| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Old Bones by Narya General Audiences
Maglor examines some old relics in the Basilica di Santa Maria in Cosmedin. Written for Valentine's Day; posting a few days...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Artifices of Gold and Shadow by Marchwriter Mature
When a ‘messenger of the Valar’ arrives on a rainy night, Celebrimbor — living quietly in exile — offers him shelter...
Moderately Functional by KimicThranduilion General Audiences
When Legolas’ intended day off drinking his favourite Dorwinion is interrupted for an important mission he is determined...
Friendship Amidst Loss by KimicThranduilion Teen
When Legolas and his troop become targets for slave traders tragedy strikes and the Prince suffers a devastating loss after...
Fragments from Middle-earth by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Ficlets of under 1000 words written for past BTMEM Challenges. They feature mostly Aragorn, Faramir, Halbarad and OCs
Oaths of Allegiance by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
 Faramir takes an oath of fealty to two very different liege lords.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 88
Stories: 1716
Chapters: 8742
Word count: 26619548
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16463
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 30
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 14
Members: Narya

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
02/16/19 01:52 pm
B2Me is underway folks. Amazing collection of Bingo Cards!
ziggy
02/16/19 10:56 am
Sounds like we've got some good new fics/updates on their way if everyone is writing this weekend:)
Gabriel
02/15/19 10:13 pm
I've been working so hard to get them done, that I'm done in the process.
Gabriel
02/15/19 10:12 pm
That sounds like my kind of weekend. Spiced! Hopefully I can have some fics finished for everyone to read. Fingers crossed. :)
Narya
02/15/19 10:12 pm
Similar I think! It's meant to be cloudy here but no rain forecast so I think a walk to start with, then some writing time
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 07:36 pm
Not really, but the weather is supposed to be quite mild and nice. Probably relax and write and go for a couple of walks. You?
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 07:15 pm
Not really, but the weather is supposed to be quite mild and nice. Probably relax and write and go for a couple of walks. You?
Narya
02/15/19 06:36 pm
Fri-yay! :D anybody got any nice plans this weekend?
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 10:11 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
02/14/19 09:46 pm
And to you, Alquien :)
Shout Archive


Reviews For Shine

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2018 19:46 · For: Chapter 1

So beautiful and sad. Legolas never seems to understand how others see him. The, of course, he can’t see himself, so doesn’t see how he brings light. 



Author's Response:

He really doesn’t. It’s a common theme in all the stories.  Yt you’re right...he doesn’t see himself from another’s viewpoint. 

Glad you liked it. I wanted to give regular readers of these two a glimpse into what it was Laerion and Legolas used to have. 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2018 12:14 · For: Chapter 1
Oh my god! Cheekybeak!

This was so beautiful! So sweet, so sorrowful. I had tears in my eyes reading it.

Laerion and Legolas had such a wonderful relationship. And Legolas was absolutely adorable.

The way in which Laerion tackled the loss of his friend and fellow warrior with legolas, was just beautiful.

*The ache in Laerion's heart-that echoed his-at the loss of his friend. "I know you will miss him, Legolas, we all will," his brother whispered as softly, softly, he stroked his hair. "Do not hide because of him. He would want you to climb to the very tops of the trees and shine your light, for that was what he fought for."*

I think the loss of his friend Iruion reminded Legolas of the fear he holds for his brother's safety. If Iruion can die then so can Laerion. And Iruion's death brought that fear one step closer. It was so sad to find that his fear became a reality. :(

Quite an emotional chapter but such a joy to read.

Author's Response:

You have it exactly right. That’s what this small Legolas was hiding from. His fear of the loss of his brother. 

Yes he was grieving for Iruion but really this was all about the fact it bought one step closer to home the fact his brother could also die. 

I have written these two together before in other stories, both Legolas after his brother’s death and them reunited in Valinor...which had many problems. I wanted to go back and write them this way so readers could see what it was they actually had. You can’t appreciate someone’s loss until you know exactly what it was they lost! 

Laerion does die, and the reality of that.....the way it happens...is worse than this poor small version of Legolas can even imagine. 



Name: SparkyTAS (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2018 14:20 · For: Chapter 1
Wonderful story. It answers quite a few questions in my mind. Thanks.

Author's Response:

Thank you! I’m glad to answered some questions for you. I wanted to show Legolas and Laerion as they used to be! 



Name: lotrfan (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2018 3:57 · For: Chapter 1
I really love this. It is so important to see this interaction between Laerion and Legolas, especially in the setting of Fire, Birds and Thousand Stars. We need to see this relationship because it figures so deeply in their subsequent stories and loss.
It makes me sad for Thranduil, that his eldest son has taken over some fatherly interactions because of the responsibilities Thranduil cannot set aside to be the father he wants to be.
This gives us insight into Legolas too, and how he runs away from things that upset him, even from a young age.

Author's Response:

That’s right! We need to see them like this because how can you understand the loss fully if you have never seen what it was that was lost. 

This small version of Legolas was fearing the loss of his brother for years before it actually happened. And it was a real fear. He grew up in a war zone really. Safe inside his palace but very aware of the outside world where people went and died. 

And yeah, poor Thranduil, who would love to be the one who “knew all the hiding places”. but doesn’t have the time and so Laerion steps in to the breach. It’s that time Thranduil now has the opportunity to regain with Estel in Valinor. 



You must login () to review.