| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8480
Word count: 25716640
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15743
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
06/22/18 10:15 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
lotrfan
06/20/18 07:49 pm
Have a great time Narya!!
Spiced Wine
06/20/18 07:21 pm
Have a great time, Narya; some lovely weather coming next week, I see!
Narya
06/20/18 06:15 pm
I look forwards to catching up with you and your stories when I come back <3
Narya
06/20/18 06:14 pm
Hey guys! Just to let you know I'm going camping for ten days; if you don't see me online, don't think I've abandoned you all, I just won't have internet ;)
Narya
06/15/18 08:15 pm
Thanks Spiced, you too :)
Spiced Wine
06/15/18 08:06 pm
Yes, it’s been very nice! Have a lovely weekend, Narya :)
Narya
06/15/18 07:49 pm
Happy Friday, Team Tolkien :) I hope you're all enjoying blue skies and sunshine like we are in the North of England :)
Spiced Wine
06/15/18 09:55 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
06/14/18 10:32 am
Aww, thank you, Narya :)
Shout Archive


Reviews For Thorongil

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: November 30, 2017 9:59 · For: New beginnings
Firstly, I'd like to apologize if I came across a little too strong in my viewpoint of Denethor, in the last chapter, Chiara. After re-reading my review it did read a little too harshly. I did not mean for my words to sound the way they did and I hope it didn't spoil the review too much and I agree with you that Denethor did make a great steward and leader.


This next chapter was quite unexpected and a joy to read. Thorongil coming upon a grieving child in the form of six year old Boromir. It was such a sweet exchange of words between them and a surprise the words of wisdom Aragorn had for young Boromir concerning little brothers.

Author's Response: Do not worry, Gabriel ! There is no problem at expressing one's viewpoint. That is what fanfics are made for. Thanks for your reading and commenting.


Name: Karlmir Stonewain (Signed) · Date: November 26, 2017 15:10 · For: New beginnings
Excellent story. Tolkien himself would probably have been impressed by the similarity of your style with his. I look forward to your next chapter.

Author's Response: Hou là ! I guess Christopher Tolkien would not quite agree with you. But still, your comment is very much pleasing. Thanks for your support.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: November 23, 2017 8:38 · For: The price for certainty
He really is quite jealous of Thorongil, isn't he. And he has every reason to be, Thorongil, I feel, being the better man and all.

But to be so jealous as to consult the Palantir, just so he can find something anything to impugn the Ranger's honor and willingly leave himself open to subtle manipulations by the Dark Lord. Terrible lack of
discernment.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this.

The way you write is quite different and interesting. As if reading an excerpt from Tolkiens own books or Shakespeare.

Thank you for sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you for your support, Gabriel! I am very happy you liked this text. Let us not be too hard on Denethor. After all, he is a proud and competent leader, and Thorongil is but an offspring of a remote line, that seems to have altogether lost its Kingdom. He has been deceived by the Dark Lord, but who was not ? At this time Thorongil was not yet either, may be, able to us the seeing-stone himself.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2017 2:58 · For: The Northern Star
This story was such a wonderful visual feast!

I am not very familiar with the intricate background details of Aragorn, except that he is the ancestor of Elendil who came from Numenor and was the first King of Gondor,{I hope I got that right}. Nor am I overly familiar with the histories of the many realms of Men, but with the help of stories such as yours, I am learning.

Thank you so much for the little history lesson at the bottom of the chapter, it helped tremendously.

I really enjoyed this little snippet out of Aragorn's life. Just a little question, was Thorongil related in any way to Ecthelion ll?

Wow! There is still so much I need to learn. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for your enthusiasm, Gabriel. Thorongil/Aragorn is not of Denethor's kin. He is the rightful heir of the throne, of which Ecthelion and Denethor are only stewards. Thus a certain tension.


You must login () to review.