| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Summer Heat by Glorfindel Explicit
Set in modern time. Glorfindel is a private detective who takes a commission from a client he knew many years before.Who...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Light of a Thousand Stars by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas returns home from patrol in the South to find his Father's stronghold drenched in sadness. Prequel to "Darkness in...
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Thranduil arrives with help The...
Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Mature
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...

Site Info

Members: 466
Series: 78
Stories: 1554
Chapters: 7912
Word count: 23501829
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13916
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: LaurengeBleue
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 6
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
04/28/17 11:34 pm
Thanks, Alpha. I'm off to Mid Wales - along bits of Offa's Dyke.
Alpha Ori
04/28/17 10:29 pm
Great. Ill send it tomorrow. Where are you hiking??
Naledi
04/28/17 10:22 pm
Oh yes please! Am off on a walking holiday in a couple of weeks and saving it for then.
Alpha Ori
04/28/17 10:10 pm
Oh, exciting. I actually have some updates. Do you want me to send the latest kindle edition?
Naledi
04/28/17 01:44 pm
Hi Alpha. Good to see you here. I've got your book on my kindle and looking forward to reading it :)
Alpha Ori
04/27/17 03:32 pm
Hey everyone. How's life on Faerie??
Alquien
04/22/17 01:23 am
Has anyone heard anything else from Spiced lately?
Ysilme
04/17/17 11:36 am
Big hugs to you, Spiced, I hope you're already a bit better! ***hugs***
Alquien
04/17/17 04:38 am
Hope you are feeling better now Spiced. *hugs*
ziggy
04/16/17 01:40 am
So glad to see you back, Spiced:x
Shout Archive



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 21, 2017 12:25 · For: Chapter 3

I hope Thranduil comes to appreciate Maewen's value and rightness for Legolas, because she's so good with him here. The moment with Thranduil made me well up - I'm so glad Thraduil came for Legolas and they were finally able to share their pain. If Maewen hadn't let Thrandul know where Legolas was, I can see Legolas trying to avoid him, which would have been a disaster.

The final line makes the tragedy of Legolas's sealonging all too plain. It's going to force him away from the land and many of the people he loves. I'm just going to have to hold on to the hope of a happy reunion with his mother and brother - although the reunion with his mother will be difficult considering she abandoned him without saying goodbye.



Author's Response:

She IS good here....so much better than she was at times in Darkness when their relationship was a mess of previous mistakes and bad feeling. Here it is new and so she can be bold and direct with him. Hopefully they find their way back to this position one day. They haven't quite made it there yet. There are still past issues between them that hold them back.

Thranduil does come to appreciate her. We saw that at the end of Darkness when he called her daughter....but how long it takes him to get to that position I don't know. He had issues with his wife because she was silvan, and she left him and hurt his son. It will take a long time for him to realise perhaps Legolas and Maewen will not play out exactly the same senario as he and his unnamed wife did. 

Yes...the final line. That's exactly what I wanted it to do. Because this young Legolas can see no way he will ever be separated from his beloved forest except, perhaps, by death. But WE know he was. 

As for his mother and brother....I will write that reunion one day. It won't be the best. Legolas has a habit of holding on to a grudge and I think it will take him a long time to forgive her,  not so much that she didn't say goodbye, (although that will be a part of it) but the fact she abandoned his beloved father. By the time he gets to Valinor it has been just him and Thranduil for a long long time. 

He had his reunion with Laerion in "Fire" didn't go so well either as he chose to return to Arda with Aragorn. A decision Laerion cannot understand. So when they meet again that will be interesting as well! 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 18, 2017 22:55 · For: Chapter 1

Why haven't I read Darkness??? Have I just missed this? Will be spending some time on htat- how do you manage to be such a prolific writer and I take ages. If I read too much I don't write. Sorry- feel bad to have skipped your fic.



Author's Response:

Um...I don't know? It is first person and I know that's not your fav. And it's a het romance/angst, lots of my regular readers deliberatly skipped that story :-) Because of the het....and the female OC. I don't mind, really I don't. You can't please all the people all the time...right? 

But it does contain a heap of stuff re Legolas and his brother/mother/mess of his entire life. And a huge, stupid fallout with Aragorn, not Legolas' finest moment. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 18, 2017 13:13 · For: Chapter 2

I could tell from the last chapter there was bad news to do with Legolas's mother, but I assumed she was dead. I agree with Legolas - leaving without waiting to say goodbye seems harsh. She must have realised how this would wound him. And later, I guess, will come the guilt that he couldn't save Laerion and therefore send his mother away, too. I hope, if he eventually reads the letter, it will help him understand.



Author's Response:

Ah, it must be too long since you read Darkness! we knew Legolas' mother sailed then and Thranduil told him it was because she blamed Theanduil for Laerion's death and could not forgive him. 

Have you noticed whenever Legolas has an arguement or there is conflict and high emotion Legolas runs? He does it in all the stories. Runs from Aragorn, runs from Maewen, runs from Erynion. The only one he doesn't run away from is Gimli. I decided he must have got that trait from someone and it definitely wasn't Thranduil who doesn't run from a damn thing. Turns out it was his Mum who hated confrontation and conflict and spent her marriage running back to her home village when the going got tough. Now she has run away to Valinor and she didn't have the guts to sit through the difficult farewell scene she would have had with Legolas.......so she just avoided it altogether. 

Poor Legolas. 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 17, 2017 22:31 · For: Chapter 1

Oh- none of this feels good. I have a nasty feeling about his mother's absence, the anxious crowd (allvery very well written CB) and hte fact that Thrnaduil is there withhis emphasis on not losing 'you'- hinting, as well as her.

 

I do like the ay you are buidling your characters here- through actions and plot and not just reams of info. Maewen fading into the crowd is worrying too- but perhaps Thranduil losing his beloved will mean he relents.



Author's Response:

Glad it all felt ominous to you! Of course it is. I know you have not read Darkness so other readers will have the advantage over you. They already know what's about to happen here! Can fill you in if you want. Was going to but then i thought maybe you'd just like to read this blind. 

Will Thranduil relent??? Well, that all depends WHY he lost his beloved! 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2017 9:28 · For: Chapter 1

Oh, poor Legolas. I think he's about to get more bad news than he can handle. 

Thranduil's assessment of Legolas's relationship with Maewen was spot on, even though Legolas refuses to see it. He might be wild and Silvan(ish) but we know from your other stories that he's more Sindar than he likes to admit when it comes to love. 

A promising start! I'm looking forward to seeing more, even though it looks like Legolas has a great tragedy to face :(



Author's Response:

Yes, it's angst...so things are not going to be particularly happy and shiny for Legolas. Poor baby. 

Thranduil was indeed bang on the money here relationship wise......note to Legolas; yes, your Mum is Silvan, that means your Dad has been married to a Silvan for centuries, that means he knows what he is talking about. Stop and Listen.

Of course Legolas doesn't. Why would he? Could have saved him and Maedwrn a lot of angst if he had. 



You must login () to review.