| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Bedtime by Narya General Audiences
Maglor is away on a trip and Maedhros has been left with the children. He isn't sure he's up to the task.
A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1678
Chapters: 8564
Word count: 26086464
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16051
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 6
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
09/22/18 02:44 pm
But I can definitely add it for you
Spiced Wine
09/22/18 02:44 pm
I can add it, Gabriel, but only using a keyboard and iPad I cannot hotlink it I have no mouse, and everything is a pain in the neck
Gabriel
09/22/18 01:00 pm
Not to worry Spiced! It was my fault for not submitting it in time. That's the consequences I guess. :)
Spiced Wine
09/22/18 10:03 am
Sorry, Gabriel I took that list from Kenaz’s LJ
Gabriel
09/22/18 05:43 am
I wish there was a delete button on this.
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:38 pm
There is also mine as well,(SinS) if anyone's interested in taking a look, which isn't on the list, as I was late in posting. :/
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:34 pm
Oh my goodness Narya! Please take good care of yourself. :)
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 08:08 pm
You’re welcome :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 07:47 pm
Thank you, Spiced! <3
Narya
09/21/18 06:59 pm
Ahh, Spiced, thank you <3 hope everyone has a lovely weekend planned!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Shine

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2018 19:46 · For: Chapter 1

So beautiful and sad. Legolas never seems to understand how others see him. The, of course, he can’t see himself, so doesn’t see how he brings light. 



Author's Response:

He really doesn’t. It’s a common theme in all the stories.  Yt you’re right...he doesn’t see himself from another’s viewpoint. 

Glad you liked it. I wanted to give regular readers of these two a glimpse into what it was Laerion and Legolas used to have. 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2018 12:14 · For: Chapter 1
Oh my god! Cheekybeak!

This was so beautiful! So sweet, so sorrowful. I had tears in my eyes reading it.

Laerion and Legolas had such a wonderful relationship. And Legolas was absolutely adorable.

The way in which Laerion tackled the loss of his friend and fellow warrior with legolas, was just beautiful.

*The ache in Laerion's heart-that echoed his-at the loss of his friend. "I know you will miss him, Legolas, we all will," his brother whispered as softly, softly, he stroked his hair. "Do not hide because of him. He would want you to climb to the very tops of the trees and shine your light, for that was what he fought for."*

I think the loss of his friend Iruion reminded Legolas of the fear he holds for his brother's safety. If Iruion can die then so can Laerion. And Iruion's death brought that fear one step closer. It was so sad to find that his fear became a reality. :(

Quite an emotional chapter but such a joy to read.

Author's Response:

You have it exactly right. That’s what this small Legolas was hiding from. His fear of the loss of his brother. 

Yes he was grieving for Iruion but really this was all about the fact it bought one step closer to home the fact his brother could also die. 

I have written these two together before in other stories, both Legolas after his brother’s death and them reunited in Valinor...which had many problems. I wanted to go back and write them this way so readers could see what it was they actually had. You can’t appreciate someone’s loss until you know exactly what it was they lost! 

Laerion does die, and the reality of that.....the way it happens...is worse than this poor small version of Legolas can even imagine. 



Name: SparkyTAS (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2018 14:20 · For: Chapter 1
Wonderful story. It answers quite a few questions in my mind. Thanks.

Author's Response:

Thank you! I’m glad to answered some questions for you. I wanted to show Legolas and Laerion as they used to be! 



Name: lotrfan (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2018 3:57 · For: Chapter 1
I really love this. It is so important to see this interaction between Laerion and Legolas, especially in the setting of Fire, Birds and Thousand Stars. We need to see this relationship because it figures so deeply in their subsequent stories and loss.
It makes me sad for Thranduil, that his eldest son has taken over some fatherly interactions because of the responsibilities Thranduil cannot set aside to be the father he wants to be.
This gives us insight into Legolas too, and how he runs away from things that upset him, even from a young age.

Author's Response:

That’s right! We need to see them like this because how can you understand the loss fully if you have never seen what it was that was lost. 

This small version of Legolas was fearing the loss of his brother for years before it actually happened. And it was a real fear. He grew up in a war zone really. Safe inside his palace but very aware of the outside world where people went and died. 

And yeah, poor Thranduil, who would love to be the one who “knew all the hiding places”. but doesn’t have the time and so Laerion steps in to the breach. It’s that time Thranduil now has the opportunity to regain with Estel in Valinor. 



You must login () to review.