| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8480
Word count: 25716640
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15744
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 19
Members:

Shoutbox

Alquien
06/24/18 12:35 am
I know. But I'll have to wait till Monday to talk to my internet company. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 09:37 pm
I remember it doing that years ago
Alquien
06/23/18 04:25 pm
I've tried both Google and Firefox since yesterday but I still can't get on. The connection keeps timing out. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 01:21 pm
I have not tried, I’m afraid, Alquien
Alquien
06/22/18 11:30 pm
Is it just me or is anyone else having trouble with live journal?
Spiced Wine
06/22/18 10:15 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
lotrfan
06/20/18 07:49 pm
Have a great time Narya!!
Spiced Wine
06/20/18 07:21 pm
Have a great time, Narya; some lovely weather coming next week, I see!
Narya
06/20/18 06:15 pm
I look forwards to catching up with you and your stories when I come back <3
Narya
06/20/18 06:14 pm
Hey guys! Just to let you know I'm going camping for ten days; if you don't see me online, don't think I've abandoned you all, I just won't have internet ;)
Shout Archive


Reviews For What is Lost

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 25, 2018 22:27 · For: Chapter 1
Ohh, Nelya. This made me cry :( beautiful and heartbreaking.


Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2017 7:16 · For: Chapter 1
Oh dear this story broke my heart. That's the thing with these two, it can be no other way. What a lovely snippet you offer us here, so rich and deep. Maedhros' sorrow is palapable, but ERestor, oh he broke my heart. That flash back. I was smiling like a fool reading it. Lovely!

Author's Response: Thank you! These two are forever breaking my heart and their own. Maedhros was never the same after this in my opinion. As I mentioned to Ziggy --Erestor is one of my favorite supporting characters. I've really wanted to write about the scene that comes after the golden ribbons in the flashback--the party they attend that night and the realization they have both made. But I've kind of boxed myself I'm with the flashback! I don't want to rehash it in a new fic but a new fic needs this scene as a backstory to make sense. Ugh. Conundrum.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2017 7:12 · For: Chapter 1
Where have you been hiding Nelyafinwe?! Lol.

Another very wonderfully written and emotionally charged story!

Such a tearjerker, but I loved it!

A beautiful yet extremely heartbreaking look at Maedhros' and Fingon their love affair at its beginning and at its end. {Well maybe not entirely the end, because love can go beyond the grave}.

I liked how Erestor was so deeply affected; bursting into tears and having to excuse himself. I guess it showed how much others loved these two and the love they shared for each other.

I also like your take on how Fingon came to wear gold ribbons in his hair. Maedhros' idea on how to have Fingon look unique in Noldorin society. A look that became Synonymous with him.

They are so sweet together. And you write them beautifully. :)

Author's Response: Thank you--glad Ziggy convinced me to stop lurking and start posting my fics here! It is in a way the beginning and end--at least in their perception. I hold out hope they were reunited in the Halls and once they were re-embodied in Aman. I like Erestor as a close associate of the Fëanorions--it explains his later devotion to Elrond in my mind. I wanted a story of the origin of the ribbons that came from both Maedhros and Fingon--Maedhros way of showing Fingon just how unique he was and Fingon taking that as his signature look, all the while as an outward subtle message of their devotion to each other. I've wanted to write the follow up to that initial ribbon in the braids scene but not sure how as I've locked it into a flashback here! Thanks for reading--I've got more Fingon/Maedhros stories to come. And Erestor too.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 21, 2017 22:22 · For: Chapter 1

I love this, story, Nelta. It made me cry whenMaedhros did- and all he has left is a golden braid. They are such a tragic couple- love how Erestor bullies him and then Maglor is so kind and takes over.



Author's Response: Thanks Ziggy. It made me cry writing it--their story is one steeped in such tragic loss. I really wanted to have the golden ribbons relate to both of them. A private gesture that became a public testament to their personal, private story. Erestor is one of my favorite supporting characters


You must login () to review.