| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Bedtime by Narya General Audiences
Maglor is away on a trip and Maedhros has been left with the children. He isn't sure he's up to the task.
A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1678
Chapters: 8564
Word count: 26086592
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16049
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

Gabriel
09/21/18 11:38 pm
There is also mine as well,(SinS) if anyone's interested in taking a look, which isn't on the list, as I was late in posting. :/
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:34 pm
Oh my goodness Narya! Please take good care of yourself. :)
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 08:08 pm
You’re welcome :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 07:47 pm
Thank you, Spiced! <3
Narya
09/21/18 06:59 pm
Ahh, Spiced, thank you <3 hope everyone has a lovely weekend planned!
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 06:10 pm
Okay it is up
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 06:03 pm
Okay :)
Narya
09/21/18 03:36 pm
Thank you, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 03:17 pm
with SinS online now. Spiced, can you do a news post about the masterlist, or with a link to the AO3 collection? That would be lovely! <3
Ysilme
09/21/18 03:16 pm
Happy Friday to everyone! Narya, I hope you're feeling better soon! Viruses can be rather draining and demand a lot of patience. At least there's lots of lovely reading material
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2018 12:49 · For: Chapter 1
This was really enjoyable.

I was quite amazed at how in-depth Elrond and Gandalf's conversation was.How challenging Elrond found it, in selecting the members of this Fellowship. This is how it should have been.

This wasn't about just choosing nine people, throwing them together and then sending them on their way, or picking the best warriors for the task, this was about who would be compatible with whom, who best to be a pillar of strength when it was needed. Who would be the voice of reason and council when things were at their worst, who would be the most honorable and valiant when facing the enemy, etc.

Not just representatives of each of the peoples of Middle earth, but the strengths needed to endure and defeat the enemy.

A great read, Nelya. :)

Author's Response: Thanks Gabriel. I am sure these two spent quite a bit of time behind the scenes mapping the travel and going through scenarios of what could happen. As well as arguing about who would accompany Frodo. I envision terse conversations with Elladan and Elrohir, late night debates with Glorfindel and Erestor. They needed a team with cohesion and they could support each other and bond. But there were some members who chose themselves--Frodo, Gandalf, Aragorn, Boromir. And Sam :) Elrond had little choice about them which was likely why he must have spent much time pondering who else to send. I'm sure Gandalf had very strong opinions on the subject! So glad you liked this!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 12, 2018 23:10 · For: Chapter 1

Ah- lovely. Like a heart stew- feeds your soul:)



Author's Response: Thanks Ziggy. I imagine these two put a lot of thought into what to do and how.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: April 11, 2018 22:13 · For: Chapter 1
Oh, this is lovely :-) I like the logic against sending Glorfindel, Elladan and Elrohir - and Elrond grumbling about Merry and Pippin there at the end made me snicker. I loved the feel of this piece too - it fitted beautifully with the atmosphere of LOTR. Hopeful and nostalgic at the same time.

Author's Response: thanks! I am glad Gandalf's reasoning seemed sound to you! And thank you for commenting on the feel of it--I was trying to show just that. And yes Elrond is not keen on those two lively hobbits going with the Fellowship--he wants them to go back to the Shire! I have another story explaining why Elrond is concerned about Thranduil--they have a bit of history. I'll post it soon!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 11, 2018 19:03 · For: Chapter 1

I really enjoyed this. I like your reasoning why Legolas was chosen - obviously I'm biased and think he's the best elf for the job! I liked how Elrond and Gandalf are worried about Thranduil's reaction. I always picture Thranduil as throwing a fit when he hears the news!



Author's Response: thanks so much, Naledi! I'm glad Gandalf's points made sense. I've always thought he was perfect for the job also. Elrond and Gandalf know Thranduil well enough to know how upset he will be. Mordor is where he lost his father. The thought of his son going there must be abhorrent. I picture Legolas as an only child in my head canon . I also think Thranduil has lost his wife (there's a back story there that features Elrond--I'll post it here sometime soon). He has his son and his people--that is what keeps Thranduil going. He must have been anguished to know where Legolas was headed with the Fellowship.


You must login () to review.