| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Old Bones by Narya General Audiences
Maglor examines some old relics in the Basilica di Santa Maria in Cosmedin. Written for Valentine's Day; posting a few days...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Artifices of Gold and Shadow by Marchwriter Mature
When a ‘messenger of the Valar’ arrives on a rainy night, Celebrimbor — living quietly in exile — offers him shelter...
Moderately Functional by KimicThranduilion General Audiences
When Legolas’ intended day off drinking his favourite Dorwinion is interrupted for an important mission he is determined...
Friendship Amidst Loss by KimicThranduilion Teen
When Legolas and his troop become targets for slave traders tragedy strikes and the Prince suffers a devastating loss after...
Fragments from Middle-earth by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Ficlets of under 1000 words written for past BTMEM Challenges. They feature mostly Aragorn, Faramir, Halbarad and OCs
Oaths of Allegiance by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
 Faramir takes an oath of fealty to two very different liege lords.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 88
Stories: 1716
Chapters: 8742
Word count: 26619548
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16463
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 30
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 13
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
02/16/19 01:52 pm
B2Me is underway folks. Amazing collection of Bingo Cards!
ziggy
02/16/19 10:56 am
Sounds like we've got some good new fics/updates on their way if everyone is writing this weekend:)
Gabriel
02/15/19 10:13 pm
I've been working so hard to get them done, that I'm done in the process.
Gabriel
02/15/19 10:12 pm
That sounds like my kind of weekend. Spiced! Hopefully I can have some fics finished for everyone to read. Fingers crossed. :)
Narya
02/15/19 10:12 pm
Similar I think! It's meant to be cloudy here but no rain forecast so I think a walk to start with, then some writing time
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 07:36 pm
Not really, but the weather is supposed to be quite mild and nice. Probably relax and write and go for a couple of walks. You?
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 07:15 pm
Not really, but the weather is supposed to be quite mild and nice. Probably relax and write and go for a couple of walks. You?
Narya
02/15/19 06:36 pm
Fri-yay! :D anybody got any nice plans this weekend?
Spiced Wine
02/15/19 10:11 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
02/14/19 09:46 pm
And to you, Alquien :)
Shout Archive


Reviews For Of Elves and Oaths

Name: KimicThranduilion (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2017 0:24 · For: Chapter 1
Oh my cheeky you had me laughing from beginning to end. Just what I needed! Absolutely hilarious stuff as per from you. You have such a talent for humour. Bravo!!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 01, 2017 23:46 · For: Chapter 1

Great fun! As always, loads if giggles in this and Elrohir and Legolas denying eah other (silly pair!)

 

My favourite bots are these:

"All due respect My Lord, but My Lord Elessar commands me, not you." 

 

 

 

Oh yes, definitely keep this guard on, Aragorn decided. Anyone who could stand up to an angry Son of Elrond was worth having. Still he had better put him out of his misery and let Elrohir in he supposed. He would certainly not go away if he was determined. 

 

 

And this lovely little moment:

 

The city had created a garden for its elven queen. Manicured, beautiful, perfect in its exactness, it was a calm and peaceful oasis. Now Legolas turned it wild, with vines, bright random colour and foliage everywhere while the guards watched him, disbelievingly. 

 

 

 

"They think you mad." Aragorn said as he stood behind his friend who was kneeling, arm deep in mud. "It is a perfectly good garden already." 

 

 

 

Legolas did not react to his voice, he was not surprised, he did not look up. He had known he was there all along of course. 

 

 

 

"It is not the garden for Arwen. She needs a Lothlorien garden to soothe her soul. I do not know why they insist on constraining these plants. It is ugly to my eyes." 

 

 

 

It is a Mannish garden," Aragorn said gently, "They think it beautiful. I do too." 

 

 

 

"Arwen has lived with the silvan of Lothlorien. She will have a silvan garden. She needs her own space, Aragorn, in this city of yours. An elven space." 

 

 

 

"You could find this garden in Imladris, Legolas." 

 

 

 

"And that is why I do not like Imladris!" 

LOVELY.



Author's Response:

Glad you picked up on the Elrohir/Legolas vibes! This is while they were still foolishly trying to pretend they hated each other...before the drama that is descending on them in "Fire" 

Lots of foolishness here. Silly Legolas jumping to conclusions...Elladan and Elrohir joining right in there. 

Glad you liked my steadfast young guard. He did a good job, I think, standing up to that elven panic. I hope Aragorn rewarded him richly! 

As for Legolas' gardening efforts....what can I say....he hates well ordered gardens!! 



Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: February 21, 2017 10:24 · For: Chapter 1

God, this is just glorious. Failed communications at its best. (the reason why the Last Alliance failed the first time around). But I like how serious the younger generations take the oath swearing. Even Legolas, despite being a Sindar. It means he acknowledges that the oath played a factor during the kinslayings.

Also, lol at the fact that Aragorn seems to be the most level-headed person around.

Great work!



Author's Response:

Yeah,Legolas definitely realises the oath has a part to play. But he also has a big dollop of anti Noldor bias to go along with that, that drives Aragorn to distraction. Legolas and the twins don't usually get on as well as they do here for.....reasons......but their shared fear of oaths serves to unite them somewhat. 

Poor Aragorn. My elves are all completely crazy in these funny stories so he does end up being the one who has to hold it all together. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 21, 2017 5:01 · For: Chapter 1

Hahaha! Trust Legolas to first of all get the wrong end of the stick and then choose a resolution that makes Aragorn and Gimli suffer! Now I'd love to find out how the Wood-elves celebrate the solstice!



Author's Response:

I am sure their celebrations are wild and chaotic and rather sexual! I would love to write a story about poor uptight Aragorn getting stranded in the middle of one...perhaps with Arwen who has celebrated many solstices before in Lothlorien! And discovering she is wilder than he thought. Don't think I could do it justice though!!



You must login () to review.