| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Fables of Faramir and Family by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A selection of short pieces mostly written for challenges concerning Faramir and his family and friends.
A Story of Seven by NelyafinweFeanorion General Audiences
One chapter for each son of Fëanor. Based on the seven deadly sins and the seven virtues. A story written for Feanorian...
Angels and crooks by Nuredhel General Audiences
Bard and Thran has gotten used to their new life but they do still have their jobs and my oh my does that make things interesting...
The Sudden Pain of Silence by Himring Teen
They had found each other easy to talk to.But then...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The Fëanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
Sunrise Over Ivrin by Narya General Audiences
Vignette. Nargothrond's exiled King and his faithful captain share a quiet moment at dawn. Written for B2MeM 2018, Music...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 82
Stories: 1624
Chapters: 8338
Word count: 25195388
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15384
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 28
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9

Who's Online

Guests: 14


03/22/18 01:07 am
Thank for the music selection, Ziggy. I will check them out. Haven't listened to much new music recently.
03/18/18 06:50 pm
I like rats! They're very intelligent. And Ziggy, I love Black Rebel Motorcycle Club :D great shout!
Spiced Wine
03/18/18 04:18 pm
I’m doing a lot of bird feeding, Ziggy! And foxes, there are some around and I always feel sorry for them, too. Don’t tell anyone, but there is one poor rat that I feed too
03/18/18 03:20 pm
If you're stuck indoors, check out Black Rebel Motorcycle Club Wrong Creatures- current soundtrack of the BMW ad -bit like Kasabian.They are my current soundtrack for Elrohir
03/18/18 02:56 pm
Same here- snowed all day. My shetland pony SO resentful about being outside! My TB happy as a lark- charging about the filed, bucking and rearing. But poor little birds- feed them if you can.
Spiced Wine
03/18/18 10:21 am
Woke up to a blizzard and about 5 inches of snow, of course it’s drifted so it’s not really that deep
03/18/18 09:03 am
We had a good covering of snow yesterday and it’s still snowing. Really fed up with winter now. As Spiced says, thought, it’s forecast to clear soon.
Spiced Wine
03/17/18 10:27 pm
Us too, Narya. Grr. I am sick of it. But this is not going top last as long, apparently.
03/17/18 03:33 pm
We've got snow again...!
Spiced Wine
03/16/18 07:41 pm
Have a lovely weekend :)
Shout Archive

Reviews For Thorongil

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: November 30, 2017 9:59 · For: New beginnings
Firstly, I'd like to apologize if I came across a little too strong in my viewpoint of Denethor, in the last chapter, Chiara. After re-reading my review it did read a little too harshly. I did not mean for my words to sound the way they did and I hope it didn't spoil the review too much and I agree with you that Denethor did make a great steward and leader.

This next chapter was quite unexpected and a joy to read. Thorongil coming upon a grieving child in the form of six year old Boromir. It was such a sweet exchange of words between them and a surprise the words of wisdom Aragorn had for young Boromir concerning little brothers.

Author's Response: Do not worry, Gabriel ! There is no problem at expressing one's viewpoint. That is what fanfics are made for. Thanks for your reading and commenting.

Name: Karlmir Stonewain (Signed) · Date: November 26, 2017 15:10 · For: New beginnings
Excellent story. Tolkien himself would probably have been impressed by the similarity of your style with his. I look forward to your next chapter.

Author's Response: Hou là ! I guess Christopher Tolkien would not quite agree with you. But still, your comment is very much pleasing. Thanks for your support.

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: November 23, 2017 8:38 · For: The price for certainty
He really is quite jealous of Thorongil, isn't he. And he has every reason to be, Thorongil, I feel, being the better man and all.

But to be so jealous as to consult the Palantir, just so he can find something anything to impugn the Ranger's honor and willingly leave himself open to subtle manipulations by the Dark Lord. Terrible lack of

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this.

The way you write is quite different and interesting. As if reading an excerpt from Tolkiens own books or Shakespeare.

Thank you for sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you for your support, Gabriel! I am very happy you liked this text. Let us not be too hard on Denethor. After all, he is a proud and competent leader, and Thorongil is but an offspring of a remote line, that seems to have altogether lost its Kingdom. He has been deceived by the Dark Lord, but who was not ? At this time Thorongil was not yet either, may be, able to us the seeing-stone himself.

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2017 2:58 · For: The Northern Star
This story was such a wonderful visual feast!

I am not very familiar with the intricate background details of Aragorn, except that he is the ancestor of Elendil who came from Numenor and was the first King of Gondor,{I hope I got that right}. Nor am I overly familiar with the histories of the many realms of Men, but with the help of stories such as yours, I am learning.

Thank you so much for the little history lesson at the bottom of the chapter, it helped tremendously.

I really enjoyed this little snippet out of Aragorn's life. Just a little question, was Thorongil related in any way to Ecthelion ll?

Wow! There is still so much I need to learn. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for your enthusiasm, Gabriel. Thorongil/Aragorn is not of Denethor's kin. He is the rightful heir of the throne, of which Ecthelion and Denethor are only stewards. Thus a certain tension.

You must login () to review.