| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The McDannagh Banshee by Nuredhel Teen
Rory is a guide working at a famous old castle, it is renowned for its colourful past. He isnt superstitious, that is...until...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.
Winter's Cold by Starfox General Audiences
Returning from a hunting trip, Legolas comes across an animal in need and makes a serious mistake.
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...
Angels and crooks by Nuredhel General Audiences
Bard and Thran has gotten used to their new life but they do still have their jobs and my oh my does that make things interesting...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 86
Stories: 1683
Chapters: 8589
Word count: 26190000
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16110
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 23
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
10/21/18 12:08 am
She does sound like a force of nature.
Spiced Wine
10/20/18 10:32 pm
Oh, bless her, she sounds like an amazing person.
Ysilme
10/20/18 01:24 pm
until the end, still driving herself, living independently, going to choir practice and her church groups. It was sad to lose her, of course, but TBH it sounds like a good way to go.
Ysilme
10/20/18 01:23 pm
my MIL's birthday, so we're spending most of the day with her. I'm also just back from the funeral of a member of our choir where we sang. She had a stroke at 92 but hat been fit and activ
Ysilme
10/20/18 01:21 pm
I hope your brother arrives safe and sound, Spiced, and you have a lovely time together! I'm busy catching up with housework before going back up the ladder for painting, and tomorrow it's m
Spiced Wine
10/20/18 12:13 pm
That sounds lovely :) Yes, same with my family, now, Narya, all over the place here and abroad
Narya
10/19/18 10:36 pm
I'm going to try and get out in the country for a nice walk - maybe Ingleton or Aysgarth, to see the waterfalls.
Narya
10/19/18 10:36 pm
Sounds lovely, Spiced. I miss my family like crazy, we're all scattered to the four winds these days. Hope he gets here safe.
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 10:04 pm
My brother’s over from Spain for a couple of days so I’ll be seeing him. If he ever gets here! Flight delayed by storms in Spain!
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 10:03 pm
I hope you’re able to relax, Narya, after a busy week.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Freedom

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 27, 2017 12:21 · For: Chapter 1

I love this idea of Mordor being reclaimed by Nature- the gree grass and rivers, the weeds and regeneration. Lovely idea. Great litte fic.



Author's Response:

So much hurt and pain in Middle Earth, I thought Mordor deserved a chance to redeem itself. It isn't ready for humans yet, it might never be. But it isn't the land of horror anymore either. So thank you for commenting, I wasn't sure about "this little piece" when I posted it.



Name: SparkyTAS (Signed) · Date: May 24, 2017 15:17 · For: Chapter 1
I enjoyed this story. I hope you continue it and we get to see what they see as they explore this recovering land.

Author's Response:

I haven't anything planned specifially but this isn't going to be the last Sons of Elrond fic, I promise you that. Especially not when there're interested readers.



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: May 21, 2017 1:03 · For: Chapter 1
I really like the image of the twins riding into Mordor, totally unaware where they areand how the land has changed.

Although it's hard to imagine that they lived for 2.000 years between humans. I would expect them to miss their family and friends after some time.

Author's Response:

I wondered as well if 2,000 years aren't a bit much, but on the other hand ... they've time. And the twins spend the entire 3rd Age fighting in one way or another. So I think they tallied a bit, took a detour here and there despite missing their family. But sailing is so final and I think they weren't quite ready to let go yet.

but thanks for sharing your thoughts with me.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2017 20:42 · For: Chapter 1

Loved this!

It has all your usual unusualness. Your stories always challenge me to think about things differently. I loved the idea that Elves, in death, are just as resistant to decay as they are in life. Makes perfect sense.

And that "Mordor" as such only existed in the memory of the Elves in the end and when they went so did the identity of the place. 

Brilliant story!



Author's Response:

Most of this story is related to a what-if documenation called "Future without people". It's just amazing how fast nature takes back entire cities, once humans aren't around anymore to take care of it. So I always wondered, ... what kept Morder free of people, plants and life in general? In Arda exists the concept that land etc. can be tainted, so I kind of thought that Elves are partly to blame at least. They mourned Oropher and Gil-galad, cursed Morder and Sauron ... and perhaps the power behind their emotions made sure that nothing ever grew there again. Their memory kept Mordor alive. With the majority gone, I guess Aragorn refused just to let it fester in front of his door step.

But thanks for reviewing. I had this piece sitting on my disk for a while and didn't quite knew what to do with it.



You must login () to review.