| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Bedtime by Narya General Audiences
Maglor is away on a trip and Maedhros has been left with the children. He isn't sure he's up to the task.
A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1678
Chapters: 8564
Word count: 26086592
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16050
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
09/22/18 02:44 pm
But I can definitely add it for you
Spiced Wine
09/22/18 02:44 pm
I can add it, Gabriel, but only using a keyboard and iPad I cannot hotlink it I have no mouse, and everything is a pain in the neck
Gabriel
09/22/18 01:00 pm
Not to worry Spiced! It was my fault for not submitting it in time. That's the consequences I guess. :)
Spiced Wine
09/22/18 10:03 am
Sorry, Gabriel I took that list from Kenaz’s LJ
Gabriel
09/22/18 05:43 am
I wish there was a delete button on this.
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:38 pm
There is also mine as well,(SinS) if anyone's interested in taking a look, which isn't on the list, as I was late in posting. :/
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:34 pm
Oh my goodness Narya! Please take good care of yourself. :)
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 08:08 pm
You’re welcome :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 07:47 pm
Thank you, Spiced! <3
Narya
09/21/18 06:59 pm
Ahh, Spiced, thank you <3 hope everyone has a lovely weekend planned!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Lonesome Rider

Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2018 3:08 · For: "Eyesight To The Blind" - (Curufin)

So, yep, I can see Elrond and Elros getting raised by Fëanorions again :)  I wonder how they’d turn out with Curufin as a father figure? 

Celebrimbor is pretty much the greatest son ever.  Few would still be sticking by Curufin’s side through all this, but for Celebrimbor it’s like he has a second chance with his father.  I don’t think I could have born it if you planned to kill Celebrimbor in this AU!  Curufin would turn out even darker than Caranthir!  (Also, I think Annatar would have quite a bit of trouble infiltrating the trust of a Celebrimbor who still had his father at his side.  Celebrimbor didn’t really need anything Annatar was selling.)

I have loved this series of what-ifs!  So many possibilities!  Really, as bad as it turned out in cannon, it could have always been worse.  (What an advertisement for a book: it could have been worse. Lol)



Author's Response:

Elrond is a honorary Feanorian at this point. But I like your question how Elrond&Elros would've turned out under him. Bascially the same, hopefully. With the difference that Curufin supports their talents right from the beginning. It took Elrond centuries to become such a famous healer, mostly born out of the desire not watch more family die. Here Curufin edges him on and Elrond's education is far more through and scientific than in canon. 

Also: Yes, Celebrimbor is awesome. Despite all the issues between them, Curufin knows that Celebrimbor is his equal and he respects his opinion. Trusts his opinion more than his own. Hence why I couldn't kill Celebrimbor while Curufin is still alive. That would've caused him turning into some kind of Eldritch God.

 

"What an advertisement for a book: it could have been worse. Lol)"

... don't hate me when Chapter 7 rolls around!



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2018 3:07 · For: "The Light or Me" - (Caranthir)

This was dark and amazing!  Geeze, survivor-Caranthir is terrifying!  You had me trying to figure out where he got all this power form and then WHAM the reveal!  He had the Silmaril in his heart!  Hold shit!  That was such a twist!

Also, Gil-galad obsessed with Maedhros to such a point he lets others die because he cannot forgive their part in Maedhros’ death was a fascinating addition.  It makes me thinking about a mentally unstable Gil-galad, and really, how out there is it?  I mean, the guy has lost a LOT of family too and was awfully alone.  Insane-Gil-galad is not a far-fetched AU when you think about it that way.



Author's Response:

Right? Caranthir is effortlessly awesome. He just ... stops holding back. He's all his siblings worst and best part compressed into one immortal shell, amplified by the Silmaril. I imagined a lot of High Fantasy Lords, but not as worn down or ruined as the Silmarillion paints them to be. Caranthir is ... the second coming of Feanor, the host for his father's devine power. It borders on ridiculousness, but somehow it worked - the Caranthir's own suprise.

and yeah, I start to love the unstable Gil-galad. He has so many opportunities to go sideways, so many reasons just snap one day .... it's beautiful. As for not being so far into an AU as I thought... maybe there was a reason why people didn't pressure Elrond into taking the crown. Maybe they were incredibely glad that Elrond shows some common sense. Gil-galad, as someone who doesn't want the traditions to die or memories of the old times to be lost ... could grow a bit eccentric. Or borderline creepy. 

Another thought: Annatar picked Celebrimbor because he was the easiest target compared to Gil-galad and Galadriel?



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: June 14, 2018 2:56 · For: "Wake me up Inside" - (Celegorm)

Why?????  You have broken my heart with this!!!  By the gods!  It was both perfect and so triadic I couldn’t help crying over poor Celegorm.  That thought that torments him: was Dior his son?  Did he kill his own son?  I have never even considered Dior being his before, so man, so suck-punched me with that one, It made absolute and total sense that the thought of killing his son drove him mad.  And then you give you Celebrimbor returned to them without hope!!!  You are cruel to us, so very very cruel!

I loved everything about this.  Even if you did leave me in tears!



Author's Response:

I know what you mean, I have cried while writing this. The only kind of ending I was able to imagine where Celeborn persuades Celegorm to step on the ship. In human form, but it doesn't solve his problems. Because: if Dior is not his son, he still has to admit he wanted him to be. So it get's even worse ... killing an innocent, young and very naive boy (compared how Celegorm sees himself) and with you HAD killed your own flesh and blood?

Either way, I think Celegorm kind of mentally adobts Dior and draws some comparisions between them. Because he was that young, beautiful and arrogant once.

So yes, this entire piece is depressing from start to finish.

The only good thing: Celegorm becomes friends with the twins. Maybe he vanishes for a century or two, or they come across each other in a classic rescue while injured situation, but the murder twins (they have these tendencies, Celebrian or not. what happened to their mother is just the excuse to openly practice it) are drawn to him. Or Celegorm sees a deeper kinship between them and after many, many years together they slowly coax him back to civilisation.

(insert Elladan/Elrohir/Clegorm slash here. it's the only thing that dries MY tears)



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: June 10, 2018 20:51 · For: "East of Eden" - (Maedhros)

This is….wow.  I think this may be my favorite work of yours so far.  Maedhros is so incredibly badass, and it feels like now the war is over, he’s able to really show what’s he’s capable of for the first time.  (And yet I can’t help wondering how much MORE awesome he would be with his family at his side.  It’s pretty phenomenal that he has come this far, done with much, even through the grief of their absence).

I love that he started spreading stories of the past, and that Celebrimbor caught on, and he and Elrond went to track him down!  Love that scene.

And trust me, you are not the only one who’s imagined Maedhros/Gil-galad.  I have been very tempted many a time to write that pairing!  It would be all kinds of messed up, but those are the best relationships to write :grins:

“but then Fëanor interfered and claimed his son could to better.”

I love that. 



Author's Response:

This is high praise and it's lovely to hear that a year full of hard work pays of. Especially Maedhros fate is something that concered me so much, his chapter was the last to finish (not counting the epiloque). He survived all those years and  won the War of Wrath (in my eyes at least) with nothing but spite fueling his broken spirit that I wanted so see what he'd have been capable of on a good day. On several good days in fact, even if he has to start from scratch.

Hence why Feanor bitched that Maedhros killing Sauron in single combat wasn't "good enough". Said it might be heroic but his family is done with the songs and the battles. let's get back to the roots again and in my eyes Maedhros is a well of accumulated knowledge.

"And trust me, you are not the only one who’s imagined Maedhros/Gil-galad."

The more feedback I get about that, the more it interests me. The possibilities. M/G in an AU where Fingon is still alive. M/G during War of Wrath. Maedhros raising Gil-galad on Fingon's request and falling in love. M/G with or without past Maedhros/Fingon. It's. so. messed. up! I love it :D

 



Name: Kalendeer (Signed) · Date: May 13, 2018 22:24 · For: "East of Eden" - (Maedhros)

What I liked the most in this is that someone actually remembers Himring is still out there! There's something incredibly sad about the place, isolated in the sea and in ruins after the war, like the last standing memorial to the First Age.

The ending though. Did you actually right them as mermaids in the sea, because if you did this is just super fun (especially for Maglor with his songs, he would make an awesome mermaid). The last question would be if the "us" includes Fëanor and some nolofinweans as well or just Maedhros's brothers.



Author's Response:

It's so sad that Himring is forgotten. But rumors are (well, there are maps) that Amon Ereb survived as well and I always but it down to the Feanorians refusing to let Ulmo claim their homes, even if they have been abandoned.

about the last question ... i think for now it's just the Feanorians. It's the Valar returning Maedhros's family to him, for all the work he has accomplished. it'S also a matter of who would be willing to live in Middle Earth again



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2018 23:29 · For: "Here I am, This is me" - (Maglor)

A happy ending indeed!! The very best, But so poignant and tinged with sadness- and elrond can shout at him to his heart's content (loved that last bit!!). I do hope at some point you are going to bring this all together. Love this so much.



Author's Response:

All but the last chapter is written and I have some kindof happy ending in mind. But mostly, this fic is very sad.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 03, 2018 8:26 · For: "East of Eden" - (Maedhros)

But yes, in the lonely hours he often wondered what Fëanor would've thought of this. Maedhros likes to think he'd bounce down the streets in excitement, demanding to see everything for that's the father that Maedhros wants to remember.

 

Oh- I LOVE this!!!!!!!! I actually as excited as it can be that Maglor climbs up onto the beach and Maedhros thinks he is a little shit!! And you are NOT an insane traitor that Gil ships Maedhros- how could he not?

Write that porn please.

Actually, I think it works so beautifully. But I do hope you are going to continue with this. 




Author's Response:

After all the crap this family had to endure I think Maedhros likes to remember his father as the exicted craftsman (nerd!) he could be.

And yeah, the Gil-galad/Maedhros thing has been eating me. Why it hasn't been done before? It fits right into the messed up thing that is the Silmarillion.



You must login () to review.