| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Bedtime by Narya General Audiences
Maglor is away on a trip and Maedhros has been left with the children. He isn't sure he's up to the task.
A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1678
Chapters: 8564
Word count: 26086592
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16049
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 2
Members:

Shoutbox

Gabriel
09/21/18 11:38 pm
There is also mine as well,(SinS) if anyone's interested in taking a look, which isn't on the list, as I was late in posting. :/
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:34 pm
Oh my goodness Narya! Please take good care of yourself. :)
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 08:08 pm
You’re welcome :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 07:47 pm
Thank you, Spiced! <3
Narya
09/21/18 06:59 pm
Ahh, Spiced, thank you <3 hope everyone has a lovely weekend planned!
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 06:10 pm
Okay it is up
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 06:03 pm
Okay :)
Narya
09/21/18 03:36 pm
Thank you, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 03:17 pm
with SinS online now. Spiced, can you do a news post about the masterlist, or with a link to the AO3 collection? That would be lovely! <3
Ysilme
09/21/18 03:16 pm
Happy Friday to everyone! Narya, I hope you're feeling better soon! Viruses can be rather draining and demand a lot of patience. At least there's lots of lovely reading material
Shout Archive



Name: Himring (Signed) · Date: April 21, 2018 12:07 · For: Chapter 1

This is a moving take on Celebrimbor and Orodreth, in that situation. You make Celebrimbor seem very vulnerable here. And I really like your characterization of Orodreth; "oddly square" is a very neat touch.

The description of the thunderstorm is a very effective background to this discussion.

 

(Presumably Curufin would not betray his son as long as Celebrimbor agreed to subordinate everything he is or wants to his father's oath, but that is a truly terrifying condition, especially considering how the Oath has twisted already by this point.)



Author's Response: Thanks, Himring - I'm glad you liked Orodreth. I really enjoyed writing him; I actually surprised myself. And I'm pleased you think the thunderstorm worked; I worried it might be a bit of a cliché, but I liked it, so I left it!

"(Presumably Curufin would not betray his son as long as Celebrimbor agreed to subordinate everything he is or wants to his father's oath, but that is a truly terrifying condition, especially considering how the Oath has twisted already by this point.)" - I agree, I think as long as Celebrimbor was prepared to do whatever it took to help his father fulfil the Oath then Curufin wouldn't have betrayed or harmed him, but that's still frightening, and not something I think Celebrimbor would have wanted to submit to.

Thank you very much for reading and commenting :)


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 20, 2018 11:05 · For: Chapter 1

Oh this was interesting! 

 I am a Finrod fan, and Finarfin .... (so I bristled slightly at Celebrimbor calling him a coward!)

cant stand Beren, leading Finrod off to his death for something that was not what Finrods oath was about at all.  

I love how you pointed out Maedhros was true to Fingon despite the oath. The only one, really, that managed that. Yes, he could not prevent the ship burning but he tried. 

Sad to think in the end the dark got Celebrimbor after all, by trickery. 

I do think Celebrimbor is right . . . Curufin would have chosen the oath over him. Seperating was the right choice. 

Really enjoyed this slightly different look at dynamics following Finrod’s death! 



Author's Response: Thanks, cheeky! I am a Finrod fan too, and I think Finarfin is underappreciated - Celebrimbor's snapped insult here isn't my view, or even his really, but he's hurting and I think certain members of his family probably represented Finarfin to him in this way as he was growing up, so it's left an impression. And yes, so sad that the darkness took Celebrimbor in the end :( he didn't deserve it. I'm so glad you enjoyed this little one-shot - thank you for commenting! :)


Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: April 19, 2018 18:09 · For: Chapter 1
this is such an interesting view of this timeframe, Narya! I have not really come across a fic about the interaction these two have after Celegorm and Curufin leave. It is an awkward situation for them both and you've really captured that. It's really heartbreaking to think Celebrimbor's fear and deep trepidation regarding even his father's relationship with him, because of the Oath. And Orodreth feeling out of his depth really comes across well. But even in this brief moment between them there is so much veiled hurt, waves of animosity and yet still love and an understanding between them.

Author's Response: Thanks, Nelya :) it's not something I'd seen before either, which is partly why I wanted to explore it. I know, I am a huge fan of the sons of Fëanor, but I do think that Celegorm and Curufin must have become so terrible and twisted by this point that even their close family would be afraid of them. I'm glad you think I captured it well - I see Celebrimbor as much younger than Orodreth, so in the years they spent in Nargothrond together I think Orodreth probably looked out for him and made him welcome, hence the loyalty you see here.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 19, 2018 11:52 · For: Chapter 1
H, poor Celebrimbor, for it to come to this: to be afraid of his father, yet the Oath twisted everything even love.

So sad, and thought-provoking, Narya

Author's Response: Thank you. Yes, it is heartbreaking to think of - I wanted to explore why he chose not to go with Curufin into exile, and this is where it went.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 19, 2018 8:48 · For: Chapter 1
Narya, This was such a lovely gift. Thank you.

Despite it being a little heartbreaking, I loved it.

It was so different having Celebrimbor in tears over the whole affair in Nargothrond. And yet why wouldn't he be? Why wouldn't he shed tears for the love he bore his father and uncle and grieve over what they had done and what they had become. With the Oath rearing its ugly head, they must have seemed strangers to him at the end. :(

A wonderful read.

It made my day. :)

Author's Response: You're very welcome, Gabriel. I hope you had a lovely birthday. I'm not sure what started me off thinking about Celebrimbor after the betrayal in Nargothrond, but once I started thinking about it I had to write something...at some stage I will write a longer fic that explores the betrayal in more detail, and we will see exactly what Celegorm and Curufin became (though doing that will probably break my heart). I also surprised myself by really enjoying writing Orodreth; he's not a character I gave much thought to before. I'm so pleased you liked it - thank you very much for your lovely comments :)


You must login () to review.