| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Summer Heat by Glorfindel Explicit
A modern day, elves who never sailed, detective story in the style of film noir. Erestor was the most evil...
Peregrinations by Veveco Mature
Exploration of various themes. Fourth stop: The game.
A Dawn Of Many Colors by Pink Siamese Mature
How many books out of worlds and worlds out of books? This is the story of Janet Lambert, a thirtysomething college student...
The trails of Nan Elmoth by Chiara Cadrich Mature
Proud and solitary, Aredhel rides freely in the deep forests of Beleriand. She believes she escaped the destiny intended...
Freedom by mangacrack General Audiences
"Do you have any clue where we are?" Elladan asked his brother and looked around. There must be some clues where they ended...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...

Site Info

Members: 468
Series: 78
Stories: 1561
Chapters: 7944
Word count: 23572667
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14016
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: paradis artificiels
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

Caunedhiel
05/26/17 09:58 pm
Thank you @Naledi and @Ysilme :( still not turned up but i hope wherever he is, he's being looked after x
Ysilme
05/26/17 12:14 am
So sorry to hear about your cat, Caunedhiel, and keep my fingers tightly crossed for him to be all right and come back. It's so hard to lose them, and harder still to not know what's happened.
Naledi
05/24/17 08:35 pm
Thanks Gabriel. It's hard to take in the things that are happening all round the world at the moment.
Gabriel
05/24/17 10:13 am
I hope this message finds everyone and their families in the UK safe and well. You are in our thoughts. Kia Kaha {Stay Strong} Love from NZ.
Naledi
05/23/17 07:32 pm
Oh no - I hope your cat turns up soon. It's so worrying when a pet goes missing:(
Caunedhiel
05/21/17 02:18 pm
Lost my 1 year old cat oreo this weekend! been out looking for him, posted to facebook, rang the vets but nothing has been seen of him since friday :( very worried its so unusual for him
Naledi
05/20/17 04:57 pm
Yes the bit I did was near Ludlow - around the Knighton and Kington sections. I love Ludlow, too!
ziggy
05/20/17 10:01 am
Naledi- where abouts on Offa's dyke? I've walked a bit of that- near Ludlow. Love Ludlow!!! Great restaurants too. I'll go with you next time:)
Naledi
05/19/17 11:53 pm
Thanks, Cheeky. As you've seen, I found it. I'm not long back from a few days walking a section of Offa's Dyke. So tired!
cheekybeak
05/18/17 10:25 am
Hi Naledi! This time "Fire" really is updated.
Shout Archive



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2017 8:26 · For: Chapter 3: Rain

Oh no - poor Legolas. I hope the man will suffer for what he did. What Legolas needs now is for the rain to be torrential. With luck it will clean his eyes before the chemical can do permanent damage. I can't bear the thought of Legolas going blind. 



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2017 7:58 · For: Chapter 3: Rain

Ah, I see the changes. That rings much truer at the end, with Legolas overhearing and protesting Ithildim's return. Also pain being what cripples him. Pain from burns....and eye pain, is some of the most intolerable there is. 

Slashwise, I still think it will pass under the radar...but their "farewell" did seem more....intense,

we will see! 

P.S. Now I know Alfirinion is 14  some things make much more sense. I was picturing him as about 10 or 11 and Eldoron younger. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2017 23:51 · For: Chapter 2: Fire

Oh my goodness - you've plunged us straight into the action and kept up the tension all the way through.  I hope Legolas's eyes will be alright, because it looks like he's about to have a major fight on his hands.



Author's Response:

Yes, right into the action! I hope it is not too fast-paced. This will be a relatively short little thing and I do like a good thriller. :) I hope his eyes will be all right, too! ;)



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2017 8:46 · For: Chapter 2: Fire

Well if this is the Legolas/Ithidim version then this is where I will be reading! 

So Ithildim still has his own home though...hmm 

Great building of tension here. It all seems so fast and yet there is the time to get us really worried that they are not getting out of there! 

I thought you said this was something light?? So far Legolas is blinded and they are all about to perish by fire. I hate to see your heavy stories! 



Author's Response:

Yes, Ithildim still has his own home. Honestly, I can't imagine wanting to live with Legolas all of the time, and when Ithildim originally moved to Ithilien in the midst of Legolas' grappling with the Sea, it would not have been healthy for them to co-reside. So its a holdover from old habits, I imagine.

Hope it did not seem too fast! My intent was to show how frantic it might feel to be in a situation like that, while charged with the protection of a child that surpasses one's thought for themself, and to show the utter contrast with the softness of chapter 1.. 

Well, ha! Your sentence about lightness made me laugh out loud! I guess my intrepretation of "light" is a little insight into how jaded I may have become? To me it seems light, because it has nothing to do with my work and thus doesn't drag me back into "work-mode" as I write it! (Hashing out Enough has really begun to feel like being in the office!) But I have very little experience with fires and the extent of my experience with political intrigue is working on political campaigns so... Light-ish? To me? Oops. Once we hit end of Ch4 & Ch5 it will ease up. And be actually light. But right now is the thriller  bit!  The title is "a small & passing thing" after all ;)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2017 10:20 · For: Chapter 1: Drought

A promising start! I'm looking forward to more of this story :)



Author's Response:

Thanks, Naledi! This one is coming easily so I am hoping the updates will be more frequent than you may be accustomed to...!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2017 8:59 · For: Chapter 1: Drought

A wonderful start- lots of domestic detail which seems so comfortable and lulls the reader, but then there is this bit of tension introduced with Ithilden's sneaking up on Legolas, Legolas commenting how soft they have become, the threat of fire... so the rest of the chpater (at exactly the right moment) is read with this sense of threat and tension. Great writing



Author's Response:

I am *really* pleased you caught that intentional shift without it seeming overdone. I loved to write the domesticity, but I couldn't let them get too comfortable, or it wouldn't be fanfiction. Thanks for dropping by!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2017 4:44 · For: Chapter 1: Drought

Yay Legolas and Ithildim here as well. :-) 

love them so much. 

For what it's worth for my slash inferred stories I always choose slash as a category...even when the slash is subtle. Two reasons.

1:It means readers looking for slash who are likely to enjoy and read the story find them

2: People who get weird and hateful about slash stay away and don't accidently stumble on it and leave me bitchy reviews. That's my reasoning! 



Author's Response:

Yes, I think Faerie gets the real version of Legolas and Ithildim as this story/series continues and FF may get a slightly different version. Here first and foremost! So glad you still love them as their relationship--however subtly--develops.

 

that's very useful information re: inferred slash stories. I think I will probably end up listing this as slash after some thought today. You make a very good point in number 1! 



You must login () to review.