| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Old Bones by Narya General Audiences
Maglor examines some old relics in the Basilica di Santa Maria in Cosmedin. Written for Valentine's Day; posting a few days...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Artifices of Gold and Shadow by Marchwriter Mature
When a ‘messenger of the Valar’ arrives on a rainy night, Celebrimbor — living quietly in exile — offers him shelter...
Moderately Functional by KimicThranduilion General Audiences
When Legolas’ intended day off drinking his favourite Dorwinion is interrupted for an important mission he is determined...
Friendship Amidst Loss by KimicThranduilion Teen
When Legolas and his troop become targets for slave traders tragedy strikes and the Prince suffers a devastating loss after...
Fragments from Middle-earth by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Ficlets of under 1000 words written for past BTMEM Challenges. They feature mostly Aragorn, Faramir, Halbarad and OCs
Oaths of Allegiance by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
 Faramir takes an oath of fealty to two very different liege lords.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 88
Stories: 1716
Chapters: 8742
Word count: 26619550
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16462
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 30
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 14
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
02/16/19 01:52 pm
B2Me is underway folks. Amazing collection of Bingo Cards!
ziggy
02/16/19 10:56 am
Sounds like we've got some good new fics/updates on their way if everyone is writing this weekend:)
Gabriel
02/15/19 10:13 pm
I've been working so hard to get them done, that I'm done in the process.
Gabriel
02/15/19 10:12 pm
That sounds like my kind of weekend. Spiced! Hopefully I can have some fics finished for everyone to read. Fingers crossed. :)
Narya
02/15/19 10:12 pm
Similar I think! It's meant to be cloudy here but no rain forecast so I think a walk to start with, then some writing time
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 07:36 pm
Not really, but the weather is supposed to be quite mild and nice. Probably relax and write and go for a couple of walks. You?
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 07:15 pm
Not really, but the weather is supposed to be quite mild and nice. Probably relax and write and go for a couple of walks. You?
Narya
02/15/19 06:36 pm
Fri-yay! :D anybody got any nice plans this weekend?
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 10:11 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
02/14/19 09:46 pm
And to you, Alquien :)
Shout Archive



Name: Kalendeer (Signed) · Date: May 15, 2018 13:25 · For: Chapter 1

Reading this right after Winter's Lease makes Winter's Lease totally depressing.

I like that you've fleshed out the family with Findis and Lalwen's children. Sometimes when I read fics I have the feeling that no one exists appart from the boys: they have no friends, no cousins from Indis OR Miriel OR Nerdanel's lines.



Author's Response: Ahh, sorry! At some point I do plan to write the full story of the betrayal, which really will be depressing...but I'm glad you like that I included the extended families. I agree with you, I think it does sometimes feel like there is nobody else except the boys who get mentioned in the books. I haven't written anything yet about cousins on their respective mothers' and grandmothers' sides, though...now there's a thought!! :) thank you for your kind comments.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 12, 2018 5:01 · For: Chapter 1
Oh my gosh! Narya! Another of your wonderful fics! I think we're all very spoilt. :)

How on earth are you managing to post one to two a week? I'm struggling to finish one I started a couple of weeks ago. lol


This was one of the best story's I've read yet. So much unity, so much harmony.

I like to think that all the cousins had close friendships, before everything began to fall apart. They're one big happy family in this, exactly how they should be. Wonderful!

There were so many parts I loved:

Nelyo and Findekano for one. *Nelyo laughed and sprawled on the couch. Findekano sat on the floor beside him, and Nelyo trailed his fingers absently through the silky black hair. For a brief moment Tyelkormo's eyes met Findarato's and they shared an exasperated smile, the same question at the surface of both their minds.

Will they not just admit it to themselves?*

It was also so refreshing to have Turukano happy and sharing his joy with his family. I really loved that part. I would love to read more fics on Turgon, but no-one seems to like writing him as a protagonist, preferring to have him as a background character instead. But if he appeared a completely different character...like this, or at least before all the pain and grief of the betrayal and Helcaraxe, he would probably be a joy to read about.

And when Turukano told everyone Elenwe said 'Yes' Irisse's excited outbursts, almost made me squeal in excitement too-so swept up in the moment and story I was. I'm sorry, Narya, I always wonder whether I sound a bit weird to some. But I just devour stories. Eat, sleep and drink them.

But I think the part of the story I loved the most, that had me almost in tears was Indis entry into the room. At first you think, 'Oh my gosh, she's going to give them all an earful.' But then...

*Her lips curled in amusement. "Aren't you all getting rather old for this?"

Tyelkormo released a breath he hadn't realised he'd been holding. He summoned his best winning smile. "You are as old as you feel, and no more, Grandmother," he said-for so he always called her and felt towards her, whatever his father might wish.*

Grandmother! Tyelkormo called her Grandmother! So wonderful! And such a surprise too! And a beautiful and touching end to the story.

I thoroughly enjoyed this, Narya! And I would love to read more of the House of Finwe in happier times, if you have it or would see your way clear to adding to it at some stage. :)

Author's Response: What a lovely review, Gabriel. Thank you so much for taking the time to write all of that :) I'm really pleased you enjoyed the story so much. Honestly, it's unusual for me to be posting such a lot. I've written more in the last six months than probably the previous five years put together - I got really out of the habit of writing when I left university, as I was sitting accountancy exams and buying a house and getting married, and everything was just crazy, then I couldn't seem to find the swing of it again until recently. Anyway...I share your feelings on Turgon! He's not terribly appealing as he's written in the books, but he's Fingolfin's son, and clearly Aredhel, Glorfindel, Voronwë etc. loved him and were loyal to him. There must have been something there to care about! After writing this I am actually tempted to write some Turgon/Elenwë - either their courtship, or the preparations for their marriage. I also want to write an Idril who isn't drippy or shallow, but who knows if/when I'll get to that?! I think it's lovely that you were caught up in the story; as a writer that makes me incredibly happy, and I don't think it's weird at all. As for more happy House of Finwë - yes, there will be some, but this whole mob of characters and plotlines started because I am writing a Maglor-in-history arc. I got so excited sketching out the backstory that a lot of moments and relationships, things that were just intended as flashbacks or references, are quickly morphing into fics in their own right. Back to Middle-earth Month is helping as well - all those lovely prompts for inspiration - but once that's over I really need to give Maglor some love, and keep working on Three. Thank you again for such a lovely review, my dear; it put a huge grin on my face. And good luck with your fic; I can't wait to read it!


Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: March 11, 2018 6:43 · For: Chapter 1
I just loved this! I live for Finweion fluff like this. From Tyelko's hazy, grumpy awakening , to Irisse's capable handling of him, golden Findarato, the lively little ones, loving and besotted Nelyo and Finno, a dancing Curufin--what's not to love?!? Little details like Irisse's expression, Nelyo and Finno's gentle unthinking touches, the characteristics of each one coming out to clearly. And Turko so very happy with his news. Even the moment with Indis was so positive and teasing. It made me smile to read this, but being me it also made me cry--for what was, what could have been and what actually happened. Lovely!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it. Sometimes you just need to forget the heartbreak and bloodbaths...one of the reasons I love your modern day take so much! I'm a sucker for fluff and want to see them all happy - but I love the bleakness and tragedy of their story too :( can't win! I'm pleased you picked out Irisse in this, I enjoyed writing her - a little bossy, and wise/streetsmart beyond her years. I also found myself liking Turukano much more than I expected; I guess that's what happens when you write them at the "young and innocent" stage. It will make the Gondolin arc very difficult to write, if I ever get there...thank you so much for commenting, Nelya :)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 11, 2018 4:09 · For: Chapter 1

Oh what a joyful scene- I love how it travels from a grumpy hung-over Tyelko to this bundling of family, esp Nelyo and Fin completely oblivious- just nice to see them all happy.



Author's Response: Thank you for reading and commenting, ziggy - glad you liked it. I enjoyed writing them free of angst and tragedy! And yes, Nelyo and Kano...oblivious is the word...bless them.


Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: March 10, 2018 23:28 · For: Chapter 1
Oh i love feel food Finweion fluff!!! And this was just perfect, featuring all of them. coming from a family with many siblings and cousins, this sounds just right!! Lovely, Lovely, lovely!!!

Author's Response: I'm a sucker for it too, I'm a firm believer that they were all good friends (at least the younger generation) before Morgoth spoiled it all. I come from a big family too, although not as big as this one, and we're all close, so I love writing stories that play with that dynamic. I'm really glad you enjoyed it, thank you so much for commenting!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 10, 2018 20:23 · For: Chapter 1
Aww, this was a nice glimpse of something positive and happy — it really makes me sad, reading how things were before everything went wrong :(. But lovely, Narya

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. It makes me sad too...but I had fun writing it. I've got very attached to Celegorm and his friendship with Finrod, there are at least three more stories there (including the betrayal, I'm putting off writing that one...) - and for the first time I found myself liking Turgon as I was writing this. Go figure. Thank you so much for reading and commenting *hugs* xx oh - and the garden you sent me is so lovely and relaxing! It's the perfect thing to unwind with after work, so thank you very much, it's helped to get me through a tricky week.


You must login () to review.