| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
A Last Conversation by cheekybeak General Audiences
Sometimes the best you can do for those you love is to leave them. Aragorn must find the strength to say goodbye.
Friendship Amidst Loss by KimicThranduilion Teen
When Legolas and his troop become targets for slave traders tragedy strikes and the Prince suffers a devastating loss after...
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
The Secret Language Brother by Encairion Mature
Caranthir and Curufin’s story. Part of the Price of Eternity series
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 468
Series: 79
Stories: 1563
Chapters: 7955
Word count: 23640387
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14051
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: paradis artificiels
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

ziggy
05/29/17 01:26 pm
Encairion! You're back!! I thought we'd lost you in drowned Beleriand:)
Caunedhiel
05/27/17 03:49 pm
Thanks Ziggy ! I keep posting everywhere and handed out posters. fingers crossed xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:03 pm
you can go in and look. Don't give up. He'll be somewhere tucked up warm and living off mice. I pray anyway.xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:02 pm
Caunedhiel- keeping everything crossed for your moggy's safe return- I have had one go missing for days and it was stuck in a neighbour's garage- GO BACK and look everywhere- ask people if you
Caunedhiel
05/26/17 09:58 pm
Thank you @Naledi and @Ysilme :( still not turned up but i hope wherever he is, he's being looked after x
Ysilme
05/26/17 12:14 am
So sorry to hear about your cat, Caunedhiel, and keep my fingers tightly crossed for him to be all right and come back. It's so hard to lose them, and harder still to not know what's happened.
Naledi
05/24/17 08:35 pm
Thanks Gabriel. It's hard to take in the things that are happening all round the world at the moment.
Gabriel
05/24/17 10:13 am
I hope this message finds everyone and their families in the UK safe and well. You are in our thoughts. Kia Kaha {Stay Strong} Love from NZ.
Naledi
05/23/17 07:32 pm
Oh no - I hope your cat turns up soon. It's so worrying when a pet goes missing:(
Caunedhiel
05/21/17 02:18 pm
Lost my 1 year old cat oreo this weekend! been out looking for him, posted to facebook, rang the vets but nothing has been seen of him since friday :( very worried its so unusual for him
Shout Archive


Reviews For A Different Path

Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: April 02, 2017 23:01 · For: Chapter 1
A BRILLIANT story! I love it! You Legolas is a charmer!

Author's Response:

Thanks :-) I am glad you liked it. He IS a charmer isn't he. Sweet, unpredictable, entertaining, and very confusing for Aragorn! 



Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: March 21, 2017 22:30 · For: Chapter 1

I love the age difference between Legolas and the mentioned Sons of Elrond. In other fics they get treated pretty much the same, but age and training can make a lot of difference in maturity. Seeing Legolas with such insecurities is a nice change.



Author's Response:

Yes, I always see Legolas as young...(elf wise) and much younger than the Sons of Elrond. In canon he was untraveled....he kept saying he had never been places or didn't know places...I think he was pretty sheltered within Mirkwood. My Legolas, in all these early Fellowship stories, is young and naive and often confused by mortals and the Noldor. The quest makes him grow up quite a bit! 



Name: KimicThranduilion (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2017 21:54 · For: Chapter 1
I really enjoyed this. I love the way you write Legolas so wild and mercurial I just love to read him that way - wild and truly silvan. Love it! I also find it quite interesting to see a POV of where Aragorn and Legolas are not best bus some buddies and Aragorn has to puzzle him out. A refreshing change. Great one shot.

Author's Response:

My Legolas and Aragorn have a challenging friendship. It isn't an easy one, the whole way along. In all the stories they have some conflict...and yet they are still the deepest of friends despite that. They are friends even though they don't see eye to eye and often misunderstand each other. They really have to work hard at it. Personally I think it makes the friendship all the greater! 



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2017 21:09 · For: Chapter 1

Yes - that feels right!



Author's Response:

Ok then! Will have to think about its content :-)



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2017 20:12 · For: Chapter 1

Yes - it does work well with the other one.  But I think that it feels as if, were you to put them together, it would be better with a middle chapter...



Author's Response:

Oh, interesting!! 

I hadn't thought of that, but yes! Hmm......I wonder when I should place it? At the end of the quest maybe. 



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2017 17:31 · For: Chapter 1

I have been missing for too long - mainly family stuff.  But I am so pleased to have found time to sit quietly and read this - it has done me as much good as the trees did Legolas!



Author's Response:

Hey! So good to see you. :-) Hope things have settled down. 

Glad you liked this. Poor Aragorn, suddenly confronted with such a confusing kind of elf. This should be paired with a one shot I wrote about a month ago, which is after the quest and Aragorn does much better then. I kind of think I need to fuse them together into one story with two chapters....but am undecided, so for now they remain as two separate stories! 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2017 21:08 · For: Chapter 1

Very sweet one-shot. I like the mercurial way Legolas drops his anger and the ending with Gimli also relenting. Nice ot have a good Aragorn pov as well



Author's Response:

Thanks. The first glimpse of understanding between Gimli and Legolas here...of course it will be short lived—for now....

Poor old Aragorn, trying to get his head round a silvan like Legolas after all the haughty Noldor he grew up with!  



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2017 10:14 · For: Chapter 1

Ah - yes, of course regions so far apart would have very different accents. I have a vivid memory of asking directions from someone in Newcastle, and neither of us understanding the other! Your logic makes perfect sense.

Funnily enough, I always imagine Legolas's accent to be Welsh, too.



Author's Response:

It must be true then! If you and I both think so. 

I also had times in the UK when I ended up saying the same thing over and over, just louder and louder, to someone and they just could not understand me.....and yet we both spoke English. Of course Aragorn had floated through and around Gondor at one time or another but we will ignore that...for the purposes of this story he spoke to Legolas in his posh Sindarin accent. Maybe he knew Legolas wouldn't have a hope of understanding the Gondorian Sindarin! 

 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2017 9:33 · For: Chapter 1

I really enjoyed this, although it would have been even better if Legolas had punched Aragorn :D

One question, though - I thought the people of Minas Tirith spoke a form of Sindarin, so wouldn't Boromir have understood it?



Author's Response:

 

He couldn't understand the Imladris accent.....I imagine Aragorns Sindarin sounded like someone who went to Eton, (very posh) Legolas' was less refined......hmm...maybe he was more like a Welshman, (love the sing song welsh accent).....and Boromir?? His Sindarin made him sound like a Brummie, or a Geordie, or something equally incomprehensible. None of them could understand HIM. He probably spoke in the Sindarin equivalent of rhyming slang. 

 

Legolas got close to punching Aragorn....he really did. Closest yet I reckon. :-)



Name: jules (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2017 8:35 · For: Chapter 1
you have a great perspective on elves - we think Legolas is old, yet he is young by elven reckoning, and acting his age! And Gimli seems to realise he (Gimli) is not acting his age! Really enjoyed this, thank you!

Author's Response:

Thank you! Yes, Legolas, even though he is way older in years, is much younger developmentally and emotionally than Aragorn. He really is just a young man here....and he misses home.

And Gimli had a bit of a wake up call. But it doesn't last of course, still at least they all got one evenings break from the elven/dwarven bickering. :-)  



You must login () to review.