| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1658
Chapters: 8479
Word count: 25714366
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15741
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 13
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
06/15/18 08:15 pm
Thanks Spiced, you too :)
Spiced Wine
06/15/18 08:06 pm
Yes, it’s been very nice! Have a lovely weekend, Narya :)
Narya
06/15/18 07:49 pm
Happy Friday, Team Tolkien :) I hope you're all enjoying blue skies and sunshine like we are in the North of England :)
Spiced Wine
06/15/18 09:55 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
06/14/18 10:32 am
Aww, thank you, Narya :)
Narya
06/12/18 11:55 pm
Brilliant update, Spiced :)
Spiced Wine
06/10/18 11:57 am
The days they fly past!
Karlmir Stonewain
06/10/18 11:05 am
Friday? It's Sunday already and I'm making a start on a sequel to my most recent story.
Narya
06/09/18 12:36 am
Hurray, Friday! :-D
Spiced Wine
06/08/18 10:06 am
Happy Friday, everyone
Shout Archive



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: June 18, 2018 0:57 · For: Chapter 1

That is so very good.  I am positively teary eyed, but it is so good to know they survived.  And how fascinating to wonder, now, what comes next as they are, clearly, still there!



Author's Response:

So glad you liked it! I am planning to write what comes next. I had to go back in time a bit to sort out Eldarion first before I began that. Have already done a small one shot out-take of that after Dagor Dagorath future story. Will put it up here tonight maybe :-)



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: June 17, 2018 3:48 · For: Chapter 1
I've had to wait for a time to get my head together with all my thoughts to comment on this.

I love that the Dagor Dagorath is announced to the Silvans by Finrod! And this is just how I picture him--glorious and golden, alight with excitement and righteous glory: "He arrives like a glorious god, golden hair glinting in the light. I know him well for we see him often, but today . . . Today he is something else; something special. "

It is so Maewen that she is furious that Legolas is going but also that she is unable to go herself, because she is unable to go herself. She has vowed never to be left behind again. It was so traumatic the last time.

I understand Estel is hurt at being left behind. But these children of Valinor--they may be skilled with weapons but they have no skill with war. They have no experience, no instincts to guide them, no constant threat to keep them wary. Oh I know initially the Noldor that went into exile didn't either but their forebears had lived in Area in the darkness, had awoken under stars and with Melkor's evil already afoot. Those who lived in the light of the Trees may not have had experience or wariness or even necessarily skill at weapons but those with the light of the Trees in their eyes were profoundly different than the Elves of Arda, when they first arrived. Estel will be like a lamb to slaughter, as will his friends. They have no tools to protect them or aid them to fight the evil and darkness that they will encounter. Legolas is wise to keep his son away. For there is no question he would lay his own life down to save Estel.

I am glad Maewen takes him to task and gives him a talking to. He will regret this leave taking with Legolas. Oh he is being such a sulky, know it all teenager!

I cannot imagine that now knowing. Not knowing what was happening in Arda, the complete cut off of communication. and not knowing what would happen if the war was won. Would they all disappear? What would happen? Terrifying for those fighting and those left behind. But it must be excruciating have everyone return little by little but no Legolas. Maewen is smart enough to read that as worrisome.

And the letter! How believable that she can't get herself to read it--it would be too real once she does. And it is disconcerting on many levels--it's not Legolas or Erynion writing so she may have lost both of them.

Laerion writes between the lines here. There are hidden undercurrents and she can read them better than Estel.

Once again Estel is such a teen here--on Legolas return again he views everything through his own lens. He views Legolas hesitation not as result of injury but reluctance to greet his son. Ah the self centeredness of youth.

And it is as I feared. The young Valinor born have been mowed down like grass. Horrific.

ANd again--love that Maewen knows Legolas well enough that she KNOWS he is injured and as typical hiding it.

And her joy at Legolas seeing Aragorn is so good--they were somewhat at odds for so long and it is so comforting that she has come to realize just what he means to Legolas and she is not only at peace with it she is able to rejoice in it. Really phenomenal growth on her part.

It is harrowing for Estel to see that injury. This is exactly why the young could not handle it. This is known and expected by both Legolas and Maewen, years of fighting the darkness and seeing their companions cut down. But to Estel this is heart rending, awful, life changing. He has not known anything like this in his life. It is an awakening to an understanding of his father and his experiences that he has not truly countenanced before.

It is fascinating that Earendil is not there any more. I am glad he is released. AND searching for Elros. It is a relief for him to be able to lay down that burden of the Silmaril in the sky and return to just being.

Beautiful ending. A waiting of a different kind. A hopeful one. For they are still here and Finrod's words are true. Lovely.

Author's Response:

Ah Estel. With every argument he gives us and every word he says he proves to us exactly how right Legolas was to leave him behind. He is such a wilful and yet ignorant young man at the beginning of this. The terrible waiting he must endure does help him mature and grow. (However, as you point out, at the end he is still seeing the world through a self centred teenage lens. Interpreting all as to how it relates to himself) 

Its Maewen I most feel sorry for. Estel, until his friends begin to fail to return, is really unaware of the consequences of this war. Maewen has already waited for Legolas once...and he came back to her terribly damaged then with the sea-longing which meant he/they could not remain in their home. Now she must do it all over again. How painful must that parting have been for her? 

And even if they win the war Noone is sure any of them will survive. 

Legolas was absolutely right to leave his son at home, and to advise all his warriors to do the same. The Valinor grown elves had no chance to survive this. They had no concept of war at all. Estel shows us this. At best it is a game. The horror, the trauma, of watching loved ones die, of killing others, is something they could not be prepared for. And as you say, Legolas would have protected his son. He would have insisted on fighting alongside him and he would have died to save him. No question. And Legolas...more than anyone....knows what that would have done to Estel for he has lived it. Being left behind after a loved one has sacrificed themselves for you. 

Seeing Legolas’ injury was traumatic to Estel but it opened his eyes to the reality of his father’s life. He knows he has scars and Legolas sugar soaps them into being “memories” (which they are) but now Estel can imagine what lies behind each and every one of those memories. Pain and potential death. 

As for the end....glad you liked it. Waiting is so much easier if you have those you love with you. A joint waiting....for something filled with potential. 

Cant wait to write it! 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 11, 2018 16:29 · For: Chapter 1

I love this confusing family. At first I assumed Rhawion was Legolas's son as well, but I love that he's Erynion's.

This story conveys the agony of waiting news of loved ones so well. And added to that, the uncertainty of what will happen when Arda is remade. Brilliant.

But Aragorn... Really? Personally I think the world would have been better off with Morgoth et al. If Aragorn comes back, though, I hope Gimli will too.



Author's Response:

Yes Rhawion is Erynion’s. A wild 100% Silvan boy who seems to have inherited Maewen’s spiritedness rather than Erynions steadiness and Erynion loves him to bits. He lives with Maewen and Legolas at the moment as he is small but as he grows he spends more time living with his Dad in the trees. 

Come on now Aragorn had to come back...if only to get Legolas over his depressive moping! 



You must login () to review.