| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
The Price of Vengeance II by Encairion Mature
Sequel to The Price of Vengeance I. A novella of the House of Finwë  from the end of the First Age to the fall...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Islands of Warmth in a Sea of Cold by Karlmir Stonewain Teen
How couples in the Reunited Kingdom and beyond dealt with the bitter cold of midwinter at bedtime. The story takes place...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
A Light in the Heart by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Immediately post rescue from Thangorodrim--Fingon brings an unconscious Maedhros to the Nolofinwean camp.
On the Kings Throne by arafinwean Explicit
Fanor doesn't like it when Finarfin flirts with others.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 81
Stories: 1604
Chapters: 8253
Word count: 24883272
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15158
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 9
Members:

Shoutbox

Karlmir Stonewain
01/18/18 02:53 am
Hi, Sin! My latest short story and the next one were inspired by this rotten winter weather.
Spiced Wine
01/16/18 11:03 am
Keep cosy, Karlmir
Karlmir Stonewain
01/15/18 11:53 pm
Snow is in tomorrow's forecast here. The storm will last through Wednesday afternoon. About 8" of snow is expected. I planned ahead and did my grocery shopping this morning.
Spiced Wine
01/15/18 10:14 pm
Not sure well get it down here - I hope not! You said it, spring cannot come soon enough for me! Im sorry youre not well, Narya
Narya
01/15/18 09:47 pm
Has anyone got snow yet? We're having a hailstorm here, and I'm still coughing. Roll on Spring...
Spiced Wine
01/13/18 04:29 pm
This is why I hate winter, Karlmir. I don't suffer arthritis yet, but I get cold to my bones. We're expecting snow next week :/
Karlmir Stonewain
01/13/18 02:13 pm
I've just posted my latest story. Lots of cold weather here; rain, sleet and snow. My arthritis is killing me. How are you people doing?
Naledi
01/12/18 12:58 pm
Happy Friday!
Spiced Wine
01/12/18 11:12 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
ziggy
01/10/18 10:44 pm
Alpha Ori! Happy New Year! So nice to have you back:)
Shout Archive


Reviews For Auld Acquaintance

Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2018 18:37 · For: Chapter 1
Well, they have said it will be events that happened before the films, so I doubt they will remake the actual LOTR. But they have a lot of elbow room: Aragorn's travels, Angmar, Dol Guldur and Sauron, but yes, I agree, I love the Shadow of Mordor stories and anything like that would be a hit with me, I think!

Author's Response: I could go with Aragorn's travels too, that could be interesting! And/or more Mirkwood...


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2018 17:47 · For: Chapter 1
I am so looking forward to where you take this :)

Amazon wouldn't spend that much on a series and leave it to chance. I will be very interested to see what happens. Look at Game of Thrones (which I loathed) and anything LOTR is a pretty sure-fire moneyspinner so I do think it'l effect the fandom.

Author's Response: I really want them to do something Shadow of Mordor-esque, rather than redo the stories we already have wonderful films of...or go all in and adapt parts of the Silm, but I don't know if that's on the table. Or, come to that, who on Earth you would cast!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2018 11:49 · For: Chapter 1
Wow,, Narya, this was beautiful. I did love this as there is so much under the surface, as you say, more questions than answers, but that's not a bad thing in stories. So much time has gone past, so much poignancy in their conversation, but like the song, some hope, too. Brava! And I know you are busy and don't post often, but your writing is wonderful!

Author's Response: Ahh, thank you so much! I'm glad it worked as that was what I was going for, poignancy and a little bit of tension but also hope and friendship, and hints of all the history between them and stories that are yet to come. I'm sorry for being so slow at posting and updating things; I don't think I'm any busier than anyone else really, I just struggle to get into a routine. Every time I think things are settling down, something else changes, which I suppose is just how RL goes! Just need to figure out how to adapt without my writing suffering...anyway, never mind that, thank you so much for reading and commenting. I really appreciate the time you take, especially since fandom does seem to have gone quieter in the last couple of years. Maybe the new Amazon series will revive things...!?


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2018 10:29 · For: Chapter 1

Oh. wow Narya- spine-tingling!!

 

This is a wonderful opening. A string of beautiful images like jewels opening up one after another- beautifully crafted writing. I am listing to the Auld Lang Syne arrang,ent as I wirte this- seriously, hair standing up.

'The Music was quiet these days but there was no mistaking him, a yearning, fierce melody threaded with adamant and white fire and old, old grief.'

What an announcement of a charater- that's hw it felt. Beautiful writing.
'Yet he still felt it in the Song, a soft but insistent thrumming, confidently but unobtrusively supporting all the melodies and harmonies around it. Maglor smiled and sent his own thread of the great Music reaching towards it, and the two twined – fierce, aching silver and loving golden flame. He closed his eyes, sinking into the chords and whispers they created. '
This theme of the Song is so very very well done, leading right up to that moment:

You feel it as keenly as I do – the Song is fading.”
which had me sitting up and taking notice- questions firing in my head. Brilliant idea.
Loved this little moment too ,bearing in mind our discussion! 'Maglor as a green-clad archer, hooded cloak billowing, bow drawn taut. The Noldo chuckled at his expression.'
Such a great start, Narya. And seriously well crafted. Kudos to you my dear for a masterclass in writing character, description and plot.



Author's Response: Thank you so much! You're making me blush :) I tried really hard to get the imagery right, as I didn't want to lose that magical feeling even though it's set in modern times. In terms of the Song, I think your fics have influenced me in how I think about that, and how it must feel, particularly for the Elves and Maia. And yes, I couldn't resist the little nod to my Robin Hood idea. That one has to be next on the list, I think. I have an outline for the first part of it, so I'll get working on it when Slashy Valentine is done. Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to leave such a lovely detailed comment!


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2018 4:25 · For: Chapter 1
Absolutely lovely story!

You may consider yourself a slow writer Narya! But your stories are well worth the wait, my friend!

This story starts off seemingly ordinary and then develops into the extraordinary! Full of memory, ancient power and ancient grief and grievances.

I knew it was Maglor standing outside Proust's house, that, I deciphered. But it surprised me that Proust was none other than Olorin!

I loved the touch, of the story being set around New Years Eve, but saddened that it seems that at times of the year the secondborn families come together, that an ancient being, near mythical, feels the pull to seek another out. Purely out of loneliness perhaps and or maybe even nostalgia's sake or maybe for another reason altogether.

I love intrigue! The Song has lessened of late and Olorin has appeared in the world once again. Too much a coincidence? But even the smallest inkling that this could be the chance for Maglor to have his family back is too much to pass up. I hope for Maglor's sake this is what Olorin was sent back to do.

And yes! I think this story has opened up a treasure chest of backstories and side stories, Narya! Exciting! :)

Thank you for sharing this lovely Maglor fix! Its made my day. :D

Author's Response: Aww, Gabriel, you're too kind. I'm so glad the story worked for you. I have so many ideas for this 'verse, it's a bit overwhelming, but I guess I'll just have to take it one story at a time! I love intrigue too, and as I was saying to Nelya, I don't always know where my own stories are going; the ending was as much a surprise to me as anyone. But I suppose it was inevitable; I can't cope with Maglor on his own forever. I'll have to think about how all this is going to come together, but luckily I've given myself plenty of other openings to explore in the meantime! Thank you so much for reading and commenting :)


Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2018 3:29 · For: Chapter 1
Oh Narya this is lovely! I am familiar with that arrangement and I can see how it works with the story.

I really like these two in present times. I can picture them both, dancing around each other's private thoughts--a gentle battle of wits and wisdom as they drift in and out of hint dropping and careful study of each other. Mental sparring as it were. But the depth of mutual affection and respect is very real.
I have often thought (and have written a bit) about Maglor through the ages--fascinating topic and I can think of so many moments in time and historical figures I can imagine interacting with him, mostly to their great advantage.

There is an aching nostalgia to this piece and the song fits that so well. But there is a glimmer of hope for dear Maglor finally and I look forward to seeing where this goes! Rich, haunting descriptions and brilliant dialogue.

Author's Response: Hi Nelya! Thank you for reading, and for such a lovely comment. A gentle battle of wits is exactly what I was going for, so I'm really pleased it came across. Yes, Maglor through the ages is something that fascinates me too; I drop a few hints in here about places I think he's been, but I'm looking forwards to exploring it more. The hopeful ending was actually sort of accidental. All the way through I was thinking, "OK, so what is Olorin doing here?", and then suddenly after their confrontation it came to me :)


You must login () to review.