| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Bedtime by Narya General Audiences
Maglor is away on a trip and Maedhros has been left with the children. He isn't sure he's up to the task.
A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1678
Chapters: 8564
Word count: 26086464
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16051
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
09/22/18 02:44 pm
But I can definitely add it for you
Spiced Wine
09/22/18 02:44 pm
I can add it, Gabriel, but only using a keyboard and iPad I cannot hotlink it I have no mouse, and everything is a pain in the neck
Gabriel
09/22/18 01:00 pm
Not to worry Spiced! It was my fault for not submitting it in time. That's the consequences I guess. :)
Spiced Wine
09/22/18 10:03 am
Sorry, Gabriel I took that list from Kenaz’s LJ
Gabriel
09/22/18 05:43 am
I wish there was a delete button on this.
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:38 pm
There is also mine as well,(SinS) if anyone's interested in taking a look, which isn't on the list, as I was late in posting. :/
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:34 pm
Oh my goodness Narya! Please take good care of yourself. :)
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 08:08 pm
You’re welcome :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 07:47 pm
Thank you, Spiced! <3
Narya
09/21/18 06:59 pm
Ahh, Spiced, thank you <3 hope everyone has a lovely weekend planned!
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2018 7:32 · For: Chapter 1
So wonderfully written, Nelya!

So now we know how Thorin came by the map and key. Love it!

What I found particularly sorrowful was how Thrain had given up on freedom, on ever setting his eyes on his family or his home again.

He must have been a prisoner for some length of time to ever forget the life he once led. Mind you that fog which clouded his memory may also have something to do with Sauron and his interrogation techniques, possibly.

When Gandalf appeared, asking after him and offering him a way out, I wished he had of taken it, instead of giving into the despair. The darkness has a way of doing that to you. Suffocating you like some shroud covering your form, sucking all the goodness and light from your very being.

And Thranduil. Loved Thranduil at the end; *"You will have your work cut out for you, searching for the owner of this. The Dwarven folk do not confide in strangers."* Don't write Gandalf off just yet, Thranduil! ;)

Keep doing these wonderful 'inbetweeners' or 'interpretations'. Not even sure what the correct terminology would be to describe these lovely stories. But whatever the name, I'm a fan. :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I really do love writing these in-between, background stories! I'm glad they have appeal!

I think even in his altered mental state he knew he would be putting Gandalf in danger if he tried to escape with him. Despair had gripped him long before, after his interrogation torture by Sauron. I dont think he thought there was an prospect of release or regaining his mind.

Thranduil just showed up and marched right into this story! I wasn't expecting him bit there he was at the end.

I've got more stories in the works!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2018 2:39 · For: Chapter 1

I liked this even though, you know, I’m not keen on any dwarves but Gimli. 

The writing devices used to show the change in Thrain during his imprisonment worked really well. 

What I really loved though.....being fascinated by elves, not dwarves, were the mentions of Thranduil. Both the little bit of him at the end but also the glimpses you gave us of the place the woodelves lived in before they retreated into their woods. Tiny tantalising glimpses, but I loved them. 



Author's Response: Thanks! I know you aren't a fan of dwarves other than Gimli! He's in a class of his own.

I'm glad the writing style worked for you. I really wanted to show his descent into the "witless and wandering" mode that Gandalf describes of their only meeting. I love writing Thranduil. I hadn't intended to have him in this story but he just found his way there. I'm truly fascinated by the old settlements of the Greenwood and the story of those Elves who first settled there and what drove them away. Like you I do think the dwarves are sensitive to the song of the stone, as Thrainin here, but I also remember from LOTR that it takes a lot to make a land once settled by Elves able to ever forget them. I see that in this place, the former Amon Lanc, now Dol Guldur. The stones still remember. I'd like to write more on that theme.



You must login () to review.