| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
In at the Eye by Narya General Audiences
Fingolfin visits a recuperating Lalwen. A very short one shot, written as a treat for Bunn for Innumerable Stars 2018.
Time Waits for No Man by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Arwen visits an aged Faramir.
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 86
Stories: 1681
Chapters: 8581
Word count: 26138577
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16103
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 26
Members: Ysilme

Shoutbox

Narya
10/19/18 10:36 pm
I'm going to try and get out in the country for a nice walk - maybe Ingleton or Aysgarth, to see the waterfalls.
Narya
10/19/18 10:36 pm
Sounds lovely, Spiced. I miss my family like crazy, we're all scattered to the four winds these days. Hope he gets here safe.
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 10:04 pm
My brother’s over from Spain for a couple of days so I’ll be seeing him. If he ever gets here! Flight delayed by storms in Spain!
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 10:03 pm
I hope you’re able to relax, Narya, after a busy week.
Narya
10/19/18 10:01 pm
What's everyone up to this weekend?
Narya
10/19/18 09:28 pm
Happy Friday! :D
Ysilme
10/19/18 03:40 pm
Happy Friday to you all! :o)
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 09:43 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/18/18 10:25 am
Narya, they're constantly touring through Europe and the USA, and sometimes even farther abroad. You might be able to find a concert close to you eventually. And I totally agree about the concert!
Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Ysilme, that does sound wonderful, I am so jealous. There's something magical about a really good concert.
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Tapestry

Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: October 08, 2017 0:41 · For: The Tapestry
I really like this. Gil can be such a cipher sometimes but this POV of his really gives some insight and dimension to him.
I really like Idril and Tuor, two characters I usually am not drawn to--their instinct for each other and obvious bond is really well characterized.
Galadriel is fascinating here--hints of who she will become and definitely evidence of her intelligence, insight and influence.
There is a casual, homey , warm tone to this that I really liked.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for the very kind words!  I sort of fell into writing Gil and he's become very 'present' for me,  easy to hear.  I love spending time with him.  I'm glad you like the result, and I do agree with you, he often seems rather like a cardboard cutout --- Tolkien didn't help there, by the time he got to the Second Age he was way more interested in what was going on in Numenor. 

Idril and Tuor are the ones that got away - First Age romances don't tend to have happy endings. They seem such a good team, heck, she even sailed with him when he finally left to search for the Undying Lands. As for Galadriel -- she writes herself, pretty much.  Love the whole idea of that tough, ambitious girl who crossed the Ice with her brothers looking for adventure and how life shaped her after that.

I wanted to make a serious atempt to put more of my fics on Faerie and couldn't work out where to start, but I love this (very incomplete) story arc set in Sirion and on Balar so it seemed a good place to start.  



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2017 13:37 · For: The Tapestry
Really wonderful!

You write Gil galad's family get together's with such warmth and camaraderie it makes me wish I had been invited. But its not without its gossip either. Lol

Its also great to see Galadriel in a more active and fulfilling role than I'm used to reading. She does tend to get left out a bit, sadly.

I particularly loved how Idril and Tuor are so closely in tune with each other, they act almost as if they are of one mind. Beautiful!

I love how Elwing has taken quite a shine to Gil, it speaks volumes of his character but not so much in his relations with the people of Menegroth.

I've got to say, I'm really enjoying your stories Keiliss. A new and different look into the life, on a more personal and familial level of a King of the Noldor. Love it! :)

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for the kind words, I'm sorry I'm responding so late! I love writing First/Second Age Galadriel, she is sooo much more intereesting than the Third Age Lady of the Wood!  Less of a lady, more a politician and adenturer.  I'm glad you liked her here. I'm always happy when I get to go back and write something in this 'verse. The pieces aren't all connected up, there's huge gaps, but I love the people and how they connect with each other.  It was a very dark time, I like to think it drew people closer together.  Tuor and Idril make me smile --- they're the couple Tolkien quite forgot to give a tragic storyline to and I'm convinced they survived to settle safely in Valinor. 



You must login () to review.