| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Fairest by Narya General Audiences
Artanis works on a project and begins to realise that Valinor cannot give her what she needs. A gift ficlet for Cheekybeak...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
A Love Unspoken by cheekybeak General Audiences
A prequel to “Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls.” On a ship at Pelegir a newly stricken Legolas battles with the sea-longing...
Shadows and Cages by Narya Teen
In Gondolin, Fanari and Aredhel spend an evening by the fire. A gift ficlet for Spiced Wine for Legendarium Ladies April.
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1637
Chapters: 8390
Word count: 25399197
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15534
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
04/26/18 09:45 am
Also on Dreamwidth. See Narya if you are not on Dreamwidth or Tumblr for more information :)
Spiced Wine
04/26/18 09:41 am
Tolkien Summer Reverse Bang News is up on News. Narya is running it on Tumblr. @naryaflame or search for narya on search
Narya
04/22/18 10:25 pm
Yes, the world felt all clean and fresh today - we had a bit of a storm last night but not as dramatic as I was hoping!
Spiced Wine
04/22/18 09:51 am
We had two storms, late evening and about 1.15, really energetic, incredible lightning! It’s nice this morning though!
Narya
04/21/18 10:08 pm
Beautiful weather again today :) although thunderstorms forecast soon - I am waiting up for it, I love a good storm. How is everyone's weekend so far?
Narya
04/20/18 10:35 pm
Happy Friday :) it's been a gorgeous day here.
Spiced Wine
04/20/18 09:51 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Gabriel
04/20/18 12:47 am
Thank you Nelya, thank you Spiced. :)
Spiced Wine
04/19/18 08:22 pm
I’m glad you’ve had a lovely day, Gabriel :)
NelyafinweFeanorion
04/19/18 05:47 pm
Happy birthday Gabriel!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Something Back

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2017 18:14 · For: Something Back

Gildor followed by Erestor came into the kitchen, saying over his shoulder, “...not even when I was growing up. It’s one of those stupid things you find if you dig deep enough in the Laws and Customs that Turgon tried to codify while we were in Nevrast. He had a whole list of things we probably shouldn’t do, but that doesn’t mean people don’t eat meat or that healers are all pacifists or…”

 

“Well, it’s what I got thrown at me anyhow when I turned her down. Under our law, intimacy equals marriage and eternity. No other option, so how could I possibly be seeing someone – casually? And a man at that. The whole conversation was embarrassing, I’m not used to being judged and found wanting by some little girl barely past her majority.”

 

“Yes well, other people’s customs are always confusing – hello Gil – and you know you’re fond of Fionel. Just not quite that fond. I hope you explained we aren’t all like swans.”

 

I just love that! Puts everything deeply in its place and establishes this lovely gossipy relationship.

 

I love this fic and am so pleased you have put it here (I am right that i head read it elsewhere? If not, well that's the test of a classi- that it FEELS as if you know it and recognise it- instnatly gets to that place in your imagination where your favourites reside)

There are so many wonderful details- like Gildor bypassing Gil but him not minding- TOO much! And the necklace, the description of Maedhros. It's so sad that this is perhaps the last thing he does of note.

 

 Then Gil was left on the beach with two ill at ease fishermen, a smelly, weather-beaten boat and a raucous flock of seagulls who as always put him in mind of the boys’ mother. haha!



Author's Response:

Hey there! I think this is on SWG, so you might have read it there? It's one of those fics where I put them in the same place and let them talk and see where it goes -- I didn't expect the beach, Elwing's twins, and a fishing boat, but whatever, they like to surprise me :D

I always kind of assumed Maglor would be the one to take the twins back (there was probably some early fanwork that made an impact on me), but it could only have been Maedhros, taking responsibiliy. I liked that he managed to be present even if he wasn't physically. 

Gildor and Erestor's 'thing' has always been more in my head than in the fics themselves, so this was their chance and they grabbed it. Thanks so much for liking them and for loving the fic!




Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2017 3:19 · For: Something Back
As always Keiliss, great little look into the everyday goings on on the island of Balar. I so enjoy these stories.

I like that you keep the story pretty tame and normal; the moments with Barawen in the kitchen, while she chops vegatables, the backwards and forwards banter between Gildor and Erestor with as little input as possible from Gil. He almost seems invisible sometimes. Then out of the blue punctuate the quiet and mundane with something momentous.

I love the fact that you keep Gil real. I think a character and probably the story too, is much more believable that way.

He is King of the Noldor and yet his life on Balar is at odds with the very title he bears. Except of course, when the situation dictates he don the otherwise invisible mantle. I like it!

I hope I made sense and didn't repeat myself.

Author's Response:

I don't know if you noticed at the end, but this was written as a birthday ficlet, so all I did in the beginning was pick a seting, put Gil in it and let him talk with people. At that stage I wasn't even clear where, if anywhere, it was all leading. For a ficlet, it would have been fine to leave it at the end of the first part, but then I realised what it had to be about --- I was having so much fun watching them talk I didn't even see the next stage coming, lol. 

And you made perfect sense :) At that point in history being King of the Noldor was just a title, the work he was doing as a war leader, taking the fight to the enemy was more important though he knew how to keep his dignity, Cirdan would have taught him that. And life on Balar was of necessity informal enough that he could have the luxury of friends and family around him too, and space to be a person before he was a king.

I'm starting to ramble *g*.  I'm glad you liked it, love - thank you very much@



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: November 28, 2017 6:32 · For: Something Back
I really like this. I've always wondered where Gildor fits into all this. I like him here--his banter with Gil and Erestor is entertaining.

Poor dear Maedhros. Bartering family heirlooms to get the boys to safety. They aren't the heirlooms he's most focused on so they are expendable, aren't they?

I've wondered about this time and written about Maglor and Maedhros sending the boys to Cirdan and Gil for safety at War of Wrath time. I like this perspective.

Author's Response:

I didn't write Gildor for years because I couldn't work him out, that was until he explained he's actually renegade royalty like his cousin Galadriel - sorry, Tanis. And then it all made sense :D Very glad you enjoyed him here. 

That piece Maedhros bartered for the boys' passage I suspect wasn't particularly valuable as such things go, the best would long since have been sold on, but maybe there was a sentimental value to it, a gift from a time before it all went horribly wrong --- at least I like to think that. Something that would still matter, but he thought this was worth it? My heart wanted Maglor to be the one to send them on the next leg of their journey, but it was always going to be Maedhros. 

Thanks very much for commenting, and special thanks for liking something you have already written about --- that's always such a compliment :)



You must login () to review.