| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Deception by Starfox General Audiences
A trade delegation from the south visits Mirkwood and Thranduil and Legolas are highly suspicious.
Fairest by Narya General Audiences
Artanis works on a project and begins to realise that Valinor cannot give her what she needs. A gift ficlet for Cheekybeak...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
A Love Unspoken by cheekybeak General Audiences
A prequel to “Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls.” On a ship at Pelegir a newly stricken Legolas battles with the sea-longing...
Shadows and Cages by Narya Teen
In Gondolin, Fanari and Aredhel spend an evening by the fire. A gift ficlet for Spiced Wine for Legendarium Ladies April.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1638
Chapters: 8393
Word count: 25414431
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15536
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
04/26/18 09:45 am
Also on Dreamwidth. See Narya if you are not on Dreamwidth or Tumblr for more information :)
Spiced Wine
04/26/18 09:41 am
Tolkien Summer Reverse Bang News is up on News. Narya is running it on Tumblr. @naryaflame or search for narya on search
Narya
04/22/18 10:25 pm
Yes, the world felt all clean and fresh today - we had a bit of a storm last night but not as dramatic as I was hoping!
Spiced Wine
04/22/18 09:51 am
We had two storms, late evening and about 1.15, really energetic, incredible lightning! It’s nice this morning though!
Narya
04/21/18 10:08 pm
Beautiful weather again today :) although thunderstorms forecast soon - I am waiting up for it, I love a good storm. How is everyone's weekend so far?
Narya
04/20/18 10:35 pm
Happy Friday :) it's been a gorgeous day here.
Spiced Wine
04/20/18 09:51 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Gabriel
04/20/18 12:47 am
Thank you Nelya, thank you Spiced. :)
Spiced Wine
04/19/18 08:22 pm
I’m glad you’ve had a lovely day, Gabriel :)
NelyafinweFeanorion
04/19/18 05:47 pm
Happy birthday Gabriel!
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 03, 2017 5:56 · For: Chapter 1
Out of all the Men of Middle-earth, Aragorn is my favourite. I was trying to figure out why, and came to the conclusion that he has had a lot to overcome, is valiant, kind and generous, not that other Men aren't, but I think the most significant thing that makes him a great character is his upbringing. Living in Imladris and having Elrond as a step father and mentor.
He understands Elves like no other man who has ever lived, even Turin, and we all know what Turin did to repay the Elves for their kindness.
And so, here's Aragorn, tired and worn from life, coming to terms with death and the grief of it and wanting to spend what little time he has left with family and friends. Understanding Legolas as best a man can an Elf without being one and not wanting to spend this time he has wallowing in anguish over what has been, and will be, what he cannot change. He just wants Legolas's company, plain and simple.
So beautifully done Cheekybeak!
Aragorn's acceptance, {what else can he do}, and Legolas's denial.
So very sad and you've done this in a way so sweet and simple yet complex.
Oh, there's so much more I'd like to say, but am afraid I'll repeat myself.
Loved It :)

Author's Response:

Oh I am glad you liked this! Good to meet an Aragorn sympathiser. (He was my favourite in the movies) This is actually the fourth in a series of conversations between these two which show the development of their friendship. The other stories are "A different Path, "Misunderstandings" and "Kings and Princes" You might enjoy them, in that order, ...and they do add more background to this scene. It also has a sequel. "Homecomings" I won't say much more about that...it would only be a spoiler! 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: June 01, 2017 16:09 · For: Chapter 1

"I want to ride with you on the Pelennor, the wind in our hair as we evade your guards; I want to run across the fields of Rohan, evil snapping at our heels as we search for our friends. You, Gimli and I, the Three Hunters. I want that, Aragorn."

 

That is what I want too, CB- I want that, not this terible, heart-wrenching goodbye that is the end of the fellowsip- I can't bar it. You hae me bwawling my heart out over this and I only read it beciase it;s you. I NEVER read end of the fellowship- too sad. I have read this before I think- must hve been on Teitho and thought it excellent written but miserable and tragic.

I miss him already. I miss him with all my heart, but I have been missing him for years now. Not the Legolas who sits before me, tired, weary and exhausted from years of resisting the call of the sea. Oh no, it is the bright, mischievious Legolas I miss. The Legolas who ran ahead of us across the snow as if he had not a care in the world, laughing at us as he went; the Legolas who arrived in Imladris all those years ago, wide-eyed, young and naive. . . That flighty, volatile, mercurial Legolas with his sense of fun. 

 

 

 

I lost that Legolas years ago.

 

 

 

And so now I let my friend go. I give him room to leave and find that old Legolas again, somewhere over the sea. 

 

 

 

I give him the greatest gift I have to give.

 

 

 

 I walk away.

 

So unfair to make me cry like this. It is the best of the Eof the F stories ever though so I suppose I forgive you.



Author's Response:

I am glad you forgive me, and thanks for reading it when you usually wouldn't. It is sad ........ But it's not the end. Not for my characters anyway. I know you have read the story of their reunion, (which I wrote because I just have never been able to bear the thought of them separated forever.) Go read it again to cheer yourself up, it's called "Homecoming" Same characters and knowing what happens in that story makes this one easier to bear. :-) 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 28, 2017 21:47 · For: Chapter 1

Yay! Finally Aragorn is doing the right thing!

Yes, I know I'm supposed to be sad, but I'm just too glad Aragorn is finally setting Legolas free to sail! Beautifully written though :)



Author's Response:

Ha, ha, I should have known you would react like this! Yes Aragorn is stepping up to the plate and doing the right thing.......but Legolas doesn't think it is! :-( 



You must login () to review.