| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8480
Word count: 25716640
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15743
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 6
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
06/22/18 10:15 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
lotrfan
06/20/18 07:49 pm
Have a great time Narya!!
Spiced Wine
06/20/18 07:21 pm
Have a great time, Narya; some lovely weather coming next week, I see!
Narya
06/20/18 06:15 pm
I look forwards to catching up with you and your stories when I come back <3
Narya
06/20/18 06:14 pm
Hey guys! Just to let you know I'm going camping for ten days; if you don't see me online, don't think I've abandoned you all, I just won't have internet ;)
Narya
06/15/18 08:15 pm
Thanks Spiced, you too :)
Spiced Wine
06/15/18 08:06 pm
Yes, it’s been very nice! Have a lovely weekend, Narya :)
Narya
06/15/18 07:49 pm
Happy Friday, Team Tolkien :) I hope you're all enjoying blue skies and sunshine like we are in the North of England :)
Spiced Wine
06/15/18 09:55 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
06/14/18 10:32 am
Aww, thank you, Narya :)
Shout Archive


Reviews For Freedom

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 27, 2017 12:21 · For: Chapter 1

I love this idea of Mordor being reclaimed by Nature- the gree grass and rivers, the weeds and regeneration. Lovely idea. Great litte fic.



Author's Response:

So much hurt and pain in Middle Earth, I thought Mordor deserved a chance to redeem itself. It isn't ready for humans yet, it might never be. But it isn't the land of horror anymore either. So thank you for commenting, I wasn't sure about "this little piece" when I posted it.



Name: SparkyTAS (Signed) · Date: May 24, 2017 15:17 · For: Chapter 1
I enjoyed this story. I hope you continue it and we get to see what they see as they explore this recovering land.

Author's Response:

I haven't anything planned specifially but this isn't going to be the last Sons of Elrond fic, I promise you that. Especially not when there're interested readers.



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: May 21, 2017 1:03 · For: Chapter 1
I really like the image of the twins riding into Mordor, totally unaware where they areand how the land has changed.

Although it's hard to imagine that they lived for 2.000 years between humans. I would expect them to miss their family and friends after some time.

Author's Response:

I wondered as well if 2,000 years aren't a bit much, but on the other hand ... they've time. And the twins spend the entire 3rd Age fighting in one way or another. So I think they tallied a bit, took a detour here and there despite missing their family. But sailing is so final and I think they weren't quite ready to let go yet.

but thanks for sharing your thoughts with me.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2017 20:42 · For: Chapter 1

Loved this!

It has all your usual unusualness. Your stories always challenge me to think about things differently. I loved the idea that Elves, in death, are just as resistant to decay as they are in life. Makes perfect sense.

And that "Mordor" as such only existed in the memory of the Elves in the end and when they went so did the identity of the place. 

Brilliant story!



Author's Response:

Most of this story is related to a what-if documenation called "Future without people". It's just amazing how fast nature takes back entire cities, once humans aren't around anymore to take care of it. So I always wondered, ... what kept Morder free of people, plants and life in general? In Arda exists the concept that land etc. can be tainted, so I kind of thought that Elves are partly to blame at least. They mourned Oropher and Gil-galad, cursed Morder and Sauron ... and perhaps the power behind their emotions made sure that nothing ever grew there again. Their memory kept Mordor alive. With the majority gone, I guess Aragorn refused just to let it fester in front of his door step.

But thanks for reviewing. I had this piece sitting on my disk for a while and didn't quite knew what to do with it.



You must login () to review.