| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

In at the Eye by Narya General Audiences
Fingolfin visits a recuperating Lalwen. A very short one shot, written as a treat for Bunn for Innumerable Stars 2018.
Time Waits for No Man by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Arwen visits an aged Faramir.
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1681
Chapters: 8580
Word count: 26132086
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16093
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 23
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Ysilme, that does sound wonderful, I am so jealous. There's something magical about a really good concert.
Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Hi, Fadesintothewest! *waves* good to see you, hope work isn't too painful.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 02:32 pm
That sounds amazing, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:19 pm
who of my music-loving OCs might be interested in playing the nyckelharpa/keyed fiddle... *ggg* )
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:18 pm
I've been to the most wonderful concert yesterday, Swedish Folk string trio Väsen. The music was so beautiful, and it felt so much like Middle-earth, too. (now I need to figure out
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:17 pm
Nice to see you popping in here, fadesintothewest! *waves* *waves generally around, too* Hope everybody else is doing well enough.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 10:53 am
Hope you do, too, Fadesintothewest :) Good to see you!
Fadesintothewest
10/15/18 09:27 am
Just wanted to say hello. I know things are slowed down right now. I wish I could be more present but work. Looking forward to participating more soon!!!
Spiced Wine
10/14/18 12:23 pm
Sign of a good fic, if you ask me :)
Narya
10/13/18 11:23 pm
:D this fic keeps mutating. So far it's sprouted four OCs and an unexpected plot twist which impacts stories that come chronologically later in the series...it's a nightmare but I love it!
Shout Archive


Reviews For All of You

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 16, 2017 14:29 · For: Chapter 1

*happy sigh* Oh, that was gorgeous, Cheeky. How sad that Elrohir has felt he is lacking because of his Mannish traits, and how lovely that Legolas sees and loves him as he truly is:

"I see strength and power, Elrohir. I see you shine with an incandescence so beautiful it blinds me. A wild silver fire, like that of the mortals your heart loves so much. Aragorn and Gimli—they burn so brightly but they cannot sustain it. Their light will burn out. Yours . . . yours will shine forever and I am caught. Like a moth, you have lured me to your flame. You are beauty in a way a soft, slow, gentle, elven glow is not." 

I love that!



Author's Response:

I thought they needed some one on one time. A chance for Legolas to start giving back in this relationship. 

Poor Elrohir has never had anyone in his life who celebrated the mortal part of him. They all fear it . .. they fear it means he will follow Elros. So he has been left feeling not good enough, surrounded by perfection. 

But Legolas loves mortals,  he is drawn to them, and he has nothing to fear from Elrohir connecting with his mortal side. He will embrace it and hopefully get Elrohir to see himself more positively. It's a new experience for Elrohir...being loved completely like this.

Glad you liked it! 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 15, 2017 22:15 · For: Chapter 1

Ah- Lovely! This is such a nice interlude of sweetness and affection and love.

Happy Birthday:)



Author's Response:

Glad you like it. Just some soppy Leggy and Elrohir wandering through the forest doing nothing much of anything.

Birthday was great, thanks! 



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: October 15, 2017 21:04 · For: Chapter 1
Aaahhhh!!! Thank you SO MUCH for this! Loving and supportive Legolas/Elrohir is just what I needed today!!
I really like the way you have Elrohir describe Legolas and all those little gestures that manifest his utter Elvishness--from bone structure, perception of the world around him, precise delicate motion. But it is so heart breaking the way he sees himself. I truly get the feeling Elrohir has gone through his life seeing himself as "not enough." Not Elven enough, not healer enough, not enough to save his mother. His words about Elrond are so poignant--knowing he bears a parallel to Elros is a heavy burden for them all.

But Legolas! Oh he is so good here. He needed to be home--it is so apparent with his singing, his calmer demeanor, his renewed ability to speak clearly what he means. His words to Elrohir are just right. I love that you included Elrohir's incandescence--it is a word that always comes to mind when I think of him!

And here Legolas' close bond with mortals actually brings him closer to Elrohir. He gets it. He gets the call to the world of Men. He doesn't dismiss it, fear it or revile it. He embodies true love here--loving all of Elrohir as he is--"as he is" being the most important component. It is healing, like a balm for Elrohir I think, to hear that.

And I think Elrohir's words--that joining Legolas in going to Valinor makes it easier for him, that the love overcomes the grief--that's so powerful. For they will grieve the loss of Middle Earth, more than others will understand or tolerate at times. But they will share that grief and understand it together because of their love.

Can you tell how much I adored this? Thank you so much my dear cheekybeak. Its not pointless fluff! It's a conversation they needed to have and realizations they needed to address. It's simply lovely and oh so relevant.
Posted review here too as it's where I usually gush about these two and this storyline but reviewed on AO3 too because I love this.

Author's Response:

Snap!! Double posting my reply.

As always you know these guys better than I know them myself. :-)

Glad you liked it! Wanted to do something to cheer you up. 

As usual you see right inside their heads.

Yes, Elrohir had never felt he was enough. He has grown in Imladris always feeling not the same...not completely elven. Elladan has his obvious healing ability and is definitely pulled towards the elves but Elrohir has only had his mannish warrior strength. (As you and I know he does in fact have powerful healing ability himself but it remains undiscovered)

I do not think anyone has ever loved him completely. Elladan loves him but still he does not understand the love of things Mannish. He accompanies Elrohir on trips with the Dunedain but the experience is not the same. Elrond loves him but although he has still encouraged his son to pursue his interests he has not been able to hide the pain that causes him and it leaves Elrohir feeling as if his very being punishes his father.

I think Celebrian was closest to truly loving Elrohir. She would not have understood his Mannish side but that would not matter. As his mother she loves the whole of him no matter what that is. But in the end she had to leave, and that leaving left him again feeling not enough. Not enough for her to stay, not enough to help her.

But Legolas . . .Legolas sees all of him and loves all of him. Especially the side of him that is Man. In Elrohir he finds that bright mortal flame that so entrances him in his friends but Elrohir's will not leave him. It is not tinged by the threat of potential grief.

Legolas is indeed much better at home....and home without the sea. As you say, even his ability with language is improved. No pauses here to stumble over words or have difficulty with what to say. Near the end of "Fire" I had many readers frustrated with the fact Elrohir and Legolas' relationship was not equal. They felt Legolas was all take and no give. And of course he was. He was far too broken to give anything back. But now . . . Now he can, and we see exactly what Elrohir gets back from the relationship. And it is a lot. Acceptance . . Of him as a twin, AND as Peredhel, not just acceptance but a love of those parts of him especially!

And no one has ever truly given him that before.

They ARE in fact a gift for each other. Elrohir helps Legolas cope with the sea-longing while he stays and Legolas' love helps Elrohir tolerate leaving Arda as he must. Despite the fact Elrohir seems confused by his choice in the beginning of "Fire" he has always known what it would be. He sees his father live with the lose of a twin. He will not go there. He may have run from the reality of that but he has always known it.

Now he has help achieving it.

 

Hope this little one shot helped make your day a bit brighter :-)


 

 



You must login () to review.