| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Bedtime by Narya General Audiences
Maglor is away on a trip and Maedhros has been left with the children. He isn't sure he's up to the task.
A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1678
Chapters: 8564
Word count: 26086464
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16051
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

Gabriel
09/23/18 07:27 am
I don't want to be a bother, Spiced. I think I'll just wait till my other fic has done its dash in the recents list and post the SinS after it. Its no problem.
Spiced Wine
09/22/18 02:44 pm
But I can definitely add it for you
Spiced Wine
09/22/18 02:44 pm
I can add it, Gabriel, but only using a keyboard and iPad I cannot hotlink it I have no mouse, and everything is a pain in the neck
Gabriel
09/22/18 01:00 pm
Not to worry Spiced! It was my fault for not submitting it in time. That's the consequences I guess. :)
Spiced Wine
09/22/18 10:03 am
Sorry, Gabriel I took that list from Kenaz’s LJ
Gabriel
09/22/18 05:43 am
I wish there was a delete button on this.
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:38 pm
There is also mine as well,(SinS) if anyone's interested in taking a look, which isn't on the list, as I was late in posting. :/
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:34 pm
Oh my goodness Narya! Please take good care of yourself. :)
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 08:08 pm
You’re welcome :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 07:47 pm
Thank you, Spiced! <3
Shout Archive


Reviews For A Love Unspoken

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2018 14:03 · For: Chapter 1
Hi Cheekybeak!

Unfortunately I have not read your other wonderful stories that correspond with this oneshot, nevertheless I thought I'd give this one a go. :D

*He is draped across the figurehead, leaning out to feel the seaspray on his face. His hair plastered down by the wet of it. The stars light him up like a god. He is beautiful.*

What an image! I loved this. The musings of an Elf completely in love. Beautiful!


And well done on coming 'first place' Cheeky. Awesome!

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading this without the complicated backstory! I hope it was still enjoyable without that. 

Oh yes, Elrohir is utterly, totally, in love. But he is not doing a very good job of managing that at this point in time. 

He does eventually manage to make a move....he doesn’t wait until Legolas sails! 

But it’s not straight forward.....because I love conflict :-) 

Thank you! 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2018 13:17 · For: Chapter 1

“Come and see, Elladan! It is wonderful, you will love it.” 

“I am sure I will,” my brother says sadly,

I forgot to say before, but I loved that bit too. It's a reminder of how much Elladan must be suffering as well.

 



Author's Response:

Oh, glad you caught that! Because yes, we know, and Legolas knows, but Elrohir does not, that Elladan has the sealonging too ...... and yes...he probably would love to climb up and drench himself in sea spray as well. But he can’t. Watching Legolas in this state must be incredibly painful for him. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2018 13:15 · For: Chapter 1

He is draped across the figurehead, leaning out to feel the seaspray on his face. His hair plastered down by the wet of it. The stars light him up like a god. He is beautiful.

Wow - I love that image. In fact, the whole story is beautiful - a very well-deserved Teitho first place! I love Elrohir's confusion over the mismatch between his feelings and his words. But that one flicker of hope, when Legolas thanks him was gorgeous. I'm glad I know their future, so I know Elrohir will get there in the end :)



Author's Response:

Yeah poor Elrohir. He is clumsy as hell here. His words are not his friends. It was strange going back to write him like this at the same time as I am writing a much more composed and self confident Elrohir in the story about little Estel. 

Luckily for us we know what he doesn’t....that in the end...although it takes them years to get there, he and Legolas make it work. Even here, when they are in so much confusing conflict, there is something drawing them together! 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2018 9:10 · For: Chapter 1
Absolutely gorgeous. I can see why this placed first.

Author's Response:

I am so impressed with you reading these one shots without the back-story! 

This is the same Legolas who was in my Finrod story...the one with the girl as well as Elrohir. .......(so obviously I’m not giving away much when I say Elrohir does eventually manage to make his move.)     :-) 

Thanks for reading it! 



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2018 4:09 · For: Chapter 1
This is such a gorgeous one shot. What makes it so very poignant is that now we know the Elrohir of Fire and of Birds--and he is so changed for the better by this love for Legolas.

It hurts to see him like this--awkward words, harsh demeanor, unable to keep his eyes off Legolas and so very hard on himself as well.

But I adore the detail of Elrohir's touch wiping the sea away-neither one grasps the meaning of that moment but after Fire it is so clear and so riveting to see that.

But he can't moderate his words or tone.

It is such a contrast to the soothing aspect of Elladan that we see here. But Elladan has insight we don't know about yet here, into the sea longing. It's a bit heartbreaking, especially when Elrohir questions if he is weaving irresponsible fantasies for Legolas when we know a part of Elladan is trying to convince himself of that truth as well.

It is agonizing to see Legolas in the complete abandon of the initial stages of the sea longing. But even now, in this state, his love for Gimli and Aragorn pulls him through. And we see exactly what Legolas fears and what we know will play out if he comes to harm: Gimli will blame Aragorn, Aragorn will blame himself and they will lose the closeness they have. Legolas knows this. Even on his dazzled state this understanding grounds him.

I love the end. The way Elrohir keeps him in focus. The moment Legolas hears the gull and Elrohir can see him drift--only to be brought back and grounded in the here and now again by Gimli. Perfect.

Author's Response:

Glad you liked it! 

There is, of course, a whole lot of background sub-stories to this oneshot that make it different for those who know the other stories. WE know the sea disappears at Elrohir’s touch. Elrohir does not know this and will not for years yet . . . And Legolas is too scrambled to think on it. 

WE know Elladan has the sea-longing and knows from personal experience you can remain in Arda with it . . . Although for how long he does not know . . . And Elrohir is oblivious to that completely. 

I am glad the importance of his mortal friendships was evident as the one thing enabling Legolas to control the sea-longing. That was what I wanted to convey of course. The only reason he manages to remain in Arda, right from the beginning, was them. And we can see how Gimli contributes to that as well. He is Legolas’ rock. His focus. I am missing writing Gimli. 

The hardest thing about writing this was going back in time to this unhappy Elrohir. All his self doubt which leaves him in a tangled mess. It was painful to see. He has come so far from this and Legolas’ love is at the centre of that progress. Truly we can see what it is Legolas gives him when we read him like this. 



You must login () to review.