| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Shine by cheekybeak General Audiences
A bond between brothers helps a small elfling cope with his grief beneath the boughs of the Greenwood. prequel to “Light...
Hope in the Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
How Thrain kept the map and key safe from Sauron in Dol Guldur. Written for the Teitho contest picture challenge where it...
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1652
Chapters: 8441
Word count: 25528919
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15664
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 6
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
05/21/18 08:16 pm
Aragorn can't join - by emotionally blackmailing Legolas to accompany him on the Paths of the Dead, he's firmly on my blacklist!
cheekybeak
05/21/18 08:03 pm
SPCL? Society for prevention of cruelty to Legolas? RSPCL if Aragorn joins!
Naledi
05/21/18 06:02 pm
Yay, Nelya! We can be founder members of SACL. I tried to think of something with a better acronym - I'm open to suggestions!
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/21/18 03:25 pm
Naledi I'm with you on the Society Against Cruelty to Legolas (SACL)!! ;-) but who are we kidding--we read it all and love it anyway, despite the misadventures of our dear Elf!
Spiced Wine
05/20/18 10:38 am
I think it’s a sensible choice. Aragorn has a large backstory going back many years, so it was always going to be one of their first choices.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 05:43 am
It's an expensive gamble they have taken--they have to nail this first season. Also the TolkienEstate is far more involved in this one I hear.
Formegil
05/20/18 05:31 am
A quite big "if", I'd say. Just look what mess was made out of the Hobbit movie. Nowadays I tend to be a bit cynical. So I say the series is good if it will be at least not cringeworthy.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:49 am
As well as Elladan and Elrohir and the Rangers of the North. It could be a hit if done right. Plus the Arwen love interest.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:48 am
I am actually relieved the Amazon series is starting with young Aragorn. There is much canon content to work with, he's a familiar character and chance to see Glorfindel, Gilraen
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:47 am
And that's how they learn about the weaknesses of dragons! From the little guy Aegnor adopted.
Shout Archive


Reviews For A Red Leaf Falls

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2018 14:23 · For: Chapter 10
Wow!

Imagine how it makes Thranduil feel knowing he will never hold his wife again in the way that matters, never smile and laugh with her, never anything...again. And with the knowledge that Elrond's wife still lives, although things will never be the same for them either, but she still lives.

That has got to be a knife to the heart many times over. So it's any wonder he has and has had to close himself off, build the walls as Elrond put it to deal with the grief and pain.

And hence that is how he becomes the obnoxious, seemingly cold hearted Lord of the Wood we know so well.

This story was so enjoyable, Nelya.

Thank you. :)

Author's Response: Thranduil is in a very dark place right now. He is trying very hard not to begrudge Elrond Celebrian's survival but it is hard. He also is blaming himself. Elrond is used to the coming and going to Lothlorien. He knows the risks but so far they have been contained. Thranduil, against his own better judgement, agreed to this trip. He will blame himself. He set out too late in his opinion. He will blame himself. He didn't get to her in time. He blames himself. His rage is at the circumstances and the Orcs but most definitely at himself as well. For somehow letting this happen although there was nothing he could do, save forbid her to go and he would not do that. So he turns the deepest wrath on himself and he shuts the world out. He deflects the pity--he builds his walls and shuts them all out. Imladris a place of grief to him now. His friendship with Elrond is tainted by it now. He cannot see Glorfindel, Elladan or Elrohir without being compelled to blame them in his head. It's damaged him.

I wrote this because I desperately needed a way to explain the isolationist coldness of PJ's Hobbit version of Thranduil.,



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2018 13:37 · For: Chapter 9
OMG! This brought tears to my eyes.[sniff!]

So beautifully written.

Author's Response: Thank you! He loves her so very very much. He's willing to do anything to save her but even that is not enough.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2018 13:20 · For: Chapter 8
Poor Thranduil. You can only imagine what he must be feeling.

You know, the compassion, friendship and strength they are lending to each other is so wonderful, yet so heartbreaking for the grief they share.

This is such a great little story, Nelya.

Author's Response: Thanks so much Gabriel. It is a horrible thing these two Elves share--bonded by a tragedy like this. I wanted to show how deeply they care for each other but also how grief can change someone if they let it overwhelm them.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2018 12:30 · For: Chapter 7
I'm so glad they've been rescued. Good old Glorfindel never fails to impress.

But I think they're a little too late for Cyllessil. Which makes it all the more heartwrenching that Thranduil is riding toward them.

Author's Response: Yes dear old Glorfindel. He is a reassuring presence to have around. Thranduil is doing all he can. Breakneck pace, trying to minimize collateral damage to the injured and his men but he is frantic about his wife.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2018 12:07 · For: Chapter 6
OMG! So sad.

She had to do something though. If not for herself then for Celebrian.

Author's Response: She could not remain passive. She is striking a blow for Celebrian, whose head injury is more severe and for herself as well. She cannot sit by and let things happen to her.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2018 11:52 · For: Chapter 5
Oooh! Cyllessil can certainly fight. I wouldn't expect anything less from Thranduil's wife, though.

I get the impression Thranduil would be one of these husbands who would make sure his wife knew exactly how to look after herself. How to survive in the wild, how to disarm and maim etc.

But these Orcs seem to have easily overpowered both her and Celebrian. Poison is probably to blame here.

Author's Response: Oh she does. She may have grown up in Lothlorien but she is half Silvan and Thranduil has trained her well. They've both sustained head injuries which I see as being particularly scrambling for Elves as so much of them is tied to their consciousness of the world around them. And yes you are right--poison is part of the story too.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2018 11:26 · For: Chapter 4
Why were they extremely co-ordinated as opposed to the disorderly fashion they usually go about assailing the Elves?

And as Elladan pointed out, there was no warning and everything about this attack had taken the Elves by surprise.

It has me intrigued. :)

Author's Response: The Orcs seem to have noticed a pattern for these trips to Lothlorien. This seemed an opportunity too good to miss. Even with the escort Thranduil left this band is larger in size and has warg riders. It's the time that I see as the Orcs are in Moria at increasing strength and growing bolder. Dol Guldur has been inhabited by one of the Nazgul and the Greenwood is sickening as a result. It's a glimpse of things to come. Striking at Elves so boldly is a warning.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2018 11:02 · For: Chapter 3
I'm really enjoying this version of events surrounding Celebrian and Thranduil's wife's disappearance.

Love the battle scenes too.

But, OMG! I pity them. Pity them for what the Orcs will do to them. [shivers]

Author's Response: I'm glad you like the idea of the wives being together. I hinted at this in Wine and the Fellowship.

It's not going to be good from here on.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2018 10:26 · For: Chapter 2
Ha ha! So he can't live without her?

The fact that he's driving Legolas a little up the wall is so sweet.

Big, strong, serious Thranduil, reduced to a besotted youth.

Author's Response: Yes he is besotted, still dearly in love with his wife and oh does Legolas know it. I wanted a bit of father son banter as well. They have a good relationship. The understand each other, can tease each other but also Legolas knows when he is dealing with Thranduil the father and Thranduil his King.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2018 10:02 · For: Chapter 1
Oh! I love seeing Thranduil like this! It was so refreshing to see him happy and so deeply in love.

He and his wife, Cyllessil acting like newly bonded youngsters.

He is so different!

Lovely Nelya!

Author's Response: Thanks Gabriel! Glad you enjoyed that first glimpse of him and Cyllessil. Yes I wanted a story where we get to see Thranduil before--before things changed and bitterness took over. Where he can still be imperious and sarcastic and cutting but he has a funny, soft side to balance it


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 03, 2018 22:00 · For: Chapter 10

Still weeping.

It's terrifying how Thranduil is shutting everyone out, but I think it's totally to character. He is king - he can't allow anyone to see what he perceives as weakness.



Author's Response: Thanks! I think it's in character too--he's open with his love in the early chapters but not with his heartbreak. I've written another one about him after Oropher's death where he does a bit of the same thing. He has to make an impenetrable wall on his personal feelings because there is so much he is responsible for as King--lives depend on him being focused and strong.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 03, 2018 21:53 · For: Chapter 9

*weeps*



Author's Response: Sorry. I know. Thranduil is so devastated.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 03, 2018 21:50 · For: Chapter 8

How awful for Thranduil and the twins to discover what their loved ones endured.



Author's Response: I imagine it must have been terrible, for Celebrian to end up sailing. She was born in Middle Earth, with a Sinda father. The only pull to Valinor would be through her mother and I can't see it being strong. Until this happened. Or they all decided it would be best for her to sail rather than fade.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 03, 2018 21:45 · For: Chapter 7

Yay for Glorfindel, Elrohir and Elladan. I don't hold out much hope for Cyllessil, though :(



Author's Response: Thanks. they are doing their best but . . . The guilt is traumatic and how I see the twins giving themselves completely over to their hunt for orcs after this. And why they all go with Arwen when she goes and her visits are long duration. They likely suffer every time they make that trip, remembering. And Glorfindel too--in his other life he was with Aredhel before she was lost.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 03, 2018 21:41 · For: Chapter 6

Noooo! But how brave. *sob*



Author's Response: That's how I imagine his half Silvan wife must have been--brave and resourceful and determined.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 03, 2018 21:37 · For: Chapter 5

Oh no - poor Celebrian and Cyllessil. And I've got a feeling things are only going to get worse :(



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 03, 2018 21:32 · For: Chapter 4

This is tense! I hope they hurry!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 03, 2018 21:24 · For: Chapter 3

Noooo! I guessed it was coming, but it was still painful to read when Cyllessil and Thranduil were so close to being reunited :(



Author's Response: Thank you. I had hinted that Celebrian and Thranduil's wife's fate were linked in my Wine and the Fellowship story. It was traumatic for all involved but I imagine Thranduil's proximity made it even worse when he realized.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 03, 2018 21:17 · For: Chapter 2

The blight on the trees in the Southern reaches worries me. And the spiders have been more active this spring than I recall them being for years.

Ooh, ominous. You're making me worried for my favourite elves :(



Author's Response: Thanks you for all your reviews!

You have good reason to worry.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 03, 2018 21:12 · For: Chapter 1

I'm torn between enjoying seeing Thranduil happy with his wife, and wincing because I have a horrible feeling that's the last time they'll be together.



Author's Response: It was hard to hurt him so but I wanted to tell her story! Knowing Legolas and how lighthearted he is, especially during the Fellowship, I had a hard time imagining Thranduil as being as distant and cold as he is depicted in the Hobbit films or even the Hobbit book, where he seems stern though fair and brave. So I imagined something must have happened to hurt him a great deal, more even than the death of his father. I see Oropher's death as being a hard blow to him--this one even more devastating.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: May 03, 2018 4:15 · For: Chapter 1

Ha, ha, he misses his elk! Poor dear Elk. 

This is kind of hard to read assuming, as I do, it is all going to end in tragedy and is in fact a final ever parting. So sad.

I love the twins discomfort. 

Tell me . . . What are your thoughts behind Thranduil having a Lothlorien silvan wife? How did that happen? 

(He obviously doesn’t have his Galadriel aversion in this story!) 



Author's Response: This story is written simply to provide proof that Thranduil was once truly in love and capable of showing emotion and being funny.

No but seriously the lack of info on the House of Oropher has always disturbed me. We know more about Estella Bolger than Mrs Oropher or Mrs Thranduil.

Keep reading, as I think you might like Mrs Thranduil here.

I live for making Elladan and Elrohir uncomfortable in this way.

Thranduil has a Lothlorien half Silvan wife because of his kinship with Celeborn and the familial relationship Oropher and Celeborn had. I think Celeborn and Oropher were in Doriath together, before Celeborn buggered off to be with Galadriel elsewhere. They maintained cordial relations with Oropher after his escape from Doriath and brought Cyllessil with them to a visit to the Greenwood and then Thranduil met her again at Elrond's wedding. He was smitten. End of story. They got married not long after. Hope you like the rest of this.



You must login () to review.