| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Old Bones by Narya General Audiences
Maglor examines some old relics in the Basilica di Santa Maria in Cosmedin. Written for Valentine's Day; posting a few days...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Artifices of Gold and Shadow by Marchwriter Mature
When a ‘messenger of the Valar’ arrives on a rainy night, Celebrimbor — living quietly in exile — offers him shelter...
Moderately Functional by KimicThranduilion General Audiences
When Legolas’ intended day off drinking his favourite Dorwinion is interrupted for an important mission he is determined...
Friendship Amidst Loss by KimicThranduilion Teen
When Legolas and his troop become targets for slave traders tragedy strikes and the Prince suffers a devastating loss after...
Fragments from Middle-earth by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Ficlets of under 1000 words written for past BTMEM Challenges. They feature mostly Aragorn, Faramir, Halbarad and OCs
Oaths of Allegiance by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
 Faramir takes an oath of fealty to two very different liege lords.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 88
Stories: 1716
Chapters: 8742
Word count: 26619548
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16463
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 30
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 21
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
02/16/19 01:52 pm
B2Me is underway folks. Amazing collection of Bingo Cards!
ziggy
02/16/19 10:56 am
Sounds like we've got some good new fics/updates on their way if everyone is writing this weekend:)
Gabriel
02/15/19 10:13 pm
I've been working so hard to get them done, that I'm done in the process.
Gabriel
02/15/19 10:12 pm
That sounds like my kind of weekend. Spiced! Hopefully I can have some fics finished for everyone to read. Fingers crossed. :)
Narya
02/15/19 10:12 pm
Similar I think! It's meant to be cloudy here but no rain forecast so I think a walk to start with, then some writing time
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 07:36 pm
Not really, but the weather is supposed to be quite mild and nice. Probably relax and write and go for a couple of walks. You?
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 07:15 pm
Not really, but the weather is supposed to be quite mild and nice. Probably relax and write and go for a couple of walks. You?
Narya
02/15/19 06:36 pm
Fri-yay! :D anybody got any nice plans this weekend?
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 10:11 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
02/14/19 09:46 pm
And to you, Alquien :)
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2018 7:32 · For: Chapter 1
So wonderfully written, Nelya!

So now we know how Thorin came by the map and key. Love it!

What I found particularly sorrowful was how Thrain had given up on freedom, on ever setting his eyes on his family or his home again.

He must have been a prisoner for some length of time to ever forget the life he once led. Mind you that fog which clouded his memory may also have something to do with Sauron and his interrogation techniques, possibly.

When Gandalf appeared, asking after him and offering him a way out, I wished he had of taken it, instead of giving into the despair. The darkness has a way of doing that to you. Suffocating you like some shroud covering your form, sucking all the goodness and light from your very being.

And Thranduil. Loved Thranduil at the end; *"You will have your work cut out for you, searching for the owner of this. The Dwarven folk do not confide in strangers."* Don't write Gandalf off just yet, Thranduil! ;)

Keep doing these wonderful 'inbetweeners' or 'interpretations'. Not even sure what the correct terminology would be to describe these lovely stories. But whatever the name, I'm a fan. :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I really do love writing these in-between, background stories! I'm glad they have appeal!

I think even in his altered mental state he knew he would be putting Gandalf in danger if he tried to escape with him. Despair had gripped him long before, after his interrogation torture by Sauron. I dont think he thought there was an prospect of release or regaining his mind.

Thranduil just showed up and marched right into this story! I wasn't expecting him bit there he was at the end.

I've got more stories in the works!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2018 2:39 · For: Chapter 1

I liked this even though, you know, I’m not keen on any dwarves but Gimli. 

The writing devices used to show the change in Thrain during his imprisonment worked really well. 

What I really loved though.....being fascinated by elves, not dwarves, were the mentions of Thranduil. Both the little bit of him at the end but also the glimpses you gave us of the place the woodelves lived in before they retreated into their woods. Tiny tantalising glimpses, but I loved them. 



Author's Response: Thanks! I know you aren't a fan of dwarves other than Gimli! He's in a class of his own.

I'm glad the writing style worked for you. I really wanted to show his descent into the "witless and wandering" mode that Gandalf describes of their only meeting. I love writing Thranduil. I hadn't intended to have him in this story but he just found his way there. I'm truly fascinated by the old settlements of the Greenwood and the story of those Elves who first settled there and what drove them away. Like you I do think the dwarves are sensitive to the song of the stone, as Thrainin here, but I also remember from LOTR that it takes a lot to make a land once settled by Elves able to ever forget them. I see that in this place, the former Amon Lanc, now Dol Guldur. The stones still remember. I'd like to write more on that theme.



You must login () to review.