| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. The story of how the black arrow that killed Smaug came to Bard. 'Black...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7886
Word count: 23416547
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13820
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 7
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:05 am
Spiced- how horrible! My friends made fun of my poor attn to detail so Chem and I did not get along either. But no! Can find no handy calculators online. Oh well!
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:04 am
I'm bad at keeping up w tv, but I support anything that inspires you to write eomer more, ziggy!
curiouswombat
03/18/17 01:07 am
Oh - please do...
ziggy
03/17/17 11:53 pm
Yes- that is EXACTLY right!! I might have to write Eomer a bit more:)
curiouswombat
03/17/17 11:02 pm
Ziggy - I keep wanting to pinch the characters and turn them into Rohirrim....
Shout Archive


Reviews For After The Storm

Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 12, 2017 19:43 · For: Worrying

Lovely last chapter. I enjoyed the way you described Legolas' return to health. Beautiful description of the relationship between father and son. 



Author's Response: Thanks for your review. I like father/son stories and especially Thranduil intrigues me. Glad you enjoyed the story.


Name: Ysilme (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2017 23:19 · For: Caring

Oh dear, things do not look well for poor Legolas. Poor Thranduil, too, to have so much reason to worry!
On a side note, I really enjoy reading a sensibe, reasonable Thranduil, who is much more than the arrogant, jewel-crazy snob as so many seem to see.



Author's Response: I think Thranduil is a responsible and caring leader. He and his people are fighting for so long against the encroaching darkness, he has to care for them. I also can't see why he shouldn't love his son.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2017 22:43 · For: Healing

Awww...a lovely, peaceful ending. Obviously Legolas still hasn't made a full recovery, and he'll have to go and fight again when he does, but I enjoyed that moment of serenity at the end. It was nice to see Thranduil able to appreciate it :)



Author's Response: Thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I think Thranduil deserved some peace and quiet at the end.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 09, 2017 17:15 · For: Caring

Legolas is lucky to have a father as caring as Thranduil. I loved Thranduil's determination to look after his son. I agree with you that I don't like it when Thranduil is portrayed as a bad father.

At least Legolas seems to be on the mend. I'm glad you ended the chapter upon a note of hope :)



Author's Response: Tolkien wrote that elves cherish their children, so why should Thranduil be an exception? I don't think so, especially after the way he was portrayed in the book.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 08, 2017 9:15 · For: Caring

Oh poor Thranduil. What a nightmare for him. Sitting, watching waiting, unable to do anything.

Loved the last scene with the slowly waking Legolas! 



Author's Response: Thanks for your comment. I tend to think that they have a good relationship, not that horried thing P.J. showed in the hobbit movies.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 06, 2017 14:08 · For: Worrying

Oh no - poor Legolas! Still, it's an opportunity to see Thranduil's fatherly, protective side :)



Author's Response: Hi Naledi, thanks for commenting. I really hated what they did to Thranduil's and Legolas' relationship with the Hobbit-Movies. I can't imagine them to be so cold to each other.


You must login () to review.