| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Condensed Silmarillion. (Which is not so short any more.) by cheekybeak General Audiences
The Silm you read when you are not really reading the Silm. Everything you always wanted to know......but missing all the...
Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls by cheekybeak Teen
Sequel to "The Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" Misunderstanding and heartache cause antagonism between Legolas...
Heaven's Reward Fallacy by mangacrack Explicit
In which Fingon struggles with life and never seems to get it right.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...
Path of Honor-Part II: Far From Home by IdrilsSecret Explicit
To avoid the scandal that is still following Rumil in Lothlorien, he is sent on a mission to Mirkwood. He must negotiate...
Our love was raw and young by mangacrack Explicit
AU. Maedhros cheats, Caranthir eavesdrops and Maglor is a political mastermind.
Not so Valiant not so Wise by Fadesintothewest Explicit
*EDITED (2015)*An unlikely secret night of passion threatens the relationship between Fingon and Turgon. One possible scenario...

Site Info

Members: 469
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 7982
Word count: 23749817
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14181
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: merwinem
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
06/23/17 10:45 pm
Thank you and happy Friday :) I am going to buy a cheap laptop soon so I can write properly
Encairion
06/21/17 01:54 am
Hi Spiced, good to hear from you :) I am sorry things been weighing you down, and work piling up. I hope a chance to relax and do what you love comes soon :hugs:
ziggy
06/21/17 01:25 am
Lovely to hear you are getting back, Spiced!
Alquien
06/20/17 06:16 am
Hope you are feeling better now Spiced. ((hugs))
Spiced Wine
06/19/17 07:18 pm
I hope you're all okay my loves. Such appalling things going on the last few weeks :( I am overwhelmed by that and a work backlog, but trying to get that done to write again. Hugs to all
Ysilme
06/11/17 01:37 pm
Have a great trip and a great time, Naledi!
Naledi
06/11/17 09:19 am
Thanks! Maybe I'll be inspired - who knows?
ziggy
06/10/17 01:39 pm
Have a lovely time, Naledi- how lovely. hope you are inspired to write something for all of us!!xx
Spiced Wine
06/09/17 10:25 pm
Wonderful! Your are so lucky, Naledi. Have a lovely time. Have a great weekend everyone!
Naledi
06/09/17 07:20 pm
Happy Friday, everyone! I'm off on holiday to Pembrokeshire for a week but I hope I'll have internet access.
Shout Archive



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2017 16:38 · For: Chapter 5

It's interesting to read of the events in the palace from Maewen's point of view. To see the Queen's departure is more than a family matter but one that affects the whole realm. 

It was considerate of Thranduil to give Maewen news of Legolas first. Even though he doesn't approve of their relationship it's kind of him to take her feelings into account. Another enjoyable chapter!



Author's Response:

Thranduil doesn't approve, but it's Legolas and Maewen as a unit he doesn't approve of, not Maewen as a person. And at the moment it's happening. He can't ignore that, so he has to acknowledge it. And I think, at that moment, perhaps he just wanted to talk to someone who might understand because they love Legolas too. He is feeling the strain and missing his wife, who would have been the only one to truly understand his worry and grief at this news......although she may well have blamed him to be honest. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2017 12:19 · For: Chapter 4

Good for Maewen to do her best for Legolas. It's strange that the queen orders her to stay away from Legolas, though. I thought the queen was Silvan, or am I mixing her up with another story? I suppose if she is Silvan, her warning will come from the heart - it must be relating to what's happened between her and Thranduil.

So sad for Legolas and Thranduil, though. I'm really looking forward to the reunion in Valinor story when you get around to it!



Author's Response:

Yes, the queen is Silvan. Her warning comes because of problems she and Thranduil are having/ have had. She is trying to prevent Legolas going through the hurt they are in their relationship. Same reason Thranduil warned Legolas in the first chapter. 

And Maewens father disapproved as well. She tells us that in "Fire" 

Maewen and Legolas prove them all wrong in the end...... But as we know they have a fair bit of heartache getting there....so everyone warning them off each other has a point. 

At this stage Legolas and Maewen believe Legolas to be completely silvan in nature. He isn't of course as we see in "Fire" Despite her angry words to the queen, Maewen is wrong. Legolas' mum DID know him best. She knew that despite his silvan appearances there was a fair dollop of his Sindar father's nature also lurking below the surface. 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 30, 2017 14:52 · For: Chapter 3

Legolas is a littel bit hysterical here- like a child- partly I assume the shock but perhaps also the drugs he had only a moment ago and the venom. But he is the centre of everyone's universe and so they all gather round, kindly and lovingly - dear Erynion and Maewen. I think maybe Thranduil shoud leave him be for a bit though- although he is wonderfully fatherly and that soothing thing that only Dads can do is very nicely written- fab writing!



Author's Response:

He IS young here, a novice warrior and rather damaged by his brother's death which he has not recovered from yet, ( that was a bit stunting of him emotionally) And because of the utter mess he was in after that they do all tend to coset him a bit. 

Thranduil blames himself for Legolas' mother leaving. She blamed him for Laerion's death and has not been able to get past that. ( that's in "Darkness") he is very, very, guilty. Leaving Legolas alone is something he is unable to do right now. :-( 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 30, 2017 14:48 · For: Chapter 2

Oh FINALLY catching up with this. Poor old Legolas- how we like to torment him! It does seem very selfish of his mother to just leave like this- but she was clearly trying to communiate with him but he didn't want to know right then. And of course, here is MAewen to comfort him and give him everything of herself- she's rather lovely I think.



Author's Response:

Somehow I missed these reviews..sorry! 

I am glad you like Maewen. She has her faults but she is loyal and courageous. Legolas' mother is rather broken by grief and not functioning particularly well. And so she makes this terrible decision to leave...which I think she regrets eventually for many long years. And Legolas struggles to forgive her this...but that's another story! 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 21, 2017 12:25 · For: Chapter 3

I hope Thranduil comes to appreciate Maewen's value and rightness for Legolas, because she's so good with him here. The moment with Thranduil made me well up - I'm so glad Thraduil came for Legolas and they were finally able to share their pain. If Maewen hadn't let Thrandul know where Legolas was, I can see Legolas trying to avoid him, which would have been a disaster.

The final line makes the tragedy of Legolas's sealonging all too plain. It's going to force him away from the land and many of the people he loves. I'm just going to have to hold on to the hope of a happy reunion with his mother and brother - although the reunion with his mother will be difficult considering she abandoned him without saying goodbye.



Author's Response:

She IS good here....so much better than she was at times in Darkness when their relationship was a mess of previous mistakes and bad feeling. Here it is new and so she can be bold and direct with him. Hopefully they find their way back to this position one day. They haven't quite made it there yet. There are still past issues between them that hold them back.

Thranduil does come to appreciate her. We saw that at the end of Darkness when he called her daughter....but how long it takes him to get to that position I don't know. He had issues with his wife because she was silvan, and she left him and hurt his son. It will take a long time for him to realise perhaps Legolas and Maewen will not play out exactly the same senario as he and his unnamed wife did. 

Yes...the final line. That's exactly what I wanted it to do. Because this young Legolas can see no way he will ever be separated from his beloved forest except, perhaps, by death. But WE know he was. 

As for his mother and brother....I will write that reunion one day. It won't be the best. Legolas has a habit of holding on to a grudge and I think it will take him a long time to forgive her,  not so much that she didn't say goodbye, (although that will be a part of it) but the fact she abandoned his beloved father. By the time he gets to Valinor it has been just him and Thranduil for a long long time. 

He had his reunion with Laerion in "Fire" didn't go so well either as he chose to return to Arda with Aragorn. A decision Laerion cannot understand. So when they meet again that will be interesting as well! 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 18, 2017 22:55 · For: Chapter 1

Why haven't I read Darkness??? Have I just missed this? Will be spending some time on htat- how do you manage to be such a prolific writer and I take ages. If I read too much I don't write. Sorry- feel bad to have skipped your fic.



Author's Response:

Um...I don't know? It is first person and I know that's not your fav. And it's a het romance/angst, lots of my regular readers deliberatly skipped that story :-) Because of the het....and the female OC. I don't mind, really I don't. You can't please all the people all the time...right? 

But it does contain a heap of stuff re Legolas and his brother/mother/mess of his entire life. And a huge, stupid fallout with Aragorn, not Legolas' finest moment. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 18, 2017 13:13 · For: Chapter 2

I could tell from the last chapter there was bad news to do with Legolas's mother, but I assumed she was dead. I agree with Legolas - leaving without waiting to say goodbye seems harsh. She must have realised how this would wound him. And later, I guess, will come the guilt that he couldn't save Laerion and therefore send his mother away, too. I hope, if he eventually reads the letter, it will help him understand.



Author's Response:

Ah, it must be too long since you read Darkness! we knew Legolas' mother sailed then and Thranduil told him it was because she blamed Theanduil for Laerion's death and could not forgive him. 

Have you noticed whenever Legolas has an arguement or there is conflict and high emotion Legolas runs? He does it in all the stories. Runs from Aragorn, runs from Maewen, runs from Erynion. The only one he doesn't run away from is Gimli. I decided he must have got that trait from someone and it definitely wasn't Thranduil who doesn't run from a damn thing. Turns out it was his Mum who hated confrontation and conflict and spent her marriage running back to her home village when the going got tough. Now she has run away to Valinor and she didn't have the guts to sit through the difficult farewell scene she would have had with Legolas.......so she just avoided it altogether. 

Poor Legolas. 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: April 17, 2017 22:31 · For: Chapter 1

Oh- none of this feels good. I have a nasty feeling about his mother's absence, the anxious crowd (allvery very well written CB) and hte fact that Thrnaduil is there withhis emphasis on not losing 'you'- hinting, as well as her.

 

I do like the ay you are buidling your characters here- through actions and plot and not just reams of info. Maewen fading into the crowd is worrying too- but perhaps Thranduil losing his beloved will mean he relents.



Author's Response:

Glad it all felt ominous to you! Of course it is. I know you have not read Darkness so other readers will have the advantage over you. They already know what's about to happen here! Can fill you in if you want. Was going to but then i thought maybe you'd just like to read this blind. 

Will Thranduil relent??? Well, that all depends WHY he lost his beloved! 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2017 9:28 · For: Chapter 1

Oh, poor Legolas. I think he's about to get more bad news than he can handle. 

Thranduil's assessment of Legolas's relationship with Maewen was spot on, even though Legolas refuses to see it. He might be wild and Silvan(ish) but we know from your other stories that he's more Sindar than he likes to admit when it comes to love. 

A promising start! I'm looking forward to seeing more, even though it looks like Legolas has a great tragedy to face :(



Author's Response:

Yes, it's angst...so things are not going to be particularly happy and shiny for Legolas. Poor baby. 

Thranduil was indeed bang on the money here relationship wise......note to Legolas; yes, your Mum is Silvan, that means your Dad has been married to a Silvan for centuries, that means he knows what he is talking about. Stop and Listen.

Of course Legolas doesn't. Why would he? Could have saved him and Maedwrn a lot of angst if he had. 



You must login () to review.