| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Old Bones by Narya General Audiences
Maglor examines some old relics in the Basilica di Santa Maria in Cosmedin. Written for Valentine's Day; posting a few days...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Artifices of Gold and Shadow by Marchwriter Mature
When a ‘messenger of the Valar’ arrives on a rainy night, Celebrimbor — living quietly in exile — offers him shelter...
Moderately Functional by KimicThranduilion General Audiences
When Legolas’ intended day off drinking his favourite Dorwinion is interrupted for an important mission he is determined...
Friendship Amidst Loss by KimicThranduilion Teen
When Legolas and his troop become targets for slave traders tragedy strikes and the Prince suffers a devastating loss after...
Fragments from Middle-earth by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Ficlets of under 1000 words written for past BTMEM Challenges. They feature mostly Aragorn, Faramir, Halbarad and OCs
Oaths of Allegiance by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
 Faramir takes an oath of fealty to two very different liege lords.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 88
Stories: 1716
Chapters: 8742
Word count: 26619548
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16463
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 30
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 18
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
02/16/19 01:52 pm
B2Me is underway folks. Amazing collection of Bingo Cards!
ziggy
02/16/19 10:56 am
Sounds like we've got some good new fics/updates on their way if everyone is writing this weekend:)
Gabriel
02/15/19 10:13 pm
I've been working so hard to get them done, that I'm done in the process.
Gabriel
02/15/19 10:12 pm
That sounds like my kind of weekend. Spiced! Hopefully I can have some fics finished for everyone to read. Fingers crossed. :)
Narya
02/15/19 10:12 pm
Similar I think! It's meant to be cloudy here but no rain forecast so I think a walk to start with, then some writing time
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 07:36 pm
Not really, but the weather is supposed to be quite mild and nice. Probably relax and write and go for a couple of walks. You?
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 07:15 pm
Not really, but the weather is supposed to be quite mild and nice. Probably relax and write and go for a couple of walks. You?
Narya
02/15/19 06:36 pm
Fri-yay! :D anybody got any nice plans this weekend?
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 10:11 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
02/14/19 09:46 pm
And to you, Alquien :)
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2018 11:53 · For: Chapter 1
Beautiful beloved Finrod!

You write him so beautifully and have really captured the essence of him. A strong and indomitable force and a little intimidating too. But not without tact and kindness. He used to be a King afterall.

I've read fics in the past where the writer makes him a little too weak for my liking, no fault of their own. I just think he's a little difficult to get right. But you Cheekybeak, perfect!

I absolutely loved the way Finrod helped Legolas deal with his grief. Its a wonderful thought, everyone reborn to tread Arda side by side. I hope he's right! I would love to see that! It was beautifully executed too, and if Legolas is better for it, then I say a job well done Finrod! :)

Author's Response:

How did I miss responding to this?! :-o

This review made my day. You have no idea how much I angsted over Finrod! I was so intimidated by him. (Just like Legolas) 

like you, I don’t really like a weak Finrod. He’s not weak, hers awesome. He fought Sauron, he fought a werewolf with his bare hands....I wanted him to be strong and yet still caring. I think Finrod would enjoy Legolas silvan people, a people not ever really destined for Valinor. He loved difference. Other cultures fascinated him. Valinor must have been a very suffocating place for Finrod I think. 



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: March 03, 2018 23:50 · For: Chapter 1
I also forgot to mention how happy I am that Gimli met Finrod!! I was so hoping they would meet each other and I knew they would get along. But I'm sure this is troubling and upsetting too Legolas too--but I think it's good for him to hear his name and I think it's good for him to hear that Gimli believed. Somehow I think that's very important in the whole scheme of things. Finrod really is masterful here.

Author's Response:

I couldnt imagine Finrod being aware there was a dwarf in Valinor and NOT meeting him. It would be like a moth to a flame. Finrod was curious, he liked to be challenged and he loved to learn about other cultures. Out of all the first age elves that was his speciality. Gimli would gone to see Galadriel and Finrod would have been there in a flash. 

Hard for Legolas, yes, to think of Gimli visiting with Finrod and not telling him —I’m not yet sure exactly why Gimli did that. But it is very important to Legolas that Gimli believed this. There is no one who’s opinion he values more than Gimli. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 03, 2018 19:29 · For: Chapter 1

I love this! Legolas really needs to be challenged - he's made sweeping assumptions about the Noldor and thinks he's the only one who's sundered forever from his loved ones. I love how Finrod opens his eyes to the loss of others, and also the possibility he will see his mortal friends again.



Author's Response:

My Legolas has always been guilty of making sweeping assumptions of the Noldor! Even though he loves one of them. 

But he is drowning in his sadness and grief here, and needed a bolt of light to energise him out of it. Who better than golden Finrod? And Finrod will be sympathetic where sympathy is due but he will not indulge self pity. Dont tell Finrod you’re the only one who knows about loss! Legolas needed that telling off. 



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: March 03, 2018 18:33 · For: Chapter 1
I can't tell you how much I love this story. Thranduil shows so much concern here--to the point of confiding in others outside the family, which says a lot. Reaching out to Noldor for help. I love the watchfulness of them, as they facilitate this encounter. That Celeborn, who doesn't always see eye to eye with Finrod, thinks this intervention will be of help to his friend's son--that all says quite a bit about Legolas' current state and Finrod's presence/ability/gift.

I love Finrod. He is so open, so confident--characterized so well with his questioning nature, solid beliefs and independent thinking, and he's not going to take any nonsense or tantrums or illogical behaviour from Legolas. He shuts him down by reminding him he isn't the only one who has lost beloved mortals. He shuts him down when Legolas gets indignant about his not knowing about the ring being returned to Finrod. He's truly masterful in his directness, his gravitas but also his shining, infectious joy and conviction. He's just brilliant and I think he is so well done here. The palpable hope rising in Legolas at his words is so uplifting. Legolas has desperately needed a dose of philosophical, brilliant, golden Finrod.
I love the last bit-- where Legolas finds himself in all those titles and names for himself. It's a strong realization.

Author's Response:

Poor sweet Thranduil, (yes I know Sweet is not an adjective you would usually apply to Thranduil but he IS sweet here in his parental worry) His son is numb, detached, going through the motions of life and they are all failing at helping him find a way out of that. 

Then golden Finrod appears and shatters that glass Legolas is hiding behind. I really wanted to convey Finrod’s power and hope I managed it. I wanted him to be like a lightning bolt into Legolas’ dark world. 

And yeah . . . Finrod isn’t in to mollycoddling sad elves. Legolas is not going to get any “poor you, it must have been tough” from Finrod. 

Finrod had it tough! 

He will listen, and sympathise, and heal, but he won’t encourage self pity. A bit like Gimli really. :-) 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: March 03, 2018 14:50 · For: Chapter 1
I love this! What a gorgeous characterisation of Finrod :) golden and dangerous and kind. Wonderful.

Author's Response:

Glad you liked Finrod. I have never written a First Age elf before (seriously, the funny stories don’t count) and I found Finrod a bit intimidating. I think he would be something special. An elf above others and wasn’t sure I could capture his power. I didn’t want him too sugar sweet either. He IS dangerous! 



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: March 03, 2018 7:44 · For: Chapter 1
Oh my goodness! I am internally sobbing! This is so beautiful and so lovely! I love the interactions of Finrod and Legolas, especially seeing Finrod through Legolas' eyes. I love that Finrod is still rebelling, still questioning, how he lovingly puts Legolas in his place. It's very evlen! Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response:

Thanks! 

This is my first attempt at writing Finrod ....or indeed any of the first age elves. It was intimidating and nerve wracking I have to say and I hope I did him justice. 

To me Finrod had this inate need to question ....and interest in different cultures. I can’t see him ever “settling” for the rules! He is always on a quest to learn more. 



You must login () to review.