| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Magnificent Faerie Advent Calendar 2018 by cheekybeak Teen
It’s that time again. What is in store for us when Aragorn drags half of Minas Tirith to Imladris for Yule? 
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Borderlands by Marchwriter General Audiences
Better, Nellas said to herself and the trees who listened, to remain apart from Men. Better so than to become entangled in...
Be All My Sins Remembered by Marchwriter Teen
Wisdom is hard bought — more often by bitter experience than any sort of grace. While hunting in the wilderlands of Beleriand...
Oasis by Marchwriter Mature
On the verge of perishing in the desert after a fruitless search, a determined Elrohir locates a caravan of Easterlings...
West of the Dark East of the Sun by Marchwriter Teen
Determined to clear Ithilien of the enemy, Faramir is forced to decide the fate of a stranger trespassing in Gondor's realm.
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 88
Stories: 1696
Chapters: 8660
Word count: 26377532
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16291
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 30
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 15
Members:

Shoutbox

Gabriel
12/16/18 01:24 am
Thank you for that Spiced! It sounds really intriguing. A great Christmas present. :)
Spiced Wine
12/15/18 10:19 pm
I have the paperbacks as I don’t like Kindle too much
Spiced Wine
12/15/18 10:19 pm
Path of a Novice and Road of a Warrior by R.K. Lander — it will be a trilogy
Gabriel
12/15/18 09:52 pm
Wow! Congratulations to Alpha Ori, Spiced! I didn't even know she'd written a book. Good for her! Here's hoping she wins many more. What's the name of her book(s)?
Spiced Wine
12/15/18 07:23 pm
Alpha Ori’s won a Best Indy Book Award in Fantasy and Paranormal! So very proud of her!
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/15/18 05:36 pm
It was lovely, Ziggy. Can't believe we are 10 days from Christmas already! Ch 15 posted!
ziggy
12/15/18 02:31 pm
Sounds lush, Nelya- I have just taken my horses out in the pouring rain and wind for a quick zip round the lanes-we're all soaked! But happy.
Spiced Wine
12/15/18 12:32 pm
That sounds delightful on a foggy and chilly day!
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/15/18 02:54 am
happy Friday all! Thick fog and chilly here today so I am curled up with a cup of tea and a fire in the fireplace. And my favorite pudding so I am a happy girl. Wishing you all happy weekends!
Narya
12/14/18 01:54 pm
Happy Friday :)
Shout Archive


Reviews For All of You

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 16, 2017 14:29 · For: Chapter 1

*happy sigh* Oh, that was gorgeous, Cheeky. How sad that Elrohir has felt he is lacking because of his Mannish traits, and how lovely that Legolas sees and loves him as he truly is:

"I see strength and power, Elrohir. I see you shine with an incandescence so beautiful it blinds me. A wild silver fire, like that of the mortals your heart loves so much. Aragorn and Gimli—they burn so brightly but they cannot sustain it. Their light will burn out. Yours . . . yours will shine forever and I am caught. Like a moth, you have lured me to your flame. You are beauty in a way a soft, slow, gentle, elven glow is not." 

I love that!



Author's Response:

I thought they needed some one on one time. A chance for Legolas to start giving back in this relationship. 

Poor Elrohir has never had anyone in his life who celebrated the mortal part of him. They all fear it . .. they fear it means he will follow Elros. So he has been left feeling not good enough, surrounded by perfection. 

But Legolas loves mortals,  he is drawn to them, and he has nothing to fear from Elrohir connecting with his mortal side. He will embrace it and hopefully get Elrohir to see himself more positively. It's a new experience for Elrohir...being loved completely like this.

Glad you liked it! 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 15, 2017 22:15 · For: Chapter 1

Ah- Lovely! This is such a nice interlude of sweetness and affection and love.

Happy Birthday:)



Author's Response:

Glad you like it. Just some soppy Leggy and Elrohir wandering through the forest doing nothing much of anything.

Birthday was great, thanks! 



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: October 15, 2017 21:04 · For: Chapter 1
Aaahhhh!!! Thank you SO MUCH for this! Loving and supportive Legolas/Elrohir is just what I needed today!!
I really like the way you have Elrohir describe Legolas and all those little gestures that manifest his utter Elvishness--from bone structure, perception of the world around him, precise delicate motion. But it is so heart breaking the way he sees himself. I truly get the feeling Elrohir has gone through his life seeing himself as "not enough." Not Elven enough, not healer enough, not enough to save his mother. His words about Elrond are so poignant--knowing he bears a parallel to Elros is a heavy burden for them all.

But Legolas! Oh he is so good here. He needed to be home--it is so apparent with his singing, his calmer demeanor, his renewed ability to speak clearly what he means. His words to Elrohir are just right. I love that you included Elrohir's incandescence--it is a word that always comes to mind when I think of him!

And here Legolas' close bond with mortals actually brings him closer to Elrohir. He gets it. He gets the call to the world of Men. He doesn't dismiss it, fear it or revile it. He embodies true love here--loving all of Elrohir as he is--"as he is" being the most important component. It is healing, like a balm for Elrohir I think, to hear that.

And I think Elrohir's words--that joining Legolas in going to Valinor makes it easier for him, that the love overcomes the grief--that's so powerful. For they will grieve the loss of Middle Earth, more than others will understand or tolerate at times. But they will share that grief and understand it together because of their love.

Can you tell how much I adored this? Thank you so much my dear cheekybeak. Its not pointless fluff! It's a conversation they needed to have and realizations they needed to address. It's simply lovely and oh so relevant.
Posted review here too as it's where I usually gush about these two and this storyline but reviewed on AO3 too because I love this.

Author's Response:

Snap!! Double posting my reply.

As always you know these guys better than I know them myself. :-)

Glad you liked it! Wanted to do something to cheer you up. 

As usual you see right inside their heads.

Yes, Elrohir had never felt he was enough. He has grown in Imladris always feeling not the same...not completely elven. Elladan has his obvious healing ability and is definitely pulled towards the elves but Elrohir has only had his mannish warrior strength. (As you and I know he does in fact have powerful healing ability himself but it remains undiscovered)

I do not think anyone has ever loved him completely. Elladan loves him but still he does not understand the love of things Mannish. He accompanies Elrohir on trips with the Dunedain but the experience is not the same. Elrond loves him but although he has still encouraged his son to pursue his interests he has not been able to hide the pain that causes him and it leaves Elrohir feeling as if his very being punishes his father.

I think Celebrian was closest to truly loving Elrohir. She would not have understood his Mannish side but that would not matter. As his mother she loves the whole of him no matter what that is. But in the end she had to leave, and that leaving left him again feeling not enough. Not enough for her to stay, not enough to help her.

But Legolas . . .Legolas sees all of him and loves all of him. Especially the side of him that is Man. In Elrohir he finds that bright mortal flame that so entrances him in his friends but Elrohir's will not leave him. It is not tinged by the threat of potential grief.

Legolas is indeed much better at home....and home without the sea. As you say, even his ability with language is improved. No pauses here to stumble over words or have difficulty with what to say. Near the end of "Fire" I had many readers frustrated with the fact Elrohir and Legolas' relationship was not equal. They felt Legolas was all take and no give. And of course he was. He was far too broken to give anything back. But now . . . Now he can, and we see exactly what Elrohir gets back from the relationship. And it is a lot. Acceptance . . Of him as a twin, AND as Peredhel, not just acceptance but a love of those parts of him especially!

And no one has ever truly given him that before.

They ARE in fact a gift for each other. Elrohir helps Legolas cope with the sea-longing while he stays and Legolas' love helps Elrohir tolerate leaving Arda as he must. Despite the fact Elrohir seems confused by his choice in the beginning of "Fire" he has always known what it would be. He sees his father live with the lose of a twin. He will not go there. He may have run from the reality of that but he has always known it.

Now he has help achieving it.

 

Hope this little one shot helped make your day a bit brighter :-)


 

 



You must login () to review.