| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8482
Word count: 25720926
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15752
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 14
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
06/25/18 07:39 pm
I hope all goes well with your mum, Spiced. Sending you good thoughts xxx
Spiced Wine
06/25/18 03:50 pm
Thank you very much! I am up the hospital with her every day this week for pre-chemo tests and pick insertion. It’ll be a long week
Gabriel
06/25/18 01:18 pm
Oh dear, Spiced! My thoughts are with you both in this challenging time. Sending a lot of positivity your way.
NelyafinweFeanorion
06/25/18 06:16 am
Sending good thoughts to you and your mother, Spiced!
Spiced Wine
06/24/18 09:42 pm
I will go in and sit with her, it’ll take 4 hours and they said 1 or 2 people were welcome.
Spiced Wine
06/24/18 09:41 pm
My mother starts chemo Thursday. They’re not sure it’ll do any good, but any good thoughts appreciated.
Alquien
06/24/18 12:35 am
I know. But I'll have to wait till Monday to talk to my internet company. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 09:37 pm
I remember it doing that years ago
Alquien
06/23/18 04:25 pm
I've tried both Google and Firefox since yesterday but I still can't get on. The connection keeps timing out. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 01:21 pm
I have not tried, I’m afraid, Alquien
Shout Archive


Reviews For Sunrise Over Ivrin

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 25, 2018 14:26 · For: Chapter 1

You did not see them burning in the West, my friend. There is some fell and terrible power trapped inside those jewels, and it is not the light of the Trees.”

Beautiful -and perfect.

 

This is a lovely scene, Narya- you say so much is such a short scene - and it is all rather gorgeous (I know I owe you a Finrod. Must try and get that done this holiday!!)



Author's Response: Thank you! :) I'm glad you like it. I have got very attached to this version of Finrod - and Celegorm. Haha, don't worry about "owing" me one; more Finrod is a good thing, whenever the muses happen to strike!


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2018 5:20 · For: Chapter 1
No matter how honorable, no matter how forgiving and no matter how impossibly nice Finrod is about the whole affair with Beren, no woman, no matter how fair or divine, is worth getting tortured by a dark lord over, especially magnificent Finrod.

Call me an Elf lover if you will. I just thought it was a complete and utter waste. Very VERY honorable, but a complete waste of a gorgeous being and a great and wise King.

The world was lesser for him not being in it.

I love how even after betrayal and the knowledge that his Cousins seize his throne even as he sits by the pool, Finrod shows utter love and loyalty to them. What a guy! His honor knows no bounds.

And no matter how terrible the crimes of Celegorm and Curufin against him, I still cannot bring myself to hate them. Neither can Finrod. I still love them as much as I did at the beginning. I guess we just understand what drives them.

Love him. Absolutely love him for his sacrifice. So sad. :(

Really love and enjoy every moment of these lovely stories and how you've kept this theme going, Narya! :D

Author's Response: I agree - not worth it at all! And you may be an Elf lover, but you're in good company here ;) interestingly, in my head I didn't have him being quite so pitying and forgiving; he just kind of wrote himself that way. And I can't bring myself to hate Celegorm and Curufin either. Such a tragic mess :( but I'm really pleased you enjoyed it, Gabriel, thank you so much for commenting.


Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2018 22:48 · For: Chapter 1
Lovely moment here , Narya. On my latest reading of the Silmarillion I really focused on the Nargothrond arc and poor, dear Finrod. I hate the fact that he went with Beren. I don't think it was a worthy cause and certainly not worth Finrod's life. Just elope with her and leave your friends out of it Beren! And much as I despise what C&C did to Finrod in Nargothrond (he deserved better from family!) the involvement of a Silmaril made the situation unbearable. I love your scene here with Finrod and how he gets that the Oath has completely enmeshed his cousins. And being Finrod he pities them rather than resents them.

Author's Response: Thanks, Nelya! I hate it too; it was definitely not worth it. The more I re-read the Silm, the more I feel sorry for Celegorm and Curufin, hence this current patch of vignettes and one shots. I'm really glad you enjoyed it :)


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2018 20:34 · For: Chapter 1
No, it wasn’t worth it, and I have always grieved for Finrod. I think Beren was ignoble to ask him for help for some woman, no matter how beautiful. he was acting like a complete mooncalf as they say *rolls eyes*. Myself, I’d have killed him and dumped him in a hole somewhere, because I’m ignoble too ;)

Finrod deserved so much more, but I do think he did understand what drove Celegorm and Curufin, an Oath unbreakable, and that makes it so much worse, somehow.

Lovely vignette, Narya. So sad.

Author's Response: I agree - Beren should never have asked!! But Finrod was too honourable and couldn't say no. I'm really glad you liked it; this is one of the saddest parts of the Silm for me. Finrod's death is the one that makes me saddest because it felt utterly futile, and Beren and Luthien don't even seem that grateful afterwards!


You must login () to review.