| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Choose Life by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Hovering between  life and death, Faramir faces a choice.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...
Song for the Morning by Narya General Audiences
In which Tyelkormo has a hangover, Findaráto gets a black eye, and Turukáno has some big news.
Of Rangers and Cats by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A few scenes from the lives of Aragorn and Halbarad and some Felines.
Three by Narya Mature
As children, Filwyn, Haddan and Leofwyne of Rohan barely spent a moment apart. But as they grow up and the War of the Ring...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 81
Stories: 1621
Chapters: 8325
Word count: 25161906
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15378
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 28
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9

Who's Online

Guests: 13


Spiced Wine
03/18/18 04:18 pm
I’m doing a lot of bird feeding, Ziggy! And foxes, there are some around and I always feel sorry for them, too. Don’t tell anyone, but there is one poor rat that I feed too
03/18/18 03:20 pm
If you're stuck indoors, check out Black Rebel Motorcycle Club Wrong Creatures- current soundtrack of the BMW ad -bit like Kasabian.They are my current soundtrack for Elrohir
03/18/18 02:56 pm
Same here- snowed all day. My shetland pony SO resentful about being outside! My TB happy as a lark- charging about the filed, bucking and rearing. But poor little birds- feed them if you can.
Spiced Wine
03/18/18 10:21 am
Woke up to a blizzard and about 5 inches of snow, of course it’s drifted so it’s not really that deep
03/18/18 09:03 am
We had a good covering of snow yesterday and it’s still snowing. Really fed up with winter now. As Spiced says, thought, it’s forecast to clear soon.
Spiced Wine
03/17/18 10:27 pm
Us too, Narya. Grr. I am sick of it. But this is not going top last as long, apparently.
03/17/18 03:33 pm
We've got snow again...!
Spiced Wine
03/16/18 07:41 pm
Have a lovely weekend :)
03/16/18 11:36 am
Have a great weekend everyone. You too Narya! :)
03/16/18 10:59 am
Yay, Friday!! Happy nearly-weekend, everyone.
Shout Archive

Reviews For Nowhere Man

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 24, 2018 7:42 · For: Chapter 1
This was so different! Nelya!

I love the Beatles! But I only knew their music through my Mum who was THE biggest fan. Her favorite was George Harrison.

I know you loved the Beatles just as much if not more. Did you have to do a lot of research to write this fic, or did you already know the details of Beatles' musical history etc? I'm asking because it looks as if you've done alot of background work that not everyone knows about, their lives as well as their music. I know an avid fan would probably know more about the group than anyone else, but I was just curious because it really shows.

Sorry. I hope I made sense above.

I especially loved Maglor's many friendships through the centuries with other famous and legendary musicians and artists. My favorite Leonardo Da Vinci. Such a genius.

The end part of the chapter got me. I felt so sad that Maglor wanted this to be the end of his life. Don't get me wrong, I was happy that he had found happiness finally in his long life, its just having him disappear from this world after so long, I feel its such a great loss to all. :(

Such a wonderful read!

Author's Response: I must confess I didn't have to do much research other than pin down some dates as far as the rumors and which album they were working on. I've read enough about them that I knew which real life names made sense to use. I did have to do some research on contact lenses, to make sure they were around back then--they were, so that tidbit worked. I would love to write more about Maglor through the ages. Homer, Leonardo and Mozart seemed like obvious choices--I can find resonances to him in each of them. It is a great loss at the end. But this last life was so good, so positive, with him finding inspiration, friends and love. I can see how he would be devastated to try to start again. He's ready to go home. Now I wonder about his half elven children though!

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 22, 2018 21:52 · For: Chapter 1

What a great idea!!!! I'm a fan too:) Lovely- in particular I liked the image of him helping Mozart with Requiem- amazing piece, and his ;friend, Ravel'. Love that smattering of great names- and Jane Asher's hair. Nice ending- cheerful end for Maglor.

Author's Response: Thanks Ziggy! I'm quite tempted to do a Maglor through the Ages bit. I can see him being such an influence in the Iliad, the Odyssey, the tragedies of Aeschylus and Euripides. The wrath of Achilles, the love of Achilles and Patroclus, the wily inventiveness of Odysseus, the honor or Hector. The tragedy of Antigone and the brutal fate of Orestes. The musical influences, the artists.

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: February 20, 2018 21:47 · For: Chapter 1
Just spotted the ridiculous spelling mistake in my last review, obviously I meant Florence...!

Author's Response: I knew what you meant!!

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: February 20, 2018 8:03 · For: Chapter 1
I love this!! What a fantastic idea, taking a real conspiracy theory and putting this twist on it. I love the sweeping tour of what Maglor did up to this point - particularly attached to the idea of him in Renaissance Florescent. Into the headcanon it goes! The relationship with Jane was really touching - that respect, but tempered by the fact that she reminded him of Maedhros. Love all the little Silm touches too, with Maglor constantly being reminded of his family dynamic. Wonderful :-)

Author's Response: Thanks Narya! I'm so glad you do! It brought two of my loves together and the "Paul is dead " narrative really lent itself to this idea. The concept of Maglor through time fascinates me. There is no way I can imagine he didn't spend time in Ancient Greece--from the sculptures that make me think of Nerdanel, to the astronomy and math, the architecture but most definitely the epic stories and plays. Don't you see echoes of the Silm characters in the Iliad? It hits me. The Odyssey too, not to mention snippets from Antigone and the tragedy of Orestes. And he most definitely was in Italy during the Renaissance--and of course he found Leonardo! Leonardo's notebooks and inventions and research and writing--they all make me think of Fëanor. And of course the composers in later years--music where he expressed himself best. I liked the dynamic of the Beatles and his lost brothers--so many parallels there. I'm thrilled you enjoyed it. I'd love to explore Maglor through the ages more someday.

You must login () to review.