| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Shine by cheekybeak General Audiences
A bond between brothers helps a small elfling cope with his grief beneath the boughs of the Greenwood. prequel to “Light...
Hope in the Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
How Thrain kept the map and key safe from Sauron in Dol Guldur. Written for the Teitho contest picture challenge where it...
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1652
Chapters: 8441
Word count: 25528919
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15664
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
05/21/18 08:16 pm
Aragorn can't join - by emotionally blackmailing Legolas to accompany him on the Paths of the Dead, he's firmly on my blacklist!
cheekybeak
05/21/18 08:03 pm
SPCL? Society for prevention of cruelty to Legolas? RSPCL if Aragorn joins!
Naledi
05/21/18 06:02 pm
Yay, Nelya! We can be founder members of SACL. I tried to think of something with a better acronym - I'm open to suggestions!
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/21/18 03:25 pm
Naledi I'm with you on the Society Against Cruelty to Legolas (SACL)!! ;-) but who are we kidding--we read it all and love it anyway, despite the misadventures of our dear Elf!
Spiced Wine
05/20/18 10:38 am
I think it’s a sensible choice. Aragorn has a large backstory going back many years, so it was always going to be one of their first choices.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 05:43 am
It's an expensive gamble they have taken--they have to nail this first season. Also the TolkienEstate is far more involved in this one I hear.
Formegil
05/20/18 05:31 am
A quite big "if", I'd say. Just look what mess was made out of the Hobbit movie. Nowadays I tend to be a bit cynical. So I say the series is good if it will be at least not cringeworthy.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:49 am
As well as Elladan and Elrohir and the Rangers of the North. It could be a hit if done right. Plus the Arwen love interest.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:48 am
I am actually relieved the Amazon series is starting with young Aragorn. There is much canon content to work with, he's a familiar character and chance to see Glorfindel, Gilraen
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:47 am
And that's how they learn about the weaknesses of dragons! From the little guy Aegnor adopted.
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2018 6:38 · For: A First Rate Opportunity
Oh! So it's 'Pirates of Penzance'. I've heard of it, but am not familiar with the story. [Sorry, just looked it up.] Sounds really good.

Were you ever in a production of it, Narya? It's just you seem to know a bit about it. :)

Author's Response: Haha, yes I was :) I don't think you need to be familiar with the story of it though. I love musical theatre in general; it's something I really miss, working full time. Oh well! When I retire I can be the mad lady in the local Am Dram society ;)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2018 11:41 · For: A First Rate Opportunity
Hi Narya! Really sorry about taking so long to review. Minds been churning over with many ideas and if I don't write them down straight away, it's gone.

This was such an enjoyable chapter.

I love how Claire takes on the role of 'Mum' to her cousin and Theo when they get up to mischief or do idiotic things.

And just out of curiosity is Theo a friend of theirs or family? I feel a little silly asking. I just can't quite remember if it's already been mentioned.

I did feel a little sorry for him on several occasions, thought Claire was a tad harsh on him. Playing Mum, maybe she thought he should have known better, or at the least, thought before he leapt. But, then again, she is only reacting this way because she cares so much.

And Maglor. Gorgeous Maglor. How does he put one foot in front of the other, when the scar on his hand is a reminder of all he has lost. And what a guy! Offering up his expert assistance to fill in for Harrison. And it's absolutely no surprise that Maglor fit in perfectly with everyone on stage and in his role. He is in his element.

*Theo turned to Mark. "There's a bit of sword fighting, but you can always just jump about and wave the sword around if you get stuck."

Mark laughed, a wonderful, melodic sound with a soft dark echo. "How hard can it be?"

Somehow I got the impression he was well-versed in stage fighting too.*

Well-versed indeed. Sadly, he is an expert on the subject.

Author's Response: Don't worry at all! We all have lives to lead, and I know how demanding story ideas are. Make sure you give them the attention they deserve ;) thank you for the kind comments about the chapter. Yes, Claire does do the "Mum" thing a fair bit; she's older than her housemates, we'll get a bit more of her backstory later. Theo is a friend, but I don't think I've said so explicitly yet. She's hard on him at times, yes, but he can be a bit of a prat, as we'll see! And Maglor, of course, makes a perfect Pirate King ;) do you know the show at all? Thanks for commenting, Gabriel :)


Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: May 15, 2018 21:42 · For: A First Rate Opportunity
Narya this was wonderful! Oh how I love Maglor in the modern world. He's just lovely. Confident, charismatic but with just that bit of distance. I loved how the others were skeptical and as the reader you just know he's been down this road so many times and that his performance will be electric, brilliant, awe inspiring because this is Kanafinwë Makalaurelë Fëanorion and there is nothing he can't do with music.

Ahem. And sword fighting. I think he might manage a bit more than just waving his sword around.

The description of his hand burn got to me. Very believable.

Author's Response: Ahh, thank you Nelya, I'm glad you like him! Confident with a little distance is just how I see him, so I'm glad that came across - and he's Maglor, he's bound to be charismatic ;) I think the boys are sceptical because he looks unusual, but of course we know he'll be amazing. I think they might be surprised by his sword fighting too. Writing the burn made me cringe a little; I hate doing that to him, but in my head that's the only one of the many physical scars he picks up over the years that will never fade.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2018 19:08 · For: A First Rate Opportunity
This is lovely, Narya, and also poignant, that sadness, that melancholy that is in Maglor’s playing and his voice, really runs through all this; it’s an impression that never leaves me.

Author's Response: Thank you! It's something that has always struck me too - the power and sadness of his voice. Glad you're enjoying :)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 09, 2018 5:03 · For: Overture and Scene
Sorry about this Narya! Been very busy lately. :/


*As soon as the door swung shut behind him, she turned to me with wide eyes and a giddy grin. "Oh-my-GOD!"

"What?" I asked, although I had a fair idea.

"He is gorgeous! Who is he?"

I was right. "His name's Mark. He's a Philosophy post-doc."

"How old?"

"Older than you," I laughed. "I don't know - maybe early-thirties?"

"That's not too old," she said thoughtfully. "Single?"

"No idea."

"Can you invite him over for drinks?"

"What? No! Rosie."*


Haha! Yes, he is gorgeous isn't he, Rosie. Wow! She doesn't waste any time does she. In her mind she and Maglor are already married with three kids. lol

Poor Claire. Unbeknowns to her, she's been effectively, roped, hog-tied and chucked on a truck headed for the next town, by her own friend.

Super enjoyable. :)

Author's Response: I am so late replying, I'm sorry! I'm pleased you like this - thank you for your comments. I plan to post more either later today or early this week. And nope, Rosie is not a time-waster ;) although Maglor will undoubtedly not see things in the same way at all!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: May 07, 2018 19:49 · For: Overture and Scene
I am looking forward to where you tak this, Narya :)

Author's Response: Ahh, thanks! Glad you're along for the ride; I hope you enjoy it.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 07, 2018 16:14 · For: Overture and Scene

lovely- def another few chapters needed!!



Author's Response: Thank you, ziggy - it's mostly drafted, don't worry! :) Just needs a bit of spit and polish.


You must login () to review.