| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8482
Word count: 25720926
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15752
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 17
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
06/25/18 07:39 pm
I hope all goes well with your mum, Spiced. Sending you good thoughts xxx
Spiced Wine
06/25/18 03:50 pm
Thank you very much! I am up the hospital with her every day this week for pre-chemo tests and pick insertion. It’ll be a long week
Gabriel
06/25/18 01:18 pm
Oh dear, Spiced! My thoughts are with you both in this challenging time. Sending a lot of positivity your way.
NelyafinweFeanorion
06/25/18 06:16 am
Sending good thoughts to you and your mother, Spiced!
Spiced Wine
06/24/18 09:42 pm
I will go in and sit with her, it’ll take 4 hours and they said 1 or 2 people were welcome.
Spiced Wine
06/24/18 09:41 pm
My mother starts chemo Thursday. They’re not sure it’ll do any good, but any good thoughts appreciated.
Alquien
06/24/18 12:35 am
I know. But I'll have to wait till Monday to talk to my internet company. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 09:37 pm
I remember it doing that years ago
Alquien
06/23/18 04:25 pm
I've tried both Google and Firefox since yesterday but I still can't get on. The connection keeps timing out. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 01:21 pm
I have not tried, I’m afraid, Alquien
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: November 03, 2017 9:42 · For: Chapter 1
A wonderful read IB!

I felt like I was there, experiencing what Maedhros saw what he felt, as he searched Fingons chambers for salvageable items. The memories, the nostalgia, the loss, almost too much to bare but I liked how you kept the grief at a bare minimum, it just made the story a lot easier to enjoy. Sometimes the pain and suffering the House of Finwe have endured can be a little overwhelming to read.

Maedhros would rather remember Fingon at the height of his life rather than the empty space he had left.

Really beautiful my friend. :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Gabriel! I’m very glad you enjoyed the story and that it resonated emotionally with you. I felt the same way writing it. There is a lot of sadness associated with Maedhros and Fingon but I like to focus on their strength and loyalty to each other. Oshun is my inspiration for all things Maedhros and Fingon. Her take on the characters jibes with my own. Thanks again for your kind words.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 13, 2017 14:16 · For: Chapter 1
He picked it up and held his light stone closer for a better look. His breath caught in his throat, a gasping sob escaped him. It was a picture of Fingon he had drawn many years ago during one of their visits to Alqualondë. Fingon standing on a pier with the ships and sea behind him, his stance rakish, his dark hair pulled back and plaited with gold. His young eyes held merriment and mischief in equal measure. The parchment was yellowed and dog-eared with age but the long forgotten memory was, suddenly to Maedhros, as fresh and immediate as the day they had lived it.

Overcome, he sat heavily on the ground, the weight of years and regret crushing the breath from him. Two young scholars turned revolutionaries, turned reluctant warriors, turned commanders, turned Kings, turned. . . what? Nothing. Youthful ideals skewered on the sword of harsh reality.


Oh, Marius, how very poignant. Wonderfully written,

Author's Response: Thanks so much, SW. I'm glad you liked this one. I don't write the Feanorians, not really, so it's gratifying to know this works so well. I really appreciate your comments.


Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: March 12, 2017 0:22 · For: Chapter 1
One of the details that always devastated me (among many) was the fact that by losing their fortresses in this defeat they had lost so much of their past--personal effects, letters, portraits, the small things that can be taken for granted but when the other is lost become a repository for the emotions and tangible reminders of their loss and a small comfort. They had none of those so this story is brilliant at giving us that. The risk he takes to salvage these remnants of Fingon's past is immense but I can see Maedhros, who has withstood worse, take it on.
The line about "two young scholars, turned revolutionaries, turned reluctant warriors . . ." was so poignant.
I loved the addition of the portrait--such a lovely image of young Fingon but the way you ended it, with Maedhros remembering not only who he had once been but also who he was when he died was perfect. I've always thought he kept on going in part because if he fulfilled the Oath then perhaps they would see each other again.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review, NF. I agree that the Elves lost so much in their battles, emotionally and physically. I'm glad you like Maedhros taking the risk to retrieve Fingon's personal papers, I could see him doing something like that as well. So nice of you to mention the juxtaposition of the two pictures, that's just what I was going for and I'm so happy it came off well. I've always thought that, at the end Maedhros was just going through the motions of trying to get the Silmarils and that by that time he was completely broke, but that at this point in time he still had hope of fulfilling the oath and thus making everything right. I really appreciate your thoughtful comments.


Name: Glorfindel (Signed) · Date: March 11, 2017 10:09 · For: Chapter 1
You paint a picture with words and do it very well. I particularly like this line Overcome, he sat heavily on the ground, the weight of years and regret crushing the breath from him it would be exactly like that.
You owe me a cheese sandwich!!! LOL
*Hugs*

Author's Response: Thank you for your comments, Glorfindel. I liked that line too, and I appreciate that feeling now that I'm older. And yes, I owe you a cheese sandwich! I sent you a nice hunk of limburger on rye. The postal service said it should be there within a month. lol


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 11, 2017 8:48 · For: Chapter 1

As always, your writing is so thoughtful and so beautifully precise, building image after image, leading me from one scene carefully to another, each with enough detail to create a full visual experience. I admire your writing hugely. And there is a sense of nostalgia and loss without being overwhleming, the practicality of MAedhros almost at odds with this incredible risk (although it doesn't seem a risk because of the dismal scenario of Morgoth's complete victory, they are complacent, careless). 



Author's Response: What a lovely review, Ziggy. Thank you so much! It means a lot to me that you enjoy my writing since you are such a good writer. I really appreciate that you enjoyed the story and the balance I tried to strike with the nostalgic, but not maudlin, emotions. I really wanted it to read that way. This is such a nice review, I'm on cloud nine. Thanks again.


You must login () to review.