| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Consign Me Not to Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
Finrod accompanies Beren to retrieve a Silmaril and is captured, along with his companions. His encounter with Sauron in...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Let the Memories Be Good by lotrfan General Audiences
Legolas and Gimli must come to terms with Aragorn's aging, as well as Gimli's own. Set after events of LOTR. Written for...
The Bear Incident by Himring General Audiences
During the Years of the Trees: Celegorm and Fingon escape into the mountains, on a dare. Maedhros finds out and follows...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1667
Chapters: 8518
Word count: 25900316
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15898
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
08/17/18 10:49 pm
Happy Friday :) :) :)
Spiced Wine
08/17/18 07:22 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
08/17/18 07:22 pm
Never mind, Fades, I can’t do it either
Fadesintothewest
08/17/18 09:02 am
I wish I had the tech skills to administer the site :-(
Spiced Wine
08/15/18 07:28 pm
LOL. I am very sure I am not, but thank you :)
ziggy
08/15/18 06:55 pm
Spiced- just realised that my reply to your lovely review reads oddly- I mean that YOU are the Queen of Epics!!
Spiced Wine
08/15/18 10:47 am
Thank you, Alquien :) Unless we have to move to a new server, money is not a problem :)
Alquien
08/15/18 04:50 am
Just now playing catch up here but anyway, count me in for a donation. I love this archive!
Spiced Wine
08/14/18 12:21 pm
I think it’s important to keep these Tolkien specific archives going, especially with so many dying.
Spiced Wine
08/14/18 12:20 pm
She’s quite willing to keep it hosted on the same server, just the admin/tech work would be done by someone else.
Shout Archive


Reviews For A Story of Seven

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 30, 2018 7:49 · For: Celegorm
You know, this part of the chapter really shows how far Celegorm has fallen.

Luthien is not one of my most favorite characters in the Silmarillions. The love story surrounding her and Beren is beautiful and Berens deeds are heroic to say the least and despite Celegorm's agenda here, which I will agree was the lowest of the low and which was only exacerbated by the idea his cousin was helping a mortal steal a Silmaril as a bride price and by Celegorms obvious desire for Luthien.

I still don't like what her and Beren did to Celegorm and Curufin, after their expulsion from Nargothrond. Despite all that the Feanorians have ever done, I am still one of their biggest fans. I guess its because I know that this is not who they are, really, this is a result of desperation and grief of an oath which has eluded them and something they can never fulfil.

It was a wonderful example of lust though Nelya! But yeah! Luthien is not in my good books. But please don't take this as me not enjoying the first part of the chapter. I did, although I was a little envious of Luthien sitting with Celegorm so close. LOL He's so gorgeous! LOL. And you and other writers write him perfectly. :)


I found it really sad that completely in love with each other, Celegorm and Aredhel could not feel they could take it further because of the tensions between their fathers.

*He would lay by the river, side by side with Irisse, and they would dream of what their hearts desired, knowing it was only words. That reality would never be for them. It made him feel that much lonelier when she was not with him, knowing their time together was only transient and not the lifetime he wished for.* So heartwrenching!

And so Celegorm sacrificed that love and loyalty to Orome, because he loved only one and could never be with another and hoped with this sacrifice he could give Aredhel another chance at love and the life she wanted. Oh my gosh! Nelya, this is so sad and makes Celegorm the ultimate hero. Love Celegorm!

You write him so wonderfully here I was almost in tears. :)

Thanks for sharing these wonderful examples of the 'Seven Deadly Sins' here and done Typically Feanorian style. I really enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Thanks Gabriel--so many comments you've made here that resonate with me and that I hoped I had hinted at in the story! Celegorm is very dear to me. He falls so far here he loses Huan,his faithful long term companion. Luthien and Beren are not my favorites--so many less tragic ways to have reached their goal--I will never forgive Beren for Finrod. I really wanted Luthien's power to come through here--her Maia blood gives her an advantage over Celegorm that I think she uses ruthlessly. I don't think he was thinking clearly, what with the whole Finrod episode, the awakening of the Oath, his never healed loss of Aredhel. Luthien was able to charm Morgoth and Námo--I can't see Celegorm resisting her charms if she directed them at him. Celegorm and Aredhel are such a good pairing in my mind--I was recently listening to the Silm audio of the chapter where Aredhel leaves Gondolin. It is so clear the affinity she has with Celegorm--she could have gone to see Fingon but she chose to seek out the sons of Fëanor. That's telling. As is his original sacrifice in joining the Hunters--he wanted her to find joy and love, not be forever tied to him in a secret relationship. I must have done something right if you were almost in tears!! Thank you for reading it so deeply.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2018 10:50 · For: Maglor
Dear Maglor! There is no need to be envious.

They may say Daeron is the greatest Bard in Beleriand, But as Maglor points out he has had ages to give to his music, ages to give to his creativity.

I like how you used Maglor's history to explain the reasons why he is not considered Daeron's equal.

Maglor on the other hand had to be a Smith, Maglor had to learn how to fight, Maglor had to leave his home, his love, his wife for vengeance sake. Forced to be a King in the wake of the loss of a brother to the enemy, overwhelmed him, stifling his creativity.

*Daeron has never had to set his dreams aside, to do the bidding of others. He has had every opportunity, all the things Maglor doesn't have, couldn't have, will never have.*

Yet Maglor's music his creativity comes from spirit itself, from his very soul from the depths of himself, from his own unique 'song.' From pain grief despair and betrayal. He sings from experience of all things of a people who left their home in pursuit of a power they knew they could not defeat for the sake of their King. It may not be songs filled with exceptional beauty such as Daeron's, but its a beauty of a different kind and in that I think Maglor is Daeron's equal if not his better.

Life experience has tempered Maglor's music and song giving them a flavor all their own.

I hope I made some sense in that last paragraph, Nelya. I struggled a bit trying to get to the grit of what I wanted to say.


Kindness.


I think they have both come to the end of themselves and in doing so Maglor sees the twins as a means to right the wrongs of the past. You can see Maglor loves children eager for this opportunity to give back what they took from so many.

And poor Maedhros! Blaming himself for everything because of this blasted oath! He's really taking his brothers deaths hard, who can blame him. The weight of responsibility must be immense the failure after failure. This will be one thing, their one chance they won't fail at.

You've written Elros and Elrond exactly how I see them together. Their banter. Elrond open trusting and honest and Elros full of contempt, suspicion and irreverence.

This chapter really resonates with Maglor, Nelya! Tyelko's next! :D {Rubbing hands together gleefully} One of my personal favorites.

Author's Response: Thanks for the insightful review, Gabriel! Yes, Maglor is worthy to be on that stage--he has the skill of Daeron but with a depth of life experience far greater than Daeron's and despite a lifetime spent doing other things in addition to his music. The pathos and emotional depth of his music surpasses all others in my mind. For kindness--Maedhros is in a dark place at this juncture. Silmaril lost, his brothers dead, his own troops demoralized and turning against the. He is hard pressed to see how this could be in any way a good idea. But Maglor I believe has always had a deep seated mostly hidden hope for redemption. And Maedhros has never gotten over the loss of the Doriath twins. I'm so glad these two scenes rang true for Maglor.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2018 5:01 · For: Amras
I think that you've done a wonderful job with the twins, Nelya!


Dear Amras! Poor soul.

I loved how you used addiction here to highlight Amras' suffering. And of course for the idea of 'Gluttony'. Which was awesome, by the way, as were the other 'Deadly Sins'. :)

Oh my gosh! My heart just went out to him in his need to numb himself of the pain, still gnawing at him, eating him away from the inside out, after so long. Not that it would ever go away or that he would ever want to forget his brother.

But the desperate need for him to 'feel' anything again other than pain or grief, so powerful as to drive him to seek a high. To drown himself in sensation. And something that he thought he could control too but as we saw he lost himself to it.

I think too that it was a bit of a surprise, not just to him but to me also when Caranthir, Curufin and Celegorm strode into his room. An 'Intervention' Feanorion style. I simply loved this.

I also love it when a writer shows the Feanorions their sharing caring side. Not that they wouldn't care for Amras. But to see them going that extra mile for their little brother just shows how close the Feanorions truly are. When one is affected they are all affected and set about creating a protective and possessive wall around them.

Amras' stiff opposition to this 'Intervention' just going straight over his brothers heads.

Aww! And Celegorm's hug just reiterates their love and absolute protection of their own.


Now, the second part.

I love how Telvo has decided to 'take the higher ground' so to speak when it comes to gossip about their father. Like father like son. Well, Feanor wouldn't care what people thought about him so why should his sons.

Although Pityo seems to take particular offense at what others say about Feanor. Wanting to defend his father.

But Telvo's right as long as you know the truth and its not harming anyone, who cares what others think.


Another wonderful and insightful chapter! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely comments Gabriel! Yes the seven deadly sins really lent themselves to these character studies. I just had to add the virtues though too because I love these boys. It was an exercise trying to decide who got what sin and corresponding virtue. I think I picked humility for Maedhros right away so the corresponding sin fit nicely. Then lust for Tyelko. I knew I wouldn't do anger for Caranthir and his generosity to Haleth was so poignant to me I had to do greed/generosity for him. The twins were longer chapters partly because it gave me a chance to explore and flesh them out further. I'm really glad you liked this. Addiction as a form of gluttony worked for him, especially with the unending pain of his lost twin. He really loses himself here in his search to feel something. I'm glad the three C's were a surprise in their Fëanorian intervention! They do care about him and they are characters who take action when confronted with adversity. They rallied together and around him. Glad you liked the second part also!


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2018 13:34 · For: Amrod
Back again Nelya! :D

I read somewhere, quite recently, that Tolkien, from evidence his son Christopher had found, had been planning to write more story for Amras and Amrod, but never quite got around to it as he passed away not long after. Such a shame. Because if anyone's missed out on lack of story its the twins, Caranthir as well, as you've mentioned, but the twins most of all.

Anyway on to the chapter.

I really felt for Amrod in this chapter. He seemed like such a sensitive person in every sense of the word. And being sensitive means he's affected more by what goes on around him, hence the growing tensions between Feanor and Nolofinwe causing insomnia.

I did have to chuckle to myself when I read about Moryo marching up to his little brothers' room and delivering a blistering lecture on responsibility and diligence when he found it was Pityo's turn at breakfast duty and his brother hadn't turned up. I love Caranthir so much.

I loved the idea that he and Artanis were exceptionally close. Artanis sharing his ability to sense things. Sense coming events. The energy. They shared a level of understanding that even he and Telvo did not share.

By the time the events at Alqualonde poor Amrod is almost catatonic with the weight of the oath and what that means, death and despair and fear and the knowledge that it may never end this pursuit of vengeance. And it can't be easy watching his father succumb to madness.

I don't blame him for wanting to turn tail and flee back to Tirion and his mother and peace and beauty in the wake of what has transpired.

Those last precious moments aboard the swan ship where he believed he was safe. Safe in the knowledge that he would be sailing back to the opposite shore by morning. Suddenly waking to a disaster he had no idea was unfolding. So sad. So sad because he seemed such an innocent party to all this. He wanted none of it and was the first to die because he felt he owed love and loyalty to a father and High king. :(


I loved the second part.

Loved the idea of Amrod having dyslexia.

Nelyo really shines in this. The epitome of what a big brother should be. Kind, patient, compassionate and supportive. Take charge kind of guy.

He's almost like a father to all his younger brothers.

But Amrod's fear that he was letting his father down showed what kind of expectations being a son of Feanor demanded. Yet on the flip side it was good to see Feanor wasn't a complete task master and was willing to accept and understand that his son needed extra help.

I especially love the little moments at bedtime between Feanor and Pityo. Absolutely precious. Feanor can be such a wonderfully tender father at times.

You know it really shows that you've put a lot of work and effort into these chapters. Really thinking about each character and what sin would be appropriate for them. :D


I would love to get into Amras' chapter but its already super late here so I will get stuck into that one tomorrow, if its okay with you, Nelya!

And hopefully I will be able to include Maglor's and Tyelko's chapters as well, if you like.

Author's Response: What great comments Gabriel--thank you. I think there was much Tolkien would have elaborated on had he returned to this before his death. The twins did get short shift but not intentionally, I am sure. I did write him as very sensitive and perceptive--foresight is something we see in the Arafinweions but I wanted him to have a bit of it from Nerdanel. I see the twins being closest in age and friendship with Arakano and Artanis--the working of the mind bringing him closest to her though. The negative emotions and impending doom really weigh on him--to the point of insomnia and anxiety. But his chronic sleeplessness makes him less aware, more despairing -- and that leads him into danger. Catatonic is the perfect way to describe it and exactly what I was intending here. By the end of that scene he thinks he's made his escape but he's too distracted to know he has sealed his doom. I absolutely do not think Fëanor and the others forgot about him--it is clear that his twin thinks he has heard the arguments about torching the ships--none of them could think he would stow away. It's just wrong place wrong time and a guilt the others will carry forever. But in his stupor all he feels is the warmth and the peace, the smoke inhalation dulling his senses further. I am gratified the dyslexia idea worked for you! It is hard to not be good at everything in the house of Fëanor--expectations were so very high and the first two sons so skilled. I hunted at Tuelko's discontent and feeling of inadequacy in his chapter, Moryo also. Even Curvo feeling the unyielding weight of his father's legacy. The twins had hard acts to follow. I imagine it was devastating to Amrod to be failing at something so sacred to his father. And yes Nelyo is the hero in this. Sensing his disquiet, ferreting out the problem and puzzling out the solution and interceding with Fëanor. I wanted to show Fëanor being intrigued by the issue, never having encountered it before and likely thinking of a dozen ideas of his own to work on it but deferring to Nelyo's judgement. His love and gentleness needed to be evident in his bedtime conversation with Pityo. It was a lot of work and effort writing these chapters--I was writing one a day during Feanorion week last year because the inspiration of the sins idea only came to me as we left for spring break--two days before the Maedhros chapter was due! My family thought I was crazy, writing into the nights,, after daytime hours spent at Disney with them! Thank you for such in depth and thoughtful reviews. This fic has a special place in my heart and your comments have really been so appreciated.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 27, 2018 8:42 · For: Curufin
Gosh! Nelya!

Thoroughly enjoyed this chapter!

I like how Tyelko, Caranthir and Curufin have very distinctive variations in their anger.

And how Curufin's anger is normally a cold cutting anger with an expression devoid of emotion. But where Nolofinwe's involved it becomes 'incoherent rage.' His brother's standing by letting Curufin speak for them.

I absolutely loved Maedhros in this. Observing his brother with cool detachment and totally infuriating him.

I don't know why but I love it when the brother's are at each others throats. not all the time of course and not because I like seeing them fight but because of the drama it creates.

It was a huge surprise when Maglor shoved him against the wall and proceeded to defend the High King. I was half expecting Maedhros to be the one to do it but it made that moment all the more exciting having Maglor totally out of character.

'Jumped up Vanyar half-breed.' Ooh! Dripping with disdain. Love it! I have always wanted to read a fic where Curufin and Fingolfin face off. That would be something I'd pay to read. Sadly I haven't come across one yet.

The part that had me championing Maedhros was when he set the record straight about Nolofinwe being the rightful heir.

*Grandfather made Nolofinwe his regent when he gave up the crown. Not me. Nolofinwe. His second son. He never rescinded it. Is that not direct proof of the succession?*

And that's why Maedhros was King and Curufin was not. Totally loved this! I was sitting on the edge of my seat the whole time. :D

In contrast the second part to this wonderful chapter was so beautiful. It just showed how much Curufin had changed once they'd stepped foot in Ennor and how much of a great father he was to Tyelpe in those early years.


Making sure his father was away when he taught Tyelpe. Wanting to spend those first precious times intimately with Tyelpe and wanting his son to enjoy the forge and not be overwhelmed with worry and anxiety at pleasing his Grandfather.


Wonderful Nelya! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much Gabriel--love reading your reviews. I was bound and determined to NOT use anger for Caranthir--too predictable of a trope. Much more meaningful with Curufin. I wanted to show some facets of the other brothers--giving a glimpse of how they react when angry was a way to show more of their personalities. Curufin is pretty far gone here, to let his cold detached mask slip. Fëanor's legacy means much to each of his sons--they would not have followed him or his Oath if it did not. But it is something more when it comes to Curufin. It's what leads him from cold anger to incoherent rage in the scene. Crisp, cool Maedhros is just infuriating to Curufin here and that makes him cross a line with what he says. Even Tyelko and Moryo are not going to go that far. And Maglor is his brothers biggest proponent; he is not going to stand for anyone talking to Maedhros like that. I wanted it to be a surprise that he was the one to confront Curvo--but Maglor's anger, once roused, is implacable. The flip side of course is Curufin's tenderness and sensitivity with Tyelpe. Being careful that both his wife and father are away, so Tyelpe doesn't have anyone fussing at him about safety and readiness or raising concerns about his skills. Personally I do not think Fëanor would be as demanding with his grandson as he might have been with his sons but Curvo does not know that. Doing it this way ensures that grandfather can only have good things to say. It is a sad counterpoint to the other part of the story and definitely shows how much he changed.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 27, 2018 7:02 · For: Caranthir
Wow! Nelya! You come up with the most awesome ideas, my friend!

This whole set of stories was fantastic!

I felt a little for Caranthir. Maybe a lot. I think he is so misunderstood by his brothers being such a loner and having an exceptional mind for business. They tend to think he's using his position to no good end forcing their hand for profit. But they just can't see its just makes good business sense. And he's right in not wanting to treat his brother's any differently from his customers. Otherwise if they ever got wind of Caranthir favoring his brother's he may lose the contracts the business, everything and where then would the Noldor be.

Tyelko's outburst made me cringe. Poor Caranthir. It had me feeling even more sad for him, that he has to put up with that. But its good to see him standing his ground in the wake of it.


Then to read the charitable side of him, probably a side of him his brother's don't get to see.

And in this part it showed how desperately and heartwrenchingly lonely he is. Offering Haleth a piece of land where they could settle and make a life for themselves with the Elves as a protective wall. Someone Caranthir could befriend. I had the distinct feeling he wanted more though. Maybe my imagination.

It brought tears to my eyes when she thanked him for his offer but declined. :(

So enjoyed this!

Author's Response: Thank you! Seven sins/seven virtues just seemed to work for these guys. I'm glad you are enjoying them. I had never written the canon versions of the youngest five in such detail before I wrote this. This story allowed me to explore my thoughts about each of them and solidify some head canons too. I really like Caranthir. I feel he gets lost in the shuffle a bit, as do the twins. Maybe that's why those were some of my longest chapters and why I wanted each twin to have his own chapter. I see him as precise, disciplined, hard headed but fair. A strong personality but also strong in his convictions. He canonically befriends Men and Dwarves--I really like that idea. I can see where his precision would exasperate his brothers but it's not quite a sin here, is it? He was canonically gracious to Haleth and her people and what he offered was magnanimous and without debt. I am sorry she did not accept. I think he wanted more too but was too gentlemanly to push the issue. I'm curious what you think of the twins chapters!


Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: March 24, 2018 22:33 · For: Maedhros
This is lovely! I love that Maedhros loved to hear how people talked about him. Great way to impart how just utterly perfect he was and how confident he was. And just the right hint at Fingon and Maedhros. Looking forward to reading the rest.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yes I wanted to focus on his appearance before everything. We hear so much about it after he has been scarred and damaged but not before. And I wanted to show the contrast in the second part of thecMaedhtos chapter--when he passes the kingship to Nolofinwë and the memories of Maitimo before are jarring to him. I posted the whole fic at once--all the chapters together because there are some tie ins from one chapter to another.


You must login () to review.