| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Upon the Hearth by Narya General Audiences
Narvi is intrigued and a little unnerved by Celebrimbor's companion. Celebrimbor is soppy about his scaly, fire-breathing...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
Rohan: An Anthology by Himring Teen
Anthology for short pieces set in or associated with Rohan. Most of these either feature Eowyn or draw on the material on...
~ Summerland ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
New experiences broaden the mind —trauma and the impossible crack it wide open. A quiet summer holiday, the hint...
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 86
Stories: 1688
Chapters: 8616
Word count: 26249432
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16188
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 19
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
11/17/18 12:37 am
Happy Friday :D
Spiced Wine
11/16/18 09:43 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/15/18 04:56 pm
chapter posted is actually new instead of repeat this time.
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/15/18 04:55 pm
snow for us here too! And sorry somehow chapter 39 on "I'll be yours" repeated itself instead of posting chapter 40. I think I've got it fixed now. Sorry for any confusion. Chapter p
Karlmir Stonewain
11/15/18 10:47 am
Snow is in tonight's forecast. Bah! It's too early for snow. Time for a sequel to "Islands of Warmth in a Sea of Cold."
Naledi
11/14/18 10:49 pm
Oops - meant to say, please DM me with your email address!
Naledi
11/14/18 10:48 pm
Can those of you who want to be involved DM me and I'll send out a group email. Cheeky and Ziggy - I know I did have your emails, but I doubt I've still got them.
Naledi
11/14/18 10:46 pm
Yay for everyone joining in with the advent calendar (*waves to Cheeky*). It's probably time we got this show on the road.
Spiced Wine
11/13/18 10:42 pm
And it will still feel like a last-minute rush!
Spiced Wine
11/13/18 10:41 pm
I do not believe we’re already thinking of Christmas. Yet here I am ordering pressies, buying cards, making sure I have addresses...
Shout Archive


Reviews For A Love Unspoken

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2018 14:03 · For: Chapter 1
Hi Cheekybeak!

Unfortunately I have not read your other wonderful stories that correspond with this oneshot, nevertheless I thought I'd give this one a go. :D

*He is draped across the figurehead, leaning out to feel the seaspray on his face. His hair plastered down by the wet of it. The stars light him up like a god. He is beautiful.*

What an image! I loved this. The musings of an Elf completely in love. Beautiful!


And well done on coming 'first place' Cheeky. Awesome!

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading this without the complicated backstory! I hope it was still enjoyable without that. 

Oh yes, Elrohir is utterly, totally, in love. But he is not doing a very good job of managing that at this point in time. 

He does eventually manage to make a move....he doesn’t wait until Legolas sails! 

But it’s not straight forward.....because I love conflict :-) 

Thank you! 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2018 13:17 · For: Chapter 1

“Come and see, Elladan! It is wonderful, you will love it.” 

“I am sure I will,” my brother says sadly,

I forgot to say before, but I loved that bit too. It's a reminder of how much Elladan must be suffering as well.

 



Author's Response:

Oh, glad you caught that! Because yes, we know, and Legolas knows, but Elrohir does not, that Elladan has the sealonging too ...... and yes...he probably would love to climb up and drench himself in sea spray as well. But he can’t. Watching Legolas in this state must be incredibly painful for him. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2018 13:15 · For: Chapter 1

He is draped across the figurehead, leaning out to feel the seaspray on his face. His hair plastered down by the wet of it. The stars light him up like a god. He is beautiful.

Wow - I love that image. In fact, the whole story is beautiful - a very well-deserved Teitho first place! I love Elrohir's confusion over the mismatch between his feelings and his words. But that one flicker of hope, when Legolas thanks him was gorgeous. I'm glad I know their future, so I know Elrohir will get there in the end :)



Author's Response:

Yeah poor Elrohir. He is clumsy as hell here. His words are not his friends. It was strange going back to write him like this at the same time as I am writing a much more composed and self confident Elrohir in the story about little Estel. 

Luckily for us we know what he doesn’t....that in the end...although it takes them years to get there, he and Legolas make it work. Even here, when they are in so much confusing conflict, there is something drawing them together! 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2018 9:10 · For: Chapter 1
Absolutely gorgeous. I can see why this placed first.

Author's Response:

I am so impressed with you reading these one shots without the back-story! 

This is the same Legolas who was in my Finrod story...the one with the girl as well as Elrohir. .......(so obviously I’m not giving away much when I say Elrohir does eventually manage to make his move.)     :-) 

Thanks for reading it! 



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2018 4:09 · For: Chapter 1
This is such a gorgeous one shot. What makes it so very poignant is that now we know the Elrohir of Fire and of Birds--and he is so changed for the better by this love for Legolas.

It hurts to see him like this--awkward words, harsh demeanor, unable to keep his eyes off Legolas and so very hard on himself as well.

But I adore the detail of Elrohir's touch wiping the sea away-neither one grasps the meaning of that moment but after Fire it is so clear and so riveting to see that.

But he can't moderate his words or tone.

It is such a contrast to the soothing aspect of Elladan that we see here. But Elladan has insight we don't know about yet here, into the sea longing. It's a bit heartbreaking, especially when Elrohir questions if he is weaving irresponsible fantasies for Legolas when we know a part of Elladan is trying to convince himself of that truth as well.

It is agonizing to see Legolas in the complete abandon of the initial stages of the sea longing. But even now, in this state, his love for Gimli and Aragorn pulls him through. And we see exactly what Legolas fears and what we know will play out if he comes to harm: Gimli will blame Aragorn, Aragorn will blame himself and they will lose the closeness they have. Legolas knows this. Even on his dazzled state this understanding grounds him.

I love the end. The way Elrohir keeps him in focus. The moment Legolas hears the gull and Elrohir can see him drift--only to be brought back and grounded in the here and now again by Gimli. Perfect.

Author's Response:

Glad you liked it! 

There is, of course, a whole lot of background sub-stories to this oneshot that make it different for those who know the other stories. WE know the sea disappears at Elrohir’s touch. Elrohir does not know this and will not for years yet . . . And Legolas is too scrambled to think on it. 

WE know Elladan has the sea-longing and knows from personal experience you can remain in Arda with it . . . Although for how long he does not know . . . And Elrohir is oblivious to that completely. 

I am glad the importance of his mortal friendships was evident as the one thing enabling Legolas to control the sea-longing. That was what I wanted to convey of course. The only reason he manages to remain in Arda, right from the beginning, was them. And we can see how Gimli contributes to that as well. He is Legolas’ rock. His focus. I am missing writing Gimli. 

The hardest thing about writing this was going back in time to this unhappy Elrohir. All his self doubt which leaves him in a tangled mess. It was painful to see. He has come so far from this and Legolas’ love is at the centre of that progress. Truly we can see what it is Legolas gives him when we read him like this. 



You must login () to review.