response:

Yeah, to Caranthir, it wasn't about killing Elves, it was about protecting his brothers (and fulfilling the Oath, since he was no more free from its whip than the others).  But he doesn't see what he did as some unforgivable crime.  It was no more evil to him than fighting a war against Dwarves or Mortal Men, and he really hates the Kinslaying accusations -especially when it concern's Doriath.  Those Elves weren't his kin, but it is the hypocrisy of the Sindar that really angers him, the way the Feanorions were only kin when it was convenient for the Sindar to pile on the accusations.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2018 10:31 · For: Chapter 14
At his core, Feanor just wanted to help his people and make the world a better place. Oh, I can't wait for him to be reborn and we finally see that dream come true -with Fingolfin at his side

I think this facet and truth of Fëanor has been long forgotten, and perhaps even Finarfin never knew it or recognised it. But Fingolfin knew it.

Fëanor’s heart roars with passion, and it is a magnificent thing when a person is in love with the way the world could be. Fëanor is beautiful in a way so much more than skin deep.

He did want to make the world better, for his people to fulfil their potential, and he was caged and ignored and stymied at every turn, and feared and eventually fell into madness courtesy of grief and Morgoth, and it is so, so tragic. And even now, I think, he’s there, in Mandos still paying and paying, not just for himself, but for Fingolfin and others. *Weeps*.

Yes. I wish Caranthir had found Maglor and Glorfindel, as his own heart roars with passion and what he finds in Valinor is guaranteed to enrage him.

Author's Response:
"I think this facet and truth of Fëanor has been long forgotten, and perhaps even Finarfin never knew it or recognised it. But Fingolfin knew it."

Yeah, I think that's all too true, and such a tragedy.  So much of who Feanor really was has been forgotten and in it's place is this caricature...no, not even a caricature, for he has been so demonized by some that he isn't even a shadow of himself anymore.  We see this even with Finrod's view of him -his own nephew!  How much worse is it with others?  Even among his own people, I don't think they really remember who he is anymore either.  I am thinking about the way Feanor, and the Silmarils, were viewed in The Price of Duty.  They were lifted to something close to godhood; in their own way, the followers of the Feanorions who had not known Feanor well in Valinor or were born after Feanor died, no more knew who Feanor had really been than the Elves who demonized him.  It's all so sad, and even more so when I think about Curufin.  Feanor's own son had lost the heart of who Feanor was, thinking that getting vengeance would have made Feanor happier than seeing Curufin learning to live on without him.

"Yes. I wish Caranthir had found Maglor and Glorfindel, as his own heart roars with passion and what he finds in Valinor is guaranteed to enrage him."

Yep, Valinor is going to be a tough gauntlet for Caranthir.  I wish he could have reunited with Maglor for both their sakes, but at least there will be people in Valinor who can tell him that Maglor is alive.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 31, 2018 10:01 · For: Chapter 11
He was an ass and a sexual predator in his first life, but not a rapist or a man deluded with godhood. But the more perverted soul bonds he used to bound those around him, the more he decayed until he became what we see today.

Yes, I remember not liking Thingol when he was mentioned in Eöl’s memories as being a predatory alpha, but his rebirth that became magnified.

Author's Response:

Yeah, he was selfish and predatory in Eol's memories, and didn't care at all if he wasn't giving Eol pleasure as long as his own desires were met.  So an all around asshole.  But he wasn't evil like he is now.  Really, tho, he did it to himself.  If he hadn't been so drunk on power and control, then he never would have kept tainting his own soul with the dark magic of the soul-bonds (slave bonds, really). 



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2018 13:58 · For: Chapter 14
This has been a magnificent update, and the relationship between Elúred, Elúrin and Caranthir has been so fascinating and so poignant. It breaks my heart every time Caranthir remembers or thinks of his loss. The strange relationships too, are incredibly well-written, from Elúrin being the ‘fey’ one (so madly charming, really!) and forgiving Caranthir to Elúred’s hatred and sniping which slowly becomes something different, especially after Caranthir saves his life. All the Fëanorions have this deep urge to protect, too seems, their own kin first, but also others, at times. It’s beautiful. Caranthir is so abrasive, yet so warm.

I loved, loved, his physical rebirth and his staunch, passionate resolve to find his family no matter what, or where, or how!

This was so beautifully written, so deep, so poignant, so disturbing, and so wonderfully real.
Whatever happens to New Doriath now, I am glad Thingol is gone, and that Breglos hopefully has a chance now of finding Eöl.

Author's Response:
"All the Fëanorions have this deep urge to protect, too seems, their own kin first, but also others, at times. It’s beautiful. Caranthir is so abrasive, yet so warm."

Yes, I agree so much with this!  They can be extremely focused on their family unit and protective of their brothers/father to the exclusion of all else when their family is in danger, but they also have a deep core of caring about the woes of the world around them.  Even Caranthir, who seems the least likely of Feanor's sons, wants to help those around him and doesn't like causing hurt -tho he won't shy from hitting back when provoked.  They get it from their father.  At his core, Feanor just wanted to help his people and make the world a better place.  Oh, I can't wait for him to be reborn and we finally see that dream come true -with Fingolfin at his side 

I loved getting to write Caranthir's rebirth.  Finally, after all this time, we see a Feanorion being reborn as they always should have been!  And it just seems right that everything comes back to the Flame Imperishable, that which the Valar have coveted from the beginning of time, which was the light within the trees and the Silmarils, but also within the children themselves, and the Valar coveted it in them as well, trying to keep the Flame close.  The Valar ever hunger for what they have lost: that feeling of fullness and purity they knew when they still dwelt within Eur's presence,, and now the Flame is the closest they can get to that.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2018 11:08 · For: Chapter 12
Caranthir buckled on the knives. /How many guards are posted at Thingol’s chambers? If you are concerned about killing people, tell me a way around them because I have no problem killing them too. They know a lot more about what goes on in their king’s bedroom than you think. As far as I am concerned they are accomplices to hundreds of rapes./

/There are no watchers at the door. The Elves in Cuiviénen are silly. They are playing pretend that there are no wolves in the woods./

/People can be willfully blind to the point of stupidity. If they want to believe they live in a land free of violence, than they will entertain delusions to make it appear so. But Hells, Thingol is an idiot as well as a disgusting piece of trash to not post one guard at his door. Well, good fortune for us./ Caranthir looked around the room that Elurín said served as Eluréd’s holding cell. /Anything you want to take with you? After I kill Thingol we would be idiots not to get out of here as quickly as we can./

/We should wait for Eluréd to come back./ It was not the first time Elurín spoke of waiting for Eluréd.

/No. Callous as it might seem, we have the best chance of taking Thingol by surprise when he is occupied with your brother. Sex gives a man tunnel-vision. So, anything you want?/


Caranthir, you have lost none of what you were, you have the merciless and steel of a Fëanorion sword and it is needed at this time!

Would Elves reborn from Mandos’ jail-cell also possess the ability to easily detect another Elf’s fëa? His family would, of course. He was interested to see if the Power of Maglor’s voice amplified with rebirth, and if his father and Curufin’s connection to gems and metal enhanced. What greater wonders might they bring forth? A reborn Elf’s body was also stronger and hardier, their fëa brighter, humming with a deep well of Power.

I love this concept so much! Once he killed Thingol, Elurín would help him fashion a body of his own, and he would find a way through the Girdle. His family needed him to rescue them from Mandos. Caranthir had no idea how to accomplish such a feat, but he’d be damned if he didn’t kill himself in the attempt. There was no purpose to rebirth outside of his family. There had never been life without them in it. I know, Caranthir, *weeps* and you also have much to say to Curufin!

The breakdown ambushed the boy even more than Caranthir. He sobbed out apologies and promises to be stronger, a stronger protector, a better brother. Caranthir began to suspect the boy had no memory of being the one protected, and reacted to the embrace with instincts raw and over-sensitized by long neglect.

This is all so desperately sad, weaving into Caranthir’s love and passion for his brother, and these two broken twins.



Author's Response:
I am so glad you like Caranthir!  At first glance, the people he meets would think him harsh and uncaring, but he is so much more than that.  He is also steel, and he is not one to give up and let despair take him, he's a fighter to the end....not sure how well that's going to work out for him in the present Valinor tho.  It's too bad he doesn't know about Maglor and Glorfindel, he would have done a lot better meeting up with them and sailing to Valinor together.  
I am thrilled you like his relationship with the twins, especially Elured.  It was painful to write the parallels between Elured and Curufin that Caranthir kept seeing, and then pieces of his other brothers in him as well, but as painful as it was, I think Caranthir needed it, he needed this connection with the living to stave off the loneliness, and Elured needed him, not only to see the demons in his childhood nightmares as human beings too, but as a protector and friend.  


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2018 10:45 · For: Chapter 11
Wow, Elwë was entirely unexpected, and he managed to break Melian of the Valar’s hold? How?

But I feel he is in for a crashing fall. He can’t live as if he were a god without the responsibilities of one, not that any of the Valar even have that!

Elúred and Elúrin, my heart breaks for them, but this, this is like the presage of a storm: The secret language of brothers draws close. His coming will break the binder of chains. When the wandering son sails home, death’s dominion will end, and Death’s Gates—”

Oh, my goodness, Elúrin has Caranthir, oh poor things, both of them, there is too much pain here, in this place, which is dreadful, with Elwë, who is worse. Oh, he is really playing out the god-king of the Elves, is he not, and embracing droit de seigneur. There is something too decadent and too wicked about him, but I hope it will not last for long.

Author's Response:
Yes, Thingol ended up being the evil one here.  I can easily see it going the other way tho, and it being Melian who is using him.  Either way, I find their relationship suspicious, what this the centuries long enchantment and all that.  Thingol didn't actually have the power to break the Valar's slave collar, he's just deluded himself into believing it was all him.  Melian knows the truth: it was Porod.  I considered writing a flashback of what happened, but decided against it -for now.  But Nan Elmoth has always been a place of incredible power, and the reason is: it is the place Porod died, so his spirit is strongest there.  Porod is a very ambiguous character tho, he's not evil in the same sense as Morgoth is, but he's not the Elves' friend either.  He cares only about his revenge now.  We can see his lack of morals in what he did to Melian, not only his heart's complete absence of mercy, but that he used dark magic to bind her.  Caranthir was right when he called the perverted soul bonds that bound Melian and the twins, and Elmo too, the work of a Dark Lord.  And I think that they slowly poisoned Thingol as well.  He was an ass and a sexual predator in his first life, but not a rapist or a man deluded with godhood.  But the more perverted soul bonds he used to bound those around him, the more he decayed until he became what we see today.

But new Doriath is free from him now, and the Girdle is broken!  I don't think this will lead to a large migration of Elves out of new Doriath because it is still the place of rebirth, so Elves like Bregolos will stick around for their loved ones to be reborn, and many other Elves were born in new Doriath, so it is the only home they have ever known.  And given the home of the others -Beleriand-- is gone, they will be less motivated to leave.

I am so glad to here your heartstrings were tugged by the poor twins.  They have really had the raw end of the deal.  They didn't even get one good childhood!  They finally have the sense of safety they've been missing, and irony or ironies, they found it with a Feanorion -I couldn't resist lol!


Name: kasura (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2018 6:15 · For: Chapter 14
Just want to do a quick shout out that I love the world building in these new chapters!!! Don't have time to write out all my thoughts...planning to do more in depth reviews this weekend. Sorry to see Thingol is such a sick monster.

squeeallllll Caranthir!!! love that family of choice...and He's coming to Valinor...yay :)

Author's Response:
Yep, Caranthir is finally on his way!!  I can't wait to write him in Valinor, and the twins....we shall see if they get a chance to meet Elwing, tho I doubt it will go well, but then there is the Sirmaril to think of and Carnathir's Oath reawakening...:evil cackles:


I am thrilled to hear you liked the world building!  We will come back to new Doriath later and see how things go down.  Maybe they will be allies against the Valar, maybe not.  
Thank you for letting me know you liked the update :grins:


Name: Kalendeer (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2018 23:18 · For: Chapter 10

They went to Alqualondë!

The part about the destruction of Fëanor's (and other Noldor's) work in the city is amazing wolrd building.

I love your Earwen, she is not perfect, she is strong, she has grudges and it's really hard to mend some relationships once they are damaged. You do have strong queens and I love that <3



Author's Response:
I am happy to hear you liked  Alqualondë and Earwen!  Yeah, her relationship with Finarfin is too broken to ever mend, but she might be able to forgive him in time.  She's so hard on him because his choice to leave with the Exiles after the Kinsalying was a personal betrayal that cut far deeper than Fingolfin or Fingon's choices did.  He had been her husband, and had called her father his father, her people, his people, and for him to turn his back on that -as she saw it-- and choose their killers hurt her to an unspeakable extent.  And her hurt turned to rage which turned to resentment and bitterness over time.  It is going to be hard for her to come to a place of forgiveness.

Thank you so much for these reviews, and the continued support :hugs:


Name: Kalendeer (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2018 22:50 · For: Chapter 9

I wished Finrod could get Curufin back, but he is probably in no shape to help him so perhaps it's a good thing that he is not here :/

The chapter was really sad but there was still some hope in the end for Finrod and Finarfin to get along. I am curious about Earwen. She wants Finrod to come, but can she not got to them instead? She could visit Idril since they are allies (and seeing Anairë again would be great <3 ).



Author's Response:
Yeah, I don't think Curufin being there at the beginning would have been a good idea.  Finrod wasn't in a place, mentally, to deal with his issues with Curufin.  Hopefully when Curufin is reborn, Finrod will have let some of his bitterness go.  I think something that will help him forgive will be seeing Curufin and Feanor interacting -or just getting to know Feanor in general.

There was a lot of sadness in these first chapters, Finrod has so much to work though.  It's like Finarfin saw: he wasn't healed from the trauma of his death; he wasn't ready to be reborn.  But thankfully his spirit has been able to achieve some of that healing with his family.  

Earwen: Yes, technically she could have come to Finrod, but she is too stubborn/proud to set foot in Tirion.  I have a feeling she made some sort of vow never to do so again after the Kinsalying.  She only left  Alqualondë for Finrod and Aegnor's trial, and even then I bet she avoided actually entering Tirion -unless she was able to let some of her hate/resentment go at last for the sake of her sons.


Name: Kalendeer (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2018 22:36 · For: Chapter 8

So Idril won the thing! I love that she is not the perfect queen. The Noldor are such a mess, I wonder how this is going to end and am waiting to see what became of Tirion.

I am also wondering about Nerdanel. I don't think we've seen her yet, but I wonder if she agrees with Finarfin petitions to get the Fëanorian back or if she keeps away from them.



Author's Response:
Yes, Idril got her crown.  I didn't end up writing about the transition of power, and decided on a time jump instead -I hope it wasn't confusing!  I couldn't see Idril making the perfect queen.  Not only would it not fit with her rigid personality, but it would have been too easy, and nothing good ever comes for the poor Noldor lol

Nerdanel: I have plans to show at least a short glimpse into what she's been up to.  Right now tho, she's withdrawn from politics, and maybe life in general to a point.  She has a lot to work through.  Remember that she left her husband -and sons-- largely because of Feanor's outspokenness against the Valar.  If she sees the Valar for what they are now, then that means that Feanor had been right all along, and even if she doesn't agree with his methods, she will have to struggle with a great load of doubts, wondering if things could have been different if she just saw the truth sooner, or if she'd gone into exile with them.  That's a lot to come to terms with, and I don't think she's there yet, because to face the truth means opening the door to all this regret.

But we will see, maybe she's come further along then I think right now, or maybe she's found a way around any regrets and blames some one (Feanor?) for everything....tho I'd like to think she's not so bitter a person to be so blinded.


Name: merwinem (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2018 0:18 · For: Chapter 10
Ohh, these chapters are amazing, thank you! I’ve said this before – I love how you tie up loose ends – it makes the story flow more naturally. Ulmo’s actions in the First Age make sense now. And Aegnor and Angrod becoming more fleshed out – it’s wonderful! I guess Andreth doesn’t exist in this story – I don’t seem to remember her ever being mentioned.

It’s interesting that Earwen never felt imprisoned in Valinor. I suppose the Valar paid less attention to the Teleri than to the Noldor and the Vanyar (thus the Teleri appearing to have more freedom), but it’s not completely clear *why* that was the case. The Valar must have thought that the Teleri were less likely to cause trouble and therefore required less supervision. That is certainly true of the Middle-Earth Teleri with their passive acceptance of the Song and their place in it. However, I didn’t get the impression that the Aman Teleri had the same passivity (Earwen isn’t passive at all, despite being both Teler and a woman).

I wonder if the Teleri’s rejection of Ulmo will have any consequences down the road. I don’t have much hope for it, but it would be interesting if the realization of Ulmo’s true nature acted as a springboard for the Teleri to finally take off their rose-tinted glasses and begin to see Valinor for the prison it truly is. That could be a starting point for mending the breach between the Noldor and the Teleri – after all, Feanor and all those who followed him did have a point about the Valar, which is something that the Teleri refused to acknowledge then and still refuse to acknowledge now.

To be honest I’m getting very fed up with Earwen’s view on justice, her behaviour toward Finarfin, and her desire to turn everything (including her reunion with her own son) into a public spectacle. Honestly, what has Finarfin done to upset her? If she is willing to forgive Fingolfin and Fingon (actual kinslayers), why is she being so horrible to Finarfin? Why is she so determined to kick him when he is already down? From what we have seen, Earwen’s actions aren’t consistent with the qualities of a wise and just leader, which makes me wonder how her rule had remained uncontested for so long. Idril is similar to Earwen in many ways, and Idril’s place on the throne is far from secure.

I appreciate Earwen as a multidimensional character providing a realistic non-Noldor point-of-view, but I just cannot connect with this woman. Holding on to a grudge for 7,000 years – does she really have nothing better to do? It’s exactly the same frustration I had earlier with Thranduil and Celeborn. I feel like Earwen is on her way to join Galadriel at the top of the list of the most irritating female characters in the story, which actually makes sense - Earwen is Galadriel’s role model, after all…

Finrod’s evolution from a broken man reborn in a new body to being metaphorically reborn in the sea was excellent. I cannot wait to see more such transformations involving the other Finwions – the Valar won’t know what hit them! I hope things will finally start improving soon – we’ve put up with three Ages of misery, it’s time for a change!

I noticed that Osse was bound with the chains that Melkor once wore. But wasn’t Feanor’s spirit bound with them when he arrived in Mandos? Does this mean that his “punishment” is finally over? If I remember correctly, the torture was supposed to last for Three Ages, so if this is the Fourth Age maybe he was finally allowed to join the other Kinslayers in their hall… And if this is indeed the Fourth Age, then Elrond will be arriving in Valinor soon… only to learn that Celebrian died. But surely she is almost ready to be reborn too…

Thanks again! The chapters were brilliant!

Author's Response:
Thank you so much for the awesome review!  I was pretty nervous about my portrayal of Finrod -he keeps alluding me :) I am glad to hear you liked Aegnor.  I felt like I didn't have a clear idea of who he was until I started writing him here.  And yes, you are right, no Andreth in this story.  Maybe they were good friends tho, Aegnor could have done with a wise lady in his life, hot-headed as he is lol  Can you imagine the clashes between him and Galadriel?  I can't see them getting on at all.

You are right that the Valar didn't pay much attention to the Teleri (other then the sea-gods).  I think the Valar simply didn't care as much for the Teleri as they did the other Elven kindreds.  They thought the Teleri were the 'least' of all the Elves, both because they didn't create much the Valar coveted and because they were the farthest from the Valar's idea of ideal beauty, which the Vanyar met best, and because they were slow to make the journey west.  So, the Valar didn't get as involved in the Teleri's lives/ impose their will on them as much.  And the sea-gods weren't as interested in heavy-handed control as the Manwe and his crew, so the Teleri were left largely to thmeselves -which is why Eanwe considered herself free.  But if the Teleri had taken one step towards leaving Valinor with the Noldor, they would have discovered how very not-free they were.

I think you are right to doubt that the Ulmo's fall will have the effect of uniting the Teleri and Noldor.  If Manwe had punished Finrod and Aegnor, then it could have gone that way, but with the Valar seeming to hold to justice, the Valar added no fuel to the fire -Manwe was unintentionally clever in not punishing them.  but I think you are on to something with the idea that the Teleri need to experience what the Noldor did, what drove Feanor and company to rebel against the Valar in the first place, before they are able to forgive.

I am not surprised to hear you are fed up with Earwen’'s attitude -Aegnor certainly is too!  I think the reason she still holding on to rule without opposition is because her views are shared by most of her people, they are as stuck in the past as she is.  You make an excellent point about how frustrating it is that the Teleri/Earwen don't seem to have moved on at all from the Kinslaying.  Why not?  I think the key to their frozen existence is that they have not experienced anything truly terrible after the Kinsalying.  The Kinslaying is still the greatest wound their society has ever received.  The only other horror these Elves have experienced was back when they were running from the Dark Hunter/Melkor.  On the other hand, the Noldor have experienced so many other horrors and so much other suffering.  Something to note is that the Noldor in Tirion who were instrumental in changing the Noldor's society and not keeping it just as frozen as the Teleri's were the ones who'd experienced the War of Wrath.  As horrible as the kinslaying was, the War of Wrath was so much worse, it lasted for 40 years, and involved countedless battles and scenes of horror.  It doesn't help, of course, that Elven memory makes 'moving past' something so much more difficult for them than a Human whose memories fade with time.

As for Earwen's attitude towards Finarfin, and seeming hypocrisy when it comes to Fingolfin and Fingon....well, I don't think for a moment she forgives Fingolfin or Fingon, merely that she pardons them from enduring the punishments she/the Teleri plan to put on Feanor and his people.  When it comes to Finarfin tho, his betrayal is personal.  Fingolfin and Fingon are people she may not have even considered friends, but Finarfin was her husband and the Father of her children.  He not only kept following the people who'd murdered the people he'd claimed to love, even Olwe, the man who was as much/more than a father to him than Finwe ever was, but he also 'took' their children with him.  She blames him for their children's choices to go into Exile with the Noldor.  So, in her mind, not only did he pick a much of murderers who had never even been a proper family to him like her own had been, he also committed the unforgivable crime of dragging their children into his folly.  For Earwen the Kinslaying was a traumatizing event that destroyed her family.  The betrayal she felt when Finarfin (and her children, but she's forgiven them by pretending they were too young to understand what they did) walked away from her with the murderers of her people, leaving her alone with a new crown and a traumatized people, was monumental.  Even tho it has been thousands of years, she hasn't come to a place of forgiveness.  Maybe she will tho!  I have more hope for her then I do for Galadreil. 

"Finrod’s evolution from a broken man reborn in a new body to being metaphorically reborn in the sea was excellent."

Thank you!  This makes me so happy to hear :)

"I noticed that Osse was bound with the chains that Melkor once wore. But wasn’t Feanor’s spirit bound with them when he arrived in Mandos?"

That's a mistake on my part!  I forgot Feanor was still chained with them.  I am sure Alue can make some other chains for Osse.  We are not quite to the 4th Age yet -but soon!-- so Feanor is still balancing the scales....gods, that's really horrifying to think about.  If he didn't have an iron-will he would have long gone insane.  We still have some years before Elrond comes, Celebrain is indeed close to being reborn, we will see if he gets there first.

Thank you so, so much for this review and your support, you got me thinking more about Earwen's character :) 



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2018 22:46 · For: Chapter 10
Hol-eee sheet, with everything that is going on, I forgot about Caranthir! He isn’t even in the Halls of Mandos. And surely to goodness he couldn’t be reborn like Breglos, and enter New Doriath. What the hells would happen then?! And even when the Fëanorions are reborn, they’re lacking one brother and how would they find him? Now my head is in a whirl!

Author's Response:

 

Aha!  I am glad you remembered Caranthir!  He's coming up next chapter!   I won't spoil it for you :)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 19, 2018 22:02 · For: Chapter 10
Finarfin said nothing for a long moment, brow heavy with thought. Then he sighed, shaking his head, “I believe, in the end, there was little the two of us could have done to change the course of the Noldor’s future, for it lay in the hands of Fëanor and Fingolfin. And Fëanor and Fingolfin…they were like oil and fire, dry tinder and a spark. You did not see them together like I did. You only witnessed their relationship as it unraveled. But once…well. Fingolfin never would have turned back. He was always going to follow Fëanor to the ends of the Earth.”

I have been trying to articulate the feeling this gave me, that sense of legend in its truest sense. Apart from Finarfin there were so few who knew Fëanor and Fingolfin that are alive now, and even back then, few who knew them intimately, who knew their fears and doubts. I am not sure anyone knew the real Fingolfin, maybe Fingon, once he had told him that he desired men, but how many knew his feelings for Fëanor? Such a lonely life, and such a lonely death, wearing masks that rarely slipped.

And Fëanor, his sons knew him, and I think Maedhros especially understood his fear that he day they would leave him, but did any of his sons (or his father) really see the frightened little boy (that Fingolfin once called him) under all the fire and glamour?

Finrod’s conversation with Finarfin made me realise that even to their kin, these two figures have almost faded into legend. Finrod didn’t know them, as his thoughts and regrets at not being able to change what happened, has shown. He didn’t comprehend that no-one could have done that. It shows the vast gulf, the span of Ages, the fact that his uncles were almost strangers, really. He had his own reasons for leaving Valinor, as I’m sure many did, and who can blame him, or them? But in the end, no, nothing could have prevented Fingolfin following Fëanor, and that is something perhaps only Finarfin saw and understood. There must be many who regret that they couldn’t do anything, and think they might have been able to, but Fëanor and Fingolfin, as Finarfin rightly says, were the juggernauts, unstoppable, and Fingolfin would never have turned back.



Author's Response:

I think you have hit the nail on the head.  Because so few people actually knew who they were as people -saw their weakness and humanity-- Feanor and Fingolfin have because figures of legend.  It's not that their actions aren't worthy of song, but their humanity has been stripped away.  For Fingolfin, he has been polished to perfection, with so few seeing under his mask of strength to the crippling loneliness, depression, and heartbreak underneath.  And for Feanor, he has been demonized by so many.  His strengths torn away to leave only the flaws and mistakes, and these have been bloated beyond recognition.

We even see a little of that demonization in Finrod's mind when he thinks of Feanor, because, just as you so rightly pointed out, he didn't know Feanor on a personal level.  Of course, his dislike of Feanor was fulled by seeing what Feanor death/Feanor's oath did to Curufin, but in Nargothrond Finrod often thought uncharitable thoughts of Feanor.  But the truth is, that he didn't know Feanor at all.  Finrod grew up with the Teleri, and when he finally started making regular appearances in Tirion, the split between the children of Indril and Miril was already deep.  I doubt he ever had a single one-on-one conversation with Feanor.  He probably mostly saw him in a public setting or heard rumors about his actions/words, and none of his siblings had tight friendships with Feanor's sons.  I am interested to see how his perspective changes when Feanor is reborn.  Already there is the smallest shifts in his in thoughts in regards to Feanor now that he was walked in Feanor's shoes -he has been called to judgment in the Ring of Doom, felt the heavy -hand of the Valar's control on a personal level.  Before, he had been no fan of the Valar, but I don't think he'd ever been a personal target of them either.  He had been given leeway on account of his kinship with Indis/Ingwe, and because there had been bigger fish for the Valar to fry.  Now he has felt what Feanor's felt, and he understands better Feanor's resentments and feelings of entrapment.  What he really needs to see though, is Feanor and Curufin interacting.  He doesn't understand that Feanor loved his sons and deserved their undying loyalty, and would have been horrifying to see Curufin destroy himself over the Oath Fenaor hated himself for.

Thank you again so much for these reviews!  They made my day!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 19, 2018 13:35 · For: Chapter 8
Had he not betrayed Glorfindel’s trust in him by dragging Glorfindel to Gondolin by the leash of his oath sworn in Elenwë’s memory, so Idril could win the boy’s heart –or at least have the one she loved by her side?

Oh, I see. This is disgusting. I hope Idril is not waiting for Glorfindel to return and love her, as she’s going to be sorely disappointed. But she’s such a rigid person, I should think if she knew what he was, she would turn away from him anyhow. She may have rejected her father, but their minds seem to run along the same rails! A pity Finrod didn’t accept the crown, really, but I quite understand why he didn’t.

Author's Response:

Idril is a rigid person, and she would indeed turn away from Glorfindel if she knew the truth.  I don't think she's under the belief that he is ever going to choose her -she gave up on that in Gondolin-- but she is still in love with the person she thinks Glorfindel is.  Obviously he's not that person, and she is not going to be accepting of who he really is, it will feel like a slap in the face to her.  Maybe she could have come to accept him as he really is if she didn't feel like he had lied to her/led her own with an illusion.  She, like her father, are not forgiving people.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2018 23:00 · For: Chapter 10
Finarfin said nothing for a long moment, brow heavy with thought. Then he sighed, shaking his head, “I believe, in the end, there was little the two of us could have done to change the course of the Noldor’s future, for it lay in the hands of Fëanor and Fingolfin. And Fëanor and Fingolfin…they were like oil and fire, dry tinder and a spark. You did not see them together like I did. You only witnessed their relationship as it unraveled. But once…well. Fingolfin never would have turned back. He was always going to follow Fëanor to the ends of the Earth.”


Ah, he saw this, then, if not everything. Yes, I think some, like Finrod, might always think what if we did this, that and the other, but really, apart from their individual choices, it truly was Fëanor and Fingolfin, and even at the end, nothing and no-one would have turned Fingolfin back from following Fëanor.

Author's Response:

Yes, there was never going to be any other option once Feanor burned the ships.  Fingolfin was never going to turn back.  Not only because his pride would not allow him to go crawling back, and because he too believed that they had to be free of the Valar's cage, but Feanor was not in Valinor, and Fingolfin could never abide living where Feanor was not.  Even if Feanor hated his guts (or pretended too), Fingolfin would still have had to be there beside him.  There really was no other way it was going to end.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2018 22:55 · For: Chapter 8
“Hardly Father’s fault, is it?” Aegnor said, drawing Finrod’s eyes back to him. “If there is something wrong with the world, then the best place to look is those pompous asses on their gaudy thrones helping themselves to our minds, isn’t it?”

“Not here, Aegnor,” Finarfin half begged, half threatened.

Aegnor smirked and carried on, speaking to Finrod in a careless drawl that didn’t care how close to the cliff’s edge he danced, “How does it feel to be worshiped? The Queen of ice-stars might expire from jealousy if you keep stealing her signature smile –the one that makes it look like she wants to strangle us all to death.”

“This is not the place,” Finarfin clamped a hand over Aegnor’s forearm, tempted to shake some sense into his reckless son.

“Oh, how right you are, Father. One wrong word and our names get added to the Valar’s kill list.”

A Maia materialized at Aegnor’s shoulder. Aegnor did not jump, but leveled an unimpressed look at the Maia for the theatrics.

I remember Angrod and Aegnor from Vengeance I And how they joked with Maedhros, and it’s terrible to see them like this, but O have to love Aegnor’s fire and defiance!

Author's Response:

Yeah, how different everyone was then!  They knew little of grief or suffering.  Not that their lives were idyllic, but compared to what came after...well, there is no way to live through a centuries long war (one they probably all knew, or at least feared was unwinnable) without changing. 

As for Aegnor, when I wrote him in Vengeance 1, I had no real idea of who he was.  I got a few glimpses of him along the way, but it wasn't until I wrote him here that I feel like I really sunk my teeth into his character....I want to go back and do some editing, but not right now.  On-wards!

 



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2018 22:14 · For: Chapter 8
Was it the greater curse that Angrod’s mind could at times slip through the clumsily woven barrier that both sealed off his first life and wrecked such damage in his mind? Angrod never could tell the difference between a memory of this life and his first, but Aegnor, who remembered nothing of his first, always could. At least this time Angrod remembered something Finarfin could expand upon until its shape and color took form like a painting in Aegnor’s eyes. All too often Angrod remembered something of his years in Beleriand, faces and places and events Finarfin had no knowledge of. Finarfin told his sons stories of the games Tulkas once held. He spoke of their exploits, the humorous and the glorious. Through the stories ran the brilliant flames of their family, Fingon, Celegorm, Maedhros, Finrod. Finarfin spoke of those days of gold when the House of Finwë was as close to one as it had ever been and the only thing to divide the cousins on the field had been friendly rivalries. Aegnor hung on every word, but he’d turned his face away, hair falling like a curtain between them to hide his longing for what had been taken from him, this star-bright family that he had no memory of.

This breaks my heart and makes me furious at the same time. It minds me of what you wrote about Sauron having pieces snipped from his soul by the Valar, what Celebrimbor saw in him, different, but equally cruel in its way.

Author's Response:

Ah, yes, it is reminding me of that too now you pointed it out.  The Valar have a habit of fucking people over in their quest for ultimate control.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2018 22:00 · For: Chapter 8
Did he die in the throne room with the sound of his crown clanging against the floor? Or later when he spent all of himself in a Battle of Song that left him a husk? Or was it when he looked into Beren’s eyes and known this boy who he had cared for and fostered in his home meant to sell his life for an illusion?

F¢#8ing Beren. Never could stand him or Lúthien. He had absolutely not right to ask of Finrod what he did, and I hope Beren realised that at the end!



Author's Response:

If Beren did, he forgot.  It was a long time ago that I wrote that, but Luthian wiped Beren's memory of his betrayal of Finrod -it had broken something in Beren.  So I guess he did feel a ton of guilt, but everything he could have learned from that was destroyed when Luthian tried to make him the person he once was.  Though she didn't succeed.  He never was the same, but he never grew into anyone better.  

Well, I am not going to pretend I didn't write those two without a bias!  They are characters I have never enjoyed either.  Reading their story just felt like such a waste, not only of needless death, but of their own potential.  Luthain could have done so much for the war effort, and yet never left Doriath until she had her own interests too.  And maybe Beren could have been a cool leader of Men if he hadn't met Luthian.  



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2018 21:49 · For: Chapter 9
Finarfin had dreamed of introducing his sons to the Tirion Elenwë, Ingil, Amarië, and he had built under their rule. It had not been the Tirion of old where Fëanor walked, setting all the world aflame, Fingolfin clashed like starfire with the Spirit of Fire, and their children and cousins and people washed the streets in light and tension and passionate voices capable of both fury and laughter. That Tirion of bright-glorious-dangerous-flames was lost, and would never live again until the Dead walked once more among her streets. But color had found its way back into Tirion, little pockets to push back the grey bleakness of this existence. That color had been dragged away in the dead of night with screams, smoke and fire, and the baying of dogs. Yes, this Tirion is an awful place, half-dead, Fëanor’s prophecy of them becoming a shadow-folk has been realised. All the life and fire is gone.

Everything was all wrong –him, this haunted house, the corseted city of grey, this hole-punched existence that made a mockery of life, for how could there be life without the ones who had strung the stars in his sky? His son. His Gildor. A rainbow of other faces, each as beautiful and vibrant as the last. (Curufin, who ignited the heights of his passion, hate and love, wanting to strike that arrogant, beautiful face one moment and kiss it the next. He had been lost after one taste of that mouth that burned him as no other mouth ever could. It tossed him out into freefall, reduced him to a mess of lust that had lost all grip on reason or moderation, burning all to ash until nothing but the frantic, brutal need to feast upon Curufin’s banquet remained.)

Yes, so much has gone; however much Finrod hate/loved Curufin, he burned and now Finrod is washed up on a grey shore, and never got any healing at all in Mandos. All these reborn, but especially some have a kind of PTSD, and received no help whatsoever.

Eönwë’s eyes, bright as sunbeams, held Finrod’s in their steady-palm gaze. He brushed up against Finrod’s mind a second time, trailing the scent of rain. Beware. They will make you disappear –quietly—if you show too boldly your rebel colors. Thank goodness Eönwë was there to make Finrod Think, to save him, really. I love Eönwë — he deserves a great deal, at the end.



Author's Response:

Yes, exactly this.  Finrod was in serious need of healing after the trauma of his death, but he received none.  Thankfully his family was there.  I fear his healing would have been loooong in the coming if he had been reborn alone :(

I am so pleased you like Eonwe!!  I want good things for him too!  He is so alone.  



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2018 21:36 · For: Chapter 10
Oh, my god. I must comment on this before going back to the previous chapter because they can kill a Vala! Fingon, bless his soul, has been the first to discover that the reborn are more than they were. He had to almost reach beyond himself, into something that he never expected, but it was done! I am so excited!!! Because it was awful, even being reborn they had no more power and were in fact in a worse situation than before because Tirion, and all Valinor is sunk in shadow.

And Námo said it was Eru who aided them because an Elf could not have done it. I laughed myself sick :D Whether he believes it or not, and clearly Manwë would have punished them whether or no, the veil is off. An Elf can kill a Vala.

Author's Response:

Yep!  Things are finally starting to roll in the right direction!   And Finrod is finally starting to reclaim the man he once was -the one who burned.  He was already one of the most powerful Elves, so I think it reasonable that he, Aegnor, and Osse, could kill a fading Ulmo.  Manwe or Varda would be too hard for just the three of them, but Ulmo was already less then what he was and having difficulty with his shape-shifting, so the moment he committed himself to the sea-dragon form, he was killable.  I can't wait for the war to finally kick off for real!

I am so glad to hear you liked these last few chapters!  I was worried about them.  Finrod is a slippery character for me to get a hold of; he still eludes me at times, and that leaves me doubting if I have written him right. 



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2018 19:13 · For: Chapter 8
Oh. Oh. I just inhaled this, and it seems there can never be hope without horror here. Finarfin does have his sons back, but two of them completely screwed with, and one of the who (at the moment) is disgusted with him.

God, I hate the Valar, licking up Finarfin’s pleas because it truly has been the only way he could hope to have his people reborn.

Ha, sorry, Turgon, but you got what you deserved, and not even half of it really. Not that I think it’ll do any good in the long run, he is too obsessed.

Finrod — who’s not forgotten Curufin, and won’t talk about it to Turgon, and still carries vengeance (albeit twined around with love/lust) in his heart. So the reborn, or at least those like him, are pretty much themselves, not wiped clean, or completely changed at all. Well, Turgon certainly wasn’t! That could cause fireworks.

And I agree with Finarfin, much better if he were king, but who would the Valar want to put there if not him?

Oh, wow, thank you so much for updating, Encairion, I was just swallowing that with my eyes, and no doubt I will say more, but I want to read the rest! Absolutely fantastic!

Author's Response:

Ugh, the Valar, yes, why can't they just leave the Elves alone?  But they love their control too much.  And, really, if they did let all the Elves be reborn, the Valar would be dead already lol so I guess it's a fight for survival now -tho I am not sure they -or at least Manwe and his lot-- understand how dire the situation is going to be once the rest of the Elves are free.

Turgon: yep, he doesn't get it.  It won't matter if he spends the next 1,000 years laboring in fields, he still thinks that he didn't nothing too terrible.  Yeah, sure, he took it too far, he thinks, and let things get out of hand in Gondolin, but he did what he did out of love?  Why isn't that enough to be forgiven? :rolls eyes:  He reminds me a bit of Jamie Lannister attempting to murder a 7 year old kid and justifying it with 'the things I do for love.'  Only worse because Turgon committed all his atrocities under the flimsy excuse of prophecy.  If fate could not be changed, then all the Noldor were doomed to die anyway because of the Valar's Curse, so Turgon must have believed that they weren't all bound to die.  Yet he clings stubbornly to the belief that the world's salvation was not possible if Gondolin fell before Idril's son was born.  I think he wanted to believe there was no other way.  Maybe it was a balm for Elwene's death.  If Idril was the mother of the prophecy child, she had to come to Middle-earth to save them all, so Turgon HAD to follow Fingolfin onto the ice where Elwene died.  If wasn't his fault, Elwene's death had nothing to do with choices he'd made, it was the Feanororions fault for burning the ships and forcing Turgon to take the more dangerous road, and he had no choice but to lead his family over the ice because it was fated.  Sounds like Turgon has done a lot of mental gymnastics to make everything someone else's fault.

Finarfin would have made the best king available at this time, but while he had bent over backwards and gotten on his knees and swallowed his tongue for years, there are some things he cannot do, and toeing the line of the Valar-worshipers is one of those.  Either way, he couldn't have taken power without giving up on the rebirth process (since the Valar-worshipers don't want it), and he'd never do that.  Idril, for all her faults as a queen, at least keeps pushing for the rebirths.

Thank you so so much for all these lovely reviews!  They pumped me up :grins:



You must login () to review.