| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Consign Me Not to Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
Finrod accompanies Beren to retrieve a Silmaril and is captured, along with his companions. His encounter with Sauron in...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Let the Memories Be Good by lotrfan General Audiences
Legolas and Gimli must come to terms with Aragorn's aging, as well as Gimli's own. Set after events of LOTR. Written for...
The Bear Incident by Himring General Audiences
During the Years of the Trees: Celegorm and Fingon escape into the mountains, on a dare. Maedhros finds out and follows...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1667
Chapters: 8518
Word count: 25900316
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15898
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
08/17/18 10:49 pm
Happy Friday :) :) :)
Spiced Wine
08/17/18 07:22 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
08/17/18 07:22 pm
Never mind, Fades, I can’t do it either
Fadesintothewest
08/17/18 09:02 am
I wish I had the tech skills to administer the site :-(
Spiced Wine
08/15/18 07:28 pm
LOL. I am very sure I am not, but thank you :)
ziggy
08/15/18 06:55 pm
Spiced- just realised that my reply to your lovely review reads oddly- I mean that YOU are the Queen of Epics!!
Spiced Wine
08/15/18 10:47 am
Thank you, Alquien :) Unless we have to move to a new server, money is not a problem :)
Alquien
08/15/18 04:50 am
Just now playing catch up here but anyway, count me in for a donation. I love this archive!
Spiced Wine
08/14/18 12:21 pm
I think it’s important to keep these Tolkien specific archives going, especially with so many dying.
Spiced Wine
08/14/18 12:20 pm
She’s quite willing to keep it hosted on the same server, just the admin/tech work would be done by someone else.
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 04, 2018 2:33 · For: Chapter 1
You are very welcome, Narya.

And thank you so much for your lovely comments a few reviews ago where you mentioned I was a very passionate reviewer, I think. I'd never thought of myself as passionate before. But you're right, I am quite an emotional person and become very involved in whatever story I'm reading.

When I'm writing I have images of scenes, like I'm watching a part of a movie, seemingly pop into my mind. So then I pick apart the scene and write from there. It sounds a bit more complicated than it is. But it can be painstaking at times.

I have my work cut out for me though as I'm working on a Series profiling Curufin.

Aside from that I have so many fics I've started but haven't quite been able to add to yet, its overwhelming sometimes. But deep down I love it. :)

Its so lovely to be able to share my love of writing and stories with so many wonderful, kind and supportive writers. All of you have inspired me and helped me become a better writer, without you even realising. Especially you Narya.

And, no, I don't mind at all. Its the 19th of April.

If you don't mind me asking, when is yours? I remember it was in January or February sometime.

Well I think I've waffled on enough. Sorry. :D Time for Curufin to lose his temper again, LOL. ;)

Thank you again, Narya, it means a lot to me that someone has gone out of their way to write a story for me.

Author's Response: I know what you mean about watching a film in my head :) that makes sense, and it can take time to pin down what you've seen in your mind. I am looking forwards to your Curufin series! He is one of my favourites, but I haven't really written him, except as a bit-player. I can't wait to see what you do with him :)

I'm glad you're having such a great time here on Faerie. It's been lovely getting to know you - and this is a great community, people are so friendly and supportive.

Thanks for letting me know - just a couple of weeks, then! Mine is January 6th, so just after Christmas. Quite often it ends up being my first day back at work after the holidays...!

And you're very welcome, I'm really pleased you like it.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 03, 2018 11:32 · For: Chapter 1
So that's where the Easter Bunny came from! I had always wondered. {Giggle!}

Oh! Narya! This was wonderful! Thank you!

Pityo is incorrigible. Seems to enjoy playing pranks doesn't he. Lol. Good to see Telvo is his conscience or at least tries to be.

I had to laugh at Telvo's musings about Turukano getting married.

*He wondered why Turukano would want to get married anyway. Silly thing to do, getting stuck with a girl for your whole life, he thought.* And I thought, someday Telvo, you will find girls VERY interesting and then you'll understand Turukano. LOL

I think the memory Maedhros takes Maglor back to was my absolute favorite here.

*Turukano and Elenwe newly wed, danced under Laurelin's boughs; their father Feanaro sat at a table with Nolofinwe, the pair of them sharing a decanter of wine and swapping bawdy jokes; and their younger cousins sprawled in the grass in a little huddle, listening wide-eyed as Ingalaure declared that only a few days ago, he had seen a hare laying eggs. Nelyo Makalaure and Artanis had overheard and glared suspiciously at Pityo and Telvo, who had looked sheepish and giggled behind their hands...*

This was so lovely to imagine. That the family; brothers, cousins, aunts and uncles and grandparents could be one big happy and normal family. That none of the hostility between Feanaro and Nolofinwe existed nor the slow decline of friendships between the cousins. It was just a wonderful, warm snapshot in time.

And dear Gildor. That he clings to the belief that Hares lay eggs, simply because his father told him so and now that his father is dead it has become a precious memory of Inglor that he holds dear and refuses to let go of. So beautifully sad, Narya.

Whenever I read Maglor in modern times there always seems to be a sorrow that follows him wherever he goes, no matter how happy the situation is. I just feel so much for Maglor, trying to make the best of his life and with all that memory weighing him down.
I don't know how he does it, how anyone could do it, putting one foot in front of the other without wanting to step in front of a bus.

Surely he's had enough of living this long long life. Sometimes I think its a bit of a curse, the Elves being immortal. Especially in Maglor's case. :( I know he still enjoys somethings like the time he spends with friends such as Claire; she's a sweetheart and so good for him, with her bubbly personality.

Loved how the 'Hares lay eggs' theme was carried through to modern times and became the Easter Bunny.

Brilliant Narya! How do you do it? This must have taken a lot of thought and it most certainly shone through. So enjoyable!. :)

Author's Response: Ahh, Gabriel, what a lovely review! Thank you so much :) yes, Pityo is a little monster; Telvo does his best with him but I don't think he always succeeds! I loved imagining the wedding too; at some point I really must write it properly, I have some ideas for chaos and misunderstandings during the preparations too.

I agree about Maglor, yes, there is definitely sorrow following him around. In Auld Acquaintance I think he has very nearly got himself to the point of wanting to step in front of a bus, but there's still plenty for him to hang on to at this point in time. I'm really pleased you like Claire, she'll probably make more appearances in future.

How do I do it? I just sit down and listen to the characters - and make time to write, that's been the main thing I've got better at lately. Do you know, I think it was working on the Advent Calendar that helped me get back into good writing habits - knowing that other people were waiting for me to produce something was a great motivator! I really hope we get to do it again this year.

Random question, dear...when is your birthday, if you don't mind me asking!?


Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: April 03, 2018 3:40 · For: Chapter 1
Narya I loved this. Such poignant memories across the ages. The banter between the twins was so realistic and dear little Ingalaurë, so trusting and so happy to share his new found knowledge. My heart hurt to think it was Turko and Elenwë's wedding and to picture Fëanaro and Nolofinwë pleasantly tipsy and enjoying each other's company. Even happy times in this family are always tinged with the sadness of what is to vine, aren't they?

The follow up, with Elrond and Elros, was even more emotional. Seeing Maedhros at first, so distant and unreachable, but thawing as the sweet memory from the past reached him. This passage though:
“Correlation does not imply causation, Elros,” Maedhros explained in the same soft, patient tones Maglor had often heard him use when tutoring a young Findekáno. Ice knifed his heart, and he quickly shielded his mind and memories in case his brother picked up on his thoughts. “ oh my heart. And poor dear Gildor clinging to this memory from his father.
I really like this lineage for Gildor by the way.

And of course Pippin picks it up so many years later!

But the last bit, Maglor in modern times, and the memory comes yet again--layers upon layers to it now and all the characters gone or lost to him.

Lovely bit of Easter Silm story.

Author's Response: Thank you Nelya, I'm so pleased it worked for you! :) yes, even when I try to write them being happy, the sad stuff creeps in. Sigh. I do have an idea for an eventual "fix it" arc, though - or half an idea. It needs work ;)

I'm glad you like my idea for Gildor's lineage. I am just co-opting favourite canon characters into the House of Finwë at this point!! And yes, couldn't resist those little Hobbit snippets, and then looping it all through to modern times. I adore Maglor and like to imagine he made/is still making something of his life, but I don't think he'll ever truly escape the memories :( thanks again, Nelya, for such lovely comments.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 02, 2018 19:58 · For: Chapter 1
Yews, it is rather impossible to write happy Finwëions, sn’t it? But this was sweet. I never knew this about the eggs and the hares. I do miss lapwings, though, I used to listen to them at night in the spring when I lived in the country, and they have become so rare in this area now :(

I love the way each part of the story melts into the other, and how it ends. But I always hate to think of Maglor as so lonely without his family. ;__;

Author's Response: Yeah, it is tricky, knowing everything they end up going through :( I'm glad you liked it, though. I'm not sure if there's any evidence of people actually believing that hares laid eggs, but you hear the story of it here and there. It was on BBC Radio 6 yesterday. A lot of birds seem to be disappearing :( I never heard or saw a lapwing in St Andrews, although apparently there was/is a small population around the Eden Estuary. I saw the Northern Lights more than I saw the lapwings, which is kind of sad. And yes, I hate to think of Maglor without his family...although I have half an inkling about how to fix that at some point :) thank you for reading and commenting. Hugs and happy Easter.


You must login () to review.