| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Through Fields of Green by lotrfan General Audiences
Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli follow the Orcs after the Breaking of the Fellowship and attempt to rescue Merry and Pippin. This...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1677
Chapters: 8563
Word count: 26085994
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16043
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
09/20/18 12:15 pm
That was what I was doing, too! Glad you sorted it out :)
Gabriel
09/20/18 12:03 pm
Thank you Spiced! But I think I've figured it out. I think I inadvertantly missed something out. *Shakes head at self* Anyway I skipped previewing and just added and it seems to have worked.
Spiced Wine
09/20/18 11:52 am
You could just email me the text, with the charcters, ratings, summary etc
Spiced Wine
09/20/18 11:51 am
Who had this problem recently? Gabriel, I have access to posting fic, if you can send me your fic I could try and post it, although I am out for a while
Gabriel
09/20/18 11:45 am
Now its telling me i can't go past 'O' in the character section.
Spiced Wine
09/20/18 11:45 am
Also ensure everything you need to check on the form has been checked
Spiced Wine
09/20/18 11:44 am
I get that message myself, sometimes, it is a glitch, and I have to try again
Gabriel
09/20/18 11:33 am
Okay trying again.
Spiced Wine
09/20/18 11:25 am
So I am stumped! Yes, try going back?
Spiced Wine
09/20/18 11:24 am
Well, there are no chapters waiting to be validated on here, which is a glitch but *sometimes* happens
Shout Archive


Reviews For Something Back

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2017 18:14 · For: Something Back

Gildor followed by Erestor came into the kitchen, saying over his shoulder, “...not even when I was growing up. It’s one of those stupid things you find if you dig deep enough in the Laws and Customs that Turgon tried to codify while we were in Nevrast. He had a whole list of things we probably shouldn’t do, but that doesn’t mean people don’t eat meat or that healers are all pacifists or…”

 

“Well, it’s what I got thrown at me anyhow when I turned her down. Under our law, intimacy equals marriage and eternity. No other option, so how could I possibly be seeing someone – casually? And a man at that. The whole conversation was embarrassing, I’m not used to being judged and found wanting by some little girl barely past her majority.”

 

“Yes well, other people’s customs are always confusing – hello Gil – and you know you’re fond of Fionel. Just not quite that fond. I hope you explained we aren’t all like swans.”

 

I just love that! Puts everything deeply in its place and establishes this lovely gossipy relationship.

 

I love this fic and am so pleased you have put it here (I am right that i head read it elsewhere? If not, well that's the test of a classi- that it FEELS as if you know it and recognise it- instnatly gets to that place in your imagination where your favourites reside)

There are so many wonderful details- like Gildor bypassing Gil but him not minding- TOO much! And the necklace, the description of Maedhros. It's so sad that this is perhaps the last thing he does of note.

 

 Then Gil was left on the beach with two ill at ease fishermen, a smelly, weather-beaten boat and a raucous flock of seagulls who as always put him in mind of the boys’ mother. haha!



Author's Response:

Hey there! I think this is on SWG, so you might have read it there? It's one of those fics where I put them in the same place and let them talk and see where it goes -- I didn't expect the beach, Elwing's twins, and a fishing boat, but whatever, they like to surprise me :D

I always kind of assumed Maglor would be the one to take the twins back (there was probably some early fanwork that made an impact on me), but it could only have been Maedhros, taking responsibiliy. I liked that he managed to be present even if he wasn't physically. 

Gildor and Erestor's 'thing' has always been more in my head than in the fics themselves, so this was their chance and they grabbed it. Thanks so much for liking them and for loving the fic!




Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2017 3:19 · For: Something Back
As always Keiliss, great little look into the everyday goings on on the island of Balar. I so enjoy these stories.

I like that you keep the story pretty tame and normal; the moments with Barawen in the kitchen, while she chops vegatables, the backwards and forwards banter between Gildor and Erestor with as little input as possible from Gil. He almost seems invisible sometimes. Then out of the blue punctuate the quiet and mundane with something momentous.

I love the fact that you keep Gil real. I think a character and probably the story too, is much more believable that way.

He is King of the Noldor and yet his life on Balar is at odds with the very title he bears. Except of course, when the situation dictates he don the otherwise invisible mantle. I like it!

I hope I made sense and didn't repeat myself.

Author's Response:

I don't know if you noticed at the end, but this was written as a birthday ficlet, so all I did in the beginning was pick a seting, put Gil in it and let him talk with people. At that stage I wasn't even clear where, if anywhere, it was all leading. For a ficlet, it would have been fine to leave it at the end of the first part, but then I realised what it had to be about --- I was having so much fun watching them talk I didn't even see the next stage coming, lol. 

And you made perfect sense :) At that point in history being King of the Noldor was just a title, the work he was doing as a war leader, taking the fight to the enemy was more important though he knew how to keep his dignity, Cirdan would have taught him that. And life on Balar was of necessity informal enough that he could have the luxury of friends and family around him too, and space to be a person before he was a king.

I'm starting to ramble *g*.  I'm glad you liked it, love - thank you very much@



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: November 28, 2017 6:32 · For: Something Back
I really like this. I've always wondered where Gildor fits into all this. I like him here--his banter with Gil and Erestor is entertaining.

Poor dear Maedhros. Bartering family heirlooms to get the boys to safety. They aren't the heirlooms he's most focused on so they are expendable, aren't they?

I've wondered about this time and written about Maglor and Maedhros sending the boys to Cirdan and Gil for safety at War of Wrath time. I like this perspective.

Author's Response:

I didn't write Gildor for years because I couldn't work him out, that was until he explained he's actually renegade royalty like his cousin Galadriel - sorry, Tanis. And then it all made sense :D Very glad you enjoyed him here. 

That piece Maedhros bartered for the boys' passage I suspect wasn't particularly valuable as such things go, the best would long since have been sold on, but maybe there was a sentimental value to it, a gift from a time before it all went horribly wrong --- at least I like to think that. Something that would still matter, but he thought this was worth it? My heart wanted Maglor to be the one to send them on the next leg of their journey, but it was always going to be Maedhros. 

Thanks very much for commenting, and special thanks for liking something you have already written about --- that's always such a compliment :)



You must login () to review.