| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Bedtime by Narya General Audiences
Maglor is away on a trip and Maedhros has been left with the children. He isn't sure he's up to the task.
A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1678
Chapters: 8564
Word count: 26086592
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16049
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 2
Members:

Shoutbox

Gabriel
09/21/18 11:38 pm
There is also mine as well,(SinS) if anyone's interested in taking a look, which isn't on the list, as I was late in posting. :/
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:34 pm
Oh my goodness Narya! Please take good care of yourself. :)
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 08:08 pm
You’re welcome :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 07:47 pm
Thank you, Spiced! <3
Narya
09/21/18 06:59 pm
Ahh, Spiced, thank you <3 hope everyone has a lovely weekend planned!
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 06:10 pm
Okay it is up
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 06:03 pm
Okay :)
Narya
09/21/18 03:36 pm
Thank you, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 03:17 pm
with SinS online now. Spiced, can you do a news post about the masterlist, or with a link to the AO3 collection? That would be lovely! <3
Ysilme
09/21/18 03:16 pm
Happy Friday to everyone! Narya, I hope you're feeling better soon! Viruses can be rather draining and demand a lot of patience. At least there's lots of lovely reading material
Shout Archive



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: October 22, 2017 1:24 · For: Chapter 1
Lovely! All I could think about reading this was of the helm Fingon wore when he met is end: "Then Gothmog hewed him with his black axe, and a white flame sprang up from the helm of Fingon as it was cloven. Thus fell the High King of the Noldor; and they beat him into the dust with their maces, and his banner, blue and silver, they trod into the mire of his blood."

but knowing that he passed it on to Hador. Ugh. This is just heartbreaking but you managed to bring a little bit of light, and warmth, to the story of the Dragon helm. Lovely, thank you for writing this!

Author's Response: Thank you. That passage you highlighted always brings me to tears. If only he had the dragon helm. :( They have such little happiness that I just have to give them stolen moments here and there where they can just enjoy each other and the moment.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 30, 2017 5:29 · For: Chapter 1
I'm so glad Ziggy convinced you to post here, Nelya!

Even though you only have two stories up, they're fantastic!

I loved this! To weave a story around the gifting of the Dragon Helm!

You write Fingon and Maedhros as if you know them personally. As if you are a part of their intimate moments and conversations. A fly on the wall so to speak.

I had always imagined Fingon being Maedhros' rock. Someone to balance him, to bolster him when the nightmares and memories of Angband consume him. It just seems natural for Fingon to be the caring, nothing appears to phase him type. And in my eyes that is one of the many traits that makes him such a loved and great King.

Oh! And I also like Curufin's plan for under floor heating. I always imagine him coming up with the most advanced ideas. :)

Author's Response: Thank you Gabriel! The Dragon helm has always been an issue for me--it purportedly kept the bearer from harm, including death, and I just cannot forgive Fingon for giving it away--a part of me often wonders if his fate would have been different had he worn it in the Nirnaeth. I think Maedhros would wonder also. I love the fact that it is canon in Tolkien that Maedhros and Fingon periodically exchanged gifts. That Tolkien mentions this fact specifically. They never seem to have enough happy moments, these two, so I felt we needed a bit of happiness in Himring for them. Your fly on the wall comment just made my day!! I am so glad their dialogue and characters ring true! They are old friends in a way--I write about them so often and think of them a fair amount when I am brainstorming ideas. Yes I see Fingon as Maedhros' rock also--his safe space. Curvo has lots of ideas and it's just not fair that his brothers don't let him experiment more! Fëanor was very much an Elvish Leonardo da Vinci in a way--his creativity spanning so many fields of study. Curvo follows that to a lesser extent.


You must login () to review.