| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
A body has been found, its blood drained. Legolas and Gimli in pursuit. Warning for explicit slash in this chapter. Not...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The FŽanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8133
Word count: 24444960
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14683
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members: cheekybeak

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/21/17 09:44 pm
Have a wonderful time, Narya :)
Narya
10/21/17 11:46 am
Hello fellow Tolkien-lovers. I'm heading stateside for a couple of weeks so probably won't be online much. Take care, all - may the muses be generous!
Spiced Wine
10/20/17 04:40 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Tapestry

Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: October 08, 2017 0:41 · For: The Tapestry
I really like this. Gil can be such a cipher sometimes but this POV of his really gives some insight and dimension to him.
I really like Idril and Tuor, two characters I usually am not drawn to--their instinct for each other and obvious bond is really well characterized.
Galadriel is fascinating here--hints of who she will become and definitely evidence of her intelligence, insight and influence.
There is a casual, homey , warm tone to this that I really liked.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for the very kind words!  I sort of fell into writing Gil and he's become very 'present' for me,  easy to hear.  I love spending time with him.  I'm glad you like the result, and I do agree with you, he often seems rather like a cardboard cutout --- Tolkien didn't help there, by the time he got to the Second Age he was way more interested in what was going on in Numenor. 

Idril and Tuor are the ones that got away - First Age romances don't tend to have happy endings. They seem such a good team, heck, she even sailed with him when he finally left to search for the Undying Lands. As for Galadriel -- she writes herself, pretty much.  Love the whole idea of that tough, ambitious girl who crossed the Ice with her brothers looking for adventure and how life shaped her after that.

I wanted to make a serious atempt to put more of my fics on Faerie and couldn't work out where to start, but I love this (very incomplete) story arc set in Sirion and on Balar so it seemed a good place to start.  



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2017 13:37 · For: The Tapestry
Really wonderful!

You write Gil galad's family get together's with such warmth and camaraderie it makes me wish I had been invited. But its not without its gossip either. Lol

Its also great to see Galadriel in a more active and fulfilling role than I'm used to reading. She does tend to get left out a bit, sadly.

I particularly loved how Idril and Tuor are so closely in tune with each other, they act almost as if they are of one mind. Beautiful!

I love how Elwing has taken quite a shine to Gil, it speaks volumes of his character but not so much in his relations with the people of Menegroth.

I've got to say, I'm really enjoying your stories Keiliss. A new and different look into the life, on a more personal and familial level of a King of the Noldor. Love it! :)

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for the kind words, I'm sorry I'm responding so late! I love writing First/Second Age Galadriel, she is sooo much more intereesting than the Third Age Lady of the Wood!  Less of a lady, more a politician and adenturer.  I'm glad you liked her here. I'm always happy when I get to go back and write something in this 'verse. The pieces aren't all connected up, there's huge gaps, but I love the people and how they connect with each other.  It was a very dark time, I like to think it drew people closer together.  Tuor and Idril make me smile --- they're the couple Tolkien quite forgot to give a tragic storyline to and I'm convinced they survived to settle safely in Valinor. 



You must login () to review.