| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Light Wraps You by Narya General Audiences
A moment between Celebrimbor and Orodreth after the news of Finrod's death. Written as a birthday gift for Gabriel – it's...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Night Terrors by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Aragorn and Faramir learn all is not well with Sam
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
I will Lift mine Eyes by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A series of events after his return from Gondor leaves Aragorn's spirits at an all-time low.
I will Lift mine Eyes by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A series of events after his return from Gondor leaves Aragorn's spirits at an all-time low.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1634
Chapters: 8382
Word count: 25385085
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15508
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 14
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
04/19/18 08:22 pm
I’m glad you’ve had a lovely day, Gabriel :)
NelyafinweFeanorion
04/19/18 05:47 pm
Happy birthday Gabriel!
Gabriel
04/19/18 01:04 pm
Thank you so much Narya. I've had a lovely quiet day spending time with family. :)
Spiced Wine
04/18/18 10:08 pm
What a gorgeous day today! Like a taste of summer! I love sitting working with the door open!
Narya
04/18/18 10:07 pm
Happy birthday for tomorrow, Gabriel! (I am travelling for work and likely to be stuck on trains, so might not have chance to say it on the day.)
Narya
04/15/18 03:05 pm
Got it, Nelya - thanks for playing! :) I messaged you about DW as it turned into too long a post for the shout box.
NelyafinweFeanorion
04/14/18 11:33 pm
what fun, Narya!I just sent you a prompt by PM. I'm not on dreamwidth. Someone please fill me in on Dreamwidth as I'm not familiar with it. Is it something I should look into?
Narya
04/14/18 10:31 pm
Hi Cheeky! I did get it, although it sneaked off into my junk mail for some reason. Great prompt, thank you!! :D
cheekybeak
04/14/18 10:24 pm
Hi Narya! I sent you a pm. For some reason they usually don’t work for me so let me know if you don’t get it!
Narya
04/14/18 11:34 am
Obviously ignore the spaces between the dots...but I know the shoutbox doesn't allow links, so that's the best I can do! Feel free to message me here in response, if you don't have DW
Shout Archive



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2017 8:26 · For: Chapter 3: Rain

Oh no - poor Legolas. I hope the man will suffer for what he did. What Legolas needs now is for the rain to be torrential. With luck it will clean his eyes before the chemical can do permanent damage. I can't bear the thought of Legolas going blind. 



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2017 7:58 · For: Chapter 3: Rain

Ah, I see the changes. That rings much truer at the end, with Legolas overhearing and protesting Ithildim's return. Also pain being what cripples him. Pain from burns....and eye pain, is some of the most intolerable there is. 

Slashwise, I still think it will pass under the radar...but their "farewell" did seem more....intense,

we will see! 

P.S. Now I know Alfirinion is 14  some things make much more sense. I was picturing him as about 10 or 11 and Eldoron younger. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2017 23:51 · For: Chapter 2: Fire

Oh my goodness - you've plunged us straight into the action and kept up the tension all the way through.  I hope Legolas's eyes will be alright, because it looks like he's about to have a major fight on his hands.



Author's Response:

Yes, right into the action! I hope it is not too fast-paced. This will be a relatively short little thing and I do like a good thriller. :) I hope his eyes will be all right, too! ;)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2017 8:46 · For: Chapter 2: Fire

Well if this is the Legolas/Ithidim version then this is where I will be reading! 

So Ithildim still has his own home though...hmm 

Great building of tension here. It all seems so fast and yet there is the time to get us really worried that they are not getting out of there! 

I thought you said this was something light?? So far Legolas is blinded and they are all about to perish by fire. I hate to see your heavy stories! 



Author's Response:

Yes, Ithildim still has his own home. Honestly, I can't imagine wanting to live with Legolas all of the time, and when Ithildim originally moved to Ithilien in the midst of Legolas' grappling with the Sea, it would not have been healthy for them to co-reside. So its a holdover from old habits, I imagine.

Hope it did not seem too fast! My intent was to show how frantic it might feel to be in a situation like that, while charged with the protection of a child that surpasses one's thought for themself, and to show the utter contrast with the softness of chapter 1.. 

Well, ha! Your sentence about lightness made me laugh out loud! I guess my intrepretation of "light" is a little insight into how jaded I may have become? To me it seems light, because it has nothing to do with my work and thus doesn't drag me back into "work-mode" as I write it! (Hashing out Enough has really begun to feel like being in the office!) But I have very little experience with fires and the extent of my experience with political intrigue is working on political campaigns so... Light-ish? To me? Oops. Once we hit end of Ch4 & Ch5 it will ease up. And be actually light. But right now is the thriller  bit!  The title is "a small & passing thing" after all ;)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2017 10:20 · For: Chapter 1: Drought

A promising start! I'm looking forward to more of this story :)



Author's Response:

Thanks, Naledi! This one is coming easily so I am hoping the updates will be more frequent than you may be accustomed to...!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2017 8:59 · For: Chapter 1: Drought

A wonderful start- lots of domestic detail which seems so comfortable and lulls the reader, but then there is this bit of tension introduced with Ithilden's sneaking up on Legolas, Legolas commenting how soft they have become, the threat of fire... so the rest of the chpater (at exactly the right moment) is read with this sense of threat and tension. Great writing



Author's Response:

I am *really* pleased you caught that intentional shift without it seeming overdone. I loved to write the domesticity, but I couldn't let them get too comfortable, or it wouldn't be fanfiction. Thanks for dropping by!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2017 4:44 · For: Chapter 1: Drought

Yay Legolas and Ithildim here as well. :-) 

love them so much. 

For what it's worth for my slash inferred stories I always choose slash as a category...even when the slash is subtle. Two reasons.

1:It means readers looking for slash who are likely to enjoy and read the story find them

2: People who get weird and hateful about slash stay away and don't accidently stumble on it and leave me bitchy reviews. That's my reasoning! 



Author's Response:

Yes, I think Faerie gets the real version of Legolas and Ithildim as this story/series continues and FF may get a slightly different version. Here first and foremost! So glad you still love them as their relationship--however subtly--develops.

 

that's very useful information re: inferred slash stories. I think I will probably end up listing this as slash after some thought today. You make a very good point in number 1! 



You must login () to review.