| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Light Wraps You by Narya General Audiences
A moment between Celebrimbor and Orodreth after the news of Finrod's death. Written as a birthday gift for Gabriel – it's...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Night Terrors by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Aragorn and Faramir learn all is not well with Sam
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
I will Lift mine Eyes by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A series of events after his return from Gondor leaves Aragorn's spirits at an all-time low.
I will Lift mine Eyes by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A series of events after his return from Gondor leaves Aragorn's spirits at an all-time low.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1634
Chapters: 8382
Word count: 25385085
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15507
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 28
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 17
Members:

Shoutbox

Gabriel
04/19/18 01:04 pm
Thank you so much Narya. I've had a lovely quiet day spending time with family. :)
Spiced Wine
04/18/18 10:08 pm
What a gorgeous day today! Like a taste of summer! I love sitting working with the door open!
Narya
04/18/18 10:07 pm
Happy birthday for tomorrow, Gabriel! (I am travelling for work and likely to be stuck on trains, so might not have chance to say it on the day.)
Narya
04/15/18 03:05 pm
Got it, Nelya - thanks for playing! :) I messaged you about DW as it turned into too long a post for the shout box.
NelyafinweFeanorion
04/14/18 11:33 pm
what fun, Narya!I just sent you a prompt by PM. I'm not on dreamwidth. Someone please fill me in on Dreamwidth as I'm not familiar with it. Is it something I should look into?
Narya
04/14/18 10:31 pm
Hi Cheeky! I did get it, although it sneaked off into my junk mail for some reason. Great prompt, thank you!! :D
cheekybeak
04/14/18 10:24 pm
Hi Narya! I sent you a pm. For some reason they usually don’t work for me so let me know if you don’t get it!
Narya
04/14/18 11:34 am
Obviously ignore the spaces between the dots...but I know the shoutbox doesn't allow links, so that's the best I can do! Feel free to message me here in response, if you don't have DW
Narya
04/14/18 11:33 am
It's here: narya-flame . dreamwidth . org
Narya
04/14/18 11:32 am
Guys, I'm joining in with the Legendarium Ladies April gift offering - if you'd like me to write you a ficlet about a female character of your choice, see my public Dreamwidth post.
Shout Archive


Reviews For What is Lost

Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2017 7:16 · For: Chapter 1
Oh dear this story broke my heart. That's the thing with these two, it can be no other way. What a lovely snippet you offer us here, so rich and deep. Maedhros' sorrow is palapable, but ERestor, oh he broke my heart. That flash back. I was smiling like a fool reading it. Lovely!

Author's Response: Thank you! These two are forever breaking my heart and their own. Maedhros was never the same after this in my opinion. As I mentioned to Ziggy --Erestor is one of my favorite supporting characters. I've really wanted to write about the scene that comes after the golden ribbons in the flashback--the party they attend that night and the realization they have both made. But I've kind of boxed myself I'm with the flashback! I don't want to rehash it in a new fic but a new fic needs this scene as a backstory to make sense. Ugh. Conundrum.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2017 7:12 · For: Chapter 1
Where have you been hiding Nelyafinwe?! Lol.

Another very wonderfully written and emotionally charged story!

Such a tearjerker, but I loved it!

A beautiful yet extremely heartbreaking look at Maedhros' and Fingon their love affair at its beginning and at its end. {Well maybe not entirely the end, because love can go beyond the grave}.

I liked how Erestor was so deeply affected; bursting into tears and having to excuse himself. I guess it showed how much others loved these two and the love they shared for each other.

I also like your take on how Fingon came to wear gold ribbons in his hair. Maedhros' idea on how to have Fingon look unique in Noldorin society. A look that became Synonymous with him.

They are so sweet together. And you write them beautifully. :)

Author's Response: Thank you--glad Ziggy convinced me to stop lurking and start posting my fics here! It is in a way the beginning and end--at least in their perception. I hold out hope they were reunited in the Halls and once they were re-embodied in Aman. I like Erestor as a close associate of the Fëanorions--it explains his later devotion to Elrond in my mind. I wanted a story of the origin of the ribbons that came from both Maedhros and Fingon--Maedhros way of showing Fingon just how unique he was and Fingon taking that as his signature look, all the while as an outward subtle message of their devotion to each other. I've wanted to write the follow up to that initial ribbon in the braids scene but not sure how as I've locked it into a flashback here! Thanks for reading--I've got more Fingon/Maedhros stories to come. And Erestor too.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 21, 2017 22:22 · For: Chapter 1

I love this, story, Nelta. It made me cry whenMaedhros did- and all he has left is a golden braid. They are such a tragic couple- love how Erestor bullies him and then Maglor is so kind and takes over.



Author's Response: Thanks Ziggy. It made me cry writing it--their story is one steeped in such tragic loss. I really wanted to have the golden ribbons relate to both of them. A private gesture that became a public testament to their personal, private story. Erestor is one of my favorite supporting characters


You must login () to review.