| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
Hot for Teacher by amyfortuna Explicit
Rúmil has a surprise for his favourite student (and lover); the student exceeds expectations.
In the Eye of the Beholder by lotrfan General Audiences
Finrod takes a trip north to visit his cousins, taking a notable piece of jewelry with him and imparting some interesting...
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Silver Girl by Himring Teen
While Celeborn is away, Celebrian makes a friend.
Heralds of the Dawn by Encairion Mature
And death shall have no dominion. The final installment of The Price of Eternity series.  

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1663
Chapters: 8504
Word count: 25825164
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15818
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members:

Shoutbox

Glorfindel
07/18/18 09:27 pm
Thank you for the birthday wishes :) I had a lovely birthday!
Ysilme
07/16/18 11:46 pm
Same here, Siân. Sending lots of love and positive vibes! *hugs*
Narya
07/15/18 12:06 am
Glad your Mum is home, Spiced. I hope you've been able to unwind a bit today.
Spiced Wine
07/13/18 10:56 pm
My Mum’s been in hospital since Sunday, just came home, and I have been rushing in and out of hospital all week so I think I am going to relax, if poss!
Narya
07/13/18 06:32 pm
Fri-YAY! What's everyone up to this weekend?
Spiced Wine
07/13/18 11:04 am
And happy Friday all
Spiced Wine
07/13/18 11:04 am
Belated Happy Birthday
Ysilme
07/12/18 09:43 pm
Happy Birthday from me, too! *waves*
Naledi
07/12/18 10:04 am
Happy birthday, Glorfindel! Have a great day :)
Naledi
07/12/18 10:03 am
Excellent, Ysilme! Total Legolas World domination, here we come!
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Tapestry

Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: October 08, 2017 0:41 · For: The Tapestry
I really like this. Gil can be such a cipher sometimes but this POV of his really gives some insight and dimension to him.
I really like Idril and Tuor, two characters I usually am not drawn to--their instinct for each other and obvious bond is really well characterized.
Galadriel is fascinating here--hints of who she will become and definitely evidence of her intelligence, insight and influence.
There is a casual, homey , warm tone to this that I really liked.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for the very kind words!  I sort of fell into writing Gil and he's become very 'present' for me,  easy to hear.  I love spending time with him.  I'm glad you like the result, and I do agree with you, he often seems rather like a cardboard cutout --- Tolkien didn't help there, by the time he got to the Second Age he was way more interested in what was going on in Numenor. 

Idril and Tuor are the ones that got away - First Age romances don't tend to have happy endings. They seem such a good team, heck, she even sailed with him when he finally left to search for the Undying Lands. As for Galadriel -- she writes herself, pretty much.  Love the whole idea of that tough, ambitious girl who crossed the Ice with her brothers looking for adventure and how life shaped her after that.

I wanted to make a serious atempt to put more of my fics on Faerie and couldn't work out where to start, but I love this (very incomplete) story arc set in Sirion and on Balar so it seemed a good place to start.  



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2017 13:37 · For: The Tapestry
Really wonderful!

You write Gil galad's family get together's with such warmth and camaraderie it makes me wish I had been invited. But its not without its gossip either. Lol

Its also great to see Galadriel in a more active and fulfilling role than I'm used to reading. She does tend to get left out a bit, sadly.

I particularly loved how Idril and Tuor are so closely in tune with each other, they act almost as if they are of one mind. Beautiful!

I love how Elwing has taken quite a shine to Gil, it speaks volumes of his character but not so much in his relations with the people of Menegroth.

I've got to say, I'm really enjoying your stories Keiliss. A new and different look into the life, on a more personal and familial level of a King of the Noldor. Love it! :)

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for the kind words, I'm sorry I'm responding so late! I love writing First/Second Age Galadriel, she is sooo much more intereesting than the Third Age Lady of the Wood!  Less of a lady, more a politician and adenturer.  I'm glad you liked her here. I'm always happy when I get to go back and write something in this 'verse. The pieces aren't all connected up, there's huge gaps, but I love the people and how they connect with each other.  It was a very dark time, I like to think it drew people closer together.  Tuor and Idril make me smile --- they're the couple Tolkien quite forgot to give a tragic storyline to and I'm convinced they survived to settle safely in Valinor. 



You must login () to review.