| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Shine by cheekybeak General Audiences
A bond between brothers helps a small elfling cope with his grief beneath the boughs of the Greenwood. prequel to “Light...
Hope in the Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
How Thrain kept the map and key safe from Sauron in Dol Guldur. Written for the Teitho contest picture challenge where it...
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1651
Chapters: 8441
Word count: 25534317
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15668
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 11
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
05/21/18 08:16 pm
Aragorn can't join - by emotionally blackmailing Legolas to accompany him on the Paths of the Dead, he's firmly on my blacklist!
cheekybeak
05/21/18 08:03 pm
SPCL? Society for prevention of cruelty to Legolas? RSPCL if Aragorn joins!
Naledi
05/21/18 06:02 pm
Yay, Nelya! We can be founder members of SACL. I tried to think of something with a better acronym - I'm open to suggestions!
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/21/18 03:25 pm
Naledi I'm with you on the Society Against Cruelty to Legolas (SACL)!! ;-) but who are we kidding--we read it all and love it anyway, despite the misadventures of our dear Elf!
Spiced Wine
05/20/18 10:38 am
I think it’s a sensible choice. Aragorn has a large backstory going back many years, so it was always going to be one of their first choices.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 05:43 am
It's an expensive gamble they have taken--they have to nail this first season. Also the TolkienEstate is far more involved in this one I hear.
Formegil
05/20/18 05:31 am
A quite big "if", I'd say. Just look what mess was made out of the Hobbit movie. Nowadays I tend to be a bit cynical. So I say the series is good if it will be at least not cringeworthy.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:49 am
As well as Elladan and Elrohir and the Rangers of the North. It could be a hit if done right. Plus the Arwen love interest.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:48 am
I am actually relieved the Amazon series is starting with young Aragorn. There is much canon content to work with, he's a familiar character and chance to see Glorfindel, Gilraen
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:47 am
And that's how they learn about the weaknesses of dragons! From the little guy Aegnor adopted.
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2018 11:53 · For: Chapter 1
Beautiful beloved Finrod!

You write him so beautifully and have really captured the essence of him. A strong and indomitable force and a little intimidating too. But not without tact and kindness. He used to be a King afterall.

I've read fics in the past where the writer makes him a little too weak for my liking, no fault of their own. I just think he's a little difficult to get right. But you Cheekybeak, perfect!

I absolutely loved the way Finrod helped Legolas deal with his grief. Its a wonderful thought, everyone reborn to tread Arda side by side. I hope he's right! I would love to see that! It was beautifully executed too, and if Legolas is better for it, then I say a job well done Finrod! :)

Author's Response:

How did I miss responding to this?! :-o

This review made my day. You have no idea how much I angsted over Finrod! I was so intimidated by him. (Just like Legolas) 

like you, I don’t really like a weak Finrod. He’s not weak, hers awesome. He fought Sauron, he fought a werewolf with his bare hands....I wanted him to be strong and yet still caring. I think Finrod would enjoy Legolas silvan people, a people not ever really destined for Valinor. He loved difference. Other cultures fascinated him. Valinor must have been a very suffocating place for Finrod I think. 



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: March 03, 2018 23:50 · For: Chapter 1
I also forgot to mention how happy I am that Gimli met Finrod!! I was so hoping they would meet each other and I knew they would get along. But I'm sure this is troubling and upsetting too Legolas too--but I think it's good for him to hear his name and I think it's good for him to hear that Gimli believed. Somehow I think that's very important in the whole scheme of things. Finrod really is masterful here.

Author's Response:

I couldnt imagine Finrod being aware there was a dwarf in Valinor and NOT meeting him. It would be like a moth to a flame. Finrod was curious, he liked to be challenged and he loved to learn about other cultures. Out of all the first age elves that was his speciality. Gimli would gone to see Galadriel and Finrod would have been there in a flash. 

Hard for Legolas, yes, to think of Gimli visiting with Finrod and not telling him —I’m not yet sure exactly why Gimli did that. But it is very important to Legolas that Gimli believed this. There is no one who’s opinion he values more than Gimli. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 03, 2018 19:29 · For: Chapter 1

I love this! Legolas really needs to be challenged - he's made sweeping assumptions about the Noldor and thinks he's the only one who's sundered forever from his loved ones. I love how Finrod opens his eyes to the loss of others, and also the possibility he will see his mortal friends again.



Author's Response:

My Legolas has always been guilty of making sweeping assumptions of the Noldor! Even though he loves one of them. 

But he is drowning in his sadness and grief here, and needed a bolt of light to energise him out of it. Who better than golden Finrod? And Finrod will be sympathetic where sympathy is due but he will not indulge self pity. Dont tell Finrod you’re the only one who knows about loss! Legolas needed that telling off. 



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: March 03, 2018 18:33 · For: Chapter 1
I can't tell you how much I love this story. Thranduil shows so much concern here--to the point of confiding in others outside the family, which says a lot. Reaching out to Noldor for help. I love the watchfulness of them, as they facilitate this encounter. That Celeborn, who doesn't always see eye to eye with Finrod, thinks this intervention will be of help to his friend's son--that all says quite a bit about Legolas' current state and Finrod's presence/ability/gift.

I love Finrod. He is so open, so confident--characterized so well with his questioning nature, solid beliefs and independent thinking, and he's not going to take any nonsense or tantrums or illogical behaviour from Legolas. He shuts him down by reminding him he isn't the only one who has lost beloved mortals. He shuts him down when Legolas gets indignant about his not knowing about the ring being returned to Finrod. He's truly masterful in his directness, his gravitas but also his shining, infectious joy and conviction. He's just brilliant and I think he is so well done here. The palpable hope rising in Legolas at his words is so uplifting. Legolas has desperately needed a dose of philosophical, brilliant, golden Finrod.
I love the last bit-- where Legolas finds himself in all those titles and names for himself. It's a strong realization.

Author's Response:

Poor sweet Thranduil, (yes I know Sweet is not an adjective you would usually apply to Thranduil but he IS sweet here in his parental worry) His son is numb, detached, going through the motions of life and they are all failing at helping him find a way out of that. 

Then golden Finrod appears and shatters that glass Legolas is hiding behind. I really wanted to convey Finrod’s power and hope I managed it. I wanted him to be like a lightning bolt into Legolas’ dark world. 

And yeah . . . Finrod isn’t in to mollycoddling sad elves. Legolas is not going to get any “poor you, it must have been tough” from Finrod. 

Finrod had it tough! 

He will listen, and sympathise, and heal, but he won’t encourage self pity. A bit like Gimli really. :-) 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: March 03, 2018 14:50 · For: Chapter 1
I love this! What a gorgeous characterisation of Finrod :) golden and dangerous and kind. Wonderful.

Author's Response:

Glad you liked Finrod. I have never written a First Age elf before (seriously, the funny stories don’t count) and I found Finrod a bit intimidating. I think he would be something special. An elf above others and wasn’t sure I could capture his power. I didn’t want him too sugar sweet either. He IS dangerous! 



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: March 03, 2018 7:44 · For: Chapter 1
Oh my goodness! I am internally sobbing! This is so beautiful and so lovely! I love the interactions of Finrod and Legolas, especially seeing Finrod through Legolas' eyes. I love that Finrod is still rebelling, still questioning, how he lovingly puts Legolas in his place. It's very evlen! Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response:

Thanks! 

This is my first attempt at writing Finrod ....or indeed any of the first age elves. It was intimidating and nerve wracking I have to say and I hope I did him justice. 

To me Finrod had this inate need to question ....and interest in different cultures. I can’t see him ever “settling” for the rules! He is always on a quest to learn more. 



You must login () to review.