| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Legolas in Esgaroth by ziggy General Audiences
The story of Esgaroth in which Legolas disgraces himself, but enjoys himself immensely. Chapter 5: Where It All Went Wrong  
Half brother in blood, full brother in heart by FirstAmazon Mature
My (rather optimistic) view on the complicated relationship between Fëanor & Fingolfin. Warning: this story contains...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horror and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale from Harondor
Heralds of the Dawn by Encairion Mature
And death shall have no dominion. The final installment of The Price of Eternity series.  
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
And in spring be reborn by Kalendeer General Audiences
Reembodied in Valinor, Dior finds relief from grief from the most surprising person.   Beleriand had sang. Her waterfalls...
Waiting for the Thaw by Narya General Audiences
Annatar takes a brooding Celebrimbor for a walk in the snow.

Site Info

Members: 502
Series: 95
Stories: 1806
Chapters: 9107
Word count: 27835982
Authors: 143
Reviews: 16975
Reviewers: 228
Newest Member: ari_mei
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 25
Members:

Shoutbox

FirstAmazon
02/21/20 02:12 pm
Happy friday to all ^^
ziggy
02/21/20 09:41 am
Blimey- Friday already. Back at work Monday. Have a good weekend everyone. (Naledi- chapter 3 up)
Spiced Wine
02/21/20 09:23 am
Happy Friday everyone :)
Spiced Wine
02/20/20 02:46 pm
Welcome, Ari_mei :)
ziggy
02/20/20 10:31 am
Naledi- posting quick and short -unusually :) Putting you into this chapter! Happy birthday again.
Naledi
02/18/20 06:19 pm
Thank you Ziggy!!! I’ve been wanting to know what happened to Legolas in Esgaroth ever since you first hinted at it. A brilliant bday pressie xxx
ziggy
02/18/20 03:13 pm
Happy Birthday for tomorrow- I am celebrating your birthday over a number of days like the Queen!! Chapter 1 up :)
Narya
02/18/20 08:49 am
Welcome, ari_mei!
Narya
02/18/20 08:46 am
Welcome, MK1125!
Naledi
02/17/20 09:41 pm
Thanks Ziggy! It’s my birthday tomorrow so it’s nearly here :)
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 03, 2017 5:56 · For: Chapter 1
Out of all the Men of Middle-earth, Aragorn is my favourite. I was trying to figure out why, and came to the conclusion that he has had a lot to overcome, is valiant, kind and generous, not that other Men aren't, but I think the most significant thing that makes him a great character is his upbringing. Living in Imladris and having Elrond as a step father and mentor.
He understands Elves like no other man who has ever lived, even Turin, and we all know what Turin did to repay the Elves for their kindness.
And so, here's Aragorn, tired and worn from life, coming to terms with death and the grief of it and wanting to spend what little time he has left with family and friends. Understanding Legolas as best a man can an Elf without being one and not wanting to spend this time he has wallowing in anguish over what has been, and will be, what he cannot change. He just wants Legolas's company, plain and simple.
So beautifully done Cheekybeak!
Aragorn's acceptance, {what else can he do}, and Legolas's denial.
So very sad and you've done this in a way so sweet and simple yet complex.
Oh, there's so much more I'd like to say, but am afraid I'll repeat myself.
Loved It :)

Author's Response:

Oh I am glad you liked this! Good to meet an Aragorn sympathiser. (He was my favourite in the movies) This is actually the fourth in a series of conversations between these two which show the development of their friendship. The other stories are "A different Path, "Misunderstandings" and "Kings and Princes" You might enjoy them, in that order, ...and they do add more background to this scene. It also has a sequel. "Homecomings" I won't say much more about that...it would only be a spoiler! 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: June 01, 2017 16:09 · For: Chapter 1

"I want to ride with you on the Pelennor, the wind in our hair as we evade your guards; I want to run across the fields of Rohan, evil snapping at our heels as we search for our friends. You, Gimli and I, the Three Hunters. I want that, Aragorn."

 

That is what I want too, CB- I want that, not this terible, heart-wrenching goodbye that is the end of the fellowsip- I can't bar it. You hae me bwawling my heart out over this and I only read it beciase it;s you. I NEVER read end of the fellowship- too sad. I have read this before I think- must hve been on Teitho and thought it excellent written but miserable and tragic.

I miss him already. I miss him with all my heart, but I have been missing him for years now. Not the Legolas who sits before me, tired, weary and exhausted from years of resisting the call of the sea. Oh no, it is the bright, mischievious Legolas I miss. The Legolas who ran ahead of us across the snow as if he had not a care in the world, laughing at us as he went; the Legolas who arrived in Imladris all those years ago, wide-eyed, young and naive. . . That flighty, volatile, mercurial Legolas with his sense of fun. 

 

 

 

I lost that Legolas years ago.

 

 

 

And so now I let my friend go. I give him room to leave and find that old Legolas again, somewhere over the sea. 

 

 

 

I give him the greatest gift I have to give.

 

 

 

 I walk away.

 

So unfair to make me cry like this. It is the best of the Eof the F stories ever though so I suppose I forgive you.



Author's Response:

I am glad you forgive me, and thanks for reading it when you usually wouldn't. It is sad ........ But it's not the end. Not for my characters anyway. I know you have read the story of their reunion, (which I wrote because I just have never been able to bear the thought of them separated forever.) Go read it again to cheer yourself up, it's called "Homecoming" Same characters and knowing what happens in that story makes this one easier to bear. :-) 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 28, 2017 21:47 · For: Chapter 1

Yay! Finally Aragorn is doing the right thing!

Yes, I know I'm supposed to be sad, but I'm just too glad Aragorn is finally setting Legolas free to sail! Beautifully written though :)



Author's Response:

Ha, ha, I should have known you would react like this! Yes Aragorn is stepping up to the plate and doing the right thing.......but Legolas doesn't think it is! :-( 



You must login () to review.