| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Price of Vengeance II by Encairion Mature
Sequel to The Price of Vengeance I. A novella of the House of Finwë  from the end of the First Age to the fall...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Islands of Warmth in a Sea of Cold by Karlmir Stonewain Teen
How couples in the Reunited Kingdom and beyond dealt with the bitter cold of midwinter at bedtime. The story takes place...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
A Light in the Heart by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Immediately post rescue from Thangorodrim--Fingon brings an unconscious Maedhros to the Nolofinwean camp.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 81
Stories: 1604
Chapters: 8256
Word count: 24903559
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15169
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 11
Members:

Shoutbox

Himring
01/21/18 11:30 am
Belatedly: Happy Birthday, Ziggy! Hope it was a really good one!
Encairion
01/21/18 02:48 am
Happy Birthday, Ziggy! Have fun writing! Birthday's spent doing what you love are the best :)
Narya
01/20/18 10:07 pm
Happy birthday, ziggy! Have a wonderful day :) writing sounds like a perfect way to spend it! *Hugs*
ziggy
01/20/18 07:45 pm
Thank you everyone- I have had the nicest day- now just writing. This is such a lovely site- so friendly and warm.
Glorfindel
01/20/18 02:28 pm
Happy Birthday Ziggy! I hope you are having a wonderful day :)
Gabriel
01/20/18 12:15 pm
Happy Birthday, Ziggy, and have a wonderful day! :)
Ysilme
01/20/18 11:48 am
Happy Birthday, Ziggy, and all the best! I hope you're having a great day and get to do lovely things with favourite people!
Spiced Wine
01/20/18 10:21 am
Many Happy Returns, Ziggy and as always, thank you for your wonderful stories :)
ziggy
01/20/18 08:44 am
THank you Naledi! Spending the day riding my horse, writing the next chapter- will post this evening if I finish or tomorrow. Perfect day:)
Naledi
01/19/18 09:30 pm
Ziggy - happy Birthday for tomorrow. Have a great day!
Shout Archive


Reviews For People of the Ice

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 29, 2017 3:46 · For: Chapter 3
I love how you've included the invoking of magic. A getting back to their heritage-of the Elder days. This is something that I feel is sorely missing from some of the fics out there and I would love to see more of. It doesn't have to be included in a huge way, just a touch of it here and there, just to remind the reader their reading about elves not Men.


You know, I am really starting to feel for the Son's of Feanor and their people, the more I read on. Nolofinwe's host and Fingon, especially is becoming one hell of a force to be reckoned with.

It broke my heart to read Makalaure's recollection of Feanor reflected in Findekano and a vision of a memory that must have completely shocked and frightened Makalaure at the time. His father losing himself to grief and madness and think Makalaure was someone, something else and attempt to harm him maybe even kill him and his son trying desperately to bring his father back from the brink. OMG! So awful, so sad! I admit I was a little shocked myself to read that. Cupping my hand to my mouth, feeling so sorrowful for Makalaure, knowing how much he loves his father, how much they all love their father. Was not expecting that.

Keeping me guessing about which direction the story's going is what I love!

A great read! Can't wait for the next installment! :)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 26, 2017 13:18 · For: Chapter 2
Findekano is both the most heartbreaking and frightening character in this story. Almost animalistic in nature. He's become a bit of an enigma of sorts to deal with, not just to me the reader but to the Feanorion's as well, which I find really sad on many levels. It's any wonder Makalaure feels open and vulnerable.

And yet in saying that, he has not lost the ability to be kind and loving. Findekano's moments with Itarille, so beautiful! He's such a wonderful uncle. I guess that is probably one thing the Helcaraxe did for them that was a positive, to bring them closer together.

And why not? Why not have them cross the Helcaraxe into Endore exactly how you have written them. A changed and tortured people.I would think your description of Fingolfin's Host and their suffering at the hands of Feanor's betrayal, would be a lot more accurate a depiction than Tolkien's himself. I always wondered about that. How Fingolfin and his people could endure the Helcaraxe; lose loved ones and face the torment of survival there and still reach Middle Earth with their sanity still quite intact and only be mildly affected by the whole experience.

You've really created something quite unique here, Fades, awesome idea! :)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 23, 2017 1:08 · For: Chapter 3

“That’s better,” Accarrë offered. Closing one eye and with the other observing Findekáno she declared, “If all goes well and we all do our part, I might just find it in me to share my bed under the stars with you.” 

 

Findekáno raised a single eyebrow. They were an angry and sad people, but that did not mean they abandoned their bodies’ needs. Sex was something that saved them on the ice, reminding them of the heat of life. Perhaps it was also a sad commentary that for many it was merely instrumental. It was a difficult path back to find that sort of intimacy for those that bore the guilt of surviving. Findekáno replied, “What of my sister’s bed? Will she not miss you in it?” 

 

Accarrë grunted, “She will not quarrel me this one night.” 

 

The creases around Findekáno’s eyes softened. The brightness in his eyes shifting from darkness to tenderness. Nothing more needed to be said. Findekáno urged his horse on with a flicker of a thought, leaving Accarrë behind. No, Irissë would not begrudge Accarrë sharing intimacy with Findekáno. In fact, Irissë would encourage it, so worried was she that her brother was losing too much of his elvishness and becoming a dark thing. The Kinslaying and Maitimo’s betrayal had robbed him of much of that part of himself and yet somehow Accarrë found a way to squeeze through his barriers just enough to keep him from closing that part of himself off. 

Accarrë rode behind Findekáno, the other riders falling in line behind them. They were those most loyal to Findekáno, friends from youth, distant cousins, sons and daughters of those families within Nolofinwë’s inner circle: nobles, crafts people, farmers. The old distinctions did not matter in the same way. Survival dictated the new order. 

 

From ahead of her she heard Findekáno call out: “Witch.” Accarrë smiled to herself. The others found it amusing too and they each said a prayer for Accarrë, their enchantress who offered them a different sort of gateway to Endórë, the second to Findekáno’s lead. Though they too had lost many, they did not carry quite the darkness their beloved Findekáno did, but darkness indeed was wedded to all them, all Kinslayers: Findekáno’s company.

 

I LOVED tjis chapter! I love the strangeness the alieness of the Nolofinweans, how there is a sort of sorcery, witchcraft, magic- Love what you did with the Song, love that strangeness of it. Beautiful writing!! I am obsessed now with this. Please update soon- it is fascinating.



Name: lotrfan (Signed) · Date: October 23, 2017 0:04 · For: Chapter 3
This is such a fascinating Findekano--although I must call him Fingon from now on!
I really liked the idea of the Elven Magic-the talismans in the horses manes, the songs and words of power. I've always wondered why Maglor didn't use his voice--I would think words and songs of power would be even more powerful with his voice.


Name: lotrfan (Signed) · Date: September 17, 2017 1:59 · For: Chapter 1: Arrival
Really great start--I am intrigued to see where this will go. I really like the idea of haggard and hardened Noldor--the Helcaraxë was a bitterly difficult path and you have made that clear with their appearance and their anger.
The mention of Findarato's lost beauty just confirms it. The loss of Arakano is fresh for them also.
I am curious as to what compels this version of Findekano to go after Maedhros because Ma

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. I often wondered about how the Helcaraxë would impact FIngolfin's host. More than that I imagine it had to have some profound shift in who they were individually and as a people. It will hopefully makes sense when Findekano goes after Maedhros, and hopefully the sacrifice will be more apparent! Thanks again!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 15, 2017 22:28 · For: Chapter 1: Arrival

Outside there was a stillness in the air, a type of melancholy that shaped itself into mist. It was not an evil, but a sorrow that would forever more become a part of the Noldor. Even upon the end of their exile, even upon rebirth, this sorrow would haunt their hearts for how could it not? To know such loss and to know that the world and its inhabitants were capable of both beauty and ugliness utterly transformed the Noldor, making them more like their kin that did not complete the Journey west.

 

THis is a lovely ending to this chapter- beautiful. It is so good to see you wiritng and posting again- I have missed you!! I love the sense of Fingolfin's people that they are 'hungry' enough to eat the horses that they had loved. I have a very visual image from that bit- almost not elves- something harder, sharper and a little bit ferla, or the possibilty of being feral.

Wonderful way that you made Nelyo's absence seem almost a presence in itself - really skilled. Love this- hope you are going to write more although it stands well on its own.



Author's Response: Ziggy, so wonderful seeing a review from you! I am happy to be writing but now I am fully immersed and forsaking other duties. Balance, lol, it will come. The story is supposed to have 10 chapters. I outline it but as I am writing it the story might want more, but I din't want to build a story I cannot finish!!! Oh how i missed the elves!!!!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: September 15, 2017 20:42 · For: Chapter 1: Arrival

Love this! Eager to see where it goes and how you develop it. What happens to make Fingon go after Maedhros I wonder.

I was angry at Maglor for not revealing Maedhros had in fact acted honourable towards Fingon at the burning of the boats. He let his brother down there. I understand why he did it ...... but I was disappointed in him! 



Author's Response: Thank you cheekybeak. I hope what compels Fingon to go after Maedhros makes sense. FIngon is more emotionally unstable than he would like to admit. Many of them are. It's interesting to imagine them that way and try to keep that thread through the decisions they make. I originally wrote the story where Maglor reveals it to Fingon, but it didn't read right. Maglor is such a compelling character. I love to write him too, explore his motivations, desires, and fears while Maedhros was gone. Thanks again!


Name: Anamia (Signed) · Date: September 15, 2017 15:21 · For: Chapter 1: Arrival
Great!!! And dearing. I love it. And I hope there is more.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review Anamia. There is more. I hope its just as compelling. Writing is a craft that takes practice and I am out of that!


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 15, 2017 11:01 · For: Chapter 1: Arrival
Wow! This was fantastic! So different. I like different.

I'm a big fan of the Finweions

I especially like your Findekano, a vast, vast contrast to how he's normally portrayed and Nolofinwe, cold, hard and unforgiving. Awesome!

I did feel a bit for Maglor, having to deal with all the animosity and hatred, but he seemed to deal with it the best he could. But then again, that's the price for betrayal.

In all reality, I would imagine that this is pretty close to how Nolofinwe his family and people would have been after crossing the ice.


I can't wait to see how this story evolves. :)

Author's Response: Thank you Gabriel. When the story came to me I have to admit, I was particularly excited. Fingon is my absolutely favorite Tolkien character and I love to imagine him in different scenarios. I also cannot imagine that Fingolfin's host was particularly friendly after crossing that hellish wasteland, so there's that too. I feel for Maglor too. He's another character that I love to explore and figure out his motivations. While they were all strong people, larger than life, I also imagine these elves as very vulnerable. I hope the story evolves well enough. Good writing is a process of keeping it up and this is my first story in a while so I hope I am up to the challenge!


You must login () to review.