| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

I Will Share Your Road by lotrfan General Audiences
The road from Tirion is harsh and difficult but Nolofinwë finds his arrival in Beleriand far different than he expected...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
Hot for Teacher by amyfortuna Explicit
Rúmil has a surprise for his favourite student (and lover); the student exceeds expectations.
In the Eye of the Beholder by lotrfan General Audiences
Finrod takes a trip north to visit his cousins, taking a notable piece of jewelry with him and imparting some interesting...
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1664
Chapters: 8506
Word count: 25836072
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15820
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
07/20/18 01:42 pm
Happy Friday, everyone
Spiced Wine
07/19/18 11:32 am
Oh, no! Only one more day, Narya!
Narya
07/19/18 09:34 am
I got up all excited this morning because I thought it was Friday...nope! Brain fail.
Narya
07/19/18 09:33 am
Belated happy birthday, Glorfindel :)
Glorfindel
07/18/18 09:27 pm
Thank you for the birthday wishes :) I had a lovely birthday!
Ysilme
07/16/18 11:46 pm
Same here, Siân. Sending lots of love and positive vibes! *hugs*
Narya
07/15/18 12:06 am
Glad your Mum is home, Spiced. I hope you've been able to unwind a bit today.
Spiced Wine
07/13/18 10:56 pm
My Mum’s been in hospital since Sunday, just came home, and I have been rushing in and out of hospital all week so I think I am going to relax, if poss!
Narya
07/13/18 06:32 pm
Fri-YAY! What's everyone up to this weekend?
Spiced Wine
07/13/18 11:04 am
And happy Friday all
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 14, 2018 9:16 · For: Chapter 32
OMG! Nelya!

Maedhros was a such a mess when Fingon finally caught up with him for dinner. Poor thing.

All worry and self recrimination and apologetic. I think this was a good a time as any to come clean to Fingon, especially after the episode with Turgon and also because I think they've reached that part in their relationship where there shouldn't be any more secrets.

Finding out what actually happened to him, though, no wonder he was the way he was. How horrible!

It's so nice to see them able to indulge in each other without any of that other stuff getting in the way. Of course they still have to work on the triggers but I'm sure with time and Fingon's expert understanding and just being that all round wonderful guy, they should be able to gain control of the situation.

Time will tell.

Great chapter! :)

Author's Response: thanks Gabriel! He was a mess. He was ok when he came to his decision and told his brothers but then he had hours to himself to let it spin in his brain and let all his worry and anxiety and guilt to build up again.

What happened was horrible and I tried to keep it as close to canon as I could--abduction, shoulder injury, menace of worse treatment. He blames himself for letting it happen. He hasn't been able to forgive himself for that, even though it was completely not in his control.

yes they needed some time together like this. They've been building up to it but now the barriers are down, the trust is there and they can move to this new level of their relationship without all the mental baggage they both had with it.

I'm glad you love FIngon. I love him so very much myself.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 13, 2018 18:57 · For: Chapter 32
Oh poor Maedhros, reacting like that after falling asleep on Fingon :( as if his day wasn't bad enough! You write him so consistently; again, his automatic reaction is to blame himself. Poor guy.

The explanation is beautifully handled too - lots of subtle, shifting dynamics between them, underpinned by Finno's unswerving faith.

Of course, my favourite part was the end of the chapter ;) just gorgeous, Nelya!

Author's Response: It's what he's been desperately trying to avoid doing, only to be undone by his own comfort with Fingon and how tired and worn out he is. Thank you for the consistent comment--I try very hard to keep him that way and I'm glad it comes through. He is such an automatic self-blamer--he breaks my heart.

It's a long explanation so I'm relieved it came off well for you. It is a lot of back and forth between them but they've both come a long way from where this started as far as trust and Finno's faith in Maedhros is absolute.

the end--yes I decided they needed to make a night of it after going through the hellish day they did. they needed some stress relief and some time to enjoy each other now that the difficult conversation is past them and the barriers are down. Thanks so much, Narya!



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 13, 2018 18:43 · For: Chapter 31
Argh, sorry, I am behind...it's been crazy at work since I got back, and I still haven't caught up with what everyone's been posting.

Anyway - I should have known Aredhel would go off the deep end :/ but I love Turgon here, diffusing the situation and understanding that there's more to the incident than first apparent.

Fingolfin's reaction is interesting. It almost feels a little Fëanor-esque, but I suppose if he knows some dark stuff about their past it makes sense that he wouldn't want Maedhros and Tyelko seeing Fingon and Aredhel. I doubt they'll listen if he tells them to put the brakes on, though!

Author's Response: Thank you and No worries!

yes Aredhel is impulsive and incensed right now. She furious at the situation and quite honestly at Fingon too, for what she perceives as passivity and nonchalance in the face of concerning issues. Poor blood and snot covered Turgon ends up being the peacemaker here--the poor guy just wants to go home and wash his face not deal with the haranguing of Aredel and the truculence of Fingon! And Argon is just lost in the mix.

Fingolfin has seen the harsher side of Fëanor. He is being a little like Fëanor here--pushing his own issues into his children's lives but he truly believes he is doing is for the right reasons. I share your doubts on how well either of them will listen to him. Anairë is far more laissez-faire--she knows that past experiences have colored Fingolfin's viewpoint and even if she understands the difficult person that Fëanor is she is open minded enough about it to give it all a chance.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 01, 2018 10:09 · For: Chapter 31
Hi, Nelya! I just can't get enough of this wonderful story of yours.

Wow! Maedhros is not coming off too great in the wake of his outburst. Aredhel is absolutely incensed by it all. And even more so with Fingon's nonchalance.

I have to say, that Aredhel and Tyelko are so beautifully matched in this story. Both hot-headed, brazen and outspoken, but fiercely protective and loving of their family.

I loved reading about Fingolfin and Anaire. And of course finding out a little more about the law suit. It was a surprise to learn Fingolfin and Feanor had disagreements, I don't know why, it seems to be their MO, doesn't it. But that Fingolfin and Anaire were close to them once was a surprise. So this whole thing with the Feanorions may not go down too well with Fingolfin, we'll see I guess.

Can't wait for the next installment! :)

Author's Response: Aw Gabriel thank you so much.

yeah Aredhel is quite riled about the whole thing and FIngon's nonchalance is absolutely infuriating and concerning to her. And yes she and Tyelko are a fiery match. Their protectiveness of their siblings is something quite strong for both of them.

so glad you liked Fingolfin and Anairë--it was fun bringing them into the story and getting to explore their characters a bit. Yes they have a history with Fëanor and Nerdanel, beyond the lawsuit, and this whole thing is giving FIngolfin pause. Hope you like the next chapter too!



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 17, 2018 16:30 · For: Chapter 30
I just saw your comment to Gabriel about distinguishing all the different characters, and I wanted to add that this is something you do really well - I particularly loved the twins cheating, and Turgon's calm, measured, accepting reaction. You definitely get a sense of all the different personalities, even when they can't all have a lot of individual "screen time."

PS - I haven't forgotten about your birthday fic! It needs another draft; I am going away on Thursday so will probably take it with me for a final re-write and post when I'm back. I'm sorry it's ended up being so late :(

Author's Response: Thanks so much Narya! I'm so glad I was able to let them be themselves--unique and identifiable, their personalities peeking through the narrative. Take your time! I'm excited to read it whenever you finish it!

Author's Response: Thanks so much Narya! I'm so glad I was able to let them be themselves--unique and identifiable, their personalities peeking through the narrative. Take your time! I'm excited to read it whenever you finish it!


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 16, 2018 5:30 · For: Chapter 30
Nelya! I loved this chapter! So much fun to read!

I loved how embarrassed Fingon was with his choice of epesse for Maedhros. So adorable.

I absolutely loved how everyone was in this chapter. Especially Argon, loved how you included him.

Thoroughly enjoyed the rugby game, being a fan myself, especially when it came to Aredhel and Tyelko. They had me in stitches at Tyelko's antics and how anyone with the ball was systematically pelted with snow. lol. It seemed like so much fun.

But Mae's automatic response to Turgon pinning his arms...I did not see that coming and I liked the fact that I didn't. Fingon seemed pretty shocked though, probably because he thought they had covered all the bases, but it was quite clear to him, they had not. And it also seemed that Fingon wasn't quite sure how to react either. You could see he wanted to comfort Mae but hesitant about how to go about it, worried that he might be crowding Maedhros or maybe it was something else that had him holding back. Mae probably thought he had it all under control, and poor Turgon, you could well imagine that Maedhros would be quite a force to reckon with if ever he was forced into a defensive position, as we could well see.

He was so shocked and apologetic, I really felt for him. It was so good that he determined not give up this time. Way to go Fingon! :)

This really is an awesome story and you tell it so well.

Author's Response: Thank you Gabriel! Fun and drama in this chapter.

Embarrassed Fingon is adorable and I really love getting him that way!

It was challenging to have this many characters in this chapter and try to give each of them a bit of individuality and voice here--hope I managed it. The game is so Feanorian to me and pure Tyelko in its roughness and exuberance. I have to say I love how the twins are such cheats.

Oh I am so glad you didn't see that coming and that I pulled it off as a complete surprise! It was bound to happen sometimes and couldn't have happened in a worse situation for Maedhros--in public, to someone he doesn't know so well, in front of so many people and when he had valiantly tried to control for it and his brothers had completely missed the hints. Fingon wasn't sure how to react as you say--he was torn between concern for his brother and attempting to comfort Maedhros because he KNOWS how this occurrence will affect Maedhros. He sense that. And Mae is completely beside himself at what has happened but there is a core of strength in him and also the influence of Fingon's love for him--he can rationalize things in a better way and strive to keep going with this relationship because it means SO MUCH to him and MATTERS to him.

Thank you so much for your encouraging words!! So glad you like this fic!



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 15, 2018 20:15 · For: Chapter 30
This is so lovely, Nelya :) their gentle, languid awakening is so tender and gorgeous, and then the humour with the nicknames.

That game sounds like fun :D it reminds me of when my cousins, siblings and I were younger, and we used to play this weird mashup of football and hockey - the girls having hockey sticks made up for the boys being bigger!

Ahh, no :( poor Turgon! And poor Maedhros too - but I'm so glad he's still going to keep to his plans with Fingon, and that by the end he's able to joke a little about what happens.

I love how sensitively you explore the dynamics of Maedhros's experience, the impact it has on him, and the wonderful ways his family and friends (and Fingon of course) support him. Really heartwarming to read.

Author's Response: Thank you Narya! They have reached that lovely, languid stage of togetherness, where the world just shrinks down to the two of them. They deserve these moments.

It is a truly riotous game, no holds barred, mashup of any roughhousing you can imagine. Feanorian at its finest.

Maedhros was trying to control the team makeup without calling too much attention to his issues. His brothers failed to take the hint and poor Turgon was in the wrong place at the wrong time. I think his nose is painful but the emotional toll on Maedhros is as steep. This is exactly what he has been fearing all these nights with Fingon and for it to happen here, in the midst of fun, so publicly, is horrific for him. But there has already been a considerable effect of his relationship with Fingon that he doesn't do what he usually would do and retreat--Fingon has wormed his way into his heart and this is worth fighting for, worth struggling for. I enjoyed writing how absolutely gutted his brothers were and how they were preparing of the worst and to kick him in the arse if he behaved as usual. They just deflated with relief when he decided to keep going with it, rather than retreating.

Thank you so much of your last sentence!! I do try to explore the dynamics of his issues and how they affect his day to day life and relationships with those around him. I'm so glad you are enjoying this!



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2018 0:55 · For: Chapter 29
Yay, another chapter!

I love the different ways Maglor and Tyelko tease Maedhros :-D I wish poor Maglor could find someone, though. Maybe it would help his creative block!

Happy to see more Tyelko/Aredhel, even if it's just texting - I've missed them!

I like how easy Fingon is in Maglor's company as well, now. He is fitting intl the family perfectly, and I'm glad Maglor likes him and recognises how much good he's doing Maedhros. And the end of the chapter... *melts* Maedhros finally said it! Yay!!!

Author's Response: Those boys do love to tease Maedhros--lovingly tease him because you can tell they are basically grinning from ear to ear at seeing their brother happy. They are grateful for his happiness and they have certainly taken Fingon in as a result.

Maglor is clamoring to get his story told--it will come in time but he needs to be patient with me awhile longer. I have plans for him too ;-)

There will be more Tyelko and Aredhel ahead.

and yes! He finally said it--not when Fingon could hear it but still progress!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 08, 2018 22:03 · For: Chapter 29
Oh Nelya! I'm really sorry I misinterpreted that part of the chapter. Don't want to make you feel you have written it as such.

I think it all had to do with the PJ's and the fact that he seemed to wake up a bit once in bed. It just appeared he wanted to be with Mae so much that it looked like he had been faking drowsiness.Thus Mae steered him to bed.

So sorry if it wasn't intended. :/

Author's Response: No worries Gabriel!! It was excellent feedback that I really needed to hear. It wasn't the impression I intended but it's important that I know it can come off that way to readers who aren't in my head; that knowing what I intended may not have been adequately communicated. That's something for me to be aware of as a writer--there are offscreen moments and thought processes that I know the characters go through but the reader doesn't get that opportunity. My job is to communicate that, even if it's off screen. So thank you for making me look at that from a different viewpoint--poor Maglor's viewpoint! This is valuable feedback that I need to incorporate into my writing and characterisations. I appreciate it and sorry if I seemed at all unappreciative--I just felt bad to have left that avenue of interpretation open because Fingon isn't that type of guy at all. I need to think of the nuances more. Thank you so much for noticing that and reading it so deeply.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 08, 2018 11:40 · For: Chapter 29
I loved this chapter, Nelya!

I love your Tyelko. I think I've said that before somewhere. He made me laugh, such a loveable character. He suits this persona so much. In fact this is exactly how I see him, brash, full of cheek, wears his heart on his sleeve, a real tease and is not afraid to speak his mind.
How, he's fallen in love and can't quite believe he's done so. It's so adorable, he's adorable. lol

And Maglor-you just want to give him a big hug-he's such a sad figure. It becomes more evident as the story progresses. How completely lonely he truly is, throwing himself into his music. Just Maedhros asking after him; his face lights up.

What was Tyelko talking about, when he mentioned the last girl Maglor dated, messed with his head or something to that affect. What on earth did she do to him?

I also felt sorry for Maglor once you find out that Fingon faked his drowsiness as a ruse to get Maedhros into bed. It was just how Maglor lapped up the company, that made me feel for him. Nothing at all against Maedhros and Fingon wanting to finish where they left off previous. I just don't think either of them realized how much Maglor appreciated their companionship and interest in his work. I guess because Maglor tends to shut himself off from everyone, others believe he enjoys being alone, but it's quite the opposite.

Again, loved it! :)

Author's Response: Thanks Gabriel! I'm glad you are such a fan of Tyelko. I've probably mentioned it before but I love to write him so much--he's such fun and he just takes the story where he wants it to go.

But I am so sad that Fingon came off as faking it here! That was never my intention or his! He truly got so warm and snuggly and had overeaten so drowsiness just took over. Partly lazy about pajamas because he was sleepy and partly a new comfort with the intimacy he has with Maedhros now. It was never intended as a way to get away from Maglor. But he got a bit of second wind upstairs and hadn't fallen asleep yet when Maedhros climbed into bed and things progressed--he's been waiting a long time for this. I feel bad if I've written it to seem that he was faking it. :-(

Maglor is lonely. His brothers are good companions but he has had some tough luck on relationships and ended up a bit cynical. Both brothers being in the throes of romance is a bit overwhelming and irritating, even though he is happy for them he can't help being a bit jealous. He's nudging me to tell his story and it will come, in time.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2018 23:15 · For: Chapter 28
Argh, Nelya, I've just had to apologise to ziggy for my slow reviewing, and have realised I have missed one of your chapters too! I'm so sorry, blame TRSB!

I love love love that Feanor has a bottle of Scotch kicking around! In my head canon Maglor is a whisky drinker; it must run in the family ;)

Fingon handled the nightmare so beautifully - what a guy! And that ending - well, finally ;-)

I love seeing their trust deepen, and how they're starting to plan for the future. It's great to see the two of them getting what they deserve :-)

Author's Response: Thanks Narya! TRSB is a huge undertaking! So excited you are moderating it though!

Yes Scotch seemed the appropriate choice!

Fingon did as he was told--it was dreadfully hard, harder than he expected, to just sit by and watch. But he knew that's what he had to do, for his own safety and to maintain Maedhros trust. And horribly hard as it was at least it's happened finally. He now knows what to expect, the trust is building and he can let himself move further into their physical relationship without the fear of this hanging over him. It's a good bit of progress--in a lot of ways ;-)

New chapter posting soon!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 29, 2018 14:51 · For: Chapter 28
Fingon is right, the last thing Maedhros needs is to become dependent on alcohol on top of all the baggage he has to deal with.

When Maedhros finally fell to sleep and began having a nightmare I half expected him to be flailing about and when he opened his eyes and saw Fingon sitting there legs up under his chin against the headboard I honestly thought he wouldn't recognize him. Such a relief he did.

I love how they fell asleep in each others arms. And as a reward, for making it through their first night with nightmares, finally made love. Yay! Its been a long time in the coming, but I think Maedhros is realizing this idea of Fingon's is actually working and he can relax and enjoy the time they have together. I'm really intrigued as to what happened to Maedhros at the hands of Morgoth Industries. My god! It must have been horrendous for him to be so affected.

Great chapter! Nelya!

And you tell Cinemairon, beautiful artwork! :)

Author's Response: Hi Gabriel! Thanks for this! Yes the alcohol really needs to be a no go--it has quite the opposite effect and I think the boys need to treat it as a trigger. He had an episode in the hotel when he was at the wedding and again tonight. And the night at Fingon's apartment. It is not a coincidence anymore. They are effectively finding triggers at least and may be able to mitigate their effect if they are aware of them.

this was a terribly hard night for Fingon. He did what he was supposed to do but he felt so helpless and so paralyzed and so very upset for Maedhros. But it did prove that Fingon has a point and this plan has the potential to work for them, as long as they stay the course.

more will be revealed in future chapters!

and yes cinema iron's art for this has been just lovely!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 22, 2018 9:45 · For: Chapter 27
OMG! Nelya!

I absolutely love Tyelko in this chapter! He had me laughing with his lightning quips. :D

*"Maybe you should have left a note," Tyelko said. Something like, 'Humping my boyfriend on sofa - steer clear of the family room,' you know?" He smirked at them both. "Maybe put up a 'Men at work' sign on the back door," he said, Then his eyes lit up."Or one of those 'Speed Hump' signs like they have a Cuivienen. That's fucking perfect! Shit. I've got to steal one of those from campus and leave it in the garage for you." He threw his head back as he laughed.*

AND

*"You sure you aren't in the way here, Tyelko?"

"You have no idea," Tyelko said soberly. "I walked in on these two getting it on. The image is now burned in on my retinas."* That just cracked me up, Nelya! It was so good to have a laugh, today.

Tyelko is truly the comic relief.

But on a more sober note. Dear, Maglor happy to for his brothers' and how they have found wonderful companions, but doesn't like how things at home have changed and secretly wishes he could find that special someone too. But believes he is not as confident in that area. Oh! Maglor! Is there any hope for our beautiful, grumpy, singer, Nelya? I hope so. Don't like seeing Maglor depressed.


Well, will Maedhros succumb to the nightmares and will Fingon be safe? You have me biting my nails in anticipation. Great chapter! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much Gabriel! Tyelko is hilarious, isn't he? I can't tell you how much fun I have writing him. He insinuates himself into the storyline and then just spreads out and makes himself comfortable. He's so funny and irreverent and just makes me smile. He is comic relief and I love him for it.

Maglor keeps hinting about some relationship issues but he has not chosen to divulge the whole story. He just keeps making vague commentary of a sad kind. There is hope for him though, I promise you.

tyelko is certainly getting more comfortable with FIngon around, even if Maglor feels his comfortable home life is a bit discombobulated. But FIngon really seems to be fitting right in with these guys (which is fairly canonical) and he is trying hard to get to know the brothers and be a part of their home without being too obtrusive or disruptive. more coming soon. . .



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 15, 2018 21:57 · For: Chapter 26
Sorry Nelya, I meant to ask...when is your birthday? (It might have gone by already, apologies if so.)

Author's Response: May 26! Thanks for asking!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 15, 2018 21:26 · For: Chapter 26
Aaah, I'm so late, I'm sorry! Life has been crazy.

Anyway. I love that Fingon buys Spamalot tickets for Maedhros - and the little touch of his heart beating faster when he realises he's so confident in their future is really gorgeous. It gave me the warm fuzzies.

I hated what they did with the Angband Industrial Park and that Thangorodrim skyscraper is an eyesore—who puts a skyscraper out in the middle of nowhere?

That's neat too, I imagine Thangorodrim would be an eyesore. And there it is again - the tension in Maedhros. I'm glad Fingon is able to cajole him into talking it through this time, so it doesn't spoil their evening.

And Fingon waking up in Maedhros's arms is adorable!

Author's Response: Thanks Narya! Glad you liked the Spamalot bit and Fingon's dawning realisation of confidence in this relationship.

I truly wanted the Gotthaur buildings to be ugly, clashing and disrupting the skyline, not enhancing it.

Maedhros has wanted Fingon in his arms like this. Even if he couldn't sleep he at least had Fingon waking up in his arms, as he'd envisioned in his imagination.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2018 6:33 · For: Chapter 26
Hey Nelya!

So sorry about the wait. :/

It is so great to see Maedhros sharing a bit of his Grandfather's death and the aftermath, his feelings as well on the subject. It shows how far these two have come in their relationship, if Maedhros feels its okay to divulge a little information. And I'm sure a lot of that has to do with Fingon's honesty with his own problems and the reassurances and encouragement in the bedroom, as well, of course Fingon being an all-round good guy and an easy person to talk to.

I know Fingon brought it up, [Gorthaur and Associates] but it's good to have Maedhros unloading a little. he needs to, he needs this and the support.

I loved how they spent the night in each other's arms. Yay! And so romantic.

Author's Response: Thanks Gabriel! Yes Fingon is managing to make Maedhros comfortable and supported so he is being a little less reticent, bit by bit. There is a feeling of safeness with Fingon, a sense of security and acceptance that is gradually bridging those walls Maedhros has constructed around himself.

And Maedhros got his wish of Fingon in his arms.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2018 13:36 · For: Chapter 25
*"It's worth it, if kids have a better Christmas because their parents bought them books on sale at my store. Next year I'd like to team up with some local schools and shelters and give books away for free."*

*Fingon really didn't need any more reasons to love Maedhros- he was well on his way to being completely in love with him already.*

Awww! Maedhros can't possibly do anything further to earn those wings of his. What a sweetheart.

Oh my gosh! Tyelko is incorrigible! lol. I love that he's not afraid to broach sexual matters with his brother and tease him about it in the process.

Well, they've finally made some ground on their relationship, which is good. Finally spent a night together, although poor Maedhros spent it staring at the ceiling. I understand his reticence, his fear. Baby steps is the only way to go.

Looking forward to the next chapter, Nelya! :)

Author's Response: Thanks Gabriel! Maedhros is so sensitive and thoughtful, isn't he?

Tyelko is the best--I can just picture the whole scene--Maedhros all flushed and Tyelko just knowing that being profane and funny would make Maedhros laugh and relax a bit.

Baby steps--but at least he's trying, right?



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: April 29, 2018 1:02 · For: Chapter 25
"You a runner then?"

"I was," Maedhros said, his voice a little brusque. "I prefer the treadmill though. When I run, that is."

It was only a momentary shift but Fingon noticed. There were times when Maedhros withdrew a little--certain topics, certain situations. Now that he knew about the nightmares Fingon wondered if it was all related. The parking quirks. His grandfather. The distant look that came over him in the middle of a conversation. The running comment just now. They seemed disparate enough topics but his response to them all was similar.


Ah, Fingon is beginning to put the pieces together. I'm so glad that Maedhros trusts him to try staying over!

"It's worth it, if kids have a better Christmas because their parents bought them books on sale at my store. Next year I'd like to team up with some local schools and shelters and give books away for free."

He is just so lovely. If he wasn't so perfect with Fingon I would want to steal him :P

You write the way they gradually fall deeper and deeper for each other so beautifully and delicately - and I loved Maglor and Tyelko's different reactions to Maedhros bringing Fingon home. Tyelko's bawdy approach made me gigglesnort.

Fingon is so understanding and perceptive, realising that even a slight touch might damage Maedhros's trust in him. But it sounds like they're making progress, which makes me happy :) thank you for another fab chapter, Nelya. These boys brighten up my week.

Author's Response: Thank Narya! Yes Fngon is finally seeing a pattern and working out that things are linked. He's becoming more perceptive as he's focusing more on Maedhros now that he's confident in his feelings and done with his semester stress. Maedhros is just a dear, isn't he? I'm thrilled you are finding their slow burn realistic! It means so much for me to know that it's working, the way I am having their feelings progress.

Tyelko makes me laugh much of the time that I am writing him.

And you've got it right--Fingon is being very careful. He's made loads of progress but Mae is a bit of a minefield so he treading lightly and trying to follow the guidelines. And he likely doesn't even realize that his simple ability and willingness to fall asleep has made a huge difference to Maedhros.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2018 9:17 · For: Chapter 24
I love your Maglor, Nelya!

Grumpy, slightly obnoxious but with a good heart.
And he doesn't appear to be that much of a people person, either. Although I may be wrong in that quarter.

I liked how he was waiting for Maedhros to come to bed so he could give him the third degree. I get it though, Maglor seems pretty protective of his big brother and just wanted to make sure there were no complications with Fingon staying the night and such.

I had a chuckle though, at Maglor's inability to not think of his music at critical moments. Even as blunt as he is, he is still such a sweetheart. :D

And Maedhros is stressing again. I know he doesn't want to muck things up between he and Fingon, but he really needs to relax about it all. Nothing fell apart just because Maedhros didn't respond to something Fingon said. I really don't think Fingon was looking for a response to be honest, just wanted to get his feelings out in the open.In fact I think it was more of a compliment to Maedhros for how Fingon felt at that moment.

I love all this family dynamics. Especially when Aredhel and Tyelko get together. Oh! Who am I kidding, I love all of them! :)


Wonderful chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks Gabriel! Maglor is my slightly temperamental artist. He's observant and very protective of his big brother. And he truly loves his brothers, even if he gets distracted while talking to them. Maedhros is well known on the family fir stressing over things. He's a perfectionist, as they all are, but he takes it to extremes. More coming soon!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: April 21, 2018 17:04 · For: Chapter 24
Oh, Nelya, another gorgeous chapter!
I love Maglor here; it's almost like he's the big brother. And this is lovely:

“It’s more than that,” Maedhros said, his voice hushed. “Honestly, I’ve never felt like this about anyone ever . . . he makes me feel . . . I don’t even know if I can put it into words—like I could tell him anything and he’d be here for me, no matter what. That I can trust him. And that he appreciates me, despite everything. I know I’m rambling, I can’t really figure out how to say it."

Maedhros not being able to put his feelings into words is so adorable - partly because I see him as a very intelligent, articulate individual, so this must be something huge if he can't even describe it.

“And then he said ‘this is where I always want to be’ and I didn’t think about it at the time but. . .” Maedhros frowned as his eyes met Maglor’s. “But when I think about it now it seems like he was saying a whole lot more.”

Those would make good song lyrics Maglor thought. He’d been writing a love song—pointless of course, but that was what he did—composed songs.


*snorts* typical Maglor, getting distracted by possible song lyrics! I love how well you draw all their characters. They're perfect.

The snow is the perfect backdrop to all this cosy happiness...although thankfully the weather here is starting to warm up (finally)!

Author's Response: Thanks Narya! Maglor is very protective of big brother Maedhros--especially since the "incident". But he also gets exasperated with Maedhros, as we see here. And easily distracted! And yes you got it--I wanted lovely, erudite, well-spoken Maedhros to be thrown off and a little at a loss for words regarding Fingon--this is uncharted territory for him and he is uncharacteristically floundering for words. Glad you are enjoying this! More to come!


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 17, 2018 7:24 · For: Chapter 23
It is so nice to see Maedhros more at ease and able to enjoy his time with Fingon a little more, now that he has gotten a few things off his chest.

Okay, granted, He hasn't told Fingon everything, which he should. Sadly I don't think this relationship will go any further until Maedhros has laid EVERYTHING out on the table.But for now, I guess they can enjoy what they have.

I love seeing these four together. And I loved the heart to heart Mae and Tyelko had in the spare bedrooms.

*Maedhros nodded. "I talked to him. I told him...well, not the whole thing...but he knows about the nightmares and about me clocking you and Maglor in the head."

"You talked to him?" Maedhros and the linens found themselves tackled in an exuberant hug. "Good for you, Mae! I knew you could do it." Tyelko pulled back. "I told you it wouldn't faze him, didn't I?"

Maedhros sighed, but was unable to keep a small smile off his face.*

You know, this was a wonderful idea, Nelya, a modern AU. I'm thoroughly enjoying the storyline. :)

Author's Response: Thanks Gabriel. I'm so glad you are enjoying this AU! Yes, Fingon opening up helped Maedhros and having even a bit of it off his chest has relaxed him a little. He should tell him everything but this is a step in the right direction. He's trying but he's built his walls very high and very rigid. He's not ready to make the full disclosure--mostly because of his negative self talk and self recrimination. Tyelko is a supportive brother--brash, abrasive, but with a good heart.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2018 11:28 · For: Chapter 23
Oh, I meant to ask - are you on Tumblr or Dreamwidth?

Author's Response: yes to Tumblr! we found each other by chance this morning, which is fun. I am not familiar with Dreamwidth and I just put a question in the shout box about it. I'd love to hear more about it and if it's something I should join? I really know nothing about it.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2018 11:27 · For: Chapter 23
Yay, perfect Saturday treat!

He respected Maedhros' right to keep that information to himself until he was ready to share whatever troubled him. For now it was enough that Maedhros had admitted there was an issue at all.

I love Fingon more and more. He is just the sweetest, most understanding person. And it looks like Tyelko and Aredhel's relationship is going well, too :)

Maedhros is a wine buff! Amazing! And this is just gorgeous:

He moved behind Maedhros and wrapped his arms around him, resting his head on his back. He wanted this--this closeness, this domesticity, these easy comfortable moments. He could see himself coming home to this every night and oh did he want that.

Such an easy warmth there, it's a delight to read.

I loved Aredhel telling Fingon where to get off bossing her around about her relationship with Tyelko, too. Go girl!

The brotherly banter is great, as ever (love your grumpy Maglor), and this bit made me go "aww!":

"You told him?" Maedhros and the linens found themselves tackled in an exuberant hug.

Wonderful chapter, Nelya. It's great to see these relationships deepening and the trust growing between them all. Love, love, love it.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Narya! Glad you enjoyed it. Fingon IS a sweetheart. He's just so understanding and patient. It makes you wonder why he hasn't found someone before now, doesn't it? Something I need to get him to explain to me. Of course Maedhros is a wine buff--goes with being an amateur chef. Did you catch the name of the wine? Yes, I felt they needed some fluff and domesticity after the last few chapters. Aredhel is definitely not going to get bossed around. And she's not going to mince words with Maedhros either. I'm sure Fingon and Tyelko would be indignant at them talking about them this way, if they knew! I'm glad the brotherly banter works. Grumpy Maglor is a favorite of mine--he has a back story too and he is not pleased with me focusing on other things. I'll have to get to his story sometime. And yes--Tyelko is physical in all things--including exuberant hugs!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: April 04, 2018 20:48 · For: Chapter 22
"We can work on this together, ok?"

"Ok."


Oh, Fingon...you are just wonderful!

They're so gorgeous, Nelya. I was so happy to see Maedhros tell Fingon the truth, even if it's only part of it. I hope that Fingon's right, and they really can work through it together.

And more beautiful artwork at the end too. Major warm fuzzies!

I think this was my favourite image from the chapter:

He brushed his fingers down Fingon's back, wrapped his arms close around him and then rested his cheek on that soft, dark hair. They stayed that way as the fire burned low and the light grew dimmer outside.

The two of them curled up together as it gets dark, finally at peace with each other, is lovely.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and commenting! Fingon is wonderful and he is a bit of a problem solver. Maedhros is too--but mostly for everyone else, not himself! I think Maedhros was surprised by how well it went. It was easier to get a part of the truth out than he expected. I think he is encouraged and galvanized by the fact that Fingon wants to work through this. And yes they needed some cuddling time. This has been a rough day for both of them but they have been there for each other just the same. And yes I'm so lucky to have an artist do such wonderful art for me!!


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 04, 2018 7:55 · For: Chapter 22
Yay! Maedhros!

But gees, he really struggled with getting to the crux of the matter, didn't he? So fearful as to how Fingon would take it.

I'm just surprised that Maedhros would think Fingon would pity him or show any kind of disappointment, especially after Fingon was open and honest confessing his own fears.

Why would Maedhros think that of Fingon? Or is it that that's all he has ever recieved from people. A rejection of sorts.

And I love how Maedhros is a bit lost for words that Fingon would be so understanding and excepting of this revelation. I think he was super worried he was going to lose Fingon before their relationship even got off the ground.

Way to go Fingon! Coming up with a way that they can adjust to the problem.

You know this makes their romance that much more beautiful, in my eyes. That even at this early stage, they are willing to work on these problems together. It just goes to show they both really want this and badly. Others would have probably walked away.

Awesome kissing scene, Nelya! And wonderful intimate moment too. :)

Author's Response: He did it. Not the way Maglor wanted him to do it but more in the way Azaghal advised him. It may be enough for now. He expected a negative response because he himself feel so negative about it. He feels he has failed. He is very harsh with himself about this issue--and so he expects others to be too. He also hasn't revealed how problematic it still is too many people. Az, Maglor and Tyelko know it's still a problem because they have lived with him. The rest of his family knows but he has done a good job of keeping the details of how things are currently fairly vague. I think he was afraid to tell Fingon but finally realized if he didn't say something he actually might lose him. And as usual Fingon surprises him by being completely understanding and reasonable and caring--much like Maedhros himself was with Fingon's panic attack on the ice. They do both really want this and Fingon is willing to work for it; he's pretty single-minded when he wants something. and yes they needed some good snuggling/kissing time!


You must login () to review.