| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Shine by cheekybeak General Audiences
A bond between brothers helps a small elfling cope with his grief beneath the boughs of the Greenwood. prequel to “Light...
Hope in the Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
How Thrain kept the map and key safe from Sauron in Dol Guldur. Written for the Teitho contest picture challenge where it...
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1652
Chapters: 8441
Word count: 25528919
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15664
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
05/21/18 08:16 pm
Aragorn can't join - by emotionally blackmailing Legolas to accompany him on the Paths of the Dead, he's firmly on my blacklist!
cheekybeak
05/21/18 08:03 pm
SPCL? Society for prevention of cruelty to Legolas? RSPCL if Aragorn joins!
Naledi
05/21/18 06:02 pm
Yay, Nelya! We can be founder members of SACL. I tried to think of something with a better acronym - I'm open to suggestions!
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/21/18 03:25 pm
Naledi I'm with you on the Society Against Cruelty to Legolas (SACL)!! ;-) but who are we kidding--we read it all and love it anyway, despite the misadventures of our dear Elf!
Spiced Wine
05/20/18 10:38 am
I think it’s a sensible choice. Aragorn has a large backstory going back many years, so it was always going to be one of their first choices.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 05:43 am
It's an expensive gamble they have taken--they have to nail this first season. Also the TolkienEstate is far more involved in this one I hear.
Formegil
05/20/18 05:31 am
A quite big "if", I'd say. Just look what mess was made out of the Hobbit movie. Nowadays I tend to be a bit cynical. So I say the series is good if it will be at least not cringeworthy.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:49 am
As well as Elladan and Elrohir and the Rangers of the North. It could be a hit if done right. Plus the Arwen love interest.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:48 am
I am actually relieved the Amazon series is starting with young Aragorn. There is much canon content to work with, he's a familiar character and chance to see Glorfindel, Gilraen
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:47 am
And that's how they learn about the weaknesses of dragons! From the little guy Aegnor adopted.
Shout Archive



Name: Himring (Signed) · Date: April 21, 2018 12:07 · For: Chapter 1

This is a moving take on Celebrimbor and Orodreth, in that situation. You make Celebrimbor seem very vulnerable here. And I really like your characterization of Orodreth; "oddly square" is a very neat touch.

The description of the thunderstorm is a very effective background to this discussion.

 

(Presumably Curufin would not betray his son as long as Celebrimbor agreed to subordinate everything he is or wants to his father's oath, but that is a truly terrifying condition, especially considering how the Oath has twisted already by this point.)



Author's Response: Thanks, Himring - I'm glad you liked Orodreth. I really enjoyed writing him; I actually surprised myself. And I'm pleased you think the thunderstorm worked; I worried it might be a bit of a cliché, but I liked it, so I left it!

"(Presumably Curufin would not betray his son as long as Celebrimbor agreed to subordinate everything he is or wants to his father's oath, but that is a truly terrifying condition, especially considering how the Oath has twisted already by this point.)" - I agree, I think as long as Celebrimbor was prepared to do whatever it took to help his father fulfil the Oath then Curufin wouldn't have betrayed or harmed him, but that's still frightening, and not something I think Celebrimbor would have wanted to submit to.

Thank you very much for reading and commenting :)


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 20, 2018 11:05 · For: Chapter 1

Oh this was interesting! 

 I am a Finrod fan, and Finarfin .... (so I bristled slightly at Celebrimbor calling him a coward!)

cant stand Beren, leading Finrod off to his death for something that was not what Finrods oath was about at all.  

I love how you pointed out Maedhros was true to Fingon despite the oath. The only one, really, that managed that. Yes, he could not prevent the ship burning but he tried. 

Sad to think in the end the dark got Celebrimbor after all, by trickery. 

I do think Celebrimbor is right . . . Curufin would have chosen the oath over him. Seperating was the right choice. 

Really enjoyed this slightly different look at dynamics following Finrod’s death! 



Author's Response: Thanks, cheeky! I am a Finrod fan too, and I think Finarfin is underappreciated - Celebrimbor's snapped insult here isn't my view, or even his really, but he's hurting and I think certain members of his family probably represented Finarfin to him in this way as he was growing up, so it's left an impression. And yes, so sad that the darkness took Celebrimbor in the end :( he didn't deserve it. I'm so glad you enjoyed this little one-shot - thank you for commenting! :)


Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: April 19, 2018 18:09 · For: Chapter 1
this is such an interesting view of this timeframe, Narya! I have not really come across a fic about the interaction these two have after Celegorm and Curufin leave. It is an awkward situation for them both and you've really captured that. It's really heartbreaking to think Celebrimbor's fear and deep trepidation regarding even his father's relationship with him, because of the Oath. And Orodreth feeling out of his depth really comes across well. But even in this brief moment between them there is so much veiled hurt, waves of animosity and yet still love and an understanding between them.

Author's Response: Thanks, Nelya :) it's not something I'd seen before either, which is partly why I wanted to explore it. I know, I am a huge fan of the sons of Fëanor, but I do think that Celegorm and Curufin must have become so terrible and twisted by this point that even their close family would be afraid of them. I'm glad you think I captured it well - I see Celebrimbor as much younger than Orodreth, so in the years they spent in Nargothrond together I think Orodreth probably looked out for him and made him welcome, hence the loyalty you see here.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 19, 2018 11:52 · For: Chapter 1
H, poor Celebrimbor, for it to come to this: to be afraid of his father, yet the Oath twisted everything even love.

So sad, and thought-provoking, Narya

Author's Response: Thank you. Yes, it is heartbreaking to think of - I wanted to explore why he chose not to go with Curufin into exile, and this is where it went.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 19, 2018 8:48 · For: Chapter 1
Narya, This was such a lovely gift. Thank you.

Despite it being a little heartbreaking, I loved it.

It was so different having Celebrimbor in tears over the whole affair in Nargothrond. And yet why wouldn't he be? Why wouldn't he shed tears for the love he bore his father and uncle and grieve over what they had done and what they had become. With the Oath rearing its ugly head, they must have seemed strangers to him at the end. :(

A wonderful read.

It made my day. :)

Author's Response: You're very welcome, Gabriel. I hope you had a lovely birthday. I'm not sure what started me off thinking about Celebrimbor after the betrayal in Nargothrond, but once I started thinking about it I had to write something...at some stage I will write a longer fic that explores the betrayal in more detail, and we will see exactly what Celegorm and Curufin became (though doing that will probably break my heart). I also surprised myself by really enjoying writing Orodreth; he's not a character I gave much thought to before. I'm so pleased you liked it - thank you very much for your lovely comments :)


You must login () to review.