| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Old Bones by Narya General Audiences
Maglor examines some old relics in the Basilica di Santa Maria in Cosmedin. Written for Valentine's Day; posting a few days...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Artifices of Gold and Shadow by Marchwriter Mature
When a ‘messenger of the Valar’ arrives on a rainy night, Celebrimbor — living quietly in exile — offers him shelter...
Moderately Functional by KimicThranduilion General Audiences
When Legolas’ intended day off drinking his favourite Dorwinion is interrupted for an important mission he is determined...
Friendship Amidst Loss by KimicThranduilion Teen
When Legolas and his troop become targets for slave traders tragedy strikes and the Prince suffers a devastating loss after...
Fragments from Middle-earth by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Ficlets of under 1000 words written for past BTMEM Challenges. They feature mostly Aragorn, Faramir, Halbarad and OCs
Oaths of Allegiance by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
 Faramir takes an oath of fealty to two very different liege lords.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 88
Stories: 1716
Chapters: 8742
Word count: 26619550
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16462
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 30
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 18
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
02/16/19 01:52 pm
B2Me is underway folks. Amazing collection of Bingo Cards!
ziggy
02/16/19 10:56 am
Sounds like we've got some good new fics/updates on their way if everyone is writing this weekend:)
Gabriel
02/15/19 10:13 pm
I've been working so hard to get them done, that I'm done in the process.
Gabriel
02/15/19 10:12 pm
That sounds like my kind of weekend. Spiced! Hopefully I can have some fics finished for everyone to read. Fingers crossed. :)
Narya
02/15/19 10:12 pm
Similar I think! It's meant to be cloudy here but no rain forecast so I think a walk to start with, then some writing time
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 07:36 pm
Not really, but the weather is supposed to be quite mild and nice. Probably relax and write and go for a couple of walks. You?
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 07:15 pm
Not really, but the weather is supposed to be quite mild and nice. Probably relax and write and go for a couple of walks. You?
Narya
02/15/19 06:36 pm
Fri-yay! :D anybody got any nice plans this weekend?
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 10:11 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
02/14/19 09:46 pm
And to you, Alquien :)
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 03, 2017 5:56 · For: Chapter 1
Out of all the Men of Middle-earth, Aragorn is my favourite. I was trying to figure out why, and came to the conclusion that he has had a lot to overcome, is valiant, kind and generous, not that other Men aren't, but I think the most significant thing that makes him a great character is his upbringing. Living in Imladris and having Elrond as a step father and mentor.
He understands Elves like no other man who has ever lived, even Turin, and we all know what Turin did to repay the Elves for their kindness.
And so, here's Aragorn, tired and worn from life, coming to terms with death and the grief of it and wanting to spend what little time he has left with family and friends. Understanding Legolas as best a man can an Elf without being one and not wanting to spend this time he has wallowing in anguish over what has been, and will be, what he cannot change. He just wants Legolas's company, plain and simple.
So beautifully done Cheekybeak!
Aragorn's acceptance, {what else can he do}, and Legolas's denial.
So very sad and you've done this in a way so sweet and simple yet complex.
Oh, there's so much more I'd like to say, but am afraid I'll repeat myself.
Loved It :)

Author's Response:

Oh I am glad you liked this! Good to meet an Aragorn sympathiser. (He was my favourite in the movies) This is actually the fourth in a series of conversations between these two which show the development of their friendship. The other stories are "A different Path, "Misunderstandings" and "Kings and Princes" You might enjoy them, in that order, ...and they do add more background to this scene. It also has a sequel. "Homecomings" I won't say much more about that...it would only be a spoiler! 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: June 01, 2017 16:09 · For: Chapter 1

"I want to ride with you on the Pelennor, the wind in our hair as we evade your guards; I want to run across the fields of Rohan, evil snapping at our heels as we search for our friends. You, Gimli and I, the Three Hunters. I want that, Aragorn."

 

That is what I want too, CB- I want that, not this terible, heart-wrenching goodbye that is the end of the fellowsip- I can't bar it. You hae me bwawling my heart out over this and I only read it beciase it;s you. I NEVER read end of the fellowship- too sad. I have read this before I think- must hve been on Teitho and thought it excellent written but miserable and tragic.

I miss him already. I miss him with all my heart, but I have been missing him for years now. Not the Legolas who sits before me, tired, weary and exhausted from years of resisting the call of the sea. Oh no, it is the bright, mischievious Legolas I miss. The Legolas who ran ahead of us across the snow as if he had not a care in the world, laughing at us as he went; the Legolas who arrived in Imladris all those years ago, wide-eyed, young and naive. . . That flighty, volatile, mercurial Legolas with his sense of fun. 

 

 

 

I lost that Legolas years ago.

 

 

 

And so now I let my friend go. I give him room to leave and find that old Legolas again, somewhere over the sea. 

 

 

 

I give him the greatest gift I have to give.

 

 

 

 I walk away.

 

So unfair to make me cry like this. It is the best of the Eof the F stories ever though so I suppose I forgive you.



Author's Response:

I am glad you forgive me, and thanks for reading it when you usually wouldn't. It is sad ........ But it's not the end. Not for my characters anyway. I know you have read the story of their reunion, (which I wrote because I just have never been able to bear the thought of them separated forever.) Go read it again to cheer yourself up, it's called "Homecoming" Same characters and knowing what happens in that story makes this one easier to bear. :-) 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 28, 2017 21:47 · For: Chapter 1

Yay! Finally Aragorn is doing the right thing!

Yes, I know I'm supposed to be sad, but I'm just too glad Aragorn is finally setting Legolas free to sail! Beautifully written though :)



Author's Response:

Ha, ha, I should have known you would react like this! Yes Aragorn is stepping up to the plate and doing the right thing.......but Legolas doesn't think it is! :-( 



You must login () to review.