| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
In at the Eye by Narya General Audiences
Fingolfin visits a recuperating Lalwen. A very short one shot, written as a treat for Bunn for Innumerable Stars 2018.
Time Waits for No Man by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Arwen visits an aged Faramir.
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1681
Chapters: 8581
Word count: 26138577
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16103
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 22
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
10/19/18 10:36 pm
I'm going to try and get out in the country for a nice walk - maybe Ingleton or Aysgarth, to see the waterfalls.
Narya
10/19/18 10:36 pm
Sounds lovely, Spiced. I miss my family like crazy, we're all scattered to the four winds these days. Hope he gets here safe.
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 10:04 pm
My brother’s over from Spain for a couple of days so I’ll be seeing him. If he ever gets here! Flight delayed by storms in Spain!
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 10:03 pm
I hope you’re able to relax, Narya, after a busy week.
Narya
10/19/18 10:01 pm
What's everyone up to this weekend?
Narya
10/19/18 09:28 pm
Happy Friday! :D
Ysilme
10/19/18 03:40 pm
Happy Friday to you all! :o)
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 09:43 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/18/18 10:25 am
Narya, they're constantly touring through Europe and the USA, and sometimes even farther abroad. You might be able to find a concert close to you eventually. And I totally agree about the concert!
Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Ysilme, that does sound wonderful, I am so jealous. There's something magical about a really good concert.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Elwing's Balrog

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 20, 2017 3:40 · For: Elwing's Balrog
Hi Keiliss! Wow! You've built such a wonderful story here.

I can't get enough of your Gil. I think I've fallen in love with him! So delectable.

His relationship with Elwing is so beautiful! It had me thinking of all these ideas for a fic. I just love how she seeks him out when she wants the honest truth. Not her Lords, not Rueth no one else but Gil. That must chafe! That a little Sindar Queen finds the company of a Noldor King more valuable than their own.

It's a lovely snapshot of her new life in Sirion. You seem to take seemingly ordinary situations and make them so interesting.

Elwing just finds him this solid strength at her back. And there's this power growing within her, who's going to tutor her on that subject? No one can! Gil seems to be the only one who has the sense and patience and wisdom to help her through it. Best man for the job!

He helps her understand herself, her fears, anything that is perplexing without glossing it over. And do I detect a little infatuation with him, for she notices his eyes are light blue and he sports dimples. I would think that anyone who didn't notice little things about someone else's features wouldn't be holding a little something for them. Maybe I'm just reading to much into it. I do that sometimes, get so engrossed in a story and/or the characters that I see things that aren't there, that maybe I'd like to be there. Lol.

Anyway Keiliss, great and meaningful story. I love all these little anecdotes on the day in the life of the little Queen. Looking forward to many more. :)

Author's Response:

Loved this review, thank you so much!! It's such an amazing feeling when someone reads a fic that came from the heart and really 'gets' it, all the little touches and subtext.  Her people are going to be unhappy with the amount of trust she puts in Gil as time passes, yes, and there are stories there too -- just they're notes in a folder still because there is a chain of ideas I want to follow that lead to a big story that I still need to find my way into.  I was thinking about trying the short pieces during NaNo next month.... So -- no Elwing for a while, though there are a bunch of Gil-centric fics I'll post over the next few weeks.

I think Gil sees her as almost a kid sister - they have stuff in common, like both being royal orphans, and he knows there's no one amongst her own people who see her as a young girl rather than a political pawn.  And I think she does have a tiny bit of a crush, yes. Well, she's 12, it's natural enough :D .Someone once suggested I should write an AU where Gil and Elwing marry and I admit I've been tempted - it would be interesting to see how huge a difference that one little change to the canon would make. But not any time soon, lol!

Hey, sometimes I also see things the writer didn't intend. I think it's a compliment - it means the characters felt real enough for speculation. In this case though, you noticed something I was aware of but hadn't focused on :)

 

 



You must login () to review.