| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7888
Word count: 23423549
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13826
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members:

Shoutbox

Ysilme
03/30/17 01:32 am
I suppose they'd have a heart attack if I told them I'm writing fanfic in English these days. *g*
Ysilme
03/30/17 01:31 am
experience like you, Alpha, but with English: two English teachers told me I should try to get a job where I wouldn't need foreign languages as they judged me too little giftd in languages.
Ysilme
03/30/17 01:29 am
My father was a maths teacher, too, which wasn't always easy for me, *g* - my classmates considered it as uncool in a major way to be daugther of a maths teacher. And I made a similar
ziggy
03/28/17 11:13 pm
Wow- Naledi- you were Maths!! I am an English teacher and so agree. I am so careful - don't always get it right but try to make sure every interaction is positive.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Shout Archive



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 30, 2017 8:55 · For: Homeward Bound

Awwww....a lovely reunion that made a fitting end to this wonderful story. I was especially pleased that Elrond gave the colt to Legolas.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2017 11:42 · For: Winter

What a beautiful, thoughtful gift. Legolas seems to be unwinding - he doesn't seem to feel guilty about enjoying himself now. Maybe the twins' company has done him good.



Author's Response: Yes, he is finally unwinding. Imladris is obviously still a haven with a good influence on somebody's spirit. Thanks for reading and commenting.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 11, 2017 9:31 · For: Return to Imladris

Ah, nice end to this chapter. Legolas is starting to unwind finally! Thranduil will be pleased. :-)



Author's Response: They deserve some time to unwind. The story had a mind of its own. This wss supposed to be a short companion piece to Musings in the Night, the fight against the orcs wasn't originally planned. So now we are back in Imladris and some rest and recovery.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 11, 2017 9:27 · For: Fighting

Well you tricked me there. I was thinking Legolas was going to be the one I. Trouble and in fact it was Elladan! Good job with the fight scene....I hate them and avoid writing them at all costs! 



Author's Response: I thought Legolas deserved a break. Besides, it would have been too predictable if Legolas was the one getting hurt. Although he didn't come out of the fight fully unscathed ;-). The fight scene was harder to write than I thought, so I fully understand why you avoid them.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 11, 2017 7:59 · For: Return to Imladris

It's good to now Elladan will be alright. Now I hope Legolas gets a chance to enjoy the peace of Imladris and fully recover. 



Author's Response: Hi Naledi, I hope the chapter was to your liking. I think they all deserve a break now. We wil see what happens :-).


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 02, 2017 12:10 · For: Fighting

I loved the action in this chapter! And all along I was worried for Legolas, when it was Elladan who ended up hurt. Thank goodness Legolas was there for him. Elrond and Glorfindel still seem worried about Legolas, though, so it remains to be seen whether he'll suffer after-effects of the fight when he needed a rest from fighting.



Author's Response: It would have been a bit boring if the predictable happened, wouldn't it ;-). I thought Legolas deserved a break. Glad you liked the fight scene, it was harder to write than I thought. Thanks for reading and letting me know your thoughts.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2017 16:20 · For: Conversations II

Ah! So I was right about the vial containing poison. Now I have a bad feeling about Legolas joining the fight against the orcs - he seems so worn down, he's liable to make a mistake. It's a pity Elrond can't come up with a way to stop him.

This story is shaping up into an exciting read!



Author's Response: Thanks for reading. I hope I can meet your expectations.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2017 16:08 · For: Conversations

I love the conversation between Elrond and Legolas - how Elrond makes Legolas think about what his relentless commitment to duty is doing to him. It was a lovely moment with the horses, too. Especially the colt. I hope we'll see more of the colt later.

What's in the phial pendant? Is it something like a poison in case of capture?



Author's Response: You were absolutely right. The phial contains poison. I thought about why in LOTR Legolas is almost never refered to as son of Thranduil. Since they have Dol Guldur on their doorstep it makes sense to be careful. That was a part of what inspired this fic. The colt? Let's see where that goes :-)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2017 10:31 · For: Arrival

I enjoyed this. I hope Legolas will allow himself to heal and rest. I look forward to seeing his interactions with the folk of Imladris. 



Author's Response: Thanks for reading and for the review. I hope the Imladrian elves meet your expectations.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 14, 2017 7:49 · For: Arrival

Oh! I liked this!! Especially Glorfindel for some reason....looking forward to seeing how you write the twins too...will we see them?



Author's Response: Hi, thanks for reading. Yes, we will see the twins. Only Erestor was a bit reluctant to "speak" to me, so there will be not much from him.


You must login () to review.