| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls by cheekybeak Teen
Sequel to "The Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" Misunderstanding and heartache cause antagonism between Legolas...
The Condensed Silmarillion. (Which is not so short any more.) by cheekybeak General Audiences
The Silm you read when you are not really reading the Silm. Everything you always wanted to know......but missing all the...
Heaven's Reward Fallacy by mangacrack Explicit
In which Fingon struggles with life and never seems to get it right.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...
Path of Honor-Part II: Far From Home by IdrilsSecret Explicit
To avoid the scandal that is still following Rumil in Lothlorien, he is sent on a mission to Mirkwood. He must negotiate...
Our love was raw and young by mangacrack Explicit
AU. Maedhros cheats, Caranthir eavesdrops and Maglor is a political mastermind.
Not so Valiant not so Wise by Fadesintothewest Explicit
*EDITED (2015)*An unlikely secret night of passion threatens the relationship between Fingon and Turgon. One possible scenario...

Site Info

Members: 469
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 7981
Word count: 23749302
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14174
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: merwinem
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 66
Members:

Shoutbox

Encairion
06/21/17 01:54 am
Hi Spiced, good to hear from you :) I am sorry things been weighing you down, and work piling up. I hope a chance to relax and do what you love comes soon :hugs:
ziggy
06/21/17 01:25 am
Lovely to hear you are getting back, Spiced!
Alquien
06/20/17 06:16 am
Hope you are feeling better now Spiced. ((hugs))
Spiced Wine
06/19/17 07:18 pm
I hope you're all okay my loves. Such appalling things going on the last few weeks :( I am overwhelmed by that and a work backlog, but trying to get that done to write again. Hugs to all
Ysilme
06/11/17 01:37 pm
Have a great trip and a great time, Naledi!
Naledi
06/11/17 09:19 am
Thanks! Maybe I'll be inspired - who knows?
ziggy
06/10/17 01:39 pm
Have a lovely time, Naledi- how lovely. hope you are inspired to write something for all of us!!xx
Spiced Wine
06/09/17 10:25 pm
Wonderful! Your are so lucky, Naledi. Have a lovely time. Have a great weekend everyone!
Naledi
06/09/17 07:20 pm
Happy Friday, everyone! I'm off on holiday to Pembrokeshire for a week but I hope I'll have internet access.
Spiced Wine
06/06/17 10:07 am
Thank you, Ziggy :)
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 21, 2017 7:30 · For: Chapter 3
Its good to see Caranthir and Curufin still have some semblance of a relationship at the beginning of this chapter, even if it pales in comparison to what they once had together.
Also I've noticed that you've made Caranthir so much like Feanor in character; obnoxious, arrogant with the view that no-one,{except his father and brothers}, is worth his time or attention, traits of young Feanor in {Revolutionary and Usurper}. I love that!
What's this whole thing Finrod? Curufin seemed to be slightly enamoured by him. But that could have been purely because Finrod was someone Curufin could chat to and argue a point with. Poor Caranthir constantly tormenting himself with Curufin. But in saying that, all of this anguish has lent Caranthir a great strength of character.
Feanor's death; still brings a tear to the eye and Curufin is not coping at all well, but then why would he having been so close to his father.
I love that Caranthir is quietly and secretly looking after the well-being of his brothers. But if he didn't who would, it's a case of having to, out of fear for them. Such a great character!
:)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 12, 2017 11:56 · For: Chapter 2
I loved Caranthir and Curufin's relationship in this chapter. Stuck to each other's side unpicking the world around them, together, and sharing in the conclusions they would inevitably come up with.
Just the family unity with Feanor and his sons makes you wish you were a part of it.
Your Feanor is just so delectable in this, I especially loved Feanor teaching Caranthir the art of Osanwe, so awesome. How you made it addictive, fantastic stuff, and Caranthir's secret desire for his brother, but outwardly pushing him away, really sad.
Really enjoying this story! :D

Author's Response:

I am thrilled to hear you are still enjoying the story :)

Just the family unity with Feanor and his sons makes you wish you were a part of it.

Oh, I know exactly what you mean!  They have such strong, unbreakable relationships.

“Your Feanor is just so delectable in this, I especially loved Feanor teaching Caranthir the art of Osanwe, so awesome. How you made it addictive, fantastic stuff, and Caranthir's secret desire for his brother, but outwardly pushing him away, really sad.

I love writing Father Feanor!  I think he was a great dad, so I love hearing that others like him too :)  And yes, poor Caranthir –and Curufin too—I wish Caranthir would just TELL him!  His fear of being rejected/making Curuifn disgusted with him, causes such wounds in his and Curufin’s life :(

 

Thank you so much for the review!!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 31, 2017 14:05 · For: Chapter 1
I'm sorry Encairion, I couldn't resist, I just had to read this new fic.
I love it when people write about Characters that don't get much of a mention.
Oh, dear dear Caranthir, one of my many favourite characters. I love him because he adds a wonderful level of antagonism and depth to a story already full of grief and anguish.
He never gives up never stops fighting, even when the world is crumbling around him.

Caranthir hadn't bothered listening to the fables about twins until his brothers were born. By now he was sick to death of hearing both the superstitions against them and those who looked at the twins with something akin to worship.
This tugged a laugh from me, it says a lot about Caranthir. The so bloody minded irritated and short tempered son of Feanor. It's just so him. And something else about word games his older brothers played with their father, he seems to find others enjoyment with things disgusting, I love him. 'Classic'.
But his relationship with Curufin was the one thing he really thrived on. The one bit of sunshine in his day that made every accusation every argument just melt away.
He's such an aloof character, there always seems to be such a great sense of sadness surrounding him because he's the odd brother out.
Fantastic! :)

Author's Response:

I'm sorry Encairion, I couldn't resist, I just had to read this new fic.

Oh my gosh you don’t have to apologize!  I love hearing what you thought of the new story :)

“He never gives up never stops fighting, even when the world is crumbling around him.

Yes this, exactly.  He never stops fighting, he never gives up, especially not on his family.  He is always there caring for them through the little things until the end.

This tugged a laugh from me, it says a lot about Caranthir. The so bloody minded irritated and short tempered son of Feanor. It's just so him. And something else about word games his older brothers played with their father, he seems to find others enjoyment with things disgusting, I love him. 'Classic'. 

Yep, that’s him to a T!  He doesn’t give a flip what anyone has to say, and has no time for fancy word games when blunt, practical ones will get the job done better.

But his relationship with Curufin was the one thing he really thrived on. The one bit of sunshine in his day that made every accusation every argument just melt away.

Curufin and his relationship was special out of all of his relationship with his brothers.  They really were close friends as well as brothers.  And it was always Curufin who could make him smile.  (This is making me sad all over again!)

 

Thank you so much for the review!  It was a pleasure to read :hugs:



Name: Caunedhiel (Signed) · Date: May 30, 2017 22:34 · For: Chapter 5
I always love your stories !! i would be very sad if you never published a story again, your works are amazing and the whole fanfic community would lose a great writer but i understand the feeling of having no inspiration/motivation to write, i hope it passes quickly.

I adore your sons of feanor, they feel so real and exactly how they should be. its uncanny and oh so enjoyable to read. ive never really thought about Caranthir much though, i guess he is one of the more background ones? if thats possible. i really love your tale of him though, i wanted him just to tell Curufin what he felt the whole time and really sad that he couldnt. i hope there is more to this tale and that you find inspiration for your other works

thanks for posting. much love Caunedhiel xx

Author's Response:

“I always love your stories !! i would be very sad if you never published a story again, your works are amazing and the whole fanfic community would lose a great writer but i understand the feeling of having no inspiration/motivation to write, i hope it passes quickly.

Thank you, thank you for these kind words!  Everyone has been so supportive of me, I don’t know how to repay all this love!  At least I can let you know that I caught the spark again as I was editing the new chapters for Price of Vengeance, and started writing again :) 

“I adore your sons of feanor, they feel so real and exactly how they should be. its uncanny and oh so enjoyable to read.

I love hearing this, thank you!  You have no idea how nervous the Feanorions used to make me.  I didn’t think I had the chops to write from their POVs –especially Feanor.  But then I finally took the plunge and have found them to be some of my fav character POVs ever to write from!  I never seem to get tired of thinking up new scenes for them :)

 i really love your tale of him though, i wanted him just to tell Curufin what he felt the whole time and really sad that he couldnt. i hope there is more to this tale and that you find inspiration for your other works 

I wanted him to tell Curufin so much too, it killed me not to let him tell him, even if only at that very last scene!  Even if Curufin was never able to return the romantic love, it would have been so much better for Caranthir to have admitted to it, to have explained why he had pushed Curufin away.  Curufin wouldn’t have looked at him in disgusted –like Caranthir feared—they could have been brothers again and best friends and healed.  BUT it is not over!  There is more to their story, it’s just not written yet.  This story, and Revolutionary and the Usurper are part of a larger series.  I am almost ready for the last installment of that series where everyone starts getting re-born (including Caranthir and Curufin)! I can’t wait :rubs hands together:

 

Thank you again so much for the wonderful review :hugs:



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 29, 2017 16:57 · For: Chapter 2

I love the way you have Feanor recognising each of his chaildren's talents and nurturing them, and knowing Caranthir's, he nurtures this as he does the others- perhaps giving him more of himself than any oher. Beaitifully done.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I really see Feanor doing this.  He would pour all of himself into them if they needed it.  He even gave up his own work when they were young (if you remember from Revolutionary and Usurper).  Wherever their talent and passion lay, forge-work or not, he made it his goal to see them reach their full potential.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 29, 2017 13:54 · For: Chapter 1

Oh mydRLING ENCAIRION! You are back!! Hurray!!! I havemissed your gorgeous worotng, your wonderful characterisation and intriguing narratives. But I guess you , like others, are feeling the fadom is slow, that only the die-hards remain and perhaps your interests are elsewhere now. But don't abando us completely just yet! You've got that story to tell and finish- at least just write out the plot so we all know what happens. It is too desperate not to!!

 

And this is a fic I have not been even aware of! 5 chapters posted and I've not read it yet. I have a soft spot for Caratnthir- he always seems to come out of things the worst and be the least talented and least attratcie of the brothers.

 

You hVE REALLY CAUGHT the moment of the disintegration of Feanor and Nerdanel so well in this: these lovely details:

Sometimes one of Celegorm’s ridiculous shenanigans was all that tugged a smile to Amrod’s quiet mouth. 

 

and this rather sad little note:  Caranthir wondered sometimes if she would mourn his absence as fiercely as she grieved for the loss of her work. 

 

But then you get these jewel-like moments- I thin the description and mages of the jungle are particualry fine- deep colour and texture, a sense of being very far away humid and damp, hot heat- green. I loved this:

They stretched out on slabs of mossy rock and let the heat dry their skin. Their bellies pressed into the yielding moss, their heads pillowed in their crossed arms, and faces turned to each other. 

And then the emotion of Carathir's forbidden desire lashes itself into this- so tumultous- but I really liked the very physical langauge, the sense of his turning himself inside out literally:

The universe upheaved inside his head, its backbone splitting open, pulling its guts up with it. He wanted to scream. He wanted to hurt something. He wanted to run back, pick Curufin up, and make him understand how sorry he was. But he wanted to press his mouth into Curufin’s too, wanted to learn what his brother’s body would feel like under his, so he didn’t stop running.


He was vicious, lashing out at Curufin, punishing him for not loving him back. Even though he knew Curufin couldn’t force his heart, still he cried out for its return. Curufin threw nasty words back, but not one of them hurt like Curufin’s arm about his wife’s waist or his head bent close to Celegorm in a secret language that Caranthir was barred from, nothing but an outsider looking in.

Great writing my dear.

Author's Response:

Hi Ziggy!  :waves:  I hope you have been doing well :)

Oh mydRLING ENCAIRION! You are back!! Hurray!!! I havemissed your gorgeous worotng, your wonderful characterisation and intriguing narratives. But I guess you , like others, are feeling the fadom is slow, that only the die-hards remain and perhaps your interests are elsewhere now. But don't abando us completely just yet! You've got that story to tell and finish- at least just write out the plot so we all know what happens. It is too desperate not to!!

It is good to be back!  It wasn’t lack of interest, or finding another fandom more interesting to write in, that kept me away, rather lack of writing motivation.  I actually feared I might never write again, but I have found the spark again :)  If I do ever decide I cannot continue the story to the end, I promise to post the remaining plot points.  I have the meat of it figured out :)

You hVE REALLY CAUGHT the moment of the disintegration of Feanor and Nerdanel so well

I am glad you think so :)  It must have been so hard for the boys to be in the middle of a failing marriage.  It can really damage a kid, especially in situations like this where it felt like their parents were fighting over and even through them.

“and this rather sad little note:  Caranthir wondered sometimes if she would mourn his absence as fiercely as she grieved for the loss of her work.”

Yes, it is sad, but I don’t think it’s true.  Caranthir has a skewed understanding of his mother because I think things between Feanor and her had been coming to a head for years.  She was a passionate craftswomen tho, just like Feanor, and it did wear on her and make her all the more impatient that she did not have the energy/inspiration (?) to keep up her work.

“And then the emotion of Carathir's forbidden desire lashes itself into this- so tumultous- but I really liked the very physical langauge, the sense of his turning himself inside out literally”

Ah!  I am glad you especially liked that part!  I really wanted to give the feel of his whole world coming apart!  I am glad it worked :)

 

Thank you so, so much for this lovely review!  And for welcoming me back so warmly!  You are a good friend :hugs:



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: May 29, 2017 3:29 · For: Chapter 1

Yet one could also argue that it was the way the Feanorions loved each other, that kind of love that would make them jump into a fire for their family, that had them swearing the Oath in the beginning.

Yes! This exactly!! It's like a chicken and the egg situation. They need that focused obsessive love to get them through the years in Arda but it was also that which lead them to their doom for without it it would have been so much easier for Maedhros to say, "No!" to his younger siblings..."you will not swear the oath." I think we have talked about this before. I deeply believe a lot of Maedhros' pain, ( and he has SO much pain) is because deep down he thinks he should have protected his brothers then when Feanor was so obviously mad....that he led them to their death as much as Feanor did because he did not speak against his father at that moment. 



Author's Response:

I have no doubt Maedhros bitterly regretted the Oath and not stopping his brothers, stopping all of them, from swearing it.  I have argued before that they did not truly understand what they were swearing too, but I doubt that now.  I don’t believe they ever envisioned actually killing anyone but Morgoth and his servants, but they knew what death looked like because of Finwe.  They were not children.  The Oath’s words are chilling, and they all said them with no sword at their throat forcing them.  And while Maedhros undoubtedly blamed himself, all of this brothers swore of their own free will (and I don’t think he was the first to step forward to do so –defiantly Curufin there—so it’s not like they were following their older brother’s example.  Each of the sons of Feanor made their own choice as an adult to swear the Oath.  And I think every one of the regretted it and blamed themselves for not doing, saying, SOMETHING to stop his brothers and father.

One thing I do believe though is that, as chilling and terrible as the words of the Oath are, they did not understand what kind of Oath it was.  I do not think they believed they were swearing a magical Oath, or whatever it was, that would FORCE them to its fulfillment.  Had any such Oath been swore before?  I think not.  I think they had no way of predicting that they would literally bind themselves to its fulfillment and could not break free.  I think they believed they swore an oath of honor, like Finrod swore, one that could be broken if they choose to forsake their honor (and they would have chosen to do so if they could have to stop the Kinslaying.  Better to be a man without honor than a murderer).

But I don’t want to dismiss their swearing of the Oath because it is a big part of their characters’ too.  They were all driven by revenge in that moment to swear an oath promising to kill for the Silmarils.  Which, when you think about how they had all watched Finwe be murdered and felt the terror of Ungoliant, is not shocking.  And they all choose to kill other people rather go into the Eternal Darkness (they couldn’t know where they would go in death).  But I think they choose to kill to protect their brothers more than out of any desire to save themselves (Curufin also wouldn’t have chosen death over killing before he believed if he/all of them died, they would never be able to rescue their father).

I think each of the Kinslayings were different too.  Alqualonde was confusion and panic and must-protect-my-family, and is actually the one I think the most defensible since they weren’t the ones to attack first (yes, they were stealing the ships, but the Teleri started throwing them overboard where they would have drowned wearing armor).  Now Doriath, well Doriath was years of bitterness and even hate come to a head.  Doriath was about all the Noldor who had died in the war while the Sindar hid, and about the Dwarven children and women who were slaughtered in the Sindar’s vengeance.  Was it even a Kinslaying if no one called each other kin?  Was it even attacking an ally when Doriath had been in cold war with them for centuries and no friend of theirs?  The Havens though were the worst, because it was a Haven.  A bunch of refuges of war, and some of them were the Sindar who the Feanorions truly hated at this point after Doriath and how many died on both sides, but some of them were not, and many of them were non-combatants.  It was the Havens that showed just how far the Feanorions had fallen, and how enslaved they were to the Oath.  We heard in cannon how much they did not want to go there, how long they fought the Oath, but it drove them on in the end.  I wonder if they had not fought so hard until it wrapped too tightly about their necks to be denied, if they had gone after the Silmaril soon after Doriath, would they have had enough sanity/free will left to have chosen say, an assassination retrieval rather than an all-out battle?

 

As much as I love the Feanorions and am biased towards their side of things, I do realize they killed a lot of innocent people.  But morally ambiguous characters have always been my favorites :)  People like Idril or Beren or the Vanyar who are always shown making the ‘right’ choices, bore me.  I’d much rather write about a character’s descent into atrocities than a healthy couple in love.



Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: May 28, 2017 22:46 · For: Chapter 5

Caranthir is the backbone of that family. The quiet one who doesn't mind being patient and listen to the drama going on around him. Does it fits somehow that he's the middle child in all of this. Not that he minds, I guess. He just turned into a private person.

 

... otherwise: don't feel guilty for not writing! I've learned to let go of the notion that free days / hours HAVE to be used to work on a story. because in the end, it IS work. I can just as well fill my time with books, stories or research.

Forcing myself to write doesn't work for me. Certainly not after work or when 4pm is through. So take it easy, have you back reviewing and posting little stuff is enough for me.

besides I've learned how to be patient. If it takes months for a new chapter, than I can wait.



Author's Response:

Caranthir is the backbone of that family.

My first response was: yes, so much!  But then I thought about Maedhros and how essential he was too.   And Celegorm who was Caranthir’s complement in a lot of ways.  They were both the brothers who looked after the others, and both were needed.  If Caranthir was the backbone, Celegorm was the shield at their backs, and Maedhros the sword.

 

I agree with you so much about writing!  I have struggled for years with equating my self-worth with whether or not I was writing, and that is so destructive.  These last few months were the first time since I started writing that I stopped and didn’t want to beat myself up over it.  That was why I didn’t think I was coming back, it felt like I had finally freed myself from it, even though it is something I love.  But working on it again so far has been good, and I did miss that euphoria that comes with feeling like I did really good job with a scene.  I am just hoping that the self-hate for not writing every moment of every day doesn’t come back too.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: May 28, 2017 20:30 · For: Chapter 1

I love the picture of Caranthir. Still beautiful but flawed also. Not the perfect beauty of the others. 

I feel sorry for Caranthir....always overlooked, a real middle child, surronded by brilliant older and younger brothers with nothing of his own to make him shine. (Except he does. He does have his own specialness but it is not particularly valued by himself or others.)

His relationship (or non relationship) with Curufin makes me uncomfortable I have to say. It feels as if it is just a symptom of some real unhappiness on his part. It feels unhealthy......a desperation for a connection because he is adrift within the family, because Caranthir feels invisible, even to his own siblings and parents. It's like he is so desperate for that connection it warps his feelings for Curufin. 

I do remember Feanor handled Caranthir's confession of this quite well but I wish he had been brave enough to confess his own deep attraction to Fingolfin. That knowledge alone would have eased Caranthir's self loathing. But Feanor wasn't brave enough....I don't think he was even brave enough to admit it to himself at that point and so he failed his son. (At least from memory he didn't tell Caranthir the details of that longing) 

Caranthir makes me sad and I would like to see him find the self belief to break free, but I know you see it differently! Sometimes I find the Feanorions quite insular and suffocating and for Caranthir especially. I think he, of all of them, needs to find his identity and self worth away from his family. It feels like Caranthir needs someone who doesn't see him as one amongst many, someone who sees him as something special just for his own merits, as a jewel for his own sake, seperate from his Feanorian blood. Someone who doesn't "need" to love him because he is family. Someone who loves him without a family bond, simply because he is Caranthir, not Caranthir Feanorion. 

so good to read new writing from you. I have missed it! 



Author's Response:

“I love the picture of Caranthir. Still beautiful but flawed also. Not the perfect beauty of the others. 

Yes, this exactly!  He is not a typical Elven beauty (just like his mother, I think), and yet he is still beautiful.

I cannot thank you enough for this review, it really made me think.  I remember talking to you a lot about Caranthir, Curufin, and Finrod, and how I was wavering, not knowing which direction to take, but I think with distance now between me and the writing, I can see all the points you pointed out.  Caranthir’s romantic desire for Curufin is unhealthy, because I think you are right, it is a manifestation of his own insecurities.  He loves Curufin so much as his brother, but I think he worries about his place in Curufin’s heart, especially as they are growing older and others are claiming Curufin’s attention.  I think it is hard for Caranthir to see exactly how much his brothers’ loved him.  (I don’t think he doubted Feanor’s love, because they shared a special connection).  But Curufin was the brother he was closest to, and when Curufin started to grow up and find different interests and more than just Caranthir as a friend, it planted fear in Caranthir of loosing Curufin.

I think the best ending for these two is for Caranthir to come to understand how much his family loves him, and for that they need to understand what he’d been feeling.  Seriously, the Feanorions are going to be having a lot of hearts-to-hearts when they are reborn lol

“Caranthir makes me sad and I would like to see him find the self belief to break free, but I know you see it differently! Sometimes I find the Feanorions quite insular and suffocating and for Caranthir especially.”

Well, I do agree that the Feanorions are insular, defiantly.    

I wonder if things had gone differently for them, if they had never left Valinor, if some of them might have grown to want some distance?  But after the Oath and Kinslaying, well, I think they needed those bonds of love that were almost too much because they felt surrounded by enemies (and were in a lot of ways).  They needed that absolute trust that their brothers would never betray them or forsake them.  And after the Battle of Unnumbered Tears the immense love that almost seemed suffocating was all they had to fight the Oath with, it was only the strength of their love for their brothers that kept them going.  Yet one could also argue that it was the way the Feanorions loved each other, that kind of love that would make them jump into a fire for their family, that had them swearing the Oath in the beginning.

“I think he, of all of them, needs to find his identity and self worth away from his family. It feels like Caranthir needs someone who doesn't see him as one amongst many, someone who sees him as something special just for his own merits, as a jewel for his own sake, seperate from his Feanorian blood. Someone who doesn't "need" to love him because he is family. Someone who loves him without a family bond, simply because he is Caranthir, not Caranthir Feanorion. 

This made me think immediately of the pairing I was thinking about for him (before I became so indecisive about Curufin/Finrod!).  I haven’t written it yet, but I hope that by the end he can feel loved for who he is :)

“I do remember Feanor handled Caranthir's confession of this quite well but I wish he had been brave enough to confess his own deep attraction to Fingolfin. That knowledge alone would have eased Caranthir's self loathing. But Feanor wasn't brave enough....I don't think he was even brave enough to admit it to himself at that point and so he failed his son. (At least from memory he didn't tell Caranthir the details of that longing) 

I couldn’t remember either if Feanor told Caranthir about Fingolfin, so I had to go back and check.  Actually, he did (that kind of surprised me, but then I remembered that he would do anything, even speak of his most painful hurts and disappointments if it would help his sons).  I think, for Caranthir, after Feanor helped him accept that he was not a monster for desiring Curufin, that it was more the terror of loosing Curufin’s love entirely, or hearing from Curufin’s lips that he was disgusted, that held him back from speaking.  I do wish though that he had spoken in Valinor.  I think he believed, and rightly, that after Feanorion died it was too late for that kind of love.  But Caranthir still should have explained himself, and told Curufin why he had hurt him and rejected him, not because Caranthir was looking to gain a lover, but because Curufin needed his brother back.  Curufin never really got Caranthir back though.  Caranthir cared for him from the shadows, when Curufin needed to be loved like Feanor loved him: lots of reassurances and words of love.  No one loved Curufin like that after Feanor died.

Thank you so much for this review!  I feel like you have helped me see deeper into Caranthir’s character, and see things I hadn’t noticed fully before.  Reviews like these are such a gift!

 

 



Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: May 28, 2017 16:36 · For: Chapter 5

Thank you for sharing the story with us. I know what it's like to sit before a piece that just doesn't seem ready or finished but on the other hand ... there's so much work in there already, it'd be a waste not to share it. For my part ... I loved it. Caranthir is a dear, someone who just doesn't get enough attention. And like everything else in the First Age ... he's hurting. It's not easy, loving Curufin. But he does and I LOVE HIM FOR LOVING CURUFIN. No matter how ... cruel Curufin might get, and no matter if Caranthir's love isn't enough to bring him back in the end, it still counts.

*wants to hug those boys and make them happy*

What I liked most was the end, I guess. It fits that Caranthir follows his brothers. It takes more than death to pry Caranthir away from his family.

And I really hope you keep writing? You're an amazing author and it be a tragedy to loose you and your stories.



Author's Response:

Thank you for sharing the story with us. I know what it's like to sit before a piece that just doesn't seem ready or finished but on the other hand ... there's so much work in there already, it'd be a waste not to share it.

Ah, I know!  And it’s hard to just scrap things because of how much work and time has been invested into them.  I actually have word documents with thousands of words of things I’ve cut but couldn’t bear to delete entirely.

You are so right that Caranthir doesn’t get enough attention!  (and most of what he does get seems to be stories with Haleth.  I can’t say I have any interest in that pairing).  I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed the story!

What I liked most was the end, I guess. It fits that Caranthir follows his brothers. It takes more than death to pry Caranthir away from his family.

I liked the idea of him being so pig-headedly stubborn and loving his brothers so fiercely that not even the Valar could pry him from them.  Unlike some of his other brothers, like Maedhros and Curufin, Caranthir had enough of himself left to fight the call of Mandos.  And I image Curufin and Celegorm dying within moment of each other and Celegorm following his brother to Mandos (he could have been another one who I could see fighting Mandos to stay with his family).  Feanor didn’t have a chance, the Valar never would have stopped fighting to have him, he was their ultimate prize.

“And I really hope you keep writing? You're an amazing author and it be a tragedy to loose you and your stories.

Thank you!  It is so nice to hear your warm words :hugs:  I actually thought I might have lost the passion to write for months.  Unlike other times when I disappeared, this time was different because I didn’t have any drive to keep writing (those other times it was mental illness more than lack of will).  But as I am going through editing the Price of Vengeance chapters, I have been feeling the spark!  Ideas have been coming again, at long last, and the itch to write!  It is such a wonderful, missed feeling.

 

Thank you so much for the review and the unwavering support.  That you, and others, were here ready to welcome me back is the greatest gift :hugs:



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: May 28, 2017 12:31 · For: Chapter 5
Well this was amazing. Heartbreaking, tragic, powerful and gut wrenching. I do not think anyone has ever written this house as you do, and I am so very glad that you do, as I have always wanted to read it. I am so glad that you have done some more writing, it was such a treat and very much needed for me at this time. Wow!

Author's Response:

I am so sorry to hear you have been unwell, Spiced :hugs:  But glad the story could help even just a little.

I cannot imagine loving writing another family as I do the Feanorions.  It makes me ridiculously happy every time I get to hear that you enjoyed my writing of them, for as much as I loved them in cannon, I fell in love with them a second time reading your own stories :)

 

Thank you so much for the review!  I will pray that things will get better for you soon :hugs:



You must login () to review.