| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Nowhere Man by lotrfan General Audiences
What happened to Maglor after he cast the Silmaril into the sea? Did he survive into our own times? A modern AU about Maglor...
The Secret of Frywald by Ysilme Mature
Not long after the war of the Last Alliance, a dragon troubling the East Bight forces the captain of Imladris and the king...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The Fëanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
The Price of Vengeance II by Encairion Mature
Sequel to The Price of Vengeance I. A novella of the House of Finwë  from the end of the First Age to the fall...
Time Present, Time Future by Narya Teen
In Valinor, Findaráto has a vision and Tyelkormo tries to comfort him. Fluff, friendship and foreshadowing. Rated Teen...
Angels and crooks by Nuredhel General Audiences
Bard and Thran has gotten used to their new life but they do still have their jobs and my oh my does that make things interesting...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 81
Stories: 1616
Chapters: 8303
Word count: 25092456
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15292
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 1
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
02/21/18 11:16 pm
Both sites have been going for years
Spiced Wine
02/21/18 11:16 pm
SWG and Many Paths To Tread. SOA for instance had 54 stories posted in 2017, a huge drop from the year before, hardly anything on Library of Moria
Narya
02/21/18 08:05 pm
That's sad, there were loads when I started in fandom. Which are the other 2? SWG, presumably?
Spiced Wine
02/21/18 07:54 pm
News item. I was reading on Indy?s Dreamwidth how many Tolkien archives are barely active any more. Faerie is one of the only 3 who really are.
Spiced Wine
02/21/18 10:25 am
You ought to stay there, Naledi, for another week, have you SEEN the forecasts for next week in the UK? Extremely cold! I hope it won’t be quite that bad!
Narya
02/21/18 12:55 am
Sounds fabulous, Naledi :-)
Naledi
02/20/18 07:48 pm
Sunny but cold - I’m in the Czech Republic :)
Glorfindel
02/19/18 06:25 pm
I hope you are somewhere sunny, Naledi :)
Naledi
02/19/18 08:21 am
Thanks for the birthday wishes, everyone! I had a lovely day and I still have a whole week of holiday to go!
Narya
02/18/18 06:09 pm
Have a wonderful day, Naledi :)
Shout Archive


Reviews For Do You Know Me?

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2018 17:11 · For: Chapter 1

This is wonderful, Cheeky. I particularly liked how Arwen speaks to Legolas in the Silvan tongue. A nice reminder to Aragorn that Legolas is not the same as the elves of Imladris.



Author's Response:

Exactly! It has a twofold purpose. Pointing out in an obvious fashion Legolas is not the elves Aragorn grew up with, that he is different and Aragorn does not understand that difference, and also allowing Arwen to tell Legolas off without the embarrassment of doing it in front of Aragorn. “Get out of the tree and stop sulking like a baby” she is saying! 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2018 12:16 · For: Chapter 1
Hi Cheekybeak! It has been a while since I have reviewed anything of yours, so I thought I'd rectify that. :)

This reminded me of your other stories I have read of Legolas and Aragorn. One of them being about Legolas
emotionally dealing with the prospect of Aragorn's death. So sad. :(

I really felt for Legolas in this. Being still very young he is completely out of his depth when it comes to anything political. Mind you the antagonism and blatant indifference he encountered from Aragorn's Lords would not have helped at all. But I think Aragorn's reactions would have made it harder to bare.

The Lords seem to have forgotten what Legolas sacrificed for them as well as for his own people.

I understand they have to think of their own people first and foremost with necessities not in great supply, but to totally ignore the needs of one people for the sake of another -its great to see bigotry alive and well. :/

Aragorn seems a little weighted down by the demands of his Kingship, it seems. Picking at Legolas being late or not using Sindarin in the appropriate setting. Aragorn was not being very fair to his friend. But in saying that if I had a gaggle of Lords bickering in my ear I'd be irritated too.

It was great to see they worked it all out in the end, thanks to Arwen's intervention and that their friendship which has seen worse and been tested to the extreme is still intact.

Thank you for sharing this Cheekybeak.

Author's Response:

I’m glad this reminded you of those other stories. It’s actually part of a Pentology,(if you can call it that) of five stories describing Legolas and Aragorn’s communication through the years. “A Different Path” “Misunderstandings”  “Kings and Princes” and “A Last Conversation” are the others. 

I need to group them together more but can’t work out any way of doing that without losing my reviews. 

Yes, bigotry is Alive and well in post war Gondor. I think there has been distrust of the elves there for a long time and there is also—as Aragorn describes—a resentment of him and his elvenness from some other powerful men.....men who maybe feel their power has been eroded.

I think this was a very difficult time for Aragorn and you are right, he is feeling the strain here and Legolas cops a bit of that. Aragorn makes a mistake he does frequently of assuming because he is elven Legolas is just like the elves he grew up with in Imladris, that he knows all the political nuances, and he does not. 

Had Gimli been here their communication would have been much better. Gimli would have gone between them. Told Aragorn Legolas was stressing about the meeting, told Legolas Aragorn’s Lord were making his life hell, but in Gimlis absence these two let the communication lapse. As Arwen says, they need to talk more, assume less, but they have always been bad at that. 

Thanks for the review! 



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2018 1:12 · For: Chapter 1
A very descriptive story of how these two end up in these messes of misunderstanding! Close as they are talking seems to be the thing they forget to do!
I can understand Legolas' nervousness and hesitation here--he is a lone Elf, among men and Faramlr and Aragorn are his only two friends. Gimli can often be relied on as an intermediary but it seems Legolas has put too much faith in having him around to smooth things over and clarify. And Aragorn has too much on his mind to realize Legolas predicament and Faramir likely has no clue either.
I love Arwen here--so matter of fact and completely unfazed at Legolas comments about picking through his brain! I'm glad she assured him of her safety--after what he heard today I don't blame him for worrying. But oh what a perfect set up we have see before--Legolas in the tree and an exasperated Aragorn below. I'm glad Arwen stood up for Legolas--he needs to know she has his back and understands him.
This part:
“Your Father is a King!” He does not believe me.

“My father is a King who does not spend his days indulging in the nuances of politics as Elrond and the White Council did. He does not have meetings with his Lords such as you do. I have been trained to lead in the field, on patrol, in battle, but not amongst arguments and debate. This is new to me—all of this. I was late today because I did not want to enter that room. I did not know where to sit. I did not know when to speak. I was at sea in there, Aragorn.”

It is so different in the Greenwood, a realm under constant assault and with a king who is not beholden to his council--Thranduil has ruled long and his people trust him implicitly. He has not had to imbue his sons with statecraft--their common goal is the safety and well being of their people.

Once again these two foolish friends need to learn to talk to each other! As arwen will no doubt remind them next time--because with these yes we know there will be a next time!l
Lovely cheeky

Author's Response:

Had Gimli been here he would have no doubt gone to Aragorn the night before and said, “the elf is stressing about this meeting, what can you do for him?” He would have said to Legolas, “Aragorn’s Lords are giving him major headaches. He needs your help” But Gimli is not there. He has his own realm to rule, and so these important things remain unsaid. 

Aragorn makes assumptions about Legolas’ previous experience based on The elves he grew up with. He sees Legolas’ uncertainty as deliberate mischief making. (Which let’s be honest, Legolas is quite capable of doing.) Legolas takes Aragorn’s behaviour far too personally and does not recognise the political undercurrents he is having to deal with. 

Thank god for Arwen. This is the first time I have written her so actively involved in one of their disputes but I imagine she does similar behind the scenes with Aragorn all the time! How often through the years does she have to tell him to listen to what Legolas is telling him and not argue about the tiny details? Arwen understands Legolas where Aragorn does not. She gets his “Silvanness” 

still she obviously manages to train Aragorn eventually, if not Legolas. In “Kings and Princes” we see this scene played out again. But even though Aragorn hopelessly misreads Legolas in the beginning of that story and finds himself sitting under a tree with acorns raining on his head, he manages to get Legolas down and talking all on his own. No Arwen in sight! He learns something.

and of course as always, the beauty of their friendship is the way they persevere despite all this to fight for the bond they have. Aragorn climbs the tree—which he hates—because Legolas is that important. Even though at that point in time he finds him incredibly frustrating. 

If only they talked more! 

But then again, they are men. 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 31, 2018 21:53 · For: Chapter 1
It is odd to hear myself described as a Lord. I am a prince—yes, but not a ruler. A leader on patrol but not of my people. My Father is that; not me. I am not suited to it, we all know that . . . And yet here I am

Bless, I love how nervous Legolas is at his new role! I like his bond with Faramir too. I remember that story you wrote with Legolas and Boromir, it broke my heart.

Sneaky Noldor women, wandering around in people's heads (lovely way of putting it, by the way). I like your Arwen, though. She seems a very practical sort.

This was exactly what I needed this evening, Cheeky. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response:

Poor Legolas is terrified he will stuff this up. And he is very young here and a bit out of his depth. 

Arwen IS practical, and she understands all the elven parts of Legolas, Aragorn doesn’t. Plus Aragorn will listen to her when he is not listening to Legolas. 

If only these two talked more! They are a hopeless pair. :-)



You must login () to review.