| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Angels and crooks by Nuredhel General Audiences
Bard and Thran has gotten used to their new life but they do still have their jobs and my oh my does that make things interesting...
~ The Once and Future Kings ~ by Spiced Wine Explicit
After the destruction of the old universe, Vanimórë, sitting outside ‘Time’ in the ‘Monument’...
The City Over the Mountains by Narya Mature
A midwinter dalliance grows into something neither Elemmakil nor Voronwë expect. Duty, family and the ghosts of their past...
Summer's Song by Narya Mature
After the events of Summerland, Claire James flees to Venice, looking for answers - and for her friend, Mark Lowry, whose...
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Mature
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...
A Shadow Over Genesis by Spiced Wine Explicit
  He woke beside Finwë when the Unbegotten opened their eyes to the starlight over Cuiviénen. Brother...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 89
Stories: 1751
Chapters: 8859
Word count: 27001486
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16668
Reviewers: 220
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 30
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 13
Members:

Shoutbox

Gabriel
07/16/19 11:18 am
Hope you're feeling better soon, Ziggy!
Narya
07/13/19 01:01 pm
Yes, definitely take it easy - get yourself well again!
Spiced Wine
07/13/19 09:59 am
Well, just take it easy, Ziggy. No doubt they’ve told you what to do and what not to do!
ziggy
07/13/19 06:19 am
I have to admit it has really slowed me up so was hoping to post part 2 today but it will probably be next week now. I am going to work on some Maedhros stories though!!
Narya
07/12/19 10:41 pm
Happy Friday! Oh, ziggy, no, I hope you feel better soon.
Spiced Wine
07/12/19 11:20 am
Happy Friday, everyone :) Ziggy, I am sorry you have only one working hand at the moment, Take it easy!
Spiced Wine
07/09/19 09:37 am
Oh, I hope everything goes well, Ziggy!
ziggy
07/08/19 10:12 pm
My knee is loads better thank you Spiced but I have an operation tomorrow to reattach the tendon in my shoulder. I hope it will be all fixed then.
Spiced Wine
07/07/19 11:09 pm
It’s been lovely. I hope you are healing better, dear Ziggy.
ziggy
07/06/19 11:14 pm
Glorious weekend! Hope everyone is enjoying this!!
Shout Archive



Name: Ysilme (Signed) · Date: July 08, 2019 1:29 · For: The Croaking Chorus

This is a lovely chapter. It's heart-warming to see how their relationship deepens, and even more normalcy sets in for the two of them, if you can ay that - but surely, doing such mundane thins means you can?
I love how you're juxtaposing this with Claire's re-acquainting herself with the Silm, and so also a growing understanding who Maglor is and was.
But that last line was the best, and is so sweet! :o) I'm so happy for Maglor to be able to make this comparison, and the comfort he must be getting out of it, in addition to what else Claire is for him.



Author's Response: Thank you, Ysilme! Yes, I think it's fair to say they've developed a new normal. And you're right that it's comforting for Maglor to have this relationship, even though we know it can't last forever :-(


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 07, 2019 22:53 · For: Comrades

That was SO brilliant. Harrison is so, so maturing now, and it’s wonderful, and the others are superb, and Claire was great with Theo; I thought he might not go to his counselling but he did and I’m really glad. 

 

But oh, 

 

knowing that he would feel it again and again until either the world or he came to an end.

“There's a grief that can't be spoken
And there's a pain goes on and on.”

On Harrison's right, Rosie was unabashedly crying. Harrison's face was pale, and I laid my free hand on his arm. Too near the bone, I thought.

“Phantom faces at the window
Phantom shadows on the floor
Empty chairs at empty tables

 

I cried at this, and Claire remembering what she had seen of Maglor’s past. I bawled, and I’m not ashamed. I’m just so glad he is with them now. And then I laughed like crazy at the last with the housework turning into doing the Macarena when Maglor and Luc walked in. They’re so precious and I know Maglor must feel that too. 



Author's Response: Awww, thank you. I love Harrison. Well, I love all of them. I'm glad there are going to be more stories to tell about them, otherwise I'd be dreading finishing this! And as for the Macarena - there was nearly another scene after that, but it's going in the next chapter. I decided that was the right place to end it.


Name: Ysilme (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2019 15:03 · For: Entr'acte

A perfect title for this chapter! It's lovely to see how things are settling for everybody. Maglor seems to have found a kind of home with Claire and the youngsters, and a moment in time to settle for a bit.

 



Author's Response: Yes, bless him, he has. And I'm glad you like the chapter title! They are all taken from the libretto for Pirates. Thank you, Ysilme :)


Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: May 26, 2019 0:40 · For: Though Thou Hast Surely Strayed
Yikes! What an ending!

Another emotionally exhausting and yet supremely satisfying chapter!

It's amazing how far Harrison has come from the beginning.

I'm honestly surprised Maglor hasn't done a runner yet. His regard for Claire has truly compromised his usual instinct to disappear when confronted with discovery. I'm relieved too. I love them together and I so desperately want some happiness for him, after so long

Author's Response: Harrison has been on quite the journey! And Maglor doesn't want to leave, so is finding excuses to put it off. You'll see how that plays out in chapter 20...



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: May 26, 2019 0:00 · For: And Who Are You, Sir?
Again a brilliant chapter.
He's right. He can't stay. For so many reasons. But it breaks my heart that once again he needs to be on the run. He does kindnesses and his lot is to always be alone, on the run, shifting and stepping aside.

I love how you wove his ability with the Song into this narrative. How he can enter it and become one with the song to the point of making tiny alterations.

The sentence about Amras broke my heart. Tears.

this bit chilled me to my core: Everlasting Darkness is not, for me, the Void, but a great abyss in my own mind

Author's Response: Aww, thank you. He thinks he can't stay for a number of reasons :( but Claire can be stubborn too.

I do plan to explore his abilities with the Song in another fic at some point (I have a LOT of headcanons there) - and Sirion, though that might break my heart.


Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: May 26, 2019 0:00 · For: And Who Are You, Sir?
Again a brilliant chapter.
He's right. He can't stay. For so many reasons. But it breaks my heart that once again he needs to be on the run. He does kindnesses and his lot is to always be alone, on the run, shifting and stepping aside.

I love how you wove his ability with the Song into this narrative. How he can enter it and become one with the song to the point of making tiny alterations.

The sentence about Amras broke my heart. Tears.

this bit chilled me to my core: Everlasting Darkness is not, for me, the Void, but a great abyss in my own mind


Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: May 25, 2019 23:34 · For: Though Hitherto Concealed
omg. Theo.
Maglor and the touch of First Age Elven healing.
I'm speechless. I don't even know what to say. It was so intense.

Author's Response: Thank you. It was intense to write too :( Theo is such an idiot, and Maglor is a total hero here.


Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: May 25, 2019 20:43 · For: The Glass is Rising
This was such a brilliant chapter. I hadn't realized how far behind I am on this fic!

I love the way Harrison and Claire interact. I am so grateful that Harrison is so comfortable with who he and who he cares for. This chapter makes me hate Seb and Birdie even more and mourn a bit for Theo, who could be someone so different if he had other friends and the will to be with them.

The deepening relationship with Claire and Mark/Maglor is lovely too. The osanwe. The glimpses we get to his past. The Balrog!

The description of Himring made my heart hurt. We forget sometimes the years of the Siege of Angband when there was watchfulness but also peace in a way and almost a sense of normalcy and a time when their world was likely pleasant and exciting and new. And they could still learn to love this land.

The discussion of young Maglor, with his self-absorption and moodiness and short temper so fits my idea of him!!

So glad to have come back to the warmth and comfort of this fic.

Author's Response: I'm sorry I was slow replying - I've been away for the weekend, I tried to reply on my phone, but the internet gods were against me.

Anyway, I'm so pleased you're still liking this! Harrison and Claire together are a joy to write, though of course I love them on their own too (Harrison has sneakily become a favourite OC, I'm thinking of giving him his own fic at some point after I finish this one). And Theo...well, I see you've read a few chapters, so you know how that plays out, but the thing with Theo is that he *does* have other friends; he is just too easily led and makes terrible choices.

I enjoy thinking about the years between the Dagor Aglareb and the Bragollach, when I like to think they had hope and a measure of peace. And young Maglor...yeah, anyone who thinks musicians are sweet, gentle souls has clearly not spent much time around musicians!

Thank you very much, Nelya; I hope you continue to enjoy the story as it winds to a close.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2019 22:36 · For: Poor Wandering One

Oh come on, Narya!! when are they going to fall into bed!!??? This is the worst slow-burn torment ever. He is soooooo beautiful - I can absolutely see him when you describe the glamour dropping. Wonderful wonderful writing.



Author's Response: Well, they did fall into bed together at the end of Ch18, although not in that way ;) but thank you so much, I love describing him without the glamour, when he can be authentically himself.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2019 22:24 · For: Though Thou Hast Surely Strayed

How have I missed this one??!!!

As always, your writing is sublime- it's the details, like the gulls, or the students sitting at benches in the cold. Wonderuflly atmospheric. Why don't they get together- I so want them to!!



Author's Response: It was a fairly quick update after Ch18, so it might not have shifted from the Most Recent box. Thank you, Ziggy :) I so love writing this, the characters and place are very dear to me. Why don't they get together? I think in a way it would make things worse for Maglor, and they both know that, they don't even need to say it. The gulf between mortality and immortality :(


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2019 20:40 · For: Poor Wandering One

To go after Seb and Byrdie?” Harrison's eyebrows lifted, and he laughed a little, nervously. “Tempting – but no, of course not.” Though his eyes flicked back to Mark then, and I wondered if he realised that, for a long moment, that had been horribly, frighteningly possible. 



wow. Harrison, but don’t tell me the thought wasn’t there — in both of them. The door can open to quite frightening possibilities. 

The familiar silvery whisper sighed through the air. The veneer of normality dissolved; Mark's beauty hardened into something diamond-clear and shocking; fire burned deep in his eyes. The strange aura like starlight curled at the edge of his form, inescapable and yet somehow defying perception, as though it did not sit quite within the bounds of reality.


That was amazing. I hope actually, that Maglor allows himself to drop the glamour with them all.
That was heartbreakingly lovely — for a while I thought that despite everything, Maglor was going to go, and of course we understand why, but I’m so glad he didn’t. It’s as Claire said, he is being given this friendship, family, almost, affection, closeness, and even though he sees himself as doomed and cursed, there is some warmth allowed, even for him. 

Author's Response: I think Harrison would probably have had similar thoughts to Claire about Seb and Byrdie, if not worse. As for Maglor's glamour...he might, in time :)


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 28, 2019 20:31 · For: Though Thou Hast Surely Strayed

Ooooh this was brilliant. Claire gets slammed straight into the Real World, and obviously she is so pleased by the phone call and possible grant, but what with everything else happening, no the timing isn’t great. 


Oh, Maglor, you’re still thinking of going aren’t you, because he’s had to do this all his life at times, but please don’t let him (even if Torcello sounds beautiful). 
I am fascinated also that the ‘mysterious’ cat lets Luc pet him, but not any of the others! 
I do trust Luc, myself! 
Aww, Claire and Harrison, yes I can see why ordinarily Claire would never choose to leave him for a different world and life, it would have to include him if they were so close, for it to work. 

{{More than that, really, I can't explain it.” He took an uneven breath, and his eyes lit and his voice caught. “God, the way I feel when he plays or sings...”


“I know.” I took his hand again, and he squeezed it tight, and I wondered if Harrison, too, had glimpsed or sensed something of that lost, forgotten world. “I get it. I feel it too.”

“More than I do, I think.”

I paused. “I couldn't say.”]]



Yes, he feels it, too. Claire more, but he does feel it, and Luc too, I imagine. 


[[I don't know. Mark says he has to leave.” The thought weighed inside me like iron.
“And if he did, you'd go with him, right?”

I opened my mouth to say yes. Harrison's labrador eyes were carefully neutral, neither pressing nor judging. I thought of the call from Anita Lansbury. I thought of my life here – of Rosie, and of Theo, who would need every friend he could get in the days and weeks ahead. I thought of our walks along East and West Sands, our squabbles over whose turn it was to put the bins out or feed the cat, the euphoria of singing together, the giddy silliness of our backstage antics. I thought of our family back in Sheffield – our grandmother, who always smelled of baking, ever-practical, still in excellent health, but for how long? And then I thought of Venice, of Maglor, of long nights lounging outside a farmhouse on Torcello, and for half an instant it felt real enough to touch and taste. The tickle of grass. The breath of sage and rosemary in the air. Fingers curled around a cool glass of wine. The sound of a harp...

“I don't know,” I said.]]

And yet, she’s not sure. She can’t quite bring herself to say ‘No.’ And Harrison can see that. 

Theo, Theo, you are a twit. But you’re not beyond saving. And damn lucky not only that Mark was there, but that Claire and Harrison and Rosie are. I think he’s right that he’s better here, recovering, than at home. 
Now go and talk to Mark...

Author's Response: Awww, thank you!

"I am fascinated also that the ‘mysterious’ cat lets Luc pet him, but not any of the others! I do trust Luc, myself!" - the only other person the cat has let near is Maglor. And even then, not very near.

"Yes, he feels it, too. Claire more, but he does feel it, and Luc too, I imagine." - Well, they are related, so it makes sense. (Harrison and Claire, I mean - not Luc! Though yes, Luc did react intensely and sharply to Maglor's voice in those early Les Mis rehearsals.)

Theo, yes, he is a twit, and incredibly lucky - but not past hope, you're right. And he is far better off here, with routine and normality. Well, for a given value of normality, anyway...!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 25, 2019 23:35 · For: And Who Are You, Sir?

So much to love in this. Bur especailly the gorgeousdetail of Ellen McLeod and how Claire empathises and considers- that was one of those moments that actually takes the reader into the world immersively- like an actor looking out of the window and SEEING something beyond the stage.

 

Wait- what ring?? What've I missed??? His cousin's ring?? There's got to be something in that!

 

But oh Narya- your writing kills me- so luscious:Old, sad stories whispered under his voice. Sigh. Beautiful images- one after another like a painting.

 

And this:Mark was waiting for me on the stairwell. The cheap electric light flickered and buzzed. For the first time in months I was struck by the astonishing beauty of him, the way he seemed to belong so utterly to this world and yet exist outside and beyond it at the same time. I felt a flutter of relief in my chest – I'd half-expected to find him gone – and a fierce stirring that at first I didn't recognise, and almost laughed when I found its name. Protectiveness – as though he needed it. But he wore the same haunted look that I'd seen in his eyes before Christmas, although he didn't look weary or worn in the way he had then; this was more resignation, and sorrow at a pattern that never seemed to end.

 

Oh- and that terrible vision of the Dark, the endlessness -wow- that had me breathless. 



Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much, Ziggy, what a lovely review!

I quite liked Ellen, to say she was just a walk on - and the thoughts about how she must feel at the end of a shift felt very 'Claire'.

The ring was mentioned a few chapters ago - back in Chapter 10 when Maglor tells her the truth, he reveals that he came across Barahir's/Finrod's ring at an auction at a country estate just after WW2. Claire goes on to speculate about what else may still be around.

It made me so sad to write of the darkness Maglor carries inside him, but again, it felt true to the character :'(


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2019 18:33 · For: And Who Are You, Sir?
Slowly, he shook his head. “It isn't the belief. It's the noise, the trail it will leave...even if most dismiss it out of hand, there are some who would be curious.” His mouth twisted bitterly. “It's happened to me before.”

I felt my pulse throb in my temples. “What do you mean?”

He folded himself onto the bed opposite me, his eyes full of an emotion I couldn't read. “I once told you that there have been people who knew or guessed my true nature.” He held a hand out to me; I ran my fingers over his palm, then slid them gently between his knucklebones. “Those people were not always...benevolent.”

I felt the now-familiar nudge of power at the edge of my mind. Lightning, fire, adamant. I closed my eyes and imagined sheets of smooth, empty paper curling back, allowing him in. Images flashed – a memory of needles, of sickening, drug-induced dizziness, of suited men under a strange yellow light...

I gasped.

A cool forehead rested against mine. “It's alright. Forgive me. I'm here. It's alright.”

The world righted itself. I was back in the blank little bedroom in Mark's rented cottage. I sat back, tightening my grip on his hand. “Was that real?”

“It was.”

I took a shaky breath. “Shit.”

He brushed my hair back behind my ears. “Do you see now why I try to avoid notice?” Fear echoed under his voice. “I escaped – barely, and it came at a price.”



Ah, this, I meant to mention this. Is this what you have mentioned about certain people knowing who he is?

Author's Response: It's a fic by itself really, but...yes. (Others have known what he is, particularly back in the days when such things were believed in. And then there was the time he was almost burned as a witch. This, though, is why he tries so hard to stay off the radar.)


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2019 13:03 · For: And Who Are You, Sir?

 don't think he could truly leave it behind - not while he's still apart from his family, and the few friends he makes are inevitably mortal.

 

No, although I am glad that he has found Claire and made friends and is *not* going to just bolt now. I just hope Seb and Byrdie don’t queer the pitch! 

 

I will remember you don’t mind reviews as I started this again from the beginning at the weekend! 



Author's Response: Aww :) you don't have to comment again if you don't want to!!! I hope it stands up on a re-read. As for Seb and Byrdie...we'll see ;)


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2019 12:36 · For: And Who Are You, Sir?
The glass barriers came down, and behind the fire and song I felt it, breathed it, slid into it. It was fear and loneliness and horror and guilt and loss – a pit, a mass of silence and black. There was no music here, no light. A swooping, gaping hole yawned open in my gut as I slipped down, down, falling, waiting for an end that never came, for the emptiness went on forever, deeper into despair and grief. I'd always thought there was a limit, a point at which one could go no lower, and from there either stop and stay or turn round and climb out, but I knew with terrible certainty that there was no climbing out of this. Other things caught at me as my heart and mind plunged – hatred, fury, impotence, driving me further down and further in, all those years of tragedy and bloodshed, the memories left to fester because there was no way to move on or forget...

Hold onto me.

Warmth, fire – a song in his voice, and absolute love and trust. It shocked through me like lightning. I felt his arms around my shoulders and waist, heard my heart in my ears, and the darkness dissolved like paint on wet canvas. The grief, though, remained, both the old and ancient, and a newer sorrow bound up with fear. As he stroked my hair, I understood what it was. One day – soon, as he perceived things – he would lose me too, as he had lost so many before.

I kissed his cheek and sat back, took both his hands in mine. “Is that what you feel? All the time?”

He swallowed, and lifted his gaze to the window. “I form...barriers around it. But yes, it is always there.”

I didn't speak. There was nothing to say.



That was so beautiful and so tragic and imagining that as Maglor’s life, I just can’t. I am crying here ;__; He deserves more!

I re-read often. But I tend to think authors might get annoyed if I keep commenting

Author's Response: That would literally never annoy me!

Thank you. It's not his whole life, although it's close to the surface at the moment because of Theo, and the memories that's stirred up, but is always there, I don't think he could truly leave it behind - not while he's still apart from his family, and the few friends he makes are inevitably mortal.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2019 12:10 · For: And Who Are You, Sir?
Ah, Harrison! Well, you’re intelligent enough to handle this.





My awareness sharpened as under patient questioning they outlined their habits, explained what they put inside their bodies and how often. I dug my nails into my palms as rage seared upwards, savage and unfamiliar and intoxicating. I wanted to slap them, shake them until their teeth clicked together, scratch at their skin, make them bleed, damage them as they had damaged Theo – and then the fury turned and sucked inwards, a vortex of scorching air swirling through a flame-lit building. It's your fault. You knew. You didn't stop it. You let them do this.

No, no dear Claire, people are responsible for their own actions.





From time to time he looked at me and smiled, but it was a shallow thing, tracing paper stretched across a ravine.

Gorgeous piece of imagery!

Amazing, beautiful all of this, perfectly going on from the previous chapter.

I’m glad Claire went with him, even if she felt pain, she *can* handle it, and he shouldn’t be alone after that.

The others were brilliant considering their shock, but I think Harrison will be the one here who pulls them together into co-conspirators.

Absolutely wonderful, I am going to re-read again!

Author's Response: Harrison really knocked it out of the park this time. He definitely deserves his own story at some point. Claire will always, always blame herself if she possibly can (despite the fact that she'd tell others in the same circumstances it wasn't their fault). She wouldn't have left him after that; apart from anything else, she was still worried he might bolt, though now he's promised to at least speak to Theo she can probably relax, at least for a day or two. Thank you so much :) people wanting to re-read always makes me so happy!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 11, 2019 17:50 · For: Though Hitherto Concealed

Oh wow- what just happened??!! I feel like Rosie will- what was that! He brought Theo back- with Power. 

 

Oh I have the hairs on my neck and back on end with this. Amazing images just caught in my head and I WISH I coul dpaint. I would paint that moment - I have a wonderful picture in my head of Maglor, on one knee, leaning over him exactly as you describe and starlight in his hair- but gone beyond the physical space as if he's on another plane altogether. Sigh. Beautiful. Your writing always does that for me. Takes me to the place, very physical, very sensual. I always feel that I am exactly there.

 



Author's Response: Aww, thank you, Ziggy! Yes, disaster averted for Theo, but all that silver light and healing magic won't have gone unnoticed...

I'm glad you like that image. I've had this scene in my head for a long, long time.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2019 21:31 · For: Though Hitherto Concealed

I am thinking, although may be wrong of course, that the fallout...not sure Harrison is going to succumb to the ‘explanations’ — and maybe not Luc either...



Author's Response: I'm saying nothing :D


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2019 20:48 · For: Though Hitherto Concealed

Wow, that was an AMAZING chapter. It began so kind of domestically, and uni-centric with everything going pretty well, (by the way, I love how Claire gets so passionate with her subject!) and then the phone call. That was beautifully written, and I just did not expect Maglor to do what he did, not that he wouldn’t if he could, but that it would be so incredible. 

 

I know Seb and Byrdie if they’re also drugged up might not remember anything, but I think the others will! 

 

Just wow. Round of applause! 



Author's Response: Thank you so much :D it was a really hard chapter to write because of the disparate elements (I'm so happy you like Claire's passion, I don't think she has it in her to be 'carbon neutral' about anything. Maglor was always going to save Theo, that's been on the cards for a while - but as for what happens next, well, yes, Seb and Byrdie are coked up, but as Maglor has pointed out, his "powers of persuasion" are not infallible. And the others, as you rightly point out, are a different matter...


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 03, 2019 5:17 · For: The Glass is Rising

This is such a delightful chapter- I know Theo is being an arse but I'm far morevinvested in Claire and Mark/Maglor. Such  charming conversation at the end- just lovely. As always your images are fabulous and rich and I always have such a sense of being there with them.



Author's Response: Well, it is their story really ;) and they have settled into this close, teasing friendship now which is good for both of them. So pleased you're still enjoying this, and I'm glad you're almost at the point where you can move on post inspection, I know how awful they are!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 31, 2019 21:56 · For: The Glass is Rising
Halfway through sipping my drink, I choked. “You fought a Balrog?” He gave the lazy, lopsided smile I was now so familiar with. “And won.” I tilted my head, looking more closely. Grief and pain were curled behind the smile – but I couldn't press him, especially not here, where we were far from private. We were running a risk by even talking about it. “Show off.” He laughed. “Perhaps. But honestly, Claire, much of my life has been very ordinary indeed.”

“Would you tell me about it?”

Out at sea, a great scroll of foaming water curled and broke and rushed up the sand. He leaned back, resting on his elbows, face aglow in the pale gold light. “What would you like to know?”

“I don't know. Something that isn't in the books.” I cupped my chin in my hand. “Something ordinary.”

He smiled softly. “Alright.” He lay down on the blanket with his hands behind his head, and closed his eyes. “In my youth in the West, I knew Olórin well.”

“Olórin...you were friends with Gandalf?”

A musical half-laugh. “He was not called Gandalf then – and he was not an old man, but a rather beautiful redhead.”

It’s so good to see this, Maglor opening out, and their being able to tease one another about the tortoise and killing Balrogs and knowing Gandalf!

Author's Response: I had such a good time writing all that. I love their deepening bond, and how well they're getting to know each other.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 31, 2019 16:27 · For: The Glass is Rising
Oh, this was a lovely, lovely chapter, such gorgeous descriptions I feel I was there, and Maglor was so good at explaining Ósanwe, although Claire does have a gift, a depth, I think, that makes it not an onerous task. I’m going to read it again in a minute.

It made me so sad — his remembering Fëanor and the glass.

Yes, do get Luc around, but hmm, well, it kind of does not surprise me that Theo was a bit homophobic, but accepted it, and yes, I like him, and like Claire, not sure I would have had I known that. But his friends — ugh. I would really like to see Maglor go full-Fëanorion on those two!

Another description that makes me think I was there: Himring in the summer, it always is made to sound such a bleak place, but I prefer this, alive with colour (in one season anyway) — something that was lovely to look at and smell from that fortress that looked across at Thangorodrim.


And wonderful to see Maglor laughing with Claire :)

Author's Response: Ahh, thank you so much! I adored writing that scene, and it was a bit of a last minute addition, I had to shift the dinner scene forward to make space for it so the pacing worked. I couldn't resist though. You're absolutely right that she has a gift for it, and I think it does deepen and strengthen their bond.

Theo...yeah. I've known this about him for a while, and it was going to come out somewhere. I actually think it says a lot about Harrison that he was so forgiving, although if Theo doesn't make the effort with Luc, that might not hold.

I would really like to see Maglor go full-Fëanorion on those two! I have plans - but it may not be Maglor they need to watch out for ;)

I'm so glad you enjoyed the descriptions. I don't know where I got this idea of lavender growing in Himring, but like you, I couldn't resist the idea of a place so bleak suddenly coming alive with colour.

I loved writing their scene on the beach too :D I adore giving them these lighter, gentler moments together. (I thought I'd better stock up on them while I could...!)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2019 22:38 · For: For Plate or Gold

' I love the way this just suddenly appeared- like leavin a book open and sudenly being transported to another time and place:

The Oath did terrible things to us all. Maglor's voice in my mind was gentle, but a warning weighed at its edges like the wind behind a storm, and the sting of lightning hissed underneath. At the end, Celegorm was twisted beyond recognition or salvation. What happened in Nargothrond destroyed him – and Curufin too. Unbidden, in my mind flared an image of a silver-haired boy, laughing wildly as he rolled on the ground with a dog twice his size – and then I saw him again, older, crueller, face streaked with blood. His laugh was high and feral now, his eyes aflame with madness and death, delighting in both, and he snarled like a wolf as it sprang for the kill...

 

And then back to the mundane of life at Uni and all the terrible heartbreaks and problems, the joy and delight. Just love this.



Author's Response: Thank you ziggy! Sorry I'm so slow responding - holidays and my laptop is broken, I haven't really been on top of notifications. I'm glad you think the contrast works, it's one of my favourite things to play with in this fix!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 30, 2019 18:50 · For: For Plate or Gold

some point I do intend to write a proper Nargothrond arc (so many projects...!). The theory about Fëanor’s soul makes so much sense, I'm convinced it's just something Tolkien forgot to jot down ;)

 

Oh, I hope you do! Yes, it must have just slipped under the radar, lol, never got added to the Silm or HoMe :) but it makes so much sense. Must have been horrendous feeling Morgoth wearing one of them! But the fact that an Elf Fëanor had never seen could ‘wake a great power from slumber’ by just naming the Silmarils more than hints at something ‘sentient’ about them. (I think). 



Author's Response: Totally agree - there is *something* in there!!


You must login () to review.