| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Season of Hope by Keiliss Teen
A young king and a traumatized child in Sirion at Midwinter: Gil-galad shows Elwing a better  way of looking at Yule.
Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls by cheekybeak Teen
 Misunderstanding and heartache cause antagonism between Legolas and Elrohir in the years after the War of the Ring.
Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...
Come of Age by Fadesintothewest Mature
*Completed*Fingon is recently come of age. Maedhros is recently returned to Tirion. Together they forge an everlasting friendship...
Three by Narya Mature
As children, Filwyn, Haddan and Leofwyne of Rohan barely spent a moment apart. But as they grow up and the War of the Ring...
At Sea in the Middle of Ithilien by UnnamedElement Teen
This is the story of Legolas' Sea-longing long after it started, through the eyes of his lover, and all the ways it pulls...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 79
Stories: 1572
Chapters: 8082
Word count: 24256486
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14508
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 11
Members:

Shoutbox

UnnamedElement
09/23/17 01:27 am
Thank goodness for Fridays!
Narya
09/22/17 08:12 pm
ziggy, thank you for the tip! :) Happy Friday, Tolkien fans.
Ysilme
09/21/17 01:12 pm
Good to hear, NelyafinweFeanorion! :D
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/19/17 04:20 am
It worked!
ziggy
09/18/17 11:05 pm
I always use arda-lambion and don't worry too much about the grammar! Life's too short:)
Narya
09/17/17 09:30 pm
Anyone know of a reliable Quenya translator?
ziggy
09/17/17 06:31 pm
Welcome FINALLY Nelyafinwefeanorian!! Hurray- you are here:)
Spiced Wine
09/16/17 10:25 pm
Okay, I hope it works. Maybe it was just some glitch :/ As I say it has happened once or twice before but goodness knows why
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:12 pm
I'll try again from this acct today and see if it works. Thanks to everyone for the encouragement and help and esteliel for the emails.
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/16/17 10:10 pm
I tried last night and it didn't work. I created another account name and tried that and that story posted. At least I think it did--I see it up there on the most recent. I'll try this accoun
Shout Archive



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 13, 2017 14:16 · For: Chapter 1
He picked it up and held his light stone closer for a better look. His breath caught in his throat, a gasping sob escaped him. It was a picture of Fingon he had drawn many years ago during one of their visits to Alqualondë. Fingon standing on a pier with the ships and sea behind him, his stance rakish, his dark hair pulled back and plaited with gold. His young eyes held merriment and mischief in equal measure. The parchment was yellowed and dog-eared with age but the long forgotten memory was, suddenly to Maedhros, as fresh and immediate as the day they had lived it.

Overcome, he sat heavily on the ground, the weight of years and regret crushing the breath from him. Two young scholars turned revolutionaries, turned reluctant warriors, turned commanders, turned Kings, turned. . . what? Nothing. Youthful ideals skewered on the sword of harsh reality.


Oh, Marius, how very poignant. Wonderfully written,

Author's Response: Thanks so much, SW. I'm glad you liked this one. I don't write the Feanorians, not really, so it's gratifying to know this works so well. I really appreciate your comments.


Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: March 12, 2017 0:22 · For: Chapter 1
One of the details that always devastated me (among many) was the fact that by losing their fortresses in this defeat they had lost so much of their past--personal effects, letters, portraits, the small things that can be taken for granted but when the other is lost become a repository for the emotions and tangible reminders of their loss and a small comfort. They had none of those so this story is brilliant at giving us that. The risk he takes to salvage these remnants of Fingon's past is immense but I can see Maedhros, who has withstood worse, take it on.
The line about "two young scholars, turned revolutionaries, turned reluctant warriors . . ." was so poignant.
I loved the addition of the portrait--such a lovely image of young Fingon but the way you ended it, with Maedhros remembering not only who he had once been but also who he was when he died was perfect. I've always thought he kept on going in part because if he fulfilled the Oath then perhaps they would see each other again.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review, NF. I agree that the Elves lost so much in their battles, emotionally and physically. I'm glad you like Maedhros taking the risk to retrieve Fingon's personal papers, I could see him doing something like that as well. So nice of you to mention the juxtaposition of the two pictures, that's just what I was going for and I'm so happy it came off well. I've always thought that, at the end Maedhros was just going through the motions of trying to get the Silmarils and that by that time he was completely broke, but that at this point in time he still had hope of fulfilling the oath and thus making everything right. I really appreciate your thoughtful comments.


Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: March 11, 2017 10:09 · For: Chapter 1
You paint a picture with words and do it very well. I particularly like this line Overcome, he sat heavily on the ground, the weight of years and regret crushing the breath from him it would be exactly like that.
You owe me a cheese sandwich!!! LOL
*Hugs*

Author's Response: Thank you for your comments, Glorfindel. I liked that line too, and I appreciate that feeling now that I'm older. And yes, I owe you a cheese sandwich! I sent you a nice hunk of limburger on rye. The postal service said it should be there within a month. lol


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 11, 2017 8:48 · For: Chapter 1

As always, your writing is so thoughtful and so beautifully precise, building image after image, leading me from one scene carefully to another, each with enough detail to create a full visual experience. I admire your writing hugely. And there is a sense of nostalgia and loss without being overwhleming, the practicality of MAedhros almost at odds with this incredible risk (although it doesn't seem a risk because of the dismal scenario of Morgoth's complete victory, they are complacent, careless). 



Author's Response: What a lovely review, Ziggy. Thank you so much! It means a lot to me that you enjoy my writing since you are such a good writer. I really appreciate that you enjoyed the story and the balance I tried to strike with the nostalgic, but not maudlin, emotions. I really wanted it to read that way. This is such a nice review, I'm on cloud nine. Thanks again.


You must login () to review.