| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Bedtime by Narya General Audiences
Maglor is away on a trip and Maedhros has been left with the children. He isn't sure he's up to the task.
A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1678
Chapters: 8564
Word count: 26086592
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16049
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 7
Members:

Shoutbox

Gabriel
09/21/18 11:38 pm
There is also mine as well,(SinS) if anyone's interested in taking a look, which isn't on the list, as I was late in posting. :/
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:34 pm
Oh my goodness Narya! Please take good care of yourself. :)
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 08:08 pm
You’re welcome :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 07:47 pm
Thank you, Spiced! <3
Narya
09/21/18 06:59 pm
Ahh, Spiced, thank you <3 hope everyone has a lovely weekend planned!
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 06:10 pm
Okay it is up
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 06:03 pm
Okay :)
Narya
09/21/18 03:36 pm
Thank you, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 03:17 pm
with SinS online now. Spiced, can you do a news post about the masterlist, or with a link to the AO3 collection? That would be lovely! <3
Ysilme
09/21/18 03:16 pm
Happy Friday to everyone! Narya, I hope you're feeling better soon! Viruses can be rather draining and demand a lot of patience. At least there's lots of lovely reading material
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 22, 2017 13:18 · For: Chapter 1
And so the Oath wins again!

I have to say, I found myself not liking Maedhros in some parts of this chapter. But that's understandable, he has lost so much of who he was to the Oath, physical and mental torture, to war, to the pain of losing loved ones.

I didn't like the way he refused to be completely honest with the twins, but especially when speaking of or with Ereinion. Aren't they supposed to be family? It's so damn sad, there's not even enough of them left, you'd think they would be rallying together. Instead family has become a filthy word, that their relationships have disintegrated to such an extent they regard each other as enemies and strangers. I know Ereinion wasn't exactly all open arms and smiles, but you have to admit he has good reason to be wary of them.

Maedhros has become this other person, no one would recognize him now if they were reborn. He loves the twins but keeps part of himself from them and Maglor, I loved him in this, always the stalwart support at his brother's back, the voice of reason.

I think the most heartbreaking parts were Maedhros and Maglor giving the twins some of their most treasured possessions. So final! As if they never expected to or intended to see Elrond and Elros again.
That their sudden appearance after the WOTR at Eonwe's camp was not to reunite with the twins like the twins thought, but to secure the Silmarils. And of course Maedhros at the end of himself stepping over the precipice into the volcanic chasm and to death-Maglor's wordless cry the last sound he hears, oh my god! I had tears in my eyes!

My absolute favorite was Maglor's decision to not follow his brother, but to live on to keep the memories of his brothers and father alive that they were not monsters but people who were once kind, caring, honorable and mischievous. That he would honor their memory. So deep, so sad, yet also hopeful.

Fantastic fic! So thought provoking! Loved it! And I hope it all made sense! Please forgive me if I babbled on a little too much.

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad it was thought provoking! Not babbling at all--I live for in depth, thoughtful, detailed reviews like this! The Oath always wins--it is something they must know deep inside yet they still strive to overcome that and fulfill it. It is both their downfall and their redemption. The relations are strained with Ereinion--even as Orodreth's son he is still a blood relation to both the twins and the Fëanorions but events of Sirion have Maedhros and Ereinion as adversaries since. They would have fought on the field against each other if Cirdan's forces had arrved in time and they both know it. It's going t be a tens meeting. I understand where you are coming from with your thoughts on Maedhros here but I don't see him that way. He has a job to do and he will see it done, whatever it takes. I see his actions and words as a result of years of maneuvering, politicking, planning on multiple levels and diplomatic "speak." He has a goal and a purpose and will do what he needs to get that accomplished--in this case it is a safe transfer without the mutiny of two headstrong, intelligent boys. He loves them but he will not let his love endanger them--he's been down that road before. He loves them dearly but not with the openness and wholehearted way he may have once--before those he loved in such a way were lost to him. He will see them safe even if it means skewing away from the truth. Even if it means they may hate him for it. I do not think they expected to see the twins again. They went into this battle knowing their deaths were likely. That's why they gave them the relics and Maedhros sent his most trusted friend with them. The end is always heartbreaking. I do think Maedhros clung to the idea that fulfilling the Oath would let them at least avoid the Everlasting Dark--and that would mean they would see their reborn loved ones again. I am sure he feared captvity in an almost irrational way--but he has been a brutalized captive before and it's hard to blame him for his PTSD about this. He wanted to fulfil the Oath and also right the wrong of his father's refusal to give up the gems to the Valar. I think he had worked that out as their only bargaining chip left and grasped at it, despite the glaring holes in his theory. But in the end it was too much--there was no way out that he could see and I think centuries of buried despair descended on him at once. But Maglor? I'm sure he was tempted to end it but he couldn't fathom the idea of the story being twisted to a narrative like that. Someone had to remember and honor who they had been. So glad you liked it! Sorry I nattered on so long in my reply!


You must login () to review.