| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Protector of Dreams by cheekybeak General Audiences
A small mannish boy haunted by nightmares, growing up in Imladris, finds a protector in the most unlikely of places. 
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1591
Chapters: 8165
Word count: 24561135
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14774
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 12
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Homecoming

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: June 02, 2017 0:01 · For: Chapter 1

OK- took your advice and found this. Yes- I'm happy again. I love thisstory. Love that you have him call his son Estel. Of course.



Author's Response:

Ah, you see...it wasn't the end. :-)  Just the end of the beginning as they say. I have to say I did have this story held to the front of my mind when I wrote the other sad one. I had to, to remind myself they saw each other again. 

As for Estel......come on now, what else could he have called him? There was no other choice. 

My Legolas never uses that name when talking of or to Aragorn. He always calls him Aragorn, (or Elessar if he is very VERY angry) because he didn't know him as a child, only as Aragorn of the Dunedain so it is not a name for him to use. But when it came to his own son Estel had two meanings. A way of naming his elven child who was growing up in an elven land after the Man who was his brother and also because Estel was his own hope. A new child to give him something to live for after Gimli was gone while he waited for this reunion. 



Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: January 20, 2017 19:20 · For: Chapter 1
I've been trying to get the time to read this for so long! My gosh, it was good. But why has it been so long since Legolas has seen Aragorn? Have they gone to the Undying Lands and back? Estel (junior) mentioned that his uncle (he must mean Laerion?) despised Aragorn. Haha... prob'ly for dragging Legolas back from the dead.

I think I have to catch up on Dancing on our Souls, or none of this is going to make sense. It was done extra well though, especially keeping Legolas' identity secret until the last. Just fabulous. And congrats on the contest!!

Author's Response:

This is set after the Dagor Dagorath (the last battle for middle earth before Arda was remade as it was orginally ment to be, without evil.) Legolas has been in Valinor for a long, long, long time and Aragorn has been dead. The story Tolkien told us said that Men returned to Arda after it was remade and their dead champions fought in the battle. So this is Aragorn resurrected and Legolas come searching for him. 

Yes Estel means Laerion. And yes Laerion despises Aragorn, firstly for taking Legolas from him in that scene in "Fire" then also because he has spent years in Valinor watching Legolas grieve for his lost mortal friends and he also finds out about the sealonging. As far as Laerion goes Aragorn only hurts his brother. He cannot stand him! 



Name: CassieHughes (Signed) · Date: January 19, 2017 18:47 · For: Chapter 1
I have said elsewhere how much I love this story. It is so good to know that after all the pain and angst there is a happy ending for Legolas. :)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2017 21:51 · For: Chapter 1

Ah - you made me cry! This is so uplifting and HAPPY!



Author's Response:

Yeah I took a break from the angst here. I killed Legolas off in the other story at the same time I was writing this. So I thought I owed them a happy moment! I always see them being reunited in the end, Legolas just has to wait a long time to get there. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 16, 2017 22:46 · For: Chapter 1

Oh no - you mean even death doesn't stop Aragorn? I'd hoped Legolas would be free of him after he sailed - LOL!



Author's Response:

Ha ha, nope even death doesn't stop him! Poor Leggy. No wonder Laerion hates Aragorn so. Legolas has a hard time in Valinor and needs all the help he can get! 



You must login () to review.