| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Wolf Luck by arafinwean Mature
(Or, that Finwion Mage AU that is eating my soul)There were things lost on the journey to Aman, history and culture, art...
Senses Over Time by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
A Gift fic for Cheekybeak based on the characters in her story Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls. Set in that same timeframe, as...
Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1592
Chapters: 8169
Word count: 24584232
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14784
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 9
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 26, 2017 22:22 · For: Chapter 1

Ah, wonderful! If there's anyone who can get through to the murderous sons of Elrond (if there isn't a tag, you should request it asap!) it's Maglor. Having said that, there's something dark and worrisome about the possessive way he claims them...



Author's Response:

Thank you for your kind words! And yes, I see Maglor as the perfect response to the twins troubles. The history of the 3rd Age is riddled with wars, near constant tension and uncertainty. They grow up in difficult times and everyone needs a mentor. Something solid to hold on to.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 26, 2017 9:51 · For: Chapter 1

Ah, lovely! A Maglor, Elrond is still in contact with! One it sounds like the twins have grown up knowing. I love that.

What is your back story for Elrond and Elros then? I just got the feeling from this it was slightly different from canon. How small do you think they were when Elwing did a runner?? 

Lovely story. 

 

 



Author's Response:

I firmly believe that Maglor has regular contact with Elrond. Perhaps he did spend a time alone and wandering, but Celebrimbor's death, the Ring War and his grandchildren drew him back in. He's not exactly living in Rivendell but he comes by often enough. I guess, Maglor makes all the trips Elrond can't do himself. Hence why Maglor comes running after Celebrian's depature, because the twins are suffering the most. Less, because of grief or on dependance regarding their mother, but because they've the feeling they need to do something. That they failed, that the Noldor have failed ot hold up the promise to fight against the shadow.

This is why they're spiraling down so fast. Through Maglor they've learned what they once where and how unwilling their kin is to fight after the recent wars.

 

How small do you think they were when Elwing did a runner??

Oh, what a can of worms ... I've spend some time thinking on it. Mixed heritage makes it difficult to guess, but it's fact that a) Eärendil left when they were two b) Sirion happened when they were six. Of Eärendil they will have no memory at all. They were basically infants. I don't think they would be able to pick out their parents in a crowd. Memories blur over time, no matter how old they were when Elwing left. I tend to have 2 headcanons. One: they barely remember Elwing and Eärendil. Nothing beyond a few impressions that are drowned out by the attack on Sirion. (going by the way Elves age). If they're closer to the age of men, than they'd be old enough to get that Elwing isn't the best mother. Or at least gather that much later on, when they can compare the Feanorians care to that of their mother.

My greatest problem with that questions is that Elwing ... was incredibly young herself. She saw herself as an Elf and was around 30 when she had her sons. For the Sindar that would be the ... what 14? While Eärendil is closer to being a grown man?

 

 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 26, 2017 7:07 · For: Chapter 1

I love this- and there are moments in your writing here which are perfect images:

We'll drown, clinging to each other, Elladan thinks. 

 

Elladan and Elrohir swirl around in a perfect union, while their swords are drawn and in position after a single heartbeat. 

and this:

Both twins are frozen on their spot, almost afraid that their beloved grandfather is just an illusion and will vanish in midair if they make a wrong move. Hence why they barely react, when Maglor puts a hand on each of their cheeks.

 

"My beautiful boys," Maglor whispers softly. His voice carries power, a promise of danger of anyone who comes to close. But Elladan and Elrohir don't care. Instead they fall into Maglor's arms like frightened children. "I'm here to help you, what else could I want in such a dreadful place?"

 

"We're trying so hard, haru," Elladan whimpers into the crook of Maglor's neck. He can feel the anger, the hate and haze that takes hold of him so often subside. For a moment the beast stops trying to claw its way out,

That last bit is brilliant- wish I'd thought of it!!

 



Author's Response:

Your review means so much for me, because of obvious reasons. I love the troubled twins troupe and Maglor is the perfect answer to their burdened hearts! His grandkids need him and so he'll be there. End of discussion.

And thanks a lot for commenting on the writing style itself! Not just the idea behind it!



You must login () to review.