| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Through Fields of Green by lotrfan General Audiences
Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli follow the Orcs after the Breaking of the Fellowship and attempt to rescue Merry and Pippin. This...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1677
Chapters: 8563
Word count: 26085994
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16043
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
09/20/18 12:15 pm
That was what I was doing, too! Glad you sorted it out :)
Gabriel
09/20/18 12:03 pm
Thank you Spiced! But I think I've figured it out. I think I inadvertantly missed something out. *Shakes head at self* Anyway I skipped previewing and just added and it seems to have worked.
Spiced Wine
09/20/18 11:52 am
You could just email me the text, with the charcters, ratings, summary etc
Spiced Wine
09/20/18 11:51 am
Who had this problem recently? Gabriel, I have access to posting fic, if you can send me your fic I could try and post it, although I am out for a while
Gabriel
09/20/18 11:45 am
Now its telling me i can't go past 'O' in the character section.
Spiced Wine
09/20/18 11:45 am
Also ensure everything you need to check on the form has been checked
Spiced Wine
09/20/18 11:44 am
I get that message myself, sometimes, it is a glitch, and I have to try again
Gabriel
09/20/18 11:33 am
Okay trying again.
Spiced Wine
09/20/18 11:25 am
So I am stumped! Yes, try going back?
Spiced Wine
09/20/18 11:24 am
Well, there are no chapters waiting to be validated on here, which is a glitch but *sometimes* happens
Shout Archive


Reviews For Brothers

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: November 12, 2017 6:24 · For: Brothers
Wow! How far from grace they have fallen!

So much of themselves are lost. I hardly recognize Maedhros aside from the reddish locks.

Even if it wasn't why they originally took the twins in the first place, it became about family. Having that little piece of family close, accessible and safe. They believed they were giving Elrond and Elros a better start in life. Righting the wrongs and not just of Sirion. It is just so very sad. And Maglor falling in love with them isn't going to make things any easier.

In some instances even some members of their family have become a dirty word to them. *Orodreths whelp* I would hope that any family would be important to them, especially since they have lost all of theirs.

I would really like to know why Elwing and her family have kept a silmaril from the Feanorions, when they know first hand that they will fight and kill any who get in the way of retrieving it? And why in all of Arda, did she choose a crystal over her boys?

So heartbreaking. But a great and interesting read. :)

Author's Response:

Taking the twins originally was purely a strategic move on their part, though of course time goes on and raising children takes on its own spirit, especially when those children are blood kindred.  And as the bulk of raising and educating them seems logically to fall to Maglor, it makes a lot of sense that they'd beome almost like his own. It was a hard decision.

Elwing -- oh, that is a long story I cover in all sorts of other fics, usually briefly, but what I've always believed is that she jumped out of pure terror when faced with the men who killed her parents and whose people left her brothers to starve. I don't think it had much to do with the jewel or not loving her sons - just a moment of mind-breaking fear. As to why she didn't hand it over tamely? She was very young, I doubt any of her advisors favoured it and she had been raised to see it as her heirloom. Also what I've read is that the people of Sirion regarded the Silmaril as a force of protection and goodness for them, so --- lots of reasons to try and buy time till her husband got home. And then time ran out.

Sorry, running on there, lol. Anyhow, thanks very much for reading :) And I'm sorry I'm only resonding now, seems efiction saw fit to turn off notifications in my preferences. 



Name: lotrfan (Signed) · Date: November 09, 2017 5:33 · For: Brothers
I really like this! Having just written and posted a fic about Maedhros and Maglor sending the twins away during the War of Wrath this really resonated with me.
I see Maedhros being the instigator too. He's rational and realistic about it. It is hard for both of them to give them up but I don't think Maglor willingly would have without Maedhros' influence.
Such a wrench for both of them--I see their time with the twins as their best time since before the Nirnaeth

Author's Response:

*I see their time with the twins as their best time since before the Nirnaeth* This, yes. Exactly. Some touch of warmth and family, a sense of normalcy in amongst all that darkness. I admit I don't write either Maedhros or Maglor often, but that was very much what spoke to me when I started this. The fact that you liked what I did here after having just written the same character mix and theme yourself is a great compliment - I know finding someone else's version soon after doesn't always work. I want to read your fic now - it is actually on my 'to read' list for SWG - but I'll leave it till tomorrow when I'm properly awake. 

Apologies for the late response too. Somehow 'notifications' got turned off in my preferences. I have no idea how, other than the fact that efiction sites always hate me, lol. Again, thank you :)



You must login () to review.