| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.
Winter's Cold by Starfox General Audiences
Returning from a hunting trip, Legolas comes across an animal in need and makes a serious mistake.
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...
Angels and crooks by Nuredhel General Audiences
Bard and Thran has gotten used to their new life but they do still have their jobs and my oh my does that make things interesting...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 86
Stories: 1682
Chapters: 8588
Word count: 26184107
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16108
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 17
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
10/21/18 12:08 am
She does sound like a force of nature.
Spiced Wine
10/20/18 10:32 pm
Oh, bless her, she sounds like an amazing person.
Ysilme
10/20/18 01:24 pm
until the end, still driving herself, living independently, going to choir practice and her church groups. It was sad to lose her, of course, but TBH it sounds like a good way to go.
Ysilme
10/20/18 01:23 pm
my MIL's birthday, so we're spending most of the day with her. I'm also just back from the funeral of a member of our choir where we sang. She had a stroke at 92 but hat been fit and activ
Ysilme
10/20/18 01:21 pm
I hope your brother arrives safe and sound, Spiced, and you have a lovely time together! I'm busy catching up with housework before going back up the ladder for painting, and tomorrow it's m
Spiced Wine
10/20/18 12:13 pm
That sounds lovely :) Yes, same with my family, now, Narya, all over the place here and abroad
Narya
10/19/18 10:36 pm
I'm going to try and get out in the country for a nice walk - maybe Ingleton or Aysgarth, to see the waterfalls.
Narya
10/19/18 10:36 pm
Sounds lovely, Spiced. I miss my family like crazy, we're all scattered to the four winds these days. Hope he gets here safe.
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 10:04 pm
My brother’s over from Spain for a couple of days so I’ll be seeing him. If he ever gets here! Flight delayed by storms in Spain!
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 10:03 pm
I hope you’re able to relax, Narya, after a busy week.
Shout Archive


Reviews For I Will Wait

Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2017 5:51 · For: Chapter 1
Heartbreaking. All of them. The whole darn thing, just heartbreaking. You weave well Turukano's heartache with the many choices he made that were so frustrating. He remains, in some ways, an enigma. Much more of a blank slate than others but you flesh him out here even though he is in the halls.

Author's Response: Thank you! You're exactly right--he's not as fleshed out in the original narrative as many of the others. Just an outline perhaps--a reluctant younger brother, distant and frustrated. But when you focus on him and catalogue the events, decisions and consequences of his life you are faced with a fate as tragic as any in the Silmarillion. I'm glad his heartache and loss came through. Gondolier was safe and isolated for a time but at what personal cost to him? The whole Exile resonated with loss for them all but I'd never really focused on his. Thanks so much for reading!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 17, 2017 21:29 · For: Chapter 1
This is lovely - are you NelyafinweFeanorion? If so, I'm really glad you were able to post your story. I hope we get to see more of your Elves.

Author's Response: I am! And thank you! I have quite a few more stories about these Elves--they do fascinate me. This was my first attempt at Turgon. He's never been a favorite so it was a bit of a challenge but I feel for him far more than I did before. Thanks so much for reading!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 17, 2017 18:52 · For: Chapter 1

Lovely ending! I like the way you've analysed his mistakes/choices/ regrets etc. The image I like the most is the first one- reminds me a bit of Close Encounters when the aliens emerge from the dazzling light - I think that was a very layered and textured image.

As always, beautifully written I AM SO GLAD YOU ARE HERE!!!!



Author's Response: Thank you for encouraging me to be here ziggy!! This was an experiment for me--a character I was fairly indifferent to, making it a challenge for me to get invested. I found so much to work with that I hadn't anticipated. And I found myself far more empathetic to his choices, actions and fate than I had expected. I'm glad the imager worked. I've wanted to write about the Halls of Mandos for awhile now but I needed to clarify my vision for it. I'm intrigued enough to consider going there again in another fic. Thanks again for the lovely review and for encouraging me to post here.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 17, 2017 3:47 · For: Chapter 1
Hi lotrfan, Firstly, I want to welcome you to Faerie. Were you previously NelyafinweFeanorion? I hope so, because this story was So well worth the wait and the little problems with posting.

I just want to commend you on hitting it out of the ball park when it comes to your first story.

This was one of the most powerful, beautiful and sorrowful story's I think I've read. At the end I had to get the tissues out. So beautifully done!

I love that you wrote it about Turgon. Sadly I feel there are not enough stories I feel, that are written purely with him as the protagonist.

The way you wrote this really made me feel Turgon's anguish over never being there for his family or doing enough for his family making decisions he would wholeheartedly take back if he was given the chance and ultimately forcing Elenwe to follow him.

Fantastic! Can't wait to read more of your work. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much Gabriel! I've been reading and commenting for a few months but ziggy suggested I post some of my fics here as well. I am the same but Lotrfan is my non-slash account on ao3 and ffnet so I thought I would try and see if I could get this account to let me post. I'll try with the Nelyafinwefeanorion account again too just to see if I can get the darn thing to work! Thank you so much for your review! Turgon is a character I have often overlooked. He's never been a favorite so I decided to challenge myself a bit by taking his point of view and writing about him. I found myself liking him more than I expected. As with all the Silmarillion characters his life carries a great deal of tragedy and loss. Decisions are so fraught with consequence in this universe. I'm so glad his anguish and regret came through. He's often portrayed as stuffy and solemn and testy. But I wanted to look beyond that because I think there's a lot of complexity to him. Second sons can have a tough time, especially with illustrious older siblings. I think the loss of Elenwë fundamentally changed him and his world view. Sorry/ not sorry about the tissues! That's the highest compliment I could get--that my story moved someone to tears. Thanks for reading. I'll post more soon, hopefully to both accounts.


You must login () to review.