| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

In at the Eye by Narya General Audiences
Fingolfin visits a recuperating Lalwen. A very short one shot, written as a treat for Bunn for Innumerable Stars 2018.
Time Waits for No Man by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Arwen visits an aged Faramir.
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1681
Chapters: 8580
Word count: 26132086
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16093
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 14
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Ysilme, that does sound wonderful, I am so jealous. There's something magical about a really good concert.
Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Hi, Fadesintothewest! *waves* good to see you, hope work isn't too painful.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 02:32 pm
That sounds amazing, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:19 pm
who of my music-loving OCs might be interested in playing the nyckelharpa/keyed fiddle... *ggg* )
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:18 pm
I've been to the most wonderful concert yesterday, Swedish Folk string trio Väsen. The music was so beautiful, and it felt so much like Middle-earth, too. (now I need to figure out
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:17 pm
Nice to see you popping in here, fadesintothewest! *waves* *waves generally around, too* Hope everybody else is doing well enough.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 10:53 am
Hope you do, too, Fadesintothewest :) Good to see you!
Fadesintothewest
10/15/18 09:27 am
Just wanted to say hello. I know things are slowed down right now. I wish I could be more present but work. Looking forward to participating more soon!!!
Spiced Wine
10/14/18 12:23 pm
Sign of a good fic, if you ask me :)
Narya
10/13/18 11:23 pm
:D this fic keeps mutating. So far it's sprouted four OCs and an unexpected plot twist which impacts stories that come chronologically later in the series...it's a nightmare but I love it!
Shout Archive


Reviews For A Different Path

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2017 7:51 · For: Chapter 1
I think Legolas really surprised Aragorn, showing his vulnerable side.
Something I don't think Aragorn thought he had and forgetting too that not all Elves are alike.
I did feel sorry for Legolas when he kept referring to Aragorn's brother's as better than him. Poor thing.
So Aragorn learnt a few lessons in this chapter and a few things about Elves he did not expect.
Great stuff Cheekybeak! :D

Author's Response:

Ah, yes, this is the first one. Aragorn doesn't know Legolas at all here. He had a lot to learn about the Silvan. Most of all that he can't assume he will behave exactly like the Noldor. So this is where they started off with their communication...hopefully it improves throughout the other stories! 



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: April 02, 2017 23:01 · For: Chapter 1
A BRILLIANT story! I love it! You Legolas is a charmer!

Author's Response:

Thanks :-) I am glad you liked it. He IS a charmer isn't he. Sweet, unpredictable, entertaining, and very confusing for Aragorn! 



Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: March 21, 2017 22:30 · For: Chapter 1

I love the age difference between Legolas and the mentioned Sons of Elrond. In other fics they get treated pretty much the same, but age and training can make a lot of difference in maturity. Seeing Legolas with such insecurities is a nice change.



Author's Response:

Yes, I always see Legolas as young...(elf wise) and much younger than the Sons of Elrond. In canon he was untraveled....he kept saying he had never been places or didn't know places...I think he was pretty sheltered within Mirkwood. My Legolas, in all these early Fellowship stories, is young and naive and often confused by mortals and the Noldor. The quest makes him grow up quite a bit! 



Name: KimicThranduilion (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2017 21:54 · For: Chapter 1
I really enjoyed this. I love the way you write Legolas so wild and mercurial I just love to read him that way - wild and truly silvan. Love it! I also find it quite interesting to see a POV of where Aragorn and Legolas are not best bus some buddies and Aragorn has to puzzle him out. A refreshing change. Great one shot.

Author's Response:

My Legolas and Aragorn have a challenging friendship. It isn't an easy one, the whole way along. In all the stories they have some conflict...and yet they are still the deepest of friends despite that. They are friends even though they don't see eye to eye and often misunderstand each other. They really have to work hard at it. Personally I think it makes the friendship all the greater! 



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2017 21:09 · For: Chapter 1

Yes - that feels right!



Author's Response:

Ok then! Will have to think about its content :-)



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2017 20:12 · For: Chapter 1

Yes - it does work well with the other one.  But I think that it feels as if, were you to put them together, it would be better with a middle chapter...



Author's Response:

Oh, interesting!! 

I hadn't thought of that, but yes! Hmm......I wonder when I should place it? At the end of the quest maybe. 



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2017 17:31 · For: Chapter 1

I have been missing for too long - mainly family stuff.  But I am so pleased to have found time to sit quietly and read this - it has done me as much good as the trees did Legolas!



Author's Response:

Hey! So good to see you. :-) Hope things have settled down. 

Glad you liked this. Poor Aragorn, suddenly confronted with such a confusing kind of elf. This should be paired with a one shot I wrote about a month ago, which is after the quest and Aragorn does much better then. I kind of think I need to fuse them together into one story with two chapters....but am undecided, so for now they remain as two separate stories! 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2017 21:08 · For: Chapter 1

Very sweet one-shot. I like the mercurial way Legolas drops his anger and the ending with Gimli also relenting. Nice ot have a good Aragorn pov as well



Author's Response:

Thanks. The first glimpse of understanding between Gimli and Legolas here...of course it will be short lived—for now....

Poor old Aragorn, trying to get his head round a silvan like Legolas after all the haughty Noldor he grew up with!  



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2017 10:14 · For: Chapter 1

Ah - yes, of course regions so far apart would have very different accents. I have a vivid memory of asking directions from someone in Newcastle, and neither of us understanding the other! Your logic makes perfect sense.

Funnily enough, I always imagine Legolas's accent to be Welsh, too.



Author's Response:

It must be true then! If you and I both think so. 

I also had times in the UK when I ended up saying the same thing over and over, just louder and louder, to someone and they just could not understand me.....and yet we both spoke English. Of course Aragorn had floated through and around Gondor at one time or another but we will ignore that...for the purposes of this story he spoke to Legolas in his posh Sindarin accent. Maybe he knew Legolas wouldn't have a hope of understanding the Gondorian Sindarin! 

 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2017 9:33 · For: Chapter 1

I really enjoyed this, although it would have been even better if Legolas had punched Aragorn :D

One question, though - I thought the people of Minas Tirith spoke a form of Sindarin, so wouldn't Boromir have understood it?



Author's Response:

 

He couldn't understand the Imladris accent.....I imagine Aragorns Sindarin sounded like someone who went to Eton, (very posh) Legolas' was less refined......hmm...maybe he was more like a Welshman, (love the sing song welsh accent).....and Boromir?? His Sindarin made him sound like a Brummie, or a Geordie, or something equally incomprehensible. None of them could understand HIM. He probably spoke in the Sindarin equivalent of rhyming slang. 

 

Legolas got close to punching Aragorn....he really did. Closest yet I reckon. :-)



Name: jules (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2017 8:35 · For: Chapter 1
you have a great perspective on elves - we think Legolas is old, yet he is young by elven reckoning, and acting his age! And Gimli seems to realise he (Gimli) is not acting his age! Really enjoyed this, thank you!

Author's Response:

Thank you! Yes, Legolas, even though he is way older in years, is much younger developmentally and emotionally than Aragorn. He really is just a young man here....and he misses home.

And Gimli had a bit of a wake up call. But it doesn't last of course, still at least they all got one evenings break from the elven/dwarven bickering. :-)  



You must login () to review.