| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Senses Over Time by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
A Gift fic for Cheekybeak based on the characters in her story Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls. Set in that same timeframe, as...
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1592
Chapters: 8168
Word count: 24578903
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14777
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Short and Sweet

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2017 11:07 · For: Chapter Five

It was all much too maudlin for Legolas' taste. “Perhaps I should choose something that will remind me of you,” he said lightly. “Maybe I could have a lollipop! Or some script, if the Dwarven skin artists know how to write Sindarin, I could have a reminder, like 'Dwarves Cheat!' or something!”

 

Beside him, Gimli was doing that adorable growling thing. The dwarf picked the wrong moment to take a drink from his waterskin. “It means you belong to me, right? So maybe they could make a little picture of you with a collar and lead!” he exclaimed in excitement. Gimli sprayed most of his mouthful of water all over his legs, then succumbed to fit a violent coughing that had Legolas hammering on his back as if he was trying to break it.

 

I love that slightly innocent mischeviousness of Legolas- it's so in character. The description of the oaks compared withGimli are perfect.



Author's Response: Thank you so much! Oh, Legolas is having the time of his life here... it's the same characterisation as in The Teacher, so he is quite lighthearted and playful. Glad you liked the bit with the trees:)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2017 11:02 · For: Chapter Four

“Elves,” he said happily. “We're very loving, very easy, and very much just... I have several lovers,” he confided. “I keep them all. Forever.”

 

“Well, now I feel like I'm part of a collection,” Gimli said strangely. Legolas looked up and Gimli was looking down this time. Legolas smirked.

 

“Yes. My collection,” he teased, deliberate. Gimli still did not smile

 

No. Don't think I would either! Poor Gimli. And that is the fabulous thing about this fic- you know Gimli is not here. I feel it might be in Valinor and yet it also feels like Imladris. This is such a wonderful story.



Author's Response: Thank you, ziggy! :) By 'not here' do you mean because Legolas is telling Elrond all of this? I may have a little fun with that soon, when Legolas attempts to skip the sex scenes... *is evil* I'm afraid my elves are all promiscuous and such, so I let Legolas describe them like that. That will not change. I can't seem to stop them. Not even the sensible ones. ;)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2017 23:39 · For: Chapter Five

A lollipop?! It's a good thing I wasn't eating when I read the tattoo conversation! I loved the bit where Gimli forms a sense of kinship with the woods -  a beautiful moment :)



Author's Response: And thank you again! :) lol... I think Gimli is as put about by Legolas' casual knowledge of sexual games as Legolas is of Gimli's coarse language. And the kinship with the woods seemed to fit. It stands to reason Legolas would notice all of those things Gimli has in common with the trees.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2017 23:32 · For: Chapter Four

So now we know what the mark means. I hope Legolas works it into a tattoo! The whole mortality issue is a huge problem, though. They can't ignore it for long, surely? 



Author's Response: Thank you, Naledi, and I hope you've had a good day! Legolas is definitely going to end up with a tattoo, yes :) Oh, don't worry.. this will always be a light-hearted story. That problem... Legolas has an idea how to solve it, and he's going to make Elrond help him.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2017 14:20 · For: Chapter Three

I do feel a little sorry for Legolas with that huge girth having to go inside him!! But he seems to have found it quite nice after all.

 

I really enjoyed their pre-sex banter -Gimli defnitely won that one! Much more adept and skilful and Legolas seems almost innocent (which I like) and the moment he is lying acorss Gimli's lap and half on the ground where he thinks of the roots and bracnhes of the forest and they are in its embrace, is my favourite moment- very beautifully described. If I could draw or paint itw ould be that moment.

 



Author's Response: Thank you again! :) Honestly, I write so much elf/elf smut, I wanted dwarf/elf to be a little different. Not just physically, but in the way they relate to each other. Legolas comes off as more innocent only because he's not as coarse, but I think Gimli might be in for a surprise when they go at it the other way around. Legolas is vastly experienced, and he is being quite manipulative... I mean, he's getting exactly what he wants ;) That image of the trees... it's something I often think when I'm out walking myself. If we could see how huge they really were, they'd be frightening... kind of like how icebergs are bigger under the waterline. Where trees are concerned, we just get to see the pretty leafy bits on the top. It kind of made sense to me that if elves began talking to the trees (and encouraging them to talk back), then they'd also be aware of their full nature like that.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2017 14:14 · For: Chapter Two

You've got a little bit of, erm... orc on you,” he said apologetically, raising a hand to his own face to indicate vaguely where it was. 

 

Love that line! But I love this whole fic- Gigolas is not normally my cup of tea but you write is so naturally and beautifully. They seem right together and there is no concession to any preconceptions- all new and fresh and beautifully written.



Author's Response: Thank you so much, ziggy! :) Oh, the elves in my version of ME are very promiscuous, but few of them are as candid and blunt about it as Gimli. I decided to imagine him as a miner and go from there. I think it just keeps getting under Legolas' skin, lol. I'm glad you like it!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2017 8:34 · For: Chapter Three

Hmm...Gimli still hasn't explained what the bite he gave Legolas means. I can't help feeling it's significant. 



Author's Response: Thank you! :) It is to Gimli - very much so. It's only the second time in his life he's done it...


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2017 8:22 · For: Chapter Two

I'm enjoying this! I'm not sure Fangorn is the place for a tryst - what will the nets make of it?!



Author's Response: Thank you, Naledi! :) Oh, the ents are okay, unless you're Gimli, then panic! ;)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 03, 2017 23:21 · For: Prologue and Chapter One

I am so happy that you are posting Short and Sweet on this site. It's so beautifully written and such great fun. Very very hot as well:)



Author's Response: Thank you so much, ziggy :) For this, and for letting me know about the archive. Very gradually, I will post my other work here, but for now, this one.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2017 23:16 · For: Prologue and Chapter One

Hahaha! This is so much fun! I'm not usually keen on Legolas/Gimli, but this was priceless :D



Author's Response: Thank you, Naledi! I'm glad you are enjoying it! :)


You must login () to review.