| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Fast Falls the Eventide by Narya Teen
Passing through an English country village, Maglor encounters a grieving mother struggling to come to terms with a deep injustice.
~ The Last Fires of Autumn ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
An autumn night in Imladris. Elrohir and Tindómion speak. Mentions of slash, of violence, therefore rated mature.
Heralds of the Dawn by Encairion Mature
And death shall have no dominion. The final installment of The Price of Eternity series.  
Consign Me Not to Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
Finrod accompanies Beren to retrieve a Silmaril and is captured, along with his companions. His encounter with Sauron in...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Let the Memories Be Good by lotrfan General Audiences
Legolas and Gimli must come to terms with Aragorn's aging, as well as Gimli's own. Set after events of LOTR. Written for...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1669
Chapters: 8523
Word count: 25932521
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15917
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 6
Members:

Shoutbox

Ysilme
08/20/18 01:15 pm
immensely with coping and staying sane.
Ysilme
08/20/18 01:15 pm
I can understand that SO well, Spiced. I found my way to fanfic in the grieving period for my FIL who did not beat it (he had no chance from the outset, though) and it & the community helped me
Spiced Wine
08/20/18 12:26 pm
It is something that can take my mind off the situation for a while
Spiced Wine
08/20/18 12:26 pm
This site and reading fanfic and writing have been a lifeline to me when I have thought I would just go mad.
Spiced Wine
08/20/18 12:25 pm
Bless you, Ysilme, I am so glad to know that your father and uncles have so far beaten it.
Ysilme
08/20/18 11:55 am
hell for us who love them.
Ysilme
08/20/18 11:54 am
and larynx), my other uncle (bladder) is trying to make it until his golden wedding anniversary in a couple of weeks but it's touch and go, so I can totally relate. As you say, Spiced, it's he
Ysilme
08/20/18 11:51 am
All the best and lots of good vibes to your mum and you, Spiced! *hugs* Ziggy, all the best to you, your brother and your family, too! *hugs* My father and uncles both beat it so far (prostate
ziggy
08/19/18 11:45 pm
Thanks all- this is such a kind place. x
Gabriel
08/19/18 11:39 pm
But on a lighter note, I have two wonderful stories to read a little later on. :D Can't wait.
Shout Archive


Reviews For After The Storm

Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 12, 2017 19:43 · For: Worrying

Lovely last chapter. I enjoyed the way you described Legolas' return to health. Beautiful description of the relationship between father and son. 



Author's Response: Thanks for your review. I like father/son stories and especially Thranduil intrigues me. Glad you enjoyed the story.


Name: Ysilme (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2017 23:19 · For: Caring

Oh dear, things do not look well for poor Legolas. Poor Thranduil, too, to have so much reason to worry!
On a side note, I really enjoy reading a sensibe, reasonable Thranduil, who is much more than the arrogant, jewel-crazy snob as so many seem to see.



Author's Response: I think Thranduil is a responsible and caring leader. He and his people are fighting for so long against the encroaching darkness, he has to care for them. I also can't see why he shouldn't love his son.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2017 22:43 · For: Healing

Awww...a lovely, peaceful ending. Obviously Legolas still hasn't made a full recovery, and he'll have to go and fight again when he does, but I enjoyed that moment of serenity at the end. It was nice to see Thranduil able to appreciate it :)



Author's Response: Thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I think Thranduil deserved some peace and quiet at the end.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 09, 2017 17:15 · For: Caring

Legolas is lucky to have a father as caring as Thranduil. I loved Thranduil's determination to look after his son. I agree with you that I don't like it when Thranduil is portrayed as a bad father.

At least Legolas seems to be on the mend. I'm glad you ended the chapter upon a note of hope :)



Author's Response: Tolkien wrote that elves cherish their children, so why should Thranduil be an exception? I don't think so, especially after the way he was portrayed in the book.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 08, 2017 9:15 · For: Caring

Oh poor Thranduil. What a nightmare for him. Sitting, watching waiting, unable to do anything.

Loved the last scene with the slowly waking Legolas! 



Author's Response: Thanks for your comment. I tend to think that they have a good relationship, not that horried thing P.J. showed in the hobbit movies.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 06, 2017 14:08 · For: Worrying

Oh no - poor Legolas! Still, it's an opportunity to see Thranduil's fatherly, protective side :)



Author's Response: Hi Naledi, thanks for commenting. I really hated what they did to Thranduil's and Legolas' relationship with the Hobbit-Movies. I can't imagine them to be so cold to each other.


You must login () to review.