| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
A body has been found, its blood drained. Legolas and Gimli in pursuit. Warning for explicit slash in this chapter. Not...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The FŽanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8133
Word count: 24444960
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14683
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/21/17 09:44 pm
Have a wonderful time, Narya :)
Narya
10/21/17 11:46 am
Hello fellow Tolkien-lovers. I'm heading stateside for a couple of weeks so probably won't be online much. Take care, all - may the muses be generous!
Spiced Wine
10/20/17 04:40 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2017 10:07 · For: Chapter 6
Maedhros and Fingon are so delectable together. You write them so well, Nelya.

Tyelko and Aredhel together? Yeah, i'd like to see that.

I can't wait to read more! I'd like to see how everyone comes together and interacts. :D

Author's Response: So glad they work for you. I just love writing the two of them so much. Especially in good times, happy times. Tyelko and Aredhel--I'll have to post a few more chapters this weekend for you ;)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2017 9:46 · For: Chapter 5
Yay! More Feanorions! Ahh! The family love and dynamics. Lol

It's good to see the twins.Would love to see more of these two in fics.

Gee! Maedhros is pretty forward. When he wants something he goes after it. Poor Fingon, he seems a bit surprised by the sudden invitation. He was the one, who couldn't stop thinking about freckles! :)

Author's Response: Down the road you'll definitely see more of them all--siblings and parents! Maedhros is pretty forward here and Fingon's pretty flustered. We'll see how long they stay that way. How could anyone stop thinking about Maedhros' freckles?


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2017 9:06 · For: Chapter 4
I like this whole AU. It makes a nice change from all that sorrow.

Oh! The suspense!I wish Fingon and Maedhros would hurry up and meet up. I can be a bit of an impatient reader. Lol :)

Author's Response: Getting away from sorrow was why this came to be! Sorry t keep you waiting ;)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 11, 2017 12:49 · For: Chapter 3
The more I read, the more different these characters feel in this new setting.

So Feanor's wealthy, Fingolfin's a lawyer and
the Houses aren't even related! Very interesting.

It seems so strange to read them using headphones or watching tv, so alien. But I love it! :)

Author's Response: Yes I decided to not have them be blood relatives in this. AU after all ;) So glad you like it. I do try to incorporate a significant amount of canon--it becomes more evident later.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2017 6:17 · For: Chapter 2
I know what you mean about writing heartbreaking stories. When I do, I sit here with tears in my eyes and have to leave it alone for a few days. :(

Wow! Maedhros has accomplished so much in his young life. It puts me to shame. Lol

I like how you've made Formenos this boutique style place to live and getaway, not too far away from Tirion but far enough, if you get my drift.

This has sparked my interest, Nelyo, I just can't wait til he meets up with Fingon again! :D

Author's Response: I can't tell you how many times I've made myself cry writing Tolkien characters! I just love writing Maedhros. Yes I did have fun writing Formenos like this. Hope you like the direction this takes.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2017 1:17 · For: Chapter 1
This is so different! I've haven't read a story with 'Elves in modern society' before. But I love it!

Had to laugh at *Beleriand Books* Awesome!

I love how Fingon is all awkward responses and stumbling over his words. Yeah, Maedhros would do that to you!

And by the way Fingon, its not the coffee, that has your heart racing. So gorgeous. Lol.

Can't wait to read the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Thanks! This was my antidote to an attempt to write Maedhros is Angband--I got so sad and miserable writing it that I abandoned it to wrote this modern AU where they could be happy. I've got six chapters posted here and more to come this week. I'm so glad you liked this chapter--I love flustered Fingon. A lot. You'll see.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 06, 2017 23:55 · For: Chapter 6

Just a nice excuse for me to read this again:) LOve it.



Author's Response: Thank you ziggy--for the initial positive feedback on this story and for encouraging me to post it here and for reading it again!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: October 06, 2017 10:01 · For: Chapter 6
I like the backstory with falling through the ice - I guess that's a nod to the Helacraxe? (Might have spelled that wrong...)

The relationship you've got building between them is lovely. And I love the idea of Celegorm and Aredhel! Can't wait to read more of this.

Author's Response: Yes! Fingon's ice issues are my stand-in for the Helcaraxe. Fingon and Maedhros are truly a pairing I adore. I started this fic as an antidote to a very dark Maedhros in Angband fic I was trying to write. I got so sad and discouraged writing Angband that I had to put it away and write some happier fluff. This is the happier fluff. Aredhel and Celegorm are another paor that I think work very well together--it would be nice for them to get a chance as well.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: October 06, 2017 9:56 · For: Chapter 5
I'm enjoying this so much :-) Maedhros and Maglor's relationship is lovely - so easy and close. The annoying scifi-loving twins are great too. What a treat for a Friday!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really enjoy the brothers as individuals, as a group, and with these one-on-one moments of interaction. Maedhros and Maglor and so inextricably linked together--I always imagine them as so close and so integral to each other.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: October 06, 2017 9:51 · For: Chapter 4
Pasta pesto, proper student food - what a lovely touch. And I love his protective brotherly feelings towards Aredhel. I think it's great you made her a hockey player, it feels so in character!

Author's Response: Dredging my own uni memories for ideas/context. I ate an astounding amount of pasta back then. I think you're really going to like Aredhel when we meet her here--at least I hope you do! Glad the hockey idea worked for you--it's the first thing that popped into my mind for her!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: October 06, 2017 9:46 · For: Chapter 3
Ahh, they're English Premier League fans! Amazing! Which teams do they support? (I'm a massive Leeds fan, they are sadly no longer in the EPL).

The dynamic between the three housemates is great, exactly as I remember from uni - that mixture of affection and irritation.

Author's Response: They are Manchestier United fans (at least Finrod and Turgon are!) Yes that's exactly the university vibe I was going for here--loving exasperation.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: October 06, 2017 9:46 · For: Chapter 6

You posted this here! So strange to go right back to the beginning with tongue-tied clumsy Fingon and uptight, tied in knots Maedhros!!! 



Author's Response: Ha! I had to after ziggy encouraged me to do so! It is odd to go back to their early chapters but it's good for me to keep the clarity of the story in my head.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: October 06, 2017 9:40 · For: Chapter 2
I really like your characterisation of Maedhros - he comes across as an intelligent and very decent guy, which is how I always imagined him in canon. A good guy who was sent off the rails by terrible circumstances.

Author's Response: Similar view here-he has always seemed the most intelligent, measured, decent one. Made some terrible decisions and even his good decisions were doomed by the whole Doom of the Noldir bit. Sigh.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: October 06, 2017 9:15 · For: Chapter 1
Oh I really like this - it's so different! I'm a sucker for Maedhros/Fingon. And of course Maedhros is a Classicist. Of course.

Great work, I love how much of a dork Fingon is being :-) so adorable!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! And yes he had to be a Classicist--it fits him so very well. Dorky Fingon makes me very happy--I love writing him that way. Thanks for reading and commenting!


You must login () to review.