| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Shine by cheekybeak General Audiences
A bond between brothers helps a small elfling cope with his grief beneath the boughs of the Greenwood. prequel to “Light...
Hope in the Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
How Thrain kept the map and key safe from Sauron in Dol Guldur. Written for the Teitho contest picture challenge where it...
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1652
Chapters: 8441
Word count: 25528919
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15664
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 9
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
05/21/18 08:16 pm
Aragorn can't join - by emotionally blackmailing Legolas to accompany him on the Paths of the Dead, he's firmly on my blacklist!
cheekybeak
05/21/18 08:03 pm
SPCL? Society for prevention of cruelty to Legolas? RSPCL if Aragorn joins!
Naledi
05/21/18 06:02 pm
Yay, Nelya! We can be founder members of SACL. I tried to think of something with a better acronym - I'm open to suggestions!
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/21/18 03:25 pm
Naledi I'm with you on the Society Against Cruelty to Legolas (SACL)!! ;-) but who are we kidding--we read it all and love it anyway, despite the misadventures of our dear Elf!
Spiced Wine
05/20/18 10:38 am
I think it’s a sensible choice. Aragorn has a large backstory going back many years, so it was always going to be one of their first choices.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 05:43 am
It's an expensive gamble they have taken--they have to nail this first season. Also the TolkienEstate is far more involved in this one I hear.
Formegil
05/20/18 05:31 am
A quite big "if", I'd say. Just look what mess was made out of the Hobbit movie. Nowadays I tend to be a bit cynical. So I say the series is good if it will be at least not cringeworthy.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:49 am
As well as Elladan and Elrohir and the Rangers of the North. It could be a hit if done right. Plus the Arwen love interest.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:48 am
I am actually relieved the Amazon series is starting with young Aragorn. There is much canon content to work with, he's a familiar character and chance to see Glorfindel, Gilraen
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:47 am
And that's how they learn about the weaknesses of dragons! From the little guy Aegnor adopted.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Shine

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2018 19:46 · For: Chapter 1

So beautiful and sad. Legolas never seems to understand how others see him. The, of course, he can’t see himself, so doesn’t see how he brings light. 



Author's Response:

He really doesn’t. It’s a common theme in all the stories.  Yt you’re right...he doesn’t see himself from another’s viewpoint. 

Glad you liked it. I wanted to give regular readers of these two a glimpse into what it was Laerion and Legolas used to have. 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2018 12:14 · For: Chapter 1
Oh my god! Cheekybeak!

This was so beautiful! So sweet, so sorrowful. I had tears in my eyes reading it.

Laerion and Legolas had such a wonderful relationship. And Legolas was absolutely adorable.

The way in which Laerion tackled the loss of his friend and fellow warrior with legolas, was just beautiful.

*The ache in Laerion's heart-that echoed his-at the loss of his friend. "I know you will miss him, Legolas, we all will," his brother whispered as softly, softly, he stroked his hair. "Do not hide because of him. He would want you to climb to the very tops of the trees and shine your light, for that was what he fought for."*

I think the loss of his friend Iruion reminded Legolas of the fear he holds for his brother's safety. If Iruion can die then so can Laerion. And Iruion's death brought that fear one step closer. It was so sad to find that his fear became a reality. :(

Quite an emotional chapter but such a joy to read.

Author's Response:

You have it exactly right. That’s what this small Legolas was hiding from. His fear of the loss of his brother. 

Yes he was grieving for Iruion but really this was all about the fact it bought one step closer to home the fact his brother could also die. 

I have written these two together before in other stories, both Legolas after his brother’s death and them reunited in Valinor...which had many problems. I wanted to go back and write them this way so readers could see what it was they actually had. You can’t appreciate someone’s loss until you know exactly what it was they lost! 

Laerion does die, and the reality of that.....the way it happens...is worse than this poor small version of Legolas can even imagine. 



Name: SparkyTAS (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2018 14:20 · For: Chapter 1
Wonderful story. It answers quite a few questions in my mind. Thanks.

Author's Response:

Thank you! I’m glad to answered some questions for you. I wanted to show Legolas and Laerion as they used to be! 



Name: lotrfan (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2018 3:57 · For: Chapter 1
I really love this. It is so important to see this interaction between Laerion and Legolas, especially in the setting of Fire, Birds and Thousand Stars. We need to see this relationship because it figures so deeply in their subsequent stories and loss.
It makes me sad for Thranduil, that his eldest son has taken over some fatherly interactions because of the responsibilities Thranduil cannot set aside to be the father he wants to be.
This gives us insight into Legolas too, and how he runs away from things that upset him, even from a young age.

Author's Response:

That’s right! We need to see them like this because how can you understand the loss fully if you have never seen what it was that was lost. 

This small version of Legolas was fearing the loss of his brother for years before it actually happened. And it was a real fear. He grew up in a war zone really. Safe inside his palace but very aware of the outside world where people went and died. 

And yeah, poor Thranduil, who would love to be the one who “knew all the hiding places”. but doesn’t have the time and so Laerion steps in to the breach. It’s that time Thranduil now has the opportunity to regain with Estel in Valinor. 



You must login () to review.