| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Old Bones by Narya General Audiences
Maglor examines some old relics in the Basilica di Santa Maria in Cosmedin. Written for Valentine's Day; posting a few days...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Artifices of Gold and Shadow by Marchwriter Mature
When a ‘messenger of the Valar’ arrives on a rainy night, Celebrimbor — living quietly in exile — offers him shelter...
Moderately Functional by KimicThranduilion General Audiences
When Legolas’ intended day off drinking his favourite Dorwinion is interrupted for an important mission he is determined...
Friendship Amidst Loss by KimicThranduilion Teen
When Legolas and his troop become targets for slave traders tragedy strikes and the Prince suffers a devastating loss after...
Fragments from Middle-earth by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Ficlets of under 1000 words written for past BTMEM Challenges. They feature mostly Aragorn, Faramir, Halbarad and OCs
Oaths of Allegiance by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
 Faramir takes an oath of fealty to two very different liege lords.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 88
Stories: 1716
Chapters: 8742
Word count: 26619548
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16463
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 30
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 19
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
02/16/19 01:52 pm
B2Me is underway folks. Amazing collection of Bingo Cards!
ziggy
02/16/19 10:56 am
Sounds like we've got some good new fics/updates on their way if everyone is writing this weekend:)
Gabriel
02/15/19 10:13 pm
I've been working so hard to get them done, that I'm done in the process.
Gabriel
02/15/19 10:12 pm
That sounds like my kind of weekend. Spiced! Hopefully I can have some fics finished for everyone to read. Fingers crossed. :)
Narya
02/15/19 10:12 pm
Similar I think! It's meant to be cloudy here but no rain forecast so I think a walk to start with, then some writing time
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 07:36 pm
Not really, but the weather is supposed to be quite mild and nice. Probably relax and write and go for a couple of walks. You?
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 07:15 pm
Not really, but the weather is supposed to be quite mild and nice. Probably relax and write and go for a couple of walks. You?
Narya
02/15/19 06:36 pm
Fri-yay! :D anybody got any nice plans this weekend?
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 10:11 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
02/14/19 09:46 pm
And to you, Alquien :)
Shout Archive



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2019 22:38 · For: For Plate or Gold

' I love the way this just suddenly appeared- like leavin a book open and sudenly being transported to another time and place:

The Oath did terrible things to us all. Maglor's voice in my mind was gentle, but a warning weighed at its edges like the wind behind a storm, and the sting of lightning hissed underneath. At the end, Celegorm was twisted beyond recognition or salvation. What happened in Nargothrond destroyed him – and Curufin too. Unbidden, in my mind flared an image of a silver-haired boy, laughing wildly as he rolled on the ground with a dog twice his size – and then I saw him again, older, crueller, face streaked with blood. His laugh was high and feral now, his eyes aflame with madness and death, delighting in both, and he snarled like a wolf as it sprang for the kill...

 

And then back to the mundane of life at Uni and all the terrible heartbreaks and problems, the joy and delight. Just love this.



Author's Response: Thank you ziggy! Sorry I'm so slow responding - holidays and my laptop is broken, I haven't really been on top of notifications. I'm glad you think the contrast works, it's one of my favourite things to play with in this fix!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 30, 2019 18:50 · For: For Plate or Gold

some point I do intend to write a proper Nargothrond arc (so many projects...!). The theory about Fëanor’s soul makes so much sense, I'm convinced it's just something Tolkien forgot to jot down ;)

 

Oh, I hope you do! Yes, it must have just slipped under the radar, lol, never got added to the Silm or HoMe :) but it makes so much sense. Must have been horrendous feeling Morgoth wearing one of them! But the fact that an Elf Fëanor had never seen could ‘wake a great power from slumber’ by just naming the Silmarils more than hints at something ‘sentient’ about them. (I think). 



Author's Response: Totally agree - there is *something* in there!!


Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: January 30, 2019 16:38 · For: For Plate or Gold
oh Narya! I really loved the mentions of Celegorm--wounded animals, the way he was as a boy, the visions Claire had of him, the way Maglor thought. Just heart rending.
ugh. Theo!
And their absolute creep of a landlord. I'm a bit worried for Theo if he moves away from these three.
And I think Claire is very correct. Mark needs his space. Wonderful continuation that has left me anxious for more!

Author's Response: Thank you :D you know I have a soft spot for Celegorm, despite...well, everything. And, yeah, Theo. Not good.

"Mark needs his space" - they'd have no hope of keeping their secret if he actually did move in!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 30, 2019 15:53 · For: For Plate or Gold

can't forgive Beren. And Thingol should have known better than to stir up that hornet's nest. 

 

As Finrod said to Beren: ‘..he that even names them in desire wakes a great power from slumber.’  And Thingol was thinking of them with covetousness. It’s one of the reasons I believe they did contain something of Fëanor’s soul, just fanon I know, but Thingol should never have gone there. It was not his, not Beren’s not Luthien’s, not Dior’s. 

 



Author's Response: And Finrod is right. I play with that a little bit in Sunrise over Ivrin, but at some point I do intend to write a proper Nargothrond arc (so many projects...!). The theory about Fëanor’s soul makes so much sense, I'm convinced it's just something Tolkien forgot to jot down ;)


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 30, 2019 10:52 · For: For Plate or Gold

The Oath did terrible things to us all. Maglor's voice in my mind was gentle, but a warning weighed at its edges like the wind behind a storm, and the sting of lightning hissed underneath.  At the end, Celegorm was twisted beyond recognition or salvation. What happened in Nargothrond destroyed him – and Curufin too. Unbidden, in my mind flared an image of a silver-haired boy, laughing wildly as he rolled on the ground with a dog twice his size – and then I saw him again, older, crueller, face streaked with blood. His laugh was high and feral now, his eyes aflame with madness and death, delighting in both, and he snarled like a wolf as it sprang for the kill...

“I'm sorry.” The strange light around him had vanished before I knew it was there, gone like a candle left in the wind. There was no joy in his eyes now, only grief and regret. “I wish you had known them. Before the Oath, when they – when we were young. You would have loved them.”

I didn't doubt it – and wasn't that what had sat at the heart of the whole bloody mess? Who could fail to love those bright, fierce souls, damned to death and failure, drawing in those around them like towering infernos calling to moths through the night?

Only to burn off their wings and leave their ruined corpses scattered on the ground.

 

Aww, that made me cry. And I am anti Beren and Lúthien, honestly. Finrod deserved so much more than giving up his life for some besotted fool. I can understand that what Celegorm and Curufin did to Finrod destroyed them eventually. But I almost think it is like a doom just upon them, the Fëanorions specifically, for daring to be so bright. And yes, I think Claire would have loved them had she known them before. 


Well, it would be a good idea to have Mark there, in one way, not in others, — and Harrison seems to be getting closer to saying something to Claire — except it’s not legal. And I don’t think who he is could be hidden ultimately in such close contact all the time. 

 

Poor Rosie, not her fault, but yes, Theo is behaving like a sulky teen now. The least he could do is apologise, which he has NOT done, not make himself scarce with those two tosses who do him no good at all.

 I am not surprise he aggravates Claire on occasion. 

I do hope they can work something out about the tenancy. 

Loved this chapter :) What a treat on a frosty morning with my coffee! 

 

 

 



Author's Response: Thank you! :D I like Lúthien, but can't forgive Beren. And Thingol should have known better than to stir up that hornet's nest.

Harrison has known for a while that something is off, and it's all stacking up. They're having a hard time hiding it now, let alone if they all lived together full time :/ and Theo, yes, he is being a complete idiot...


Name: Ysilme (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2019 0:49 · For: Our Mythic History

I enjoyed this chapter so much! You really nailed this part of the story, and perfectly so. I was looking forward to the Big Reveal (TM), and my writing brain was also curious how you'd do it and how well it'd work, for I think such a meeting between worlds and beliefs, if you will, is particularly difficult to write, and even more so, to write well. You definitely surpassed all my expectations, and I can only praise once again your outstanding writing talent!

Lots of details to love, too… the name choice! You literally needed to spell it out for me, but that’s also as I’m pronouncing Quenya names (well, nearly all Tolkien names) differently from most English-speaking people (I’m no specialist in this, but from what I gathered also from  the German Tolkien Society, this goes back to Tolkien himself), but once knowing it it’s really blatantly obvious! *g* But also his bare place which can’t be called a home, the subtle physical differences, that it was he who told everything to Tolkien, and why there are differences. Or the Valar “wo are no as the stories would have you believe.”
I also really enjoyed Maglor’s reaction to her reasoning, discovery, and open acceptance. The idea about the Silmarils and Feanor’s soul is intriguing, too, and makes a lot of sense. (Or is this a bit of canon I managed to totally miss so far?)
It’s so good to read about Claires musings about the shades of grey of what is right and wrong, too - this is such a vital and important point, and something so many people seem to miss spectacularly on a regular base. And I love how she reacts to him, and his music, ♥ and now I’m wondering about something completely different. ^^ (Patiently waiting for possible cues and explanations sooner or later, though.)
Those lines when Maglor tells about some experiences - Vesuvius, or the Somme - make me wish even more than ever before to be able to listen to somebody of his life-span and experience tell his tales.




Author's Response: Ahh, thank you! I'm so glad you think I got it right; it took me a long time to write this chapter, I had to have several goes at it.

I'm really happy you picked up on all those details :) yes, it's not really his home, it's just a place to stay - and he has to be ready to move on at any minute. Maglor and Tolkien is a story by itself, and the Valar won't come into this one directly, so there's lots for me to play with later :P

Fëanor's souls in the Silmarils isn't strictly canon; I first came across it in Spiced Wine's stories. But I think it makes sense out of a lot of things; when I read it, it felt like a "missing piece" to me, something Tolkien didn't record, not something a fic author made up.

"and now I’m wondering about something completely different. ^^ (Patiently waiting for possible cues and explanations sooner or later, though.)" - I'm curious, what are you curious about? :)

Yes, Maglor has a lot of stories to tell. In time I hope to get round to most of them. (Not necessarily in this fic, though; I think it's probably more interesting for the reader to experience it first hand!) Thank you so much, Ysilme, it always brightens my day to wake up to a review.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 21, 2019 10:25 · For: Unusual Revelry

Oh, yes, Harrison knew Claire knew more than them, but yes, as there are things she can’t or won’t tell, then it’s like — how ‘secret’ is this and hey? 

 

(Theo...Theo, like me, had wondered if Mark might be ex-Secret Intelligence, and then there was his grandfather's friend. If we made that our cover story, then oddly, out of all of them, he might understand –) 

 

But could Claire trust Theo not to tell Seb and Byrdie one night when he was stoned? I think the others could be trusted, but Theo is definitely the weak link there. He might promise not to say anything, and absolutely mean it, but...




Author's Response: Ooh, good question. I actually think that, with that story in his family history, he would understand the importance of keeping quiet and the effect that kind of life can have on someone - but he might accidentally let something slip, if he was showing off, or off his face. Of course it isn't the real truth anyway, but the last thing they need is people like Seb and Byrdie getting curious...


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 20, 2019 22:22 · For: Unusual Revelry

Harrison’s pretty acute. Of course he has the ‘ear’ to hear Mark’s not-totally-English accent, and I imagine he will be thinking about it a bit more now that Claire is obviously keeping some things back. Although perhaps he will too involved with Luc — at least *that* was not a complete disaster — to mull it over too much, except he is still taking lessons from Mark, so will be around him! 

Poor Rosie, I was sad she was upset. (I think, poor Theo too, because argh! WHY? I always ended up feeling sorry (and angry) for men I had to slap down in my younger days. But I used to get so annoyed and furious, and then a bit sorry, but not sorry enough to pity-date)  Had he had not been getting swozzled with those idiots, I am sure he would not have made a twit out of himself. He was doing quite well up until then! And home is the best place he can go, not off with them! Dear Claire, she is so responsible! But there is bound to be fallout! 



Author's Response: Well, Harrison already knew that Claire knew more than the rest of them, but at that point I think assumed it was something to do with traumatic war memories. Now he's starting to realise it might be more complex.

I think Rosie is feeling all the things you describe - and on her birthday, of all things! But I feel sorry for Theo too, he's so clueless.

LOL, 'swozzled', what a brilliant word :D


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 20, 2019 21:32 · For: Unusual Revelry

oh dear- that ended a bit of a disaster. Poor Theo. What's a guy to do?



Author's Response: Not get totally wasted and embarrass the girl he likes? XD disaster is the word, alright...


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 20, 2019 21:02 · For: Though the Moments Quickly Die

Just enjoying re-reading this, love it. I am worried about the cat thought- please find him a home.



Author's Response: Ah, don't worry, the cat can take care of himself :) thank you, ziggy, I hope you've had a lovely day xx


Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: January 20, 2019 19:48 · For: Unusual Revelry
what a rich and lovely chapter!
Claire is such a caretaker. Watching over them all, planning, cooking, care taking. It's sweet but also sometimes I think a bit of heavy responsibility, even if she seems to enjoy it and fall into it naturally. I think it's something that may remind Mark of his older brother.

The relationship arcs are getting complicated! I love the Harrison/Luc side story and how cute it was that Claire was so oblivious but Mark picked up on it right away. He should know, I suppose, having likely lived through similar many times in his long life. So I've gotten over my suspicions about Luc now!

I don't like Theo's drinking buddies. They aren't good for him. I wish there was a way to detach him from them. It seemed for a bit that the theater friends would win out but not tonight. And after what happened with Rosie I have a feeling he will cling to those unsavory friends even more.

Harrison is a sharp one. I find it captivating how observant but low key he is. I would worry that he would figure it out. He's bright but he's also similar in many ways to Claire. Her intelligence, her persistence, her knowledge of those particular books.

I feel bad for Theo. I think he really needed to wait to let this organically proceed, not rush things like this because he's drunk. It made for an awkward situation and I do think they would be good together! But not tonight, not like this.

Mark's hesitation to get close to anyone makes so much sense. It always has to haunt him, who he is, what's his past, people deducing things when they get too close.

The closeness Mark and Claire have though is lovely. He's a bit more relaxed and funny when he's with her. Joking, turning up his nose at IRN-BRU and such. it's an easy and comfortable familiarity as are the soft moments of contact, touch that you have sprinkled through the narrative. I love that.

Looking forward to where this night goes! and what happens with all of them!

But good for dear Harrison!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Nelya!

That's Claire all over. I know what you mean about it being a heavy responsibility; I think in part she does it to get away from looking after herself, because that means going back to some mental places she'd rather not revisit. Interesting observation about Maedhros...I hadn't actually thought of that, but you could well be right.

No, Theo's drinking buddies are definitely not good for him - but I'm glad you like Harrison so much :D I've grown very fond of him. He is like Claire in a lot of ways (it makes sense, they are related, and I bet Harrison really looked up to Claire when they were growing up). He hasn't read the Silm, though, so hasn't quite got all the pieces to make the jump.

I love writing how close and easy Mark and Claire have become with each other - yes, he does laugh and joke more when he's with her. The guard comes down, so to speak. I hope you like what I have in store for them next :)


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 20, 2019 12:42 · For: Unusual Revelry

(I relayed the conversation. “Of course I didn't tell him anything he hadn't worked out for himself,” I added. “But...well.”

“Indeed.” He drew up one knee and gazed thoughtfully along the burn, where a heron was swooping close to the water. “What do you suggest?”

I combed my fingers through my hair, gently unravelling the tangles knotted in by the wind. “I'm not sure. I've been saying for weeks that we should tell them something, but I have no idea what.”

“Neither do I.” He quirked his mouth humourlessly. “I can't even tell them as much as I told you, before you realised the whole truth.”

“No.” I could imagine how the others would react to that – the wary, closed-down look in Harrison's eyes, Rosie hurt and disappointed. Theo...Theo, like me, had wondered if Mark might be ex-Secret Intelligence, and then there was his grandfather's friend. If we made that our cover story, then oddly, out of all of them, he might understand – but I'd also assured Harrison that the secret I was keeping wasn't dangerous. It was probably too late now to try and pass Mark off as a deep cover operative. Not that it would be very believable anyway; I doubted that field agents, active or retired, made a habit of telling their stories to second year undergraduates.

“Do you see now why I don't let people get too close?”)

_________________________

 

Yes, this is getting more complicated. The more you know someone, or rather, get close to them the harder it is to hide things. 



Author's Response: Indeed. It might be easy enough for Mark/Maglor to "blend" at a distance - there's nothing *too* remarkable about a very attractive postgraduate who also happens to be a talented singer - but little things add up, over time. And the others may not be quite like Claire but they aren't stupid. Harrison, in particular, turned out to be far sharper and more observant than I originally planned.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 20, 2019 10:07 · For: Unusual Revelry

I wish Theo would ditch Seb and Byrdie — I have known people like that; toxic friends, who are not really friends at all! Theo is quite sweet really, but easily led! 



Author's Response: Yes, he is; I've known a few like him, and like Seb and Byrdie too. But he won't ditch them without a push. He's not as tough as Claire, or even Harrison or Rosie, really.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 19, 2019 22:46 · For: Unusual Revelry

 

Oh dear, that sounds like a typical day that starts rather nicely and then crashes into awkwardness. Poor Theo. 


But Harrison and Luc :) 

Claire’s desire to try and protect people is so strong in this chapter; she arranges the party, cooks, also tries to make Mark feel comfortable — she really tries to look after everyone. I’m not sure how they would manage without her! 
The Waste Land as a production. :D Wow. I was reading the Four Quartets recently. 
Mark’s refusal to drink the cocktail, lol — no I can’t see it myself!  

 



Author's Response: Standard university life, unfortunately! We had a number of similar (although not identical) incidents in our friendship group. You might remember me mentioning a certain boy I nicknamed Smiley...although at least that wasn't public!

I had to laugh a little when everyone was getting suspicious of Luc in the last chapter. I was thinking "yes, he is important, but not in the way you all seem to think!"

Yes, I do think things would come to pieces a bit without Claire - although they did all manage without her last year. I do enjoy writing the family dynamic, though.

Oh, I LOVE the Quartets - my favourite work of Eliot's. And yes, Mark and that cocktail; I think he would be a drinks snob, he can afford the good stuff, and his palate probably isn't adapted for weirdly sweet/artificial stuff. He gets snobby about ice cream in 'Of Lapwings, Hares and Speckled Eggs.'

Thank you so much, as always! <3


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 14, 2019 19:14 · For: Though the Moments Quickly Die

Oh, wow, what a marvellous picture! You can just feel the cold and the wind, and hear the sea, and then the ruins behind them. Love it so much! 



Author's Response: Me too. I love bunn's work, I always feel like I am right there.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 12, 2019 22:34 · For: Though the Moments Quickly Die

This is really developing into a whole worldverse of its own, Narya (and I don't know HOW I missed your update!!). The descriptions are, as always, some of the best I have ever read- published as well as fanfic. THis was very very beautifully written:

The raw energy of it seemed to lift the skin of my scalp from my head. It broke through me like a wave, and the words sounded deep in my bones and echoed there – and then, with a whisper, withdrew. I wrapped my arms around myself, as though that would ease the strange sensation swirling in my gut. I thought of sand churned up by a storm, and for the first time since I'd known him, a curl of anger rose in me like a rogue current. He'd never done this before, or at least not with such force. “

 

The two new characters are intriguing- I am interested to see how they develop!!



Author's Response: Oh, there is so much history here. My next long piece in this series might have to be Third Age or earlier, so I can let some of the worldbuilding bunnies loose. I'm so pleased that passage worked for you, I had a hell of a time trying to get it so it felt right to me XD because imagining what it's like to have Maglor in your head...phew.

We'll see more of one of them than the other ;) thank you, as always, ziggy <3


Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: January 06, 2019 0:48 · For: Though the Moments Quickly Die
There is so much I love about this chapter not least the fact that they are performing Les Mis which is one of my favorites.
I have an uncomfortable feeling about Luc. I don't know why but something about him, his interactions with Mark, something is disturbing me.
I got chills when you described the singing scenes and Mark and also the whole scene with Enjolras and how that fits in with TIrion at the time of the Oath taking and departure. It broke my heart all over again.
The tenderness with Mark and Claire is so endearing. And the fact that she's learning Tengwar--I love it. I would give anything to have Maglor Fearnorian teach me Tengwar!

The images of FIngon's death really hurt my heart as did what Mark said about others who didn't take the Oath paying the price with their lives.
The landlord sequence was great. She was brilliant and it shows again what a strong spirit and how courageous she is.
and oh the end--Mark agreeing to teach Harrison. what a dream to have someone like Maglor teach him. l really love how he is becoming a part of this little family although I know he's been reluctant and reticent but they just draw him in. He's been alone for so long. But I think it still haunts him, how his fate can affect others. He doesn't want that for them. really love this fic.

Author's Response: Thank you, Nelya!

A lot of people are suspicious about Luc, and he's only been on the page for about five minutes :D he seems to be dividing opinion, people are either intrigued or hostile. He's not going to come across as best buddies with Mark in rehearsal, though, given the characters they're playing. We'll see more of him soon.

Couldn't resist the parallels between the student revolutionaries and the flight of the Noldor. And yes, Claire is very lucky, although Mark's right that she's dealing with a lot; it's a big ask for someone to process the knowledge she now has. But of course, she just wants to know more and more. Not that she can't handle it; she's made of steely stuff, even if she's had a hard time over the last couple of years.

"l really love how he is becoming a part of this little family although I know he's been reluctant and reticent but they just draw him in. He's been alone for so long. But I think it still haunts him, how his fate can affect others. He doesn't want that for them." - yes, absolutely this. He didn't quite come out and say it on the pier, but that's a huge part of why he almost walked away before Christmas. He doesn't want to hurt them.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2019 11:22 · For: Though the Moments Quickly Die
What a delight to wake up to — although I had to do some work first!

Luc was talented, I had to admit. He had a deep, echoing baritone – not, I thought with a little bias, as warm or nuanced as Harrison's, and nothing close to Mark's astonishing tenor, but I knew now that was hardly a fair contest. It was his presence, though, that was startling; straight-backed and hard-eyed, he confronted Mark, only a flicker of the brows showing that the convict's story affected him at all.

“Five years for what you did The rest because you tried to run Yes, 24601!”

Mark's head snapped up at that, white fire in his eyes. “My name is Jean Valjean,” he snarled.

Luc took a step back that I was certain wasn't feigned. My arms prickled and my breath chilled in my lungs. I was supposed to be working, but this was electric.


What a fantastic chapter, and that last, woo! I felt that in my blood. For a moment I thought that Luc was an old enemy!

“You said it was an obsession.”

“And so it was.” His eyes met mine and flared. Have you never admired something and yet known it to be flawed, even dangerous?

The raw energy of it seemed to lift the skin of my scalp from my head. It broke through me like a wave, and the words sounded deep in my bones and echoed there – and then, with a whisper, withdrew. I wrapped my arms around myself, as though that would ease the strange sensation swirling in my gut. I thought of sand churned up by a storm, and for the first time since I'd known him, a curl of anger rose in me like a rogue current. He'd never done this before, or at least not with such force. “You know I have,” I replied coolly.

He was silent for a few moments, and then he looked away and sighed. “I'm sorry.”


“Not the most subtle point you've ever made.” Carefully I took his hand in mine, tracing my thumb over the terrible scars. What did you want me to say?

I don't know. He lifted a curious eyebrow. “Although I don't think this is a habit we should get into.”

“No.” Slowly, like sea-foam on a beach, my resentment dissolved, and I was left feeling hollow and unmoored. I let go of his hand and went back to the book. “No, you're probably right.”

Woe, yes, sometimes this is like getting too close to a nuclear reactor, although I believe Claire will become more accustomed in time. Early days!

This was really amazing, I love the interweaving or Claire’s student life with all the undercurrents of what is happening both within and beyond that, it’s masterly! But her dreams, that would be horrific to deal with if she gets any more, and yet she’s picking up a lot of mental bleed from Maglor. It does not surprise me, she’s empathic — but a woman of steel all the same! I adored how she stood up to the landlord even though she was scared to death. She’s so realistic and complex! I’m glad Maglor saw that, too as if he has any doubts of her ability to handle certain aspects of him and his history— he shouldn’t.

Author's Response: I have been tied up for most of the day, we adopted a new rabbit this morning, so been settling him in!

Yay, I'm glad you liked it. Luc isn't an old enemy, Maglor is just channelling that vibe - because of course Valjean and Javert *are* lifelong enemies.

Writing steely Claire was a lot of fun. And yes, Maglor had to see that; if he had doubts on that score, I think they've now lessened, but I think the biggest problem (and it isn't one that Claire has fully wrapped her head around yet) is her mortality. The dreams...yeah, that's going to be tough for her, I didn't think it would just *stop* as you're right, she is picking up on a lot of Maglor's thoughts and feelings and memories. But at least she understands what it is now. Thank you so much for all your lovely comments! :) <3


Name: Ysilme (Signed) · Date: December 22, 2018 14:49 · For: The Paradox

(Finally! back to my currently favourite story. I've read this chapter already weeks ago, but found no leisure for a review, and then NaNo and RL happened. On the other hand, I've now three more chapters to look forward to as a Christmas treat! ♥ )

So, yeah, wow, what an awesome chapter! Claire has finally brought the dots together and realised the truth, and I so, so love the way you make her gradually realise, and how you're showing us her thought process. That's master storytelling and such a joy to read! I also like the detail that Claire knows her Silmarillion well enough to make the connections, while realising at the same time that this wouldn't be the same for everybody.

Thank you so much for this chapter!



Author's Response: I am so sorry, Ysilme, I thought I'd replied to this! I hope you had a lovely Christmas and got to enjoy some chill time. And no need to apologise for not commenting, I know RL can get crazy. I'm pleased that you enjoyed seeing Claire join the dots - it was so satisfying to write.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 24, 2018 18:31 · For: The Croaking Chorus

OK- deal! 



Author's Response: :P I really wish I could promise I will fix it all...


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 24, 2018 16:01 · For: The Croaking Chorus

You have given me hope now! Something'might' happen there means it WILL!! Hurray! They go back in time and rescue Maedhros. No, they find Feanor and he reforges the Silmarils and everyone lives happily ever after. No, they stop Morgoth in the first place!. Yeay! Happy dance.



Author's Response: Errr...not exactly what I had in mind, sorry to let you down!! (although if I changed my mind, would you let Erestor and Elladan get together in your 'verse?!)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 24, 2018 15:20 · For: The Croaking Chorus

Oh- why did you end it on that!! Here I am sniffing away now remebering Fingon. This is such a lovely Christmassy fic actually -winter, snow, ghosts and a place that sort of trembles in time, so you FEEL something can happen...and Maglor. Perfect winder reading:)



Author's Response: Aww, thank you, Ziggy! "A place that sort of trembles in time" - yes, that is it exactly! It always feels like something *might* happen there.


Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: November 23, 2018 6:43 · For: The Croaking Chorus
Another lovely chapter!
Love the snow scene and how Mark is becoming even more entwined in their day to day lives. I'm so glad he was able to enjoy the snow and the snowball fight.
His role as caretaker is so bittersweet. I'm sure it's been a long time since he's taken care of anyone.
Or had anyone take care of him.
I love that he gravitated to Italy. I've always imagined him as very active there in the Renaissance.
Those mentions of his past just tug at my heart. The Ambarussa. How Claire reminds him of Fingon--oh my heart! That just makes me shiver.
I'd be like Claire--poring over the Silm, parsing every reference to Maglor. You weave the past and the present, the source and the AU so well.

Author's Response: Thank you, Nelya! Yes, bless him, I think he is enjoying it - having a kind of family again, for a little while. And I have big ideas for Maglor in Renaissance Italy that I will get to at some point :D I can't imagine him *not* being there!

"How Claire reminds him of Fingon--oh my heart! That just makes me shiver." - I didn't actually set out to write her like Fingon. She just started behaving that way - incredibly loyal, and charging into situations other people might avoid. A lot of people seem to have been made nervous by the comparison though; I get that it could be seen as having dark implications as well as being a compliment.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: November 21, 2018 6:31 · For: The Croaking Chorus
Great chapter.

You have done a wonderful and masterful job of marrying reality with fantasy. So everything is totally believable.

And you have the following to prove it. :)

Author's Response: Aww, Gabriel, thank you so much! :D


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: November 19, 2018 19:37 · For: The Croaking Chorus

Probably makes a nice change for him, actually having people to look after instead of being on his own, reminding him, in a poignant way, of when he did have people to look after and care for ;__; 

A feeling of being accepted is worth a great deal, and Claire has not sheered off, started looking askance; when she felt troubled reading the Silmarillion, she went to him, that’s heart-warming too, I should think, for him. 



Author's Response: Yes, I think you're right - both about Maglor having people to look after, and that he'd find it heartening that Claire goes to him when she's upset by the book, instead of backing away. Other people might have known who he is, but she's probably the first one to know the whole truth and still show that level of acceptance and affection.


You must login () to review.