| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7887
Word count: 23421577
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13822
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 13
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:05 am
Spiced- how horrible! My friends made fun of my poor attn to detail so Chem and I did not get along either. But no! Can find no handy calculators online. Oh well!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Short and Sweet

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2017 11:07 · For: Chapter Five

It was all much too maudlin for Legolas' taste. “Perhaps I should choose something that will remind me of you,” he said lightly. “Maybe I could have a lollipop! Or some script, if the Dwarven skin artists know how to write Sindarin, I could have a reminder, like 'Dwarves Cheat!' or something!”

 

Beside him, Gimli was doing that adorable growling thing. The dwarf picked the wrong moment to take a drink from his waterskin. “It means you belong to me, right? So maybe they could make a little picture of you with a collar and lead!” he exclaimed in excitement. Gimli sprayed most of his mouthful of water all over his legs, then succumbed to fit a violent coughing that had Legolas hammering on his back as if he was trying to break it.

 

I love that slightly innocent mischeviousness of Legolas- it's so in character. The description of the oaks compared withGimli are perfect.



Author's Response: Thank you so much! Oh, Legolas is having the time of his life here... it's the same characterisation as in The Teacher, so he is quite lighthearted and playful. Glad you liked the bit with the trees:)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2017 11:02 · For: Chapter Four

“Elves,” he said happily. “We're very loving, very easy, and very much just... I have several lovers,” he confided. “I keep them all. Forever.”

 

“Well, now I feel like I'm part of a collection,” Gimli said strangely. Legolas looked up and Gimli was looking down this time. Legolas smirked.

 

“Yes. My collection,” he teased, deliberate. Gimli still did not smile

 

No. Don't think I would either! Poor Gimli. And that is the fabulous thing about this fic- you know Gimli is not here. I feel it might be in Valinor and yet it also feels like Imladris. This is such a wonderful story.



Author's Response: Thank you, ziggy! :) By 'not here' do you mean because Legolas is telling Elrond all of this? I may have a little fun with that soon, when Legolas attempts to skip the sex scenes... *is evil* I'm afraid my elves are all promiscuous and such, so I let Legolas describe them like that. That will not change. I can't seem to stop them. Not even the sensible ones. ;)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2017 23:39 · For: Chapter Five

A lollipop?! It's a good thing I wasn't eating when I read the tattoo conversation! I loved the bit where Gimli forms a sense of kinship with the woods -  a beautiful moment :)



Author's Response: And thank you again! :) lol... I think Gimli is as put about by Legolas' casual knowledge of sexual games as Legolas is of Gimli's coarse language. And the kinship with the woods seemed to fit. It stands to reason Legolas would notice all of those things Gimli has in common with the trees.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2017 23:32 · For: Chapter Four

So now we know what the mark means. I hope Legolas works it into a tattoo! The whole mortality issue is a huge problem, though. They can't ignore it for long, surely? 



Author's Response: Thank you, Naledi, and I hope you've had a good day! Legolas is definitely going to end up with a tattoo, yes :) Oh, don't worry.. this will always be a light-hearted story. That problem... Legolas has an idea how to solve it, and he's going to make Elrond help him.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2017 14:20 · For: Chapter Three

I do feel a little sorry for Legolas with that huge girth having to go inside him!! But he seems to have found it quite nice after all.

 

I really enjoyed their pre-sex banter -Gimli defnitely won that one! Much more adept and skilful and Legolas seems almost innocent (which I like) and the moment he is lying acorss Gimli's lap and half on the ground where he thinks of the roots and bracnhes of the forest and they are in its embrace, is my favourite moment- very beautifully described. If I could draw or paint itw ould be that moment.

 



Author's Response: Thank you again! :) Honestly, I write so much elf/elf smut, I wanted dwarf/elf to be a little different. Not just physically, but in the way they relate to each other. Legolas comes off as more innocent only because he's not as coarse, but I think Gimli might be in for a surprise when they go at it the other way around. Legolas is vastly experienced, and he is being quite manipulative... I mean, he's getting exactly what he wants ;) That image of the trees... it's something I often think when I'm out walking myself. If we could see how huge they really were, they'd be frightening... kind of like how icebergs are bigger under the waterline. Where trees are concerned, we just get to see the pretty leafy bits on the top. It kind of made sense to me that if elves began talking to the trees (and encouraging them to talk back), then they'd also be aware of their full nature like that.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2017 14:14 · For: Chapter Two

You've got a little bit of, erm... orc on you,” he said apologetically, raising a hand to his own face to indicate vaguely where it was. 

 

Love that line! But I love this whole fic- Gigolas is not normally my cup of tea but you write is so naturally and beautifully. They seem right together and there is no concession to any preconceptions- all new and fresh and beautifully written.



Author's Response: Thank you so much, ziggy! :) Oh, the elves in my version of ME are very promiscuous, but few of them are as candid and blunt about it as Gimli. I decided to imagine him as a miner and go from there. I think it just keeps getting under Legolas' skin, lol. I'm glad you like it!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2017 8:34 · For: Chapter Three

Hmm...Gimli still hasn't explained what the bite he gave Legolas means. I can't help feeling it's significant. 



Author's Response: Thank you! :) It is to Gimli - very much so. It's only the second time in his life he's done it...


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2017 8:22 · For: Chapter Two

I'm enjoying this! I'm not sure Fangorn is the place for a tryst - what will the nets make of it?!



Author's Response: Thank you, Naledi! :) Oh, the ents are okay, unless you're Gimli, then panic! ;)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 03, 2017 23:21 · For: Prologue and Chapter One

I am so happy that you are posting Short and Sweet on this site. It's so beautifully written and such great fun. Very very hot as well:)



Author's Response: Thank you so much, ziggy :) For this, and for letting me know about the archive. Very gradually, I will post my other work here, but for now, this one.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2017 23:16 · For: Prologue and Chapter One

Hahaha! This is so much fun! I'm not usually keen on Legolas/Gimli, but this was priceless :D



Author's Response: Thank you, Naledi! I'm glad you are enjoying it! :)


You must login () to review.