| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Choose Life by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Hovering between  life and death, Faramir faces a choice.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...
Song for the Morning by Narya General Audiences
In which Tyelkormo has a hangover, Findaráto gets a black eye, and Turukáno has some big news.
Of Rangers and Cats by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A few scenes from the lives of Aragorn and Halbarad and some Felines.
Three by Narya Mature
As children, Filwyn, Haddan and Leofwyne of Rohan barely spent a moment apart. But as they grow up and the War of the Ring...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 81
Stories: 1621
Chapters: 8325
Word count: 25161906
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15378
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 28
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9

Who's Online

Guests: 11


Spiced Wine
03/18/18 04:18 pm
I’m doing a lot of bird feeding, Ziggy! And foxes, there are some around and I always feel sorry for them, too. Don’t tell anyone, but there is one poor rat that I feed too
03/18/18 03:20 pm
If you're stuck indoors, check out Black Rebel Motorcycle Club Wrong Creatures- current soundtrack of the BMW ad -bit like Kasabian.They are my current soundtrack for Elrohir
03/18/18 02:56 pm
Same here- snowed all day. My shetland pony SO resentful about being outside! My TB happy as a lark- charging about the filed, bucking and rearing. But poor little birds- feed them if you can.
Spiced Wine
03/18/18 10:21 am
Woke up to a blizzard and about 5 inches of snow, of course it’s drifted so it’s not really that deep
03/18/18 09:03 am
We had a good covering of snow yesterday and it’s still snowing. Really fed up with winter now. As Spiced says, thought, it’s forecast to clear soon.
Spiced Wine
03/17/18 10:27 pm
Us too, Narya. Grr. I am sick of it. But this is not going top last as long, apparently.
03/17/18 03:33 pm
We've got snow again...!
Spiced Wine
03/16/18 07:41 pm
Have a lovely weekend :)
03/16/18 11:36 am
Have a great weekend everyone. You too Narya! :)
03/16/18 10:59 am
Yay, Friday!! Happy nearly-weekend, everyone.
Shout Archive

Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2018 19:30 · For: Chapter 1
oh Narya!! my favorite pairing and done so beautifully.
from this first glimpse of Maedhros through Fingon's eyes--the poignancy and sense of loss there.

'then raised his head and caught sight of his cousin galloping across the field on Lossë, his great white stallion. The dawn light flashed through Maedhros's coppery hair. Fingon's soul swelled as his cousin rode down a gaggle of Orcs, trampling them beneath Lossë's hooves as though they were no more than maggots.

As Maedhros circled back he brandished his sword aloft, and his face seemed fey and cruel in the blood-red dawn. Grief threaded through Fingon's pride. Since Thangorodrim his kinsman had grown fierce and terrible, the gentle Maitimo of old lost beneath this hard, distant stranger – and then more of the creatures were upon him, and there was no more time to stare."

But the moment of sudden danger and Fingon thinking this might just be his end and Maedhros like an avenging demigod comes to his rescue--perfect moment!

little details--how Fingon notices all those little details about Maedhros down to the familiarity of his scent, his hair in the light, the nuances of the color of his eyes. And the pain of the enforced distance that he has not been able to bridge. The yearning for it so real for Fingon.

his utter joy and bittersweet feeling at being Maedhros laugh again, the exhilaration of a private moment with him, so unexpected but longed for.

Maedhros knows him so well--it comes out in his remonstration to leave the field after Fingon's injury, his gentle forehead kiss at the healers pallet, his realization of Fingon's apprehension at the sight of Thangorodrim.

I loved Fingon's confession to the supposedly unconscious Maedhros and that stubborn, self recriminating need for Maedhros to protect those around him from himself and withhold his own confession until now. aargh. I see him that way myself.

so much longing, love, pent up attraction. shines through and so hot.

I love your description of their feas and mind touches. So individual and unique.

aargh. that hope. I'm so glad to brought them here and some measure of joy in the intervening years before the next tragedy.

I have always headcanoned that their relationship began in Aman but tentative and new before being sundered by the ship burning. Probably because I wanted some happy times for them before the misery. But I really love your version so very much--it works so well in the unrequited sense.

Maglor giving his blessing and a subtle shovel at the same time was lovely.

Lovely and would read more of this! Made my day.

Author's Response: Hi Nelya! I really enjoyed writing Maedhros coming to Fingon's rescue; had to be done. I'm so glad you liked the little details too, like Maedhros's scent and hair. It was a really emotional process getting under their skins and seeing everything through their eyes. I'm really pleased you liked the kiss on the forehead after they'd been with the healer, that was one of my personal favourite moments :) to me that was like Maedhros saying "I love you but I can't say anything...yet." And yes, Maglor - I couldn't resist giving him that little bit at the end. Thank you so much for your lovely comments, Nelya. There may be more of these two to come as part of the Maglor-centric series I'm currently drafting/planning; I'd like to write more of their backstory, and see where they go from here.

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2018 10:33 · For: Chapter 1

Oh- that is just perfect. I think this is my favourite F/M story -I love that you have kept them yearning and deep UST to be resolved now after the Dagor Aglareb- my favourite battle obviously. Your writing is beautiful- love the descriptions of their Song (I have to call it that)- Fingon's of rushing rivers and Maedhros

The battle scenes are great as well and Fingon's rescue by Maedhros had me swooning!!

Great descrption here: He heard the blade sing through the air behind him and dropped into a crouch. Pivoting and swinging his own blade as he straightened, he severed his assailant's arm at a stroke. He turned again and raised his sword, and then something blunt slammed into his right side. Pain exploded across his chest. His armour crashed and jarred as he landed on the sodden ground; his teeth clicked together, and bursts of white light flared in his vision. He spluttered, blinking stupidly, his lungs refusing to draw in breath. As his sight cleared he made out the form of an Orc above him, its mouth pulled into sharp-toothed grin. The morning sky shone behind it, outlining the creature's squat form in a scarlet glow. In its left hand it clutched a crudely-forged hammer, and with its right it raised a jagged blade. A cool breeze blew from the North, its tang of snow and ice sweetening the bitter fumes that belched from Angband. Fingon tried to breathe it in, to get up, fight back, but his sword had fallen from his grip and his chest felt clamped by iron bands.


A, Elbereth, he thought, gasping uselessly, please, not like this.


He would not close his eyes when death came. He would not show his fear to this mockery of an Elf. Coughing, he raised his head, stoking all his years of anger and resentment and letting their flames blaze out through his countenance. 


The creature's eyes bulged, and the dagger fell from its hand. For one bizarre instant Fingon thought that his fury had frightened it into submission – then a spike of white steel sprouted from the Orc's chest. It hung skewered for a few heartbeats, and then with a choking snarl it went limp.

Great imagery.

And then - my heart shouted!!!


Behind it, panting, his eyes burning with fury, was Maedhros.


He shook the corpse from his greatsword and offered Fingon his right arm – the one that ended in that terrible stump. Fingon felt a stab of guilt at the sight of it, but he could not think on that now. He grasped his cousin's arm and pulled himself up.


“Are you hurt?” Maedhros's gaze searched him urgently for injury.


Fingon shook his head, not trusting his voice yet. He released his grip on Maedhros and bent to pick up his sword, stifling a moan at the pain searing up his side. 


“Yes, you are. Stop being so damn proud and get off the field.” Concern, exasperation and amusement struggled for mastery in his cousin's voice – and there was a startling gentleness there too, a note of warmth that Fingon had thought silenced forever by his Oath and torment. Forgetting his discomfort for a moment, he looked at Maedhros in astonishment. His kinsman's grey eyes shone with a light Fingon did not recall seeing there since Valinor. Was he imagining things? Perhaps he was only seeing what he wished to see, after fifty years of distance and cool courtesy.


Oh yeah! Panting with lust I read on! Love that hesitation, the tremblingnervousness and doubt -and then the admission that he overheard Fingon. There are so many wonderful scenes in this but really really beautifully written. Whoever you write it for should be very very happy, Narya. I would die with pleasure and ecstasy over this- the most perfect story. Gushing fangurrrrllll stuff:)

Author's Response: Aww, Ziggy, this is such a lovely review, thank you! I'm so honoured that this might be your favourite M/F, when there are so many gorgeous ones out there to choose from. I'm glad you enjoyed the battle scenes - and yes, I was so happy to give Maedhros his knight in shining armour moment :D Thank you so so much for your kind comments, you're making me blush.

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2018 6:25 · For: Chapter 1
My dear Narya! I was thinking of doing the Slashy Valentine too. The only thing keeping me from doing it was thinking no-one else was. Or at least people I knew. If I'd known you were, I would have tried my hand at it too. Oh well. No worries. Maybe next time. :)

This was lovely, Narya!

This is a great twist to most of the stories I've read with Maedhros and Fingon's relationship. Most of them picking up from where they left off in Valinor. Or at least attempting to.

But this! This is much more realistic. This is pretty much how I would expect Maedhros to be after his torture and realizing the Oath would taint or mar everything he touched. And so Maedhros remains aloof around his cousin. You would think this would be killing him inside.

And, I have just realized, they have never actively pursued an actual relationship before!

I felt for Fingon. The long lapses of time between seeing him again. Not being able to look upon his cousin without reminiscing about Valinor and what used to be. Oh my gosh! This has to be torture for him also.

It was also a surprise to learn that this was their first kiss. A story of firsts!

This really was quite different and a touch heartbreaking not just for what they have both endured, but what is to come.

Another wonderful thought provoking story from you Narya! :)

Author's Response: Ahh, not to worry! Well, you don't get to pick who you write for anyway, so you could still end up with someone you don't know. It's part of the fun, and you get to know more people through doing it :) there are Slashy Swaps through the year, though, not just on Valentine's, so you could always do the next one. Anyway, I'm so glad you liked the story :) I wanted to do something canon-ish with them, but slightly different, so I went for them having had this unspoken, pent-up attraction for so many years before something prompted them into admitting it. And there are a few hundred years between this and the Nirnaeth Arnoediad, so I like to think they have some joyful times before it all goes wrong. Thank you for your kind words, Gabriel :)

Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2018 4:43 · For: Chapter 1
I am so tickled to see this posted here to. What a gift. I am so lucky. I cannot, cannot, cannot get enough of these two. This was such a great Valentine's gift!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you for commenting twice, that's so kind! I'm really pleased you liked it; I should thank you really, I've been meaning and meaning to write these two. Now I kind of want to write the backstory, and/or what happens from here, so you might have unwittingly gifted me with material for an entire series here...!

Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2018 20:08 · For: Chapter 1
Oh, I love this, Narya :) *Sobs* there must have been a time, after this battle and before the Dagor Bragollach, that there truly was some hope and a perceived future for these two!

Author's Response: Oh, there absolutely was. Don't worry, I intend to write it ;) thank you so much for your kind comments.

You must login () to review.