| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Shine by cheekybeak General Audiences
A bond between brothers helps a small elfling cope with his grief beneath the boughs of the Greenwood. prequel to “Light...
Hope in the Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
How Thrain kept the map and key safe from Sauron in Dol Guldur. Written for the Teitho contest picture challenge where it...
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1652
Chapters: 8441
Word count: 25528919
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15664
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
05/21/18 08:16 pm
Aragorn can't join - by emotionally blackmailing Legolas to accompany him on the Paths of the Dead, he's firmly on my blacklist!
cheekybeak
05/21/18 08:03 pm
SPCL? Society for prevention of cruelty to Legolas? RSPCL if Aragorn joins!
Naledi
05/21/18 06:02 pm
Yay, Nelya! We can be founder members of SACL. I tried to think of something with a better acronym - I'm open to suggestions!
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/21/18 03:25 pm
Naledi I'm with you on the Society Against Cruelty to Legolas (SACL)!! ;-) but who are we kidding--we read it all and love it anyway, despite the misadventures of our dear Elf!
Spiced Wine
05/20/18 10:38 am
I think it’s a sensible choice. Aragorn has a large backstory going back many years, so it was always going to be one of their first choices.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 05:43 am
It's an expensive gamble they have taken--they have to nail this first season. Also the TolkienEstate is far more involved in this one I hear.
Formegil
05/20/18 05:31 am
A quite big "if", I'd say. Just look what mess was made out of the Hobbit movie. Nowadays I tend to be a bit cynical. So I say the series is good if it will be at least not cringeworthy.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:49 am
As well as Elladan and Elrohir and the Rangers of the North. It could be a hit if done right. Plus the Arwen love interest.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:48 am
I am actually relieved the Amazon series is starting with young Aragorn. There is much canon content to work with, he's a familiar character and chance to see Glorfindel, Gilraen
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:47 am
And that's how they learn about the weaknesses of dragons! From the little guy Aegnor adopted.
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2018 7:32 · For: Chapter 1
So wonderfully written, Nelya!

So now we know how Thorin came by the map and key. Love it!

What I found particularly sorrowful was how Thrain had given up on freedom, on ever setting his eyes on his family or his home again.

He must have been a prisoner for some length of time to ever forget the life he once led. Mind you that fog which clouded his memory may also have something to do with Sauron and his interrogation techniques, possibly.

When Gandalf appeared, asking after him and offering him a way out, I wished he had of taken it, instead of giving into the despair. The darkness has a way of doing that to you. Suffocating you like some shroud covering your form, sucking all the goodness and light from your very being.

And Thranduil. Loved Thranduil at the end; *"You will have your work cut out for you, searching for the owner of this. The Dwarven folk do not confide in strangers."* Don't write Gandalf off just yet, Thranduil! ;)

Keep doing these wonderful 'inbetweeners' or 'interpretations'. Not even sure what the correct terminology would be to describe these lovely stories. But whatever the name, I'm a fan. :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I really do love writing these in-between, background stories! I'm glad they have appeal!

I think even in his altered mental state he knew he would be putting Gandalf in danger if he tried to escape with him. Despair had gripped him long before, after his interrogation torture by Sauron. I dont think he thought there was an prospect of release or regaining his mind.

Thranduil just showed up and marched right into this story! I wasn't expecting him bit there he was at the end.

I've got more stories in the works!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2018 2:39 · For: Chapter 1

I liked this even though, you know, I’m not keen on any dwarves but Gimli. 

The writing devices used to show the change in Thrain during his imprisonment worked really well. 

What I really loved though.....being fascinated by elves, not dwarves, were the mentions of Thranduil. Both the little bit of him at the end but also the glimpses you gave us of the place the woodelves lived in before they retreated into their woods. Tiny tantalising glimpses, but I loved them. 



Author's Response: Thanks! I know you aren't a fan of dwarves other than Gimli! He's in a class of his own.

I'm glad the writing style worked for you. I really wanted to show his descent into the "witless and wandering" mode that Gandalf describes of their only meeting. I love writing Thranduil. I hadn't intended to have him in this story but he just found his way there. I'm truly fascinated by the old settlements of the Greenwood and the story of those Elves who first settled there and what drove them away. Like you I do think the dwarves are sensitive to the song of the stone, as Thrainin here, but I also remember from LOTR that it takes a lot to make a land once settled by Elves able to ever forget them. I see that in this place, the former Amon Lanc, now Dol Guldur. The stones still remember. I'd like to write more on that theme.



You must login () to review.