| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Bedtime by Narya General Audiences
Maglor is away on a trip and Maedhros has been left with the children. He isn't sure he's up to the task.
A Nameless Fear by Gabriel Teen
The King of the Woodland Realm has a secret, something he both fears and despises. When a more fouler evil is discovered...
Don't wanna fight this War by mangacrack Mature
The last Elves of Middle Earth sail to Valinor. With them is one of the few people Fëanor claimed to be his friend.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Comfort and Joy by Narya Mature
It's the festive season in Gondolin, and Voronwë finds himself intrigued by the Captain of the Guard of the Secret Way.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1678
Chapters: 8564
Word count: 26086592
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16049
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

Gabriel
09/21/18 11:38 pm
There is also mine as well,(SinS) if anyone's interested in taking a look, which isn't on the list, as I was late in posting. :/
Gabriel
09/21/18 11:34 pm
Oh my goodness Narya! Please take good care of yourself. :)
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 08:08 pm
You’re welcome :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 07:47 pm
Thank you, Spiced! <3
Narya
09/21/18 06:59 pm
Ahh, Spiced, thank you <3 hope everyone has a lovely weekend planned!
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 06:10 pm
Okay it is up
Spiced Wine
09/21/18 06:03 pm
Okay :)
Narya
09/21/18 03:36 pm
Thank you, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
09/21/18 03:17 pm
with SinS online now. Spiced, can you do a news post about the masterlist, or with a link to the AO3 collection? That would be lovely! <3
Ysilme
09/21/18 03:16 pm
Happy Friday to everyone! Narya, I hope you're feeling better soon! Viruses can be rather draining and demand a lot of patience. At least there's lots of lovely reading material
Shout Archive



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 26, 2017 22:22 · For: Chapter 1

Ah, wonderful! If there's anyone who can get through to the murderous sons of Elrond (if there isn't a tag, you should request it asap!) it's Maglor. Having said that, there's something dark and worrisome about the possessive way he claims them...



Author's Response:

Thank you for your kind words! And yes, I see Maglor as the perfect response to the twins troubles. The history of the 3rd Age is riddled with wars, near constant tension and uncertainty. They grow up in difficult times and everyone needs a mentor. Something solid to hold on to.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 26, 2017 9:51 · For: Chapter 1

Ah, lovely! A Maglor, Elrond is still in contact with! One it sounds like the twins have grown up knowing. I love that.

What is your back story for Elrond and Elros then? I just got the feeling from this it was slightly different from canon. How small do you think they were when Elwing did a runner?? 

Lovely story. 

 

 



Author's Response:

I firmly believe that Maglor has regular contact with Elrond. Perhaps he did spend a time alone and wandering, but Celebrimbor's death, the Ring War and his grandchildren drew him back in. He's not exactly living in Rivendell but he comes by often enough. I guess, Maglor makes all the trips Elrond can't do himself. Hence why Maglor comes running after Celebrian's depature, because the twins are suffering the most. Less, because of grief or on dependance regarding their mother, but because they've the feeling they need to do something. That they failed, that the Noldor have failed ot hold up the promise to fight against the shadow.

This is why they're spiraling down so fast. Through Maglor they've learned what they once where and how unwilling their kin is to fight after the recent wars.

 

How small do you think they were when Elwing did a runner??

Oh, what a can of worms ... I've spend some time thinking on it. Mixed heritage makes it difficult to guess, but it's fact that a) Eärendil left when they were two b) Sirion happened when they were six. Of Eärendil they will have no memory at all. They were basically infants. I don't think they would be able to pick out their parents in a crowd. Memories blur over time, no matter how old they were when Elwing left. I tend to have 2 headcanons. One: they barely remember Elwing and Eärendil. Nothing beyond a few impressions that are drowned out by the attack on Sirion. (going by the way Elves age). If they're closer to the age of men, than they'd be old enough to get that Elwing isn't the best mother. Or at least gather that much later on, when they can compare the Feanorians care to that of their mother.

My greatest problem with that questions is that Elwing ... was incredibly young herself. She saw herself as an Elf and was around 30 when she had her sons. For the Sindar that would be the ... what 14? While Eärendil is closer to being a grown man?

 

 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 26, 2017 7:07 · For: Chapter 1

I love this- and there are moments in your writing here which are perfect images:

We'll drown, clinging to each other, Elladan thinks. 

 

Elladan and Elrohir swirl around in a perfect union, while their swords are drawn and in position after a single heartbeat. 

and this:

Both twins are frozen on their spot, almost afraid that their beloved grandfather is just an illusion and will vanish in midair if they make a wrong move. Hence why they barely react, when Maglor puts a hand on each of their cheeks.

 

"My beautiful boys," Maglor whispers softly. His voice carries power, a promise of danger of anyone who comes to close. But Elladan and Elrohir don't care. Instead they fall into Maglor's arms like frightened children. "I'm here to help you, what else could I want in such a dreadful place?"

 

"We're trying so hard, haru," Elladan whimpers into the crook of Maglor's neck. He can feel the anger, the hate and haze that takes hold of him so often subside. For a moment the beast stops trying to claw its way out,

That last bit is brilliant- wish I'd thought of it!!

 



Author's Response:

Your review means so much for me, because of obvious reasons. I love the troubled twins troupe and Maglor is the perfect answer to their burdened hearts! His grandkids need him and so he'll be there. End of discussion.

And thanks a lot for commenting on the writing style itself! Not just the idea behind it!



You must login () to review.