| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Sudden Pain of Silence by Himring Teen
They had found each other easy to talk to.But then...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The Fëanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
Sunrise Over Ivrin by Narya General Audiences
Vignette. Nargothrond's exiled King and his faithful captain share a quiet moment at dawn. Written for B2MeM 2018, Music...
Choose Life by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Hovering between  life and death, Faramir faces a choice.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 82
Stories: 1623
Chapters: 8329
Word count: 25170237
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15382
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 28
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9

Who's Online

Guests: 17


03/18/18 06:50 pm
I like rats! They're very intelligent. And Ziggy, I love Black Rebel Motorcycle Club :D great shout!
Spiced Wine
03/18/18 04:18 pm
I’m doing a lot of bird feeding, Ziggy! And foxes, there are some around and I always feel sorry for them, too. Don’t tell anyone, but there is one poor rat that I feed too
03/18/18 03:20 pm
If you're stuck indoors, check out Black Rebel Motorcycle Club Wrong Creatures- current soundtrack of the BMW ad -bit like Kasabian.They are my current soundtrack for Elrohir
03/18/18 02:56 pm
Same here- snowed all day. My shetland pony SO resentful about being outside! My TB happy as a lark- charging about the filed, bucking and rearing. But poor little birds- feed them if you can.
Spiced Wine
03/18/18 10:21 am
Woke up to a blizzard and about 5 inches of snow, of course it’s drifted so it’s not really that deep
03/18/18 09:03 am
We had a good covering of snow yesterday and it’s still snowing. Really fed up with winter now. As Spiced says, thought, it’s forecast to clear soon.
Spiced Wine
03/17/18 10:27 pm
Us too, Narya. Grr. I am sick of it. But this is not going top last as long, apparently.
03/17/18 03:33 pm
We've got snow again...!
Spiced Wine
03/16/18 07:41 pm
Have a lovely weekend :)
03/16/18 11:36 am
Have a great weekend everyone. You too Narya! :)
Shout Archive

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2018 3:54 · For: Chapter 19
Hi there Nelya!

Hope this review finds you well and that everything is going great. :)

I really love how you've included Azaghal in this and Narvi as a girl.

Love this guy, and what a friend! Its strange but Maedhros and Azaghal remind me so much of Legolas and Gimli. Especially in Ziggy's wonderful series.

Azaghal seems to understand Maedhros more than Maedhros knows and understands himself. The fact he can make head and tail of Maedhros' thought processes and feelings is just amazing. He just seems to get Maedhros and is always there for him no matter what's going on in his own life, traits of a true friend.

And I think also that Azaghal is better as a sounding board than Maedhros attempting to bounce all that baggage off on his brothers, who would be able to help to a certain degree but beyond that I think they are too close to him to really understand or be able to help Maedhros' dilemma. I mean Maglor and Tyelko tried but couldn't seem to move beyond that wall that Maedhros erected. Yet it seems to have worked with Azaghal. Sometimes I think you need someone who isn't too close to you or the situation to give you an objective viewpoint and therefore help you to understand.

Oh Maedhros! Still torturing himself over not being up front with Fingon and then torturing himself again with the idea that he could hurt someone and then blames himself for allowing whatever happened to him to happen to him in the first place and as a result he ends up with a panic attack. I have had panic attacks myself, not nice, not nice at all. Dear sweet Maedhros! I hope the weekend with Fingon allays some of his fears and hopefully strengthen their relationship.

I loved the part where he tried to imagine Fingon lying next to him. Where the last thing he saw was Fingon's blue eyes before sleep took him. Beautiful!

I'm sorry Nelya! If I've gone on a bit. I just really love this story and love where your taking it. :)

Author's Response: Gabriel thank you so much! I love your detailed reviews--they make my day! It was time to introduce Azaghâl--he's been mentioned a few times in the narrative and it was time he made an appearance to straighten Mae out. He's lived with Maedhros--college years and beyond--so it's inevitable he's gotten to know him in a different way than Maedhros' brothers. He's not had to be protective or responsible for Azaghâl so their dynamic is far different. Azaghâl was close to Maedhros before the event and lived with him during and after. He knows the story and the aftermath. He's steadfast but blunt. Just what Mae needs. Maedhros is a bit of a mess in this chapter. He's so quick to blame himself. But he needed to let loose a bit and his drunken ramblings were fun to write. Thanks for love for this story! I hope you enjoy the next chapters!

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: March 12, 2018 20:58 · For: Chapter 19
Azaghâl is great! What a wonderful friend for Maedhros to have - someone outside his family who understands him and can support him through whatever past trauma he is carrying around. And Narvi is a girl; I love it!

There are some really striking echoes of canon in this chapter - particularly Maedhros blaming himself for what has happened. I'm assuming this is the equivalent of his torment on Thangorodrim, because let's face it, he walked into that one. His drunken ramblings are so adorable, though - I squee'd.

He let himself imagine what it would be like if Fingon were lying next to him. If Fingon's blue eyes were the last thing he saw before falling asleep. If Fingon's arms were around him, his head tucked under Maedhros' chin.

Ahh, that's just too cute! But such a sad end to the chapter. I really hope the weekend away in Formenos helps them work things out...

Author's Response: I love Azaghâl! he's good at reading Maedhros but he's also very blunt. A steadfast friend but not one who lets him get away with things. He calls him on his evasions and is quite good at cutting through all of his rationalizations. I'm so glad you picked up on all of the canon similarities here! The situation he got himself into is his equivalent moment here--that ended up in his Thangorodrim moment. He does not listen to reason well about this topic. The drunken ramblings were some of my favorite things to write in this chapter; he really needed to loosen up and actually tell Fingon how he feels. Fingon needs to know his feelings are not one-sided, that they are returned by Maedhros. He ends up saying a lot more due to the alcohol than he ever would have intended. That's a good thing; Fingon needed to hear that. He can have what he imagines if he just lets himself. That's his stumbling block. He keeps second-guessing himself. Now I really can't wait for you to read the Formenos chapter!

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: March 01, 2018 19:59 · For: Chapter 18
"You look like shit." He narrowed his eyes at Maedhros and continued. "I honestly can't remember the last time you looked this bad. What the hell happened today?"

Heehee, I can't imagine Maedhros looking like shit. Ever.

"He said something like that already, didn't he?" Tyelko's voice was even gentler now.

"Pretty much."

"And you still didn't tell him? Aw, Mae, what am I going to do with you?" Tyelko sighed.

I love how kind Tyelko is. You write him beautifully. And I love Fingon and Maedhros's text exchange, they're so sweet!

A knock sounded at his door and he looked up to see Maglor peeking in. "Didn't I tell you this would happen, you bloody idiot?" Maglor said.

"Shut up, Maglor," Maedhros complained. "I'll get this figured out."

LOL, Maglor is so funny. He's such a bossy boots.

Come on, Maedhros, have that conversation. Fingon's totally worth it!!

I'm hooked on this version of the characters, Nelya. It's so nice to read them and not be dreading the next bloodbath...

Author's Response: Thanks so much Narya!! Maedhros looks good even when he is distressed. I'm so glad you like Tyelko, I just love writing him--he's outspoken, profane, tempestuous but so very kind and gentle when he need to be. And Maglor, being Maedhros' closest confidant, is just done with this sidestepping. He's blunt when he needs to be. The brothers have a good idea how to deal with Maedhros--he's stubborn so he doesn't often listen--but they know how to drive a point home and they work together. Tyelko could tell he had to tread carefully with Maedhros initially but he got him primed for Maglor--working together and conversing about him, which irritates Maedhros no end but he is rational enough to know it's done out or love. So he grumbles but overall takes it from them-- even if he doesn't take the advice he accepts the loving gesture,

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: March 01, 2018 3:36 · For: Chapter 18
Hi Nelya!

I really like your Tyelko. How he wouldn't let his big brother go without the proverbial twenty questions. And considering the vibe Maedhros must have been giving off, the annoyance at being cornered. He really needed to talk this through not let it lie and fester.

I love the family dynamics Maedhros has with his brothers, that love/hate relationship he has with them. Loves them point blank and protective, no question, but at the same time loathes them meddling in his own life and affairs in any way. It probably comes from his days protecting his brothers from the fallout of his parent's arguments and thinking he had to shoulder everything on his own. And so now when Maedhros needs them even if he never asks for help, they are there. Their way of giving back to the big brother who sacrificed so much to look out for them. :)

I'm so pleased Fingon apologized to Finrod for his behaviour; jumping down his throat and getting all defensive and Finrod brushing it off like it was nothing. Good old Finrod! Fingon really needs to relax about the whole situation, but I guess when your just starting a relationship with everything new, the last thing you want is to think you may have ruined it before it got off the ground. OMG! Maedhros REALLY needs to tell Fingon, otherwise Fingon is going to turn this on himself, blame himself.

And the exchange between Maglor and Maedhros just exemplifies what I said earlier.

Maedhros is afraid of losing Fingon but if he doesn't tell him about his predicament he may do anyway. And I can see anyone trying to help comes up against a wall of fear. What happened to Maedhros, Nelya, that landed him in a Hospital bed and ultimately created the 'nightmares?' It must have been pretty horrendous. I guess I'll find out in the coming chapters. This is getting good. :)

Sorry if I've waffled on a bit. Just got a bit carried away. Wonderful chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you Gabriel! I really enjoy writing Tyelko. He's quite observant and he knows the signs of trouble with Maedhros. Maedhros has, as you point out, always been their protector and confidant. They've always come to him--to talk, to complain, to air grievances, to ask for advice. He's used to that role. He's not as used to being protected, watched out for, advised by the younger brothers. He's also a bit of a control freak (a lot of a control freak as Cheekybeak tells me!) so it's unnerving and uncomfortable to be out of control. His issues are not very controllable, in his opinion. So he feels ashamed and weak because of that apparent lack of control over himself. He takes responsibility for EVERYTHING--even things that are clearly not under his control or purview. And you are exactly right--he rarely, if ever, asks for help. But they are there anyway, when he needs it. They ARE giving back and not letting him use his skilled evasive tactics. So he's grumpy but grateful. Finrod and Fingon needed to talk. And Fingon is flustered by his feelings. He's never been this into somebody. He's a bit of a control freak too and this uncontrollable attraction is a bit unnerving for him. His life is very regimented--he's completely focused on school when he needs to be and on the few occasions he lets loose he really lets loose! So Fingon does need to know what's going on because he will think it's him that's the problem, not Maedhros. They're a little similar in that way. Maglor is the closest to Maedhros--his confidant. But he's just about had it with the denial, secretiveness and self blame. Maedhros is in an unnerving place too--he's never been truly invested in a relationship either--uncharted territory and he has fallen HARD. But he's kind of painted himself into a corner, the story will gradually come out. Sorry for long winded response--I loved your comments and wanted to address them all!

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2018 4:06 · For: Chapter 17
Oh! Nelya! Now I completely understand why Maedhros froze when Fingon said, "I'm not going to beg you to stay."

Oh! Poor Maedhros! Poor all of the Sons of Feanor, but especially Maedhros, for having to endure his parents passionate and fierce arguments, the slow decline of their marriage and everything associated with their family life. For having to be the pillar of strength and protectiveness for his little brothers even when he did not feel strong himself, as this war raged on.

I like the idea of Feanor and Nerdanel being both very similar in character. Fiery, passionate, headstrong individuals.

And I love your reason why Moryo is such a loud and furious presence within the family. Great idea! Was it not said that even though Curufin resembled his father in face and skill, that it was Caranthir that resembled his father's tempestuous character.

I had to chuckle at the use of 'Morgoth Industries' being behind Finwe's murder. Great use of the dark Lord as being some big corporate company intimidating the little guy. Not that Finwe was little by any means. He was quite wealthy wasn't he? Their whole family?

And so this explains why Maedhros won't give of himself so completely, wants the relationship, no question there, but at the same time doesn't want Fingon or anyone he's seeing knowing about the emotional and mental baggage that comes with dating him. That's so sad. :(

I just hope these two can see their way through all of it and come out the other side better for it. :)

Author's Response: Thanks Gabriel! Yes Maedhros was completely triggered by those words--he's already struggling and that phrase shook him. As the eldest he took on the role of protector for his brothers at a young age and also took over as almost a third parent--not to mention a mediator for his own parents. Not uncommon for older children in dysfunctional families. It's left him wth a overly protective instinct for those around him and a need to control his environment--understandably. But without communication it's hard for those outside his family circle to understand his motivation and responses--his brothers know him well and adapt but Fingon doesn't know enough to comprehend. And Maedhros feels he needs to be strong, perfect, indomitable and as you say he can't give of himself completely because he is not that in his mind--he sees himself as weak and damaged, imperfect. I'm glad the impression of Nerdanel and Fëanor's personalities rang true. Poor Moryo. And Tyelko blunt as always! Yes, Morgoth Industries worked for me--an entity powered by a rarely seen leader who leaves his minions to wreak havoc at his bidding. Yes Finwë was quite wealthy--pharmaceutical corporation that left him frightfully rich. Yeah Maedhros and Fingon are not in a great place right now but there are more chapters to come and things will move forward.

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2018 22:16 · For: Chapter 17
Yay, more of these gorgeous boys!

His parents were both very passionate, intense, brilliant personalities. During the good times they fueled each other's creativity, spurred each other to new endeavors and showered each other with love and admiration.

In the not-so-good times the arguments raged, neither one willing to compromise easily.

Ooh yes, perfect. This is exactly how I've always seen them - brilliant, intense, passionate, fuelling each other but at the same time clashing.

Their words were razor sharp, the insults meant to cut and wound each other, with the unintended effect of devastating those who listened.

This breaks my heart though, those poor kids.

"I'm not going to beg you to stay."

She had given him a long look. "I wouldn't expect you to," she had said, walking away.

Oh, that's where Maedhros got that line. Ugh, poor thing :(

His parents had not spoken to each other again until they were in his hospital room six weeks later.

Ohhhhhh. I guess we're getting near the heart of his issues now?

Nelya, this is such a great chapter; it gives us so much insight into Maedhros's life with a few deft brushstrokes and carefully chosen details. Really well done - but please tell me Maedhros and Fingon work it out soon!?

Author's Response: Thanks Narya! I'm glad the complexity of Fëanor and Nerdanel's passionate love and tempestuous relationship rang true. I wanted to paint the picture of the way Maedhros stepped in to be a caring older brother at a very early age, how he took on responsibilities, how he tried to control the situation. These are very important traits that he has carried forward into his life-needing control, berating himself for things that are not his responsibility or under his control, maintaining a watchful protective attitude with those he loves. It also shows in the fierce loyalty his brothers have for him--how they want good things for him. I loved how you describes it as "brush strokes!" I was trying to show it without too many words--the dysfunctional family dynamics that affected them all. It is heartbreaking. This is a happy ending (eventually) story--I have a feeling the next few chapters might surprise and please you. At least I hope so!!! Fingers crossed they do!

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 14, 2018 10:49 · For: Chapter 16
Hey Nelya! Good to see you again. It seems like ages since you posted last, though it was only a few weeks ago. :)

Just when I thought Maedhros and Fingon's relationship was going well...

Oh my gosh! So much misunderstanding! Nelya!

If its not Fingon, its Maedhros!

I mean they had some great quality time together Christmas shopping listening to the music at the Cathedral and back at Fingon's apartment.

Then it all falls apart again. :/

What's going on with these two?

It seems their relationship has come to something of a standstill.

Maglor is right. Maedhros needs to tell Fingon about his nightmares. All this sidestepping the issue is just going to make matters worse. I certainly don't want to see these two parting ways so soon. Why won't Maedhros be honest with Fingon? Is he afraid he will lose him? Then he doesn't know Fingon very well at all then, does he?

Its sad that its already becoming a problem. And that Fingon thinks its him. :(

Author's Response: Thanks so much Gabriel! Neither one of them is very good at communication. Maedhros is vainly trying to navigate this new terrain with all his emotional baggage--but it ends up making Fingon feel hurt. And Fingon is unaware that he is triggering Maedhros because he doesn't know the whole story. It's awkward and painful and confusing them both because this whole relationship has come as a bit of a surprise to them. Neither one was looking for it but both needed it. They've got a bit of sorting to do and the must both learn to TALK and not make assumptions. And yes you have nailed it--Maedhros thinks his baggage is just too much for anyone, not just Fingon. But he doesn't realize yet how strong and truly valiant Fingon is. More to come soon.

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: February 12, 2018 20:35 · For: Chapter 16
"I should take you with me every time," Maedhros said. "You don't even know them all but you still had better ideas for my brothers than I did."

This is so very sweet :D I love this story so much, it's the perfect thing to put a smile on my face after working all day. My favourite moment was Fingon taking Maedhros up the hill and sharing the memories of his times there with his grandmother. It was so poignant and delicately handled.

"Seems I can't change your mind," he said, unable to keep the emotion out of his voice. "Fine. I'm not going to beg you to stay."

The color drained out of Maedhros at his words. "I wouldn't expect you to," he whispered then he nodded once, wrenched open the door and took off down the stairs.

"Maedhros!" But he was gone.

Aww, no! And things seemed to be going so well. Maedhros obviously has some very deep-seated issues. I hope somebody can talk sense into him - Maglor, maybe, if not Fingon?

Author's Response: Thanks Narya! Glad you liked the sweet moments of them shopping. Fingon hasn't really shared something deeply personal--this is an attempt to open up and also share something very meaningful to him. A place of solitude and solace. He's reaching out for that connection, atoning for earlier in a way but he just pushes a bit too hard and unwittingly triggers Maedhros. But Fingon's understandably frustrated--Maedhros has dropped some personal details but nothing meaningful. Maglor has his back and is a strong ally but there is only so much he can do with a stubborn brother. I'll post the next chapter soon--some light is shed there.

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2018 12:08 · For: Chapter 15
I love the idea of Erestor having a Library Science degree. And why wouldn't he! :)

But what's going on with Fingon?

I know he is desperate to spend time with Maedhros, and seems to be getting more and more incensed at the lack there of. But there is no reason for these two to argue. Their relationship is barely off the ground as it is.

And poor Finrod! I thought Fingon was a tad bit rough on him. Again I understand he just wants to be left alone, without people meddling in his affairs, but, Finrod did not deserve to be treated that way. And Amaire, how awkward and uncomfortable she must have felt. :/

Anyway I hope everything gets sorted and all is forgiven between Fingon and Finrod. Somehow I don't see Finrod ever holding a grudge against anyone. That he and Maedhros can figure out whatever is going on her and come to an understanding, because right now I think Maedhros is a little confused. Fingon's mixed signals and all.

I'm sure Maedhros and Fingon will work it out. :)

Author's Response: Thanks Gabriel! I love Erestor! Fingon is frustrated. At himself, at Maedhros, at Finrod. He's heen giving mixed signals, he's annoyed at Maedhros evasion of the staying over issue abd he's guilty over sending mixed signals. And he's stressed. End of semester and feelings he's never quite felt before. Not a good day for him. They aren't communicating well and that's a problem.

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: February 01, 2018 22:52 · For: Chapter 15
Why am I not surprised that Erestor has a library science degree? :D

He realized Maedhros probably had no idea how he looked, standing in the doorway, his face flushed by the cold, his glasses slightly misty, his brilliant red hair tumbling in disarray from the wind. Fingon registered the thought that he had never seen Maedhros with his hair down before. He was breathtaking.

Ohhh, they're just too adorable! Bless them though, they're getting so confused and mixed up about what the other one wants. Boys, just talk to each other!!!

Lovely, Nelya, as always. I especially liked the awkwardness of Finrod interrupting them...perils of university, been there, done that...!

Author's Response: Thank so much Narya! I love Erestor--I always seem to find a way to bring him into Maedhros' orbit. And yes they are adorable--so completely infatuated with each other but talking across each other at the moment. Finrod and Maglor keep giving them both good advice but they keep getting defensive rather than listening to them! They've been sending each other mixed messages. It was bound to cause problems at some point.

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2018 9:11 · For: Chapter 14
Hi Nelya!

Its great to see you've posted a new chapter! I love this story.

Oh my gosh! Just the mere mention of Fingolfin has me all excited. He is my absolute favorite character. Him and Feanor both then the rest of the House of Finwe. I hope we get the opportunity to meet him later on. Oh! Listen to me going on. Tut tut! Lol.

Anyway onto the story.

Poor Fingon, he can be a little obtuse at times. I love Aredhel's exasperation at him- still believing he's going to the bookstore to do his applications. lol

*"Seriously Finno! Stop being an idiot. Who cares if they have free Wi=Fi? You aren't really going there to work."* You can almost hear Fingon saying, "I'm not!" What a sweetheart. :)

The mercury is rising in the storeroom! Its so great to see them getting somewhere after all this time. I'm sure that if Maglor hadn't have interrupted them, there may have been two very mussed and satisfied Elves exiting the storeroom. lol.

So good to have Anaire making her cameo. She seems to have won everyone over creating instant rapport with both Tyelko and Maedhros probably because she can see her children like them very much. The ride home is going to be very interesting. Typical Tyelko, having her laughing with his many stories. No surprises there. I love your Tyelko, so easy going, funny, hot. And many more I'd probably run out of room with. lol

Another wonderful chapter, my friend. :)

Author's Response: Hi Gabriel! Thanks so much! You will get to meet Fingolfin and Fëanor in upcoming chapters--couldn't leave them out. Fingon is far less stealthy than Aredhel--he's straightforward and in some ways a bit of an innocent. And in other ways not so much ;) I love that little bit of cluelessness he has going on sometimes--very observant in moments and utterly naive in others. But he is certainly being more straightforward in his actions and comments to Maedhros. He's crushing badly but his nervousness and general status of being overwhelmed by Maedhros is fading into something more comfortable. Anairë was a fun snippet. And I've told you before, I think, how much I adore Tyelko. More of him ahead also. Thanks for reading and commenting!

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2018 21:09 · For: Chapter 14
Haha, I love how sneaky Aredhel is! And stealthy bookstore kisses were very hot.

So now they've met Anaire and she seems to like them - this is good news! I really like her actually; I love that she takes the time to get to know Tyelko and Maedhros, and makes the effort to take an interest in Maedhros's store.

It's lovely how natural and easy things feel between the two couples, and Maglor's brotherly exasperation/sarcasm is funny. Thanks for giving me happy feels in the middle of my busy week :-)

Author's Response: Thank so much' Narya! She is something. Aredhel definitely has a fiesty side. Fingon is getting far less awkward and far more like his usual confident self, now that he is past those first few encounters--less tongue tied and more invested. It was fun to add Anairë in--we will see her again down the road. Glad you liked it!

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 07, 2018 9:44 · For: Chapter 13

VERY good advice from Finrod. I love the way he just teases out and then confronts Fin wiht the truth of it. I think Fingon is beautifully written in this chapter- perceptive and such a good friend. Love him! (HATE LUthien!!)

Finrod rolled his eyes. "So you're hot and heavy with the physical stuff but then at the same time you're pushing him away if you're harping on how busy you are," Finrod shook his head. "Seriously, Fin. It's like you're giving him mixed signals. You bitch about how little time you've had together, you have at least had some initial physical contact but then you lay the 'but I'm so busy' crap on him. He's going to feel like he's distracting you from your work if you keep talking like that." He leaned back and shook his head again. "Shit, I feel like I'm distracting you from your work half the time."


They both do this though to be fair to Fingon- it's not all one-sided:)

But whatever it is that happened to Maedhros (and I 'm guessing here about waht it might be- previous lover, nasty experience if it;s nightmares) Fingon's going to ride to his rescue (some sort of Eagle in the mix somewhere I imagine- car, bike, type of electric blanket?)  (That was copied from my A053 review too)


Author's Response: I really enjoy bringing Finrod in every so often to shake Fingon up a bit. He's very intuitive and observant. Yes, Maedhros and Fingon both go hot and cold--fortunately not always at the same time.

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 07, 2018 9:39 · For: Chapter 12

The little references ot the Silm make me smile but the nightmares are, I suspect, more about Finwe's murder perhaps? Or did something else happen? Great writing- very plausible and I am really enjoying this!

LOvely, tender relationship - and then these lovely intimate moments with Maglor.

Author's Response: thanks ziggy. I like to weave as much canon as I can into the story. Maedhros has had some difficult times--more on that in later chapters. Much as I love writing Fingon and Maedhros together I do enjoy the brotherly interactions as well. I love this family.

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 07, 2018 9:36 · For: Chapter 9

I told you. I have a date. I'm not going to go on a date with hat head," Turgon snapped.


"Well, it's not like she's going on a date with your hair," Fingon said. Turgon rolled his eyes and stared at the pitch.


"Who did you get to actually agree to go on a date with you?" Fingon asked.


"One more person than agreed to go on a date with you," Turgon said.

I think you do that whole brother-bitching thing really well-pick pick pick, but out of affection and love.

Turgon gave him an appraising look. "I thought you just met this bookstore guy that one time. How did setting up a date for Aredhel come up?"
Fingon could feel a flush coming on his face. "Just happened to chat about siblings with him when I went to pick up that book last weekend. His brother seemed to have a lot in common with Aredhel so it seemed like a good idea at the time."
"So his brother's not all emo with nerd glasses?" Turgon scoffed
made me laugh but 'Yelp'!! What a great name for a social media site0 you should copyright that!!

Author's Response: Yes I actually love writing the brother bitching/brotherly interactions so much. So glad they come off as believable--I'm an only child so I'm not as well versed as I might be in it! Yelp is a social media site for restaurants and businesses. Compete with reviews, directions and map info. I think it's worldwide but very highly utilised in the US.

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 07, 2018 9:29 · For: Chapter 8

"Did your 'intelligent conversation' get you any action, Mae, or are you still in your interminable dry spell?" Tyelko asked.

Made me chuckle and then this:

He was undeniably physically attracted to Maedhros but it was more than that. Despite his temporary lapses into incoherence in his presence, it wasn't actually Maedhros that made him uncomfortable—it was the intensity of his reaction to Maedhros that was throwing him off.


Fingon knew this wasn't the best time for him to be contemplating starting a relationship. But if there was any chance of a relationship with Maedhros then he really didn't give a damn about the timing, did he? Sorting out his feelings had been easier than he had expected. He wanted this.

Yeay! LOve the way they slowly inch closer and closer- queen of UST:)

Author's Response: Thanks so much ziggy! Tyelko is honestly one of my favorite characters to write in this because I can have him just say the most outrageous things and blurt out whatever he is thinking. He's funny, snarky, uninhibited. I do enjoy writing the slow burn.

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 07, 2018 9:26 · For: Chapter 7

Are you cold?" Maedhros asked, shifting closer to Fingon on the bench.


"Not really," Fingon answered, shifting himself closer to Maedhros in turn. His hands were in his pockets but for some reason he pulled them out and rubbed them together briskly.


"You are cold," Maedhros stated, moving even closer. Their legs were next to each other, their thighs just touching now. It felt right, Fingon thought.


"Just my hands," Fingon finally confessed. "But it's lovely out here. I don't want to leave quite yet."


"It will get a lot colder in a few minutes when the sun goes down," Maedhros warned, casually reaching for Fingon's hand and grasping it with his own. Maedhros' hand was so warm—it surprised Fingon.


He interlaced his fingers with Maedhros' and put his other hand back in his pocket. "We can go when the sun sets," he said.


The wind picked up as the sun sank down across the river. "Let's go, before you freeze." Maedhros said, pulling Fingon up by his hand as he stood. He kept hold of Fingon's hand as they walked in the dim light, back to the square.


Such tenderness! JUst treating myself to a re-read and feeling bad that I didn't review here when I persuaded you tom come here in hte first place;/

Author's Response: Oh I am so glad you are rereading this and enjoying it still! That makes me so happy to read. Thanks so much ziggy. And thank you for the persuasion to come to this site--I am so happy I did. I lurked here for a few months before having the gumption to post (thank you for the strong nudge to do so!) I was so nervous about the round robin, never having participated in something like that before, but it was so much fun. This is such a warm, interactive site.

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 06, 2018 11:25 · For: Chapter 13
Ahh, I love Aredhel and Tyelko - they're a perfect couple :) I really like that you made them into hockey players, that feels absolutely right. Something fast and fierce!

I really enjoyed Finrod telling Fingon not to be such an idiot. Those conversations really ring true, where they're sharing gossip about their love lives.

Looking forwards to more!

Author's Response: Thanks so much Narya! I've always liked the idea of Tyelko and Aredhel together. Yes hockey seemed just perfect for them both--fast, fierce, strategic and physical. Oh I'm so glad Finrod rang true--he's a good friend and he's very observant and wise-despite his party boy veneer. More to come!

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 05, 2018 12:52 · For: Chapter 13
Oh! Really loved seeing Tyelko and Aredhel again, Nelya!

They are so in love! It's adorable! Especially Tyelko, who seems to be genuinely upset when he can't see her. He's so sweet on her. Its beautiful!

And I was so envious of Aredhel several times while I was reading this. ;) Lol. Lucky girl!

It was great to have Finrod and Fingon spending some time together. And it was just so nice to get to know a little of Finrod, as he's only appeared briefly in the story so far.

Finrod giving his advice on relationships didn't seem do go down too well with Fingon to begin with as Fingon is still very reluctant to talk about his love life with anyone. But finally, he considered that what Finrod had to say was worth listening to.

And Finrod's in love as well! :D

So enjoyable! I can't wait to see how Maedhros and Fingon are going to deal with Maedhros' nightmare situation. Or where Tyelko and Aredhel go from here. :)

Author's Response: So glad you are enjoying this story Gabriel! Yes Tyelko and Aredhel want their story told too-weaving in among Maedhos and Fingon's! Tyelko is adorable isn't he? I love him. He is such great fun to write. I had missed Finrod--he's a fascinating character and a good friend who gives sound advice.

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 01, 2018 23:13 · For: Chapter 12
Sorry I haven't got round to reviewing this yet! Christmas crazies, and then I went away for New Year, to a cottage in the middle of nowhere with no internet.

I love that Finrod wants to stick around and meet Maedhros. We used to do that at uni too - spy on our housemates' dates, subtly or otherwise. I'd say we must have been really annoying, except we all used to do it to each other, so I guess it cancels out?!

Plan. What was the plan? Maedhros had come up with a plan. He distinctly remembered doing just that but his mind was a bit of a blank right now.

Ohh, they're so adorable!

I love all the little touches that link it back to the Silm - of course Maglor likes weird folk music, and of course Daeron is famous on the indie circuit.

The artwork at the end is gorgeous too - did you do it?

Author's Response: I hope you had a lovely holiday! Thank you for your comments--I'm glad Finrod rang true. We did the same at uni! They are adorable aren't they? My lovely friend @cinemairon did all of the artwork. I love it so much--she was inspired by the story and started illustrating it for me. I've got the title page as my phone case now! There's art for chapter 1, 5 and this chapter so far but more to come with future chapters! I couldn't get it to work when I first posted so I reached out to Spiced Wine who made it happen. So glad you like it--I'll let the artist know and make sure you check out the other chapters artwork too--especially chapter 1!

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: December 29, 2017 10:17 · For: Chapter 12
Oh! Nelya! Great chapter! These two are simply gorgeous together.

Poor Fingon, so desperately wants to have Maedhros to himself, to spend time getting to know him without other people's interference, and rightfully so.

I had to chuckle at Maedhros being dazed by the vision that is Fingon;

*Fingon turned to him with a smile and Maedhros' breath caught at the sight of him. Melting snowflakes were scattered in his dark hair and caught on his eyelashes. He was flushed from the cold but his blue eyes were sparkling as they met Maedhros' own. He was stunning.* Its like one of those slow motion moments when the object of one's desire shakes their hair out, with the other person staring back totally mesmerized. :)

Yay! Its good to see them getting some intimate time together. They deserve it and they deserve each other.

Oooh! And that kiss, Nelya, in the car before Fingon gets out, very heated and I think an indication on how much they both want this relationship.

I like how you've included Maedhros having nightmares in this. Making it the reason he cannot stay over night at Fingon's. I'm interested in learning more about them. I just hope its something that does not end up coming between them or hindering there relationship at least.

Really enjoyed this! Can't wait for the next one. And can't wait to find out more about these nightmares of Maedhros' :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much Gabriel! I'm so glad you liked this chapter. This was one of my favorites to write--how they finally get a little intimacy and realize just how they good they are together. And I tried to tie in references to the rescue from Thangorodrim here too, in their comments to each other. Maedhros is kind of channeling Fingon's first encounter with him--when FIngon was completely dazed and tongue tied with Maedhros. Tables have turned and it's now Maedhros' turn to be stunned. Yes Maedhros nightmares are a critical point in the narrative. More on that in upcoming chapters.

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: November 30, 2017 1:04 · For: Chapter 11
I really loved how Fingon and Aredhel sat on his bed and mulled over the evening together. Love how they've made it a 'thing' that they regularly do. He's such a great big brother. He and Maedhros both. Always thinking of everyone else first, before they even think of themselves.

It was great to see that Fingon and Maedhros' sacrifice did not go unnoticed.

And Tyelko's surprise and sincere admission shocking his big brother. :)

I like where this is going. Such a great read.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! It is their thing! And yes, he and Maedhros are the best big brothers. Tyelko's pretty darn observant and does not mince words. More to come!

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: November 20, 2017 3:39 · For: Chapter 10
Oh! You are torturous! Lol

What! No hand holding this time? :( Poor things! You could tell they were desperate for some contact. But, they were snatching moments here and there, where they could, to touch one another, if not tentatively and that was a good thing because I think Fingon was about ready to explode or implode having Maedhros so close in proximity.

But I forgive you Nelya! lol, because Tyelko and Aredhel certainly made up for it at the end. Love the dynamics between these two. So good together. I admit I've always had a bit of a soft spot for Tyelko and I love how author's write him.

I Love how this is evolving. Such a great read!

Author's Response: No hand holding. They are being polite and discreet, letting Tyelko and Aredhel be the focus. But they still couldn't keep much space between them and the attraction was palpable. To them and those around them. Glad you enjoyed Tyelko/Aredhel! Their dynamic is fun. I do have a soft spot for Tyelko too and he makes me laugh so easily. He is a character who tries to do his own thing too, so sometimes I do have to reign him in a bit. So glad you are enjoying this. More to come!

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: November 18, 2017 11:09 · For: Chapter 10
Ahh, I officially love Aredhel and Tyelko together! It's a very different vibe to Maedhros and Fingon, but it works.

It's ages since I've read a modern day update that I've really enjoyed, but I'm hooked on this.

Author's Response: Oh great! I'm so glad you like Aredhel and Tyelko and I'm so thrilled you like my take on a modern Silm AU. Aredhel and Tyelko as so different from Maedhros/Fingon but so good in their own unique way. More of both couples coming up and more sibling interactions too.

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: November 18, 2017 10:40 · For: Chapter 9
"Shit, it's cold," Turgon said, jamming his hands in his pockets as he sat next to Fingon.

"Why aren't you wearing a hat?" Fingon asked

*snorts* he sounds so parental. And still a dork around Maedhros - so cute.

"She's a beast," Tyelko said appreciatively.

*grins* so romantic, Tyelko...

Really glad to see more of this. It's a perfect weekend treat.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Glad you are continuing to enjoy it! Fingon is being so parental here! And still dorky. I love it when he's all flustered by Maedhros. I love Tyelko. As a character he is just so much fun to write in this AU!

You must login () to review.