| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Through Fields of Green by lotrfan General Audiences
Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli follow the Orcs after the Breaking of the Fellowship and attempt to rescue Merry and Pippin. This...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1677
Chapters: 8563
Word count: 26085994
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16047
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
09/20/18 12:15 pm
That was what I was doing, too! Glad you sorted it out :)
Gabriel
09/20/18 12:03 pm
Thank you Spiced! But I think I've figured it out. I think I inadvertantly missed something out. *Shakes head at self* Anyway I skipped previewing and just added and it seems to have worked.
Spiced Wine
09/20/18 11:52 am
You could just email me the text, with the charcters, ratings, summary etc
Spiced Wine
09/20/18 11:51 am
Who had this problem recently? Gabriel, I have access to posting fic, if you can send me your fic I could try and post it, although I am out for a while
Gabriel
09/20/18 11:45 am
Now its telling me i can't go past 'O' in the character section.
Spiced Wine
09/20/18 11:45 am
Also ensure everything you need to check on the form has been checked
Spiced Wine
09/20/18 11:44 am
I get that message myself, sometimes, it is a glitch, and I have to try again
Gabriel
09/20/18 11:33 am
Okay trying again.
Spiced Wine
09/20/18 11:25 am
So I am stumped! Yes, try going back?
Spiced Wine
09/20/18 11:24 am
Well, there are no chapters waiting to be validated on here, which is a glitch but *sometimes* happens
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 03, 2017 5:56 · For: Chapter 1
Out of all the Men of Middle-earth, Aragorn is my favourite. I was trying to figure out why, and came to the conclusion that he has had a lot to overcome, is valiant, kind and generous, not that other Men aren't, but I think the most significant thing that makes him a great character is his upbringing. Living in Imladris and having Elrond as a step father and mentor.
He understands Elves like no other man who has ever lived, even Turin, and we all know what Turin did to repay the Elves for their kindness.
And so, here's Aragorn, tired and worn from life, coming to terms with death and the grief of it and wanting to spend what little time he has left with family and friends. Understanding Legolas as best a man can an Elf without being one and not wanting to spend this time he has wallowing in anguish over what has been, and will be, what he cannot change. He just wants Legolas's company, plain and simple.
So beautifully done Cheekybeak!
Aragorn's acceptance, {what else can he do}, and Legolas's denial.
So very sad and you've done this in a way so sweet and simple yet complex.
Oh, there's so much more I'd like to say, but am afraid I'll repeat myself.
Loved It :)

Author's Response:

Oh I am glad you liked this! Good to meet an Aragorn sympathiser. (He was my favourite in the movies) This is actually the fourth in a series of conversations between these two which show the development of their friendship. The other stories are "A different Path, "Misunderstandings" and "Kings and Princes" You might enjoy them, in that order, ...and they do add more background to this scene. It also has a sequel. "Homecomings" I won't say much more about that...it would only be a spoiler! 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: June 01, 2017 16:09 · For: Chapter 1

"I want to ride with you on the Pelennor, the wind in our hair as we evade your guards; I want to run across the fields of Rohan, evil snapping at our heels as we search for our friends. You, Gimli and I, the Three Hunters. I want that, Aragorn."

 

That is what I want too, CB- I want that, not this terible, heart-wrenching goodbye that is the end of the fellowsip- I can't bar it. You hae me bwawling my heart out over this and I only read it beciase it;s you. I NEVER read end of the fellowship- too sad. I have read this before I think- must hve been on Teitho and thought it excellent written but miserable and tragic.

I miss him already. I miss him with all my heart, but I have been missing him for years now. Not the Legolas who sits before me, tired, weary and exhausted from years of resisting the call of the sea. Oh no, it is the bright, mischievious Legolas I miss. The Legolas who ran ahead of us across the snow as if he had not a care in the world, laughing at us as he went; the Legolas who arrived in Imladris all those years ago, wide-eyed, young and naive. . . That flighty, volatile, mercurial Legolas with his sense of fun. 

 

 

 

I lost that Legolas years ago.

 

 

 

And so now I let my friend go. I give him room to leave and find that old Legolas again, somewhere over the sea. 

 

 

 

I give him the greatest gift I have to give.

 

 

 

 I walk away.

 

So unfair to make me cry like this. It is the best of the Eof the F stories ever though so I suppose I forgive you.



Author's Response:

I am glad you forgive me, and thanks for reading it when you usually wouldn't. It is sad ........ But it's not the end. Not for my characters anyway. I know you have read the story of their reunion, (which I wrote because I just have never been able to bear the thought of them separated forever.) Go read it again to cheer yourself up, it's called "Homecoming" Same characters and knowing what happens in that story makes this one easier to bear. :-) 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 28, 2017 21:47 · For: Chapter 1

Yay! Finally Aragorn is doing the right thing!

Yes, I know I'm supposed to be sad, but I'm just too glad Aragorn is finally setting Legolas free to sail! Beautifully written though :)



Author's Response:

Ha, ha, I should have known you would react like this! Yes Aragorn is stepping up to the plate and doing the right thing.......but Legolas doesn't think it is! :-( 



You must login () to review.